Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Regional Support Units -Success??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

Does the driver not carry a TASER permently as well or is it just the operator?

Does anyone know what method of TASER carriage are theye using? ie what holster and where is it worn?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

eroo wrote: »
    So the RSU are armed full time now? Is that official?

My dear eroo nothing is official in our job:rolleyes:
    Does the driver not carry a TASER permently as well or is it just the operator?

Does anyone know what method of TASER carriage are theye using? ie what holster and where is it worn?

Jon, I understand its a comfort issue for driving thats all. Can be carried if he wishes. But most opt not to.

The holster is a type of impact plastic that also holds spare tips for the taser (dont know what ye call them...ammo?) It attaches to the utility belt at an angle.

Sounds like the holster that comes in the box (which the Met for some reason throw away when giving them to AFO's)... They're a great holster though... But yeah, not the most comfortable for driving...

We use different holsters which can be velcro and clipped onto the ballistic body armour making them ideal for drivers. Could this be done with the RSU's? What are their vests like, could a belt be attached to the vest and the TASER put on this making it more comfortable when sitting in a car.

the 'ammo' are simply called cartridges. Expensive to buy and easy to break. Drop them and the blast doors fall off.. lol

Sounds like the holster that comes in the box (which the Met for some reason throw away when giving them to AFO's)... They're a great holster though...

We use different holsters which can be velcro and clipped onto the ballistic body armour making them ideal for drivers. Could this be done with the RSU's? What are their vests like, could a belt be attached to the vest and the TASER put on this making it more comfortable when sitting in a car.

the 'ammo' are simply called cartridges. Expensive to buy and easy to break. Drop them and the blast doors fall off.. lol

The holster is, well its like gurders on a building if you get my drift. Only support lengths making the yellow TASER very very visiable.

The vest they wear are similar to the stab vests we have. They arent specialised vests so you cannot attach anything besides a radio clip!
    AGS designing the best:rolleyes:!

The holster is, well its like gurders on a building if you get my drift. Only support lengths making the yellow TASER very very visiable.

The vest they wear are similar to the stab vests we have. They arent specialised vests so you cannot attach anything besides a radio clip!

These ones... 3459453955_4ee6716a78_o.jpg
    The TSG and counties use these, a demonstrated... here...

3459474015_2f7409b3fd.jpg

These ones... Exo-Skeleton

The TSG and counties use these...

Spot on JOn thats the one.

As a point of comparsion, in this photo, the guy without the MP5 has his TASER attached to his vest (just below where his right hand is).

3460304926_d4fb900827.jpg

This has been semi-authorised for drivers but is still a bit of an issue for non drivers as TASER themselves recommend wearing them on the weak side of the body, be it leg or belt, only.

As a point of comparsion, in this photo, the guy without the MP5 has his TASER attached to his vest (just below where his right hand is).

3460304926_d4fb900827.jpg

This has been semi-authorised for drivers but is still a bit of an issue for non drivers as TASER themselves recommend wearing them on the weak side of the body, be it leg or belt, only.

Nice one Jon thanks for the lesson! Knowledge is power!!:D *insert deadwood comment......here*

We'd all prefer the exo-skelton ones. They're easier to use, more sturdy... and look way cooler!!!!... :D

Rather then have a massive third nut swinging round your crotch...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Why the weak side?

Where did she get a glock for $200???

maglite wrote: »
    Why the weak side?

Where did she get a glock for $200???

So as to have a deliberatly different daw to the sidearm. There's been a couple of incidents in the US where the officer has fired his pistol (Oakland was the most recent I think) at the suspect thinking he had drawn his TASER... I know, I know... but thats what they're saying...

I think we need a few of these set up... should reduce the number of claims next G20...

TASER Shockwave

In action

Promotional Video

I would never have believed it only it's in the TASER catalogue!

This just in €58,900 was exact price per RSU vehicle!!! Reliable info just received!!

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭DCTF

Poccington wrote: »
    As informative as your post is, I really don't think a public forum is the best place to be discussing COD6 and it's principles?

I didn't really give much away, didn't reveal the ROE's just that;

a) you should prevent opening fire unless necessary

b) you must be justified in your use of force

c) you must use the minimum force necessary

d) you must satisfy all legal requirements in doing so

It ain't rocket science kinda elementary step by step stuff if you think about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

are the rsu's carryying mp7's? couldnt the taser gun be mounted to the front of that or is that gun not carried atall times?

shakin wrote: »
    are the rsu's carryying mp7's? couldnt the taser gun be mounted to the front of that or is that gun not carried atall times?

They carry MP7s. Driver doesnt for driving reasons. Cant see it being mounted on a firearm....would expect there has to be a clear difference between lethal and non lethal but im not a firearms officer. Jon might answer?

Thats right,..hence why we all seem to get the bright yellow ones.

Also, as they're single shot weapons, if you missed or one of the probes fell out, it would be a bit awkward doing a reload concentrating on fitting the cartridge while also handling an MP7.

I'm not sure of the RSU's SOP's but over here, when the trial was extended to non firearms officers the circumstances for deploying them also changed so now they can be deployed at non firearms incidents. If the RSu have similar instructions, the pointing of a firearm at someone, just cos the TASER happens to be attached to it, may be unwarranted.

Also, in order to drive stun, ie sparking up while the TASER is in contact with the person, it's obviously has to be an up close and personal experience and usually used as a last resort when they've got too close, after a miss or ineffective firing, or on a struggling subject being detained... Basically Someone you don't want getting too close to you firearm. I've seen an instructor stooging during training drop a map from a covering MP5 whent he bloke leaned in too close.

TASER's shouldn't be deployed against armed subjects without adequate firearms cover so if the car drives up and there's a guy with a knife threatening people, the operator, who will generally be the first out, should cover with a firearm until the driver has deployed. In a perfect world, the TASER wouldn't be deployed unless there are at least three officers present. TASER man, Firearms cover and cuffing officer. Important to disnguish the three.

I don't like the idea of having two triggers on one weapon which have very different consequences if pulled.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Silop08

I have been reading the post regarding the RSU and i believe they are well overdue and are doing a great job.

Now I have a few questions that maybe someone can answer. I am a member of AGS and have been for over 8yrs in the DMR. First off does anyone have a picture of what the RSU guys wear when on routine patrol.

Am just wondering after the rest of the country has RSU rolled out will the DMR have a RSU. I mean SDU do not have a less than lethal option, ERU are the elite and are on call for the rest of the country, DDU are always busy and often dont get a chance to patrol so will there be a RSU based in the DMR. To be honest it be of excellent benefit to have a dedicated armed support/response unit who's sole purpose is to back up regular patrol guys.

Silop08 wrote: »
    I have been reading the post regarding the RSU and i believe they are well overdue and are doing a great job.

Now I have a few questions that maybe someone can answer. I am a member of AGS and have been for over 8yrs in the DMR. First off does anyone have a picture of what the RSU guys wear when on routine patrol.

Am just wondering after the rest of the country has RSU rolled out will the DMR have a RSU. I mean SDU do not have a less than lethal option, ERU are the elite and are on call for the rest of the country, DDU are always busy and often dont get a chance to patrol so will there be a RSU based in the DMR. To be honest it be of excellent benefit to have a dedicated armed support/response unit who's sole purpose is to back up regular patrol guys.

I don't think that the DMR are going to be getting it due to the specialist units being based here. They have had some recent success in arresting people following robberies and the like. Not going to discuss who and what is out due to security reasons, but if you are in the DMR then you should know.

Yeah I know but my point is that OCU, SDU are engaged in specific duties and are national and I would be of the opinion that dedicated armed support which solely support the regular would be beneficial

Silop08 wrote: »
    Yeah I know but my point is that OCU, SDU are engaged in specific duties and are national and I would be of the opinion that dedicated armed support which solely support the regular would be beneficial

I've PM'd you re that above.

I should have said in my above post that Dublin should also get the RSU's. They are a nice public statement that says we can and will meet force with force. Maybe they could replace/ supplement the crime task force.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

A lot of taskies and drugs units have armed members..... They back up the regular. But id definitely be all for an rsu in dublin, but i honestly don't think it will happen because ags management think theres too many armed member in dmr as it is

I think If a good enough case can be made for RSU then it should happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭noel32

think there an excellent addition, if not being involed in a % of events each month or whatever just the sheer hi visability issue is excellent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

+1 i'm all for catching crime but the primary role is prevention

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

I saw the a Rsu unit in kearys in mallow last night, is the car automatic? the garda looked really professional and reminded me of the CO19 officers on that frontline program couple month ago its great to see them patroling

CO19/RSU.... No Comparrison

CO19 = ERU

RSU should be more like ERU in my opinion, but sadly i dont think that will ever happen

POGAN wrote: »
    I saw the a Rsu unit in kearys in mallow last night, is the car automatic? the garda looked really professional and reminded me of the CO19 officers on that frontline program couple month ago its great to see them patroling

Yes automatic Volvo XC70 "Police Special"

RSU should be more like ERU in my opinion, but sadly i dont think that will ever happen

I have to disagree with m'learned colleague.......RSU are an armed response and patrol unit. ERU should alway be the better unit for responding to situations such that require "special" skills. ERU should be kept to these taskings and not on patrol. They, in my opinion should be training most days (without anyone jumping in and giving out the training programme......serving members know it quite well....no need to tell the world;)).

What i meant to say (and should have worded it differently)
    RSU should be trained up to a certain standard just below that of the ERU.
    They should have a far greater role in interventions and not just be used for armed patrols and response to armed calls.

There are a lot of pre planned scenarios that could happen and RSU will not be able to to get involved as its not in there remit and instead ERU will have to do it.

What i meant to say (and should have worded it differently)
    RSU should be trained up to a certain standard just below that of the ERU.
    They should have a far greater role in interventions and not just be used for armed patrols and response to armed calls.

There are a lot of pre planned scenarios that could happen and RSU will not be able to to get involved as its not in there remit and instead ERU will have to do it.

Don't they have that capability already? They just need to be authorised at the scene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭the locust

I think the idea is that RSU are first responders - first on the scene and the idea is RSU are trained to contain an incident before 'they' arrive