Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Regional Support Units -Success??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭cork1

Poccington wrote: »
    Well whoever told you that is very wrong. Considering you say you do Security details and Arned duties you should know exactly when you can open fire and you should know asking permission isn't part of it.

i havent done any of them yet as im a 2* but this is what we were learning on the 3* course i was just saying that i will be doing it. we were told about the rules of engagement and were told you can fire if the rules are broken but to be honest in my opinion i think they are very broad.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,932 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Both RSU threads merged.

Chief---

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

cork1 wrote: »
    i havent done any of them yet as im a 2* but this is what we were learning on the 3* course i was just saying that i will be doing it. we were told about the rules of engagement and were told you can fire if the rules are broken but to be honest in my opinion i think they are very broad.

Hi Cork1, can I ask are you in the full time army or just the fca, cos the fca tends to over dramatise everything (well they did when I was in it).

Some1 in the full time army or gardai are trained to know when the use of fire is appropriate (well i hope so anyway :rolleyes:)

Probably just say that for the fca, so they don't shoot a bush in the field when a bird flies out:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,895 ✭✭✭Terrontress

ste88m your on the money there! i cant imagine it now. two armed robbers run out of a bank and our armed unit are fubbling around trying to get elbow pads on. they need one uniform and it needs to be simpified. from what they were wearing on the paper theres just too many bits and pieces

They should have velcro patches on their jackets which, when authorised to use deadly force, they rip off to uncover the yellow checks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

They should have velcro patches on their jackets which, when authorised to use deadly force, they rip off to uncover the yellow checks.

Just to clear up a few things for people.
    The RSU (regional support unit) were supposed to be patroling unarmed at first on regular duties. After the first week this was found to be totally impractable. Members now patrol fully armed. The observer is armed with sig, MP 7 and Taser. The driver is armed with his sig.

The units vests are like the normaly ones with Garda on it. When, in theory, they are armed they can pull a velcro patch that shows Armed Gardaí.

The rules of engagement are different for PDF and AGS, but alot of the points are the same. Gardaí never never have to ask for permission and no person can tell a member to arrest someone nor can they direct a member to open fire. Its down to the members judgement, but the member must be able to account for each round fired.

The RSU are a very sucessful unit so far. As pointed out they have deployed the Taser on several occasions in both Limerick and Cork to great effect. They also saved a motorists life who went into cardiac arrest while driving in North Cork, defibing him with the on board defib.

Anyone who has voted no either has not seen these guys operate or are just voting No because its AGS related

Trojan911 wrote: »
    Most likely not. A ballistic blanket may be available for deployment i.e drape it over the door of the vehicle.

Ballistic blanket......you must be mixing up the operating regions.

Cork, Kerry and Limerick......RSU are not deployed in IRAQ!!!!

Ballistic blankets are used by defence forces in seriously high risk areas and mostly used by ordanance disposal units.

• Registered Users Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

Just to clear up a few things for people.
    The RSU (regional support unit) were supposed to be patroling unarmed at first on regular duties. After the first week this was found to be totally impractable. Members now patrol fully armed. The observer is armed with sig, MP 7 and Taser. The driver is armed with his sig.

Good to hear, finally, something done right!:D Does that mean that the car now always displays Armed Support Unit or is that meant to be hidden until they're responding to a call?

ste88m wrote: »
    Good to hear, finally, something done right!:D Does that mean that the car now always displays Armed Support Unit or is that meant to be hidden until they're responding to a call?

Its always displayed. The Armed Response on the side of the car was covered by magentic strip of battenburg. Some of these came off driving at speed, most were stolen from the vehicles so now they are left off and the light bar scrolls AGS/ARU

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Are they based in Kerry, or just patrol Cork/Kerry border?

eroo wrote: »
    Are they based in Kerry, or just patrol Cork/Kerry border?

Two units, six cars. 3 in cork/3 in Limerick. They in turn patrol Kerry. 3 cars in theory on the run at all times they are working

Sure, why would they bother crossing their respective borders??:D

eroo wrote: »
    Sure, why would they bother crossing their respective borders??:D

True true....all the Kerry folk are law abiding people!!

Tell that to Ferris and his ilk;):pac:

Lads on an aside, would the RSU's have their own command chain independent of the rank and file members back in the station or do they still operate under the same umbrella?

Only saw this now sorry, they are still Gardaí and so the same chain of command applies. They fall into the remit of the local D/Supt. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Ballistic blankets are used by defence forces in seriously high risk areas and mostly used by ordanance disposal units.

And Trojan units in the Met. As you have never served in the Met I wouldn't expect you to know this. Very effective & easy to use. If you re read my post I said "May be available" (#44). They would benefit AGS if they were available here, as added protection for officers.

wrote:
    Identification of armour for MPS issue
    12. Body Armour issues are overseen by the MPS Body Armour Committee. Its membership is taken from a number of Firearms OCUs, Central Operations, the Police Federation, Public Order OCU, Department of Resource, Department of Information and the Department of Technology.

13. The terms of reference for the committee are:

To discuss, formulate and develop corporate policy in respect of Metropolitan Police Service Body Armour and all personal ballistic protective equipment i.e. helmets, shields, blankets, etc.
    To consider requests for individual projects and research on body armour and/or personal ballistic protective equipment.
    To agree the arrangements for contracting out projects.
    To agree strategies for implementing findings of project and research.

Source

And Trojan units in the Met. As you have never served in the Met I wouldn't expect you to know this. Very effective & easy to use. If you re read my post I said "May be available" (#44). They would benefit AGS if they were available here, as added protection for officers.

You know were taking about AGS.........not the met. Sure a big blanket that covers the windows are a must. Wouldnt be good it our lads could see out.

And im open to correction (by a serving met officer, no walters please) but I was informed that the blankets used by trojan units are for ordanance, i.e. placing over suspect devices before disposal team shows up.....not draping over windows

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭DCTF

in the pdf maybe maybe in the rdf too. but what i was told was you should always call it in so that when the **** hits the fan if there is people saying it was unjustified it cant all be pinned on one person. not saying this is right or wrong though because when it comes down to the guy with the gun makes the call

Lad your so way off the mark it's unbelieveable. I used to be in the DF now a member of AGS.

Just go and get yourself a copy of COD6 and read it will you if you knew what you were on about it's drilled into you from day 1 in the DF.

Also when your being mounted for duty the O/Officer who mounts the guard / stand too / escort etc will go throught the motions. Thats the last he has to do with you more often than not he's not around anyway just the nco i/c. You don't need to radio or contact anyone for permission to open fire use your judgement in line with the rules of engagement & COD6.

There's a magnitude and use of force continuim in the nco tacaide i'm nearly sure outlining the response in situations ranging from public order to armed incidents.
    Prevention / Justification / Legal Requirement / Minimum Force.

DCTF wrote: »
    Lad your so way off the mark it's unbelieveable. I used to be in the DF now a member of AGS.

He's just started in the FCA, go easy on the kid ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

You know we have ballistic clipboards... seriously...

They're a bit bigger than your standard A4 clipboard and they double up as small shields but are only good against small calibres but the fact is they are...bullet proof clipboards....:D

You know we have ballistic clipboards... seriously...

They're a bit bigger than your standard A4 clipboard and they double up as small shields but are only good against small calibres but the fact is they are...bullet proof clipboards....:D

Wow....even though i just laughed myself silly jon....its acually a good idea!!:)

So now ye can write bullet proof tickets......while wrapped in yer bullet proof blankets:D:D:D:p:p

nial-police-blanket.jpg

And im open to correction (by a serving met officer, no walters please) but I was informed that the blankets used by trojan units are for ordanance, i.e. placing over suspect devices before disposal team shows up.....not draping over windows

Yep, they are used for both purposes. NYPD use them also.
    wrote:
    The police draped what they called a ballistics blanket over Mr. Sipila's windows. A police spokesman, Lieut. Raymond O'Donnell, said the blanket served as a kind of oversized protective vest to stop bullets.

This is what they look like. Besides, I've seen them being used by ARV's in London some years back during an armed standoff on my old ground.

Yep, they are used for both purposes. NYPD use them also.

This is what they look like. Besides, I've seen them being used by ARV's in London some years back during an armed standoff on my old ground.

NGA said

Withdrawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

DCTF wrote: »

Just go and get yourself a copy of COD6 and read it will you if you knew what you were on about it's drilled into you from day 1 in the DF.

Also when your being mounted for duty the O/Officer who mounts the guard / stand too / escort etc will go throught the motions. Thats the last he has to do with you more often than not he's not around anyway just the nco i/c. You don't need to radio or contact anyone for permission to open fire use your judgement in line with the rules of engagement & COD6.

There's a magnitude and use of force continuim in the nco tacaide i'm nearly sure outlining the response in situations ranging from public order to armed incidents.
    Prevention / Justification / Legal Requirement / Minimum Force.

As informative as your post is, I really don't think a public forum is the best place to be discussing COD6 and it's principles?

:DWithdrawn:D

As informative as your post is, I really don't think a public forum is the best place to be discussing COD6 and it's principles?

Ah in fairness he/she didn't give that much away. Besides it's easily Googled.

Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

The blankets can be thrown over railings or vehicles to provide cover from fire.

As seen here...

3459211253_11ccb74288_o.jpg

I've got a better one somewhere, try and dig it out...

They are quite heavy though... I think ballistic matress would be a better term cos they aint blanket like...lol... We have them in the cars and take them to hospital guards as most hospital walls are paper thin and offer no ballistic protection... can tie one of these to the bed and drape it over for instant fortification.... :D

Our clipboards are a bit bigger than this but are the same idea..with the strap at the back...

Clipboard WHy am I so proud of this????

Can we stay on topic, thread is on the Garda Regional Support Units success???

So the RSU are armed full time now? Is that official?