Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IMF will sort the public sector out if they don't cop on

• 22-02-2009 2:50am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

The IMF is looking at Ireland - in a very big way. You see, they think this country is bankrupt, and already they have thier plans. I can gaurantee that the IMF, when called in, will sack half our public service and tell the remaining to take at least a 50% pay cut......enough to make many homeless. The IMF are accountable to nobody. No "protest" will change their mind. Is this what the public service wants? Moaning about just a pension levy when so many private workers lose their jobs!?

TBH I am out of symphaty - I want the IMF in here to cull the public service -I don't think we can do it ourselves. This country in bankrupt and insolvent and how dare public sector secure workers (protesting because of an extra 40 euro per month levy!!!) protest on our streets when so many of us private sector workers are being sacked. They have, however, scored a massive own goal because the IMF loooovvvveeee protests - now they can come in and sort us out.

I hope they do at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

YEP, the IMF can do Sums, unlike the Unions.

Our teachers are great, aren't they?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

K-9 wrote: »

Our teachers are great

Not worth their wage from my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

it is not a 40 a month pension levy, it would be more 50 or 60 euro a week for the pension levy. Couldnt argue about the public sector complaining about every little thing. They must take the punishment for the goverments mess after all :rolleyes:

tech2 wrote: »
    it is not a 40 a month pension levy, it would be more 50 or 60 euro a week for the pension levy. Couldnt argue about the public sector complaining about every little thing. They must take the punishment for the goverments mess after all :rolleyes:

After tax relief what are the amounts and on what wages?

I didn't hear them moaning about pay increases when the Govt. were messing up?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I bought our kitchen and a nice desk in IMF

darkman2 wrote: »
    The IMF is looking at Ireland - in a very big way. You see, they think this country is bankrupt, and already they have thier plans. I can gaurantee that the IMF, when called in, will sack half our public service and tell the remaining to take at least a 50% pay cut......enough to make many homeless. The IMF are accountable to nobody. No "protest" will change their mind. Is this what the public service wants? Moaning about just a pension levy when so many private workers lose their jobs!?

TBH I am out of symphaty - I want the IMF in here to cull the public service -I don't think we can do it ourselves. This country in bankrupt and insolvent and how dare public sector secure workers (protesting because of an extra 40 euro per month levy!!!) protest on our streets when so many of us private sector workers are being sacked. They have, however, scored a massive own goal because the IMF loooovvvveeee protests - now they can come in and sort us out.

If you were a good worker, you wouldn't be sacked in the private sector!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

If you were a good worker, you wouldn't be sacked in the private sector!;)

Not true. Cuts need to be made, they cut people that have recently joined the company.

Will the public sector V the private sector threads please GTFO... There are soo many threads here, why the need to start new ones?

After tax relief what are the amounts and on what wages?

I didn't hear them moaning about pay increases when the Govt. were messing up?

say for a very ordinary 32,000 a year someone will lose 1,500 thousand off, 30euro a week which is about 120 a month thats after tax relief. It a damn lot for a government cockup.

Anybody see BBC News24?

say for a very ordinary 32,000 a year someone will lose 1,500 thousand off, 30euro a week which is about 120 a month thats after tax relief. It a damn lot for a government cockup.

What percentage is the levy on 32,000?

Senna wrote: »
    I bought our kitchen and a nice desk in IMF

Would you like the real IMF to take them away - International Monetary Fund for the win - and yeah we are all f*cked. All of us. Just these public sector loons are making it worse!

What percentage is the levy on 32,000?

Just over 5%.

Would you like the real IMF to take them away - International Monetary Fund for the win - and yeah we are all f*cked. All of us. Just these public sector loons are making it worse!

Bastards are lyingIf they were a fund,they would give us money.

Just over 5%.

Take of 20%.

How much PRSI do pre 95 entrants pay?

How much do post 95 entrants pay and how much were wages increased to offset the increase?

It's funny all these people talking about "fairness" - yeah over years maybe.

TBH We don 't have time to be ****ing around like this - we are going bankrupt!

has the IMF ever been successful?Just reading up on it nw and all the countries it tried to help now have larger debt than before the IMF intervened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

My colleagues in the irish public sector are taking a HUGE HUGE cut in their salary.

My dad, who works in the poblic sector, has lost 25k off his nest egg, and is loosing 300 euro per WEEK because of the recession. My sister is on a 3.5 day week now.

Many many many people in the private sector spend their days on boards. I know them myself. They literally spend hours on the net. there are huge inefficiencies in the private sector. people need to have a long hard look at themselves. I know enough dossers in the private sector, who then tell me public sector workers have it cushy, when I've just worked a 24 hour shift.

Employment law means it's hard as hell to sack anyone in ireland, public or private sector.

Those of us who have purposely shunned the public sector were the ones who weren't rolling in it during the good times.

The people working in the motor tax office on crap money, and the people working on the xray desk in the hospital, the physiotherapist who earns about 40% less in the hospital than in the lucrative private field.......none of these people caused the recession.

THE PRIVATE SECTOR DID.

I have no problem with listening to people who work in carpet shops etc moan about the public sector workers. But your company more than likely borrowed above their needs, and their ability to pay. They most likely paid stupid money to too many people, who then felt like they were affluent, so they bought big houses and big cars with money they thought they'd have in the future.

So, private businesses around the world have been basically **** each other off for years about how much money they have. While some of us stayed in the crappy public jobs, to keep the place ticking over.

And now it's the public sector worker who's bailing everyone out, despite this being a private sector issue.

It's not pretty taking the big hits in your income, when you decided against working in the private sector. You can say what you like, but we all know the public sector are going to bail everyone else out.

But don't begrudge them a moan about it, coz there's a lot of people here who are going to benefit from other people's money in the next few years.

Welcome to our future - 3rd world, broke and in more debt. Next stop Harare. (oh wait we can't even print money now!!!)

Take of 20%.

How much PRSI do pre 95 entrants pay?

How much do post 95 entrants pay and how much were wages increased to offset the increase?

Why is 20% taken off?

prsi contributions amounts to 19 a week or over 1000 a year

tallaght01 wrote: »
    My colleagues in the irish public sector are taking HUGE HUGE cut in their salary.

My dad, who works in the poblic sector, has lost 25k off his nest egg, and is loosing 300k per WEEK because of the recession. My sister is on a 3.5 day week now.

Many many many people in the private sector spend their days on boards. I know them myself. They literally spend hours on the net. there are huge inefficiencies in the private sector. people need to have a long hard look at themselves. I know enough dossers in the private sector, who then tell me public sector workers have it cushy, when I've just worked a 24 hour shift.

Employment law means it's hard as hell to sack anyone in ireland, public or private sector.

Those of us who have purposely shunned the public sector were the ones who weren't rolling in it during the good times.

The people working in the motor tax office on crap money, and the people working on the xray desk in the hospital, the physiotherapist who earns about 40% less in the hospital than in the lucrative private field.......none of these people caused the recession.

THE PRIVATE SECTOR DID.

I have no problem with listening to people who work in carpet shops etc moan about is public sector workers. But your company more than likely borrowed above their needs, and their ability to pay. They most likely paid stupid money to to many people, who then felt like they were affluent, so they bought big houses and big cars with money they thought they'd have in the future.

So, private businesses around the world have been basically **** each other off for years about how much money they have. While some of us stayed in the crappy public jobs, to keep the place ticking over.

And now it's the public sector worker who's bailing everyone out, despite this being a private sector issue.

It's not pretty taking the big hits in your income, when you decided against working in the private sector. You can say what you like, but we all know the public sector are going to bail everyone else out.

But don't begrudge them a moan about it, coz there's a lot of people here who are going to benefit from other people's money in the next few years.

Grand, give back the benchmarking against the Private Sector then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I don't think they fully realise how much **** we're in. if they did I don't think they'd be protesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

TBH We don 't have time to be ****ing around like this - we are going bankrupt!

How much did you spend getting drunk tonight?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I don't think they fully realise how much **** we're in. if they did I don't think they'd be protesting

You see, this is the problem.. 'They'' are not protesting!.

''They" are the fat cats living beyond our countries means, and are the untouchables.

"They" are the people who have arse raped you and me, not the nurse in A&E tonight (up to her tits in puke & blood).. "They" are not the garda on duty tonight dealing with similar or "they" are not the soldier serving oversea's in Chad, Kosovo, Bosnia etc or defusing a pipe bomb in Finglas.

The problem, and todays protest (private sector unions were out too) is about the ABSOLUTEL INEQUALITY of the pay cuts.

People are fucking angry.

And make no mistake about it "They" have made a great job of 'devoid and conqeur'.. "They" have turned you and me against each other, "They" have turned neighbour against neighbour and brother against brother in a very successful attempt to muddy the water's "THEY" wade through.

We've been ****ed over big time, but not by the ordinary man and women working in the public sector.

Mairt wrote: »
    How much did you spend getting drunk tonight?.

Im not drunk at all - I state reality and this guy thinks im drunk!? - Yeah in 8 months time we will see what the reality is and im pretty sure the IMF will be in by then sacking workers.

Yeah but do you want to be fuc[king angry and have no job!? I think considering the depth of our crisis we can hold off for a bit. Anger can come with the upturn but now it is destroyinging all of us.

Yeah but do you want to be fuc[king angry and have no job!? I think considering the depth of our crisis we can hold off for a bit. Anger can come with the upturn but now it is destroying all of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Grand, give back the benchmarking against the Private Sector then.

Yea no probs, when the public sector stop selling us gaffs in tallaght for 500k etc etc

Wouldn't need to be benchmarked if the private sector weren't driving up inflation with their ridiculous wage demands when we were stuck for staff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 老大

My colleagues in the irish public sector are taking HUGE HUGE cut in their salary.

My dad, who works in the poblic sector, has lost 25k off his nest egg, and is loosing 300k per WEEK because of the recession. My sister is on a 3.5 day week now.

What kind of public sector job is your dad in that hes loosing that kind of wage? he must be the most well pail civil servant in the country.???

Sure, there may be loads of private sector guys on boards alot, maybe their multitasking ;)
    No harm in leaving yourself logged in while on the phone to customers, using company systems and working etc..

Also if private sector staff are not productive, private sector managment will take care of it eventually themselves.. job losses...

There has been loads of job cuts, SR technics, Waterford Glass, Dell, Motorola,Britvic,Bulmers,Ericsson, Intel,RR Donnelly, Hotels,Superquinn, plus hundreds of small businesses

I have heard some public sector staff let go, but these would have been close to retirement and would have got v generous packages to go.

True the bankers have screwed us all with their dealings, they should be jailed, but we all need to pull together to get out of this mess.
    Part of that is to cut costs everywhere. Asking public staff to help pay for their own pension is a small step to take.
    My own pension is almost worthless so have cut that myself. I need to put food on the table for the time being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭jahalpin

The recession is a global thing and cannot really be blamed on the Irish government.

Most of our trade is with countries that are also experiencing a recession, so when they cutback on buying things we suffer very badly.

Most of the problems with the Irish and UK banks (exc. Anglo Irish) were in fact caused by banks in the US.

The public sector is paid for by the private sector. The public servants were happy enough to use the excellent performance of the private sector during the celtic tiger as an excuse for benchmarking. The public servants should now lose all of the benchmarking increases they received.

The public sector are always going on about how they are doing their job for the good of the country, the best thing they can do is to help the country by taking large paycuts, they will still be on more than minimum wage in their secure pensionable jobs and this will help secure the future of the state.

They can complain and protest all they want, the money is just not there to pay them at the current levels and the sooner they cop onto this fact the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

My dad.. is loosing 300k per WEEK because of the recession.
    I have no sympathy for professional soccer players in a recession.

Why is 20% taken off?

The levy is tax and PRSI deductible.
    tech2 wrote:
    prsi contributions amounts to 19 a week or over 1000 a year

Yep, same as everybody else pays. We all pay low PRSI.
    Yea no probs, when the public sector stop selling us gaffs in tallaght for 500k etc etc

I think you'll find they have.
    tallaght01 wrote:
    Wouldn't need to be benchmarked if the private sector weren't driving up inflation with their ridiculous wage demands when we were stuck for staff.

LOL. You do realise benchmarking was a con, the biggest caused by whinging public servants? It was paid out of the tax revenues from those builders you moan about. Your paying it back now as we are all paying for the construction bubble.

jahalpin wrote: »
    The recession is a global thing and cannot really be blamed on the Irish government.

Most of our trade is with countries that are also experiencing a recession, so when they cutback on buying things we suffer very badly.

Most of the problems with the Irish and UK banks (exc. Anglo Irish) were in fact caused by banks in the US.

Our Property bubble was larger than most countries. The sub prime crisis had little effect on Irish banks, bad lending did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

THE PRIVATE SECTOR DID.

You talk about the private sector as if we were all ceos making the decisions. I didn't cause the recession, you didn't cause the recession, i think it's safe to say that no one who posts on boards caused the recession. The big bosses in private sector companies made some horrendous decisions and now their employees are taking the hit through pay cuts and massive redundancies, even though they didn't cause the recession

Your employer is the irish government and i'm sure you'll agree they made some horrendous decisions over the past few years. It was their job to prevent this through regulation. And now just like any company, their employees have to take the hit.

You.re not bailing out the private sector, you're paying the price for all the bad decisions made by the big boys in your company, the same as everyone else

I hope we don't get into a blame game while we watch the country go down the tubes. Everyone is angry - im angry but we all need to act together if we are going to get out of this and we need to do it now.

Think about next year - the government will need an EXTRA 4 billion in savings! What's going to happen then:eek:

The government should go for the jugular and dish out all the pain now instead of putting it off IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭Shiny

has the IMF ever been successful?Just reading up on it nw and all the countries it tried to help now have larger debt than before the IMF intervened

I was reading up on it also this morning.

Apparently some countries fell, after IMF intervention.

In fairness, if 50% of the public sector were sacked, the country
    would be in a pretty bad state after it.

Shiny wrote: »
    the country
    would be in a pretty bad state after it.

True but if we can't afford to pay them then what? We might have no choice. Nobody wants to see anyone lose their job but how can we possibly get out of this and get our finances in order if the Civil Service does not change?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    You.re not bailing out the private sector, you're paying the price for all the bad decisions made by the big boys in your company, the same as everyone else
    Well put. It's annoying as hell, but that's the simple truth of it - we're all paying for bad decisions made by a relatively small number of people. That's both private and public and both sides need to recognise that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

My dad, who works in the poblic sector, has lost 25k off his nest egg,

Nest egg = pension then ?
    All private pensions have taking a hammering, we don't have defined benefits at the end of it. So the private sector workers have had maybe 30-50% of their pensions wiped off and are expected to foot the bill for the public sector pensions on top of that.
    Many many many people in the private sector spend their days on boards. I know them myself. They literally spend hours on the net. there are huge inefficiencies in the private sector.

If there was, then so what ?
    Private companies are not being funded by the Irish taxpayer, that's the difference. Inefficient companies can and are going to the wall, it's natural selection. Only the healthy ones are surviving.
    ...none of these people caused the recession.

THE PRIVATE SECTOR DID.

No. The financial sector did, there's a big difference.

While some of us stayed in the crappy public jobs, to keep the place ticking over.

Nobody forced you, you made a choice.
    And I doubt you done it for the good of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Generalise much? :rolleyes:

Yeah, like every private sector worker is taking a wage cut or losing their job... there is a big majority of private sector workers who won't lose their job or have to take a pay cut. Just because some private sector workers are losing their job doesn't mean everyone is in the same boat. Why should these private sector ppl in their good jobs and good pay not have to share some of the burden?
    A tax increase would have been a much fairer way of sharing the pain than this levy which only hits one sector. A tax increase would mean everyone in employment contributes. Those who lose their jobs would not be paying anything. Just because someone may lose their job in the future is no reason to expect them not to contribute now, when they are working.

You, like a lot of other people, have fallen for the big con - as Mairt says - divide and conquer, turn us all against each other so we blame each other rather than turning on the government and big business who got us into this mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

It was on the radio that a public sector worker would need to donate 26% of their salary if they were to pay for their guaranteed pensions.

Maybe the IMF would give them a much higher pension levy????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Zzippy wrote: »
    Generalise much? :rolleyes:

Yeah, like every private sector worker is taking a wage cut or losing their job... there is a big majority of private sector workers who won't lose their job or have to take a pay cut. Just because some private sector workers are losing their job doesn't mean everyone is in the same boat. Why should these private sector ppl in their good jobs and good pay not have to share some of the burden?
    A tax increase would have been a much fairer way of sharing the pain than this levy which only hits one sector. A tax increase would mean everyone in employment contributes. Those who lose their jobs would not be paying anything. Just because someone may lose their job in the future is no reason to expect them not to contribute now, when they are working.

You, like a lot of other people, have fallen for the big con - as Mairt says - divide and conquer, turn us all against each other so we blame each other rather than turning on the government and big business who got us into this mess.

Their private pension fund which they pay for fully has fallen a lot over the past year and there is no guaranteed level of pension when one retires unlike the public sector.
    My pension fund lost over a third of its value, the public sector worker has lost nothing except they now cry over having to pay a little more for their guaranteed pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭what2do

THE PRIVATE SECTOR DID.

I have no problem with listening to people who work in carpet shops etc moan about is public sector workers. But your company more than likely borrowed above their needs, and their ability to pay. They most likely paid stupid money to to many people, who then felt like they were affluent, so they bought big houses and big cars with money they thought they'd have in the future.
    QUOTE]

I think if you apply the above comment to the government if may give you an insight into these problems....

the govs ability to pay - the banking issues are damaging the govts ratings hence the cost of borrowing is going up...(IMF don't care who caused these problems)

"Most likely paid stupid money to many people" - eg the tribulals etc to name one big cash spend for the govt

I work in the private sector so whilst it is hard to have sympathy for the public sector I think it gives me a more realistic view. If my co cannot afford to pay salaries, cut backs and redundancies is the way of saving costs.

How then can anyway say that eventhough the govt does not have the funds available that no staff should have to suffer cutbacks ???

Also while we blame the finance sector does anyone look at the bigger picture - there is a global crisis and Ire is a very small player in the global markets hence the impact on us. The government didn't have the reserves in place to help thro the bad times - it was all about spending in the good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Sources please

Reports, reliable quotes, academic papers....? Anything?

Think of it this way:

Intel is a company that makes money by selling microchips. The government is a company that makes money through tax

One of intel's major customers is dell, they buy billions of chips every year. If people stop buying computers, dell stops selling computers and stops buying chips from intel

The result is that intel loses money because it's selling fewer chips and the government loses money through less vat intake

In that scenario, neither intel nor the government are at fault, but when intel makes cuts because of falling revenue do you see their employees throwing a tantrum saying "it's not my fault revenue is down, blame dell for not buying our chips. I'm not taking any cut"?

Of course you don't because private sector employees understand that if no money is being taken in, no money can be given out, something which public sector employees don't seem to comprehend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

If we all make sacrifices and agree to lower wages or higher taxes and work together we can dig ourselves out of this and restore our reputation. However needing to be bailed out by the IMF would destroy our credability. Why would anyone invest in a country that can only develop itself when being funded and guided by outside sources (eg the IMF and EU) and which falls apart at the first sign of trouble.
    Lets follow the nodic countries, free education, cheap yet high quality health care, ministers who will resign when suspected of doing wrong, better infrastructure, no tribunals or quangos wasting money, less TDs on less pay and higher taxes to help pay for it. You just have to accept that we cannot all have more than one house and go on two or more expensive foreign holidays a year.
    Less is perhaps more.

edit: for perspective, I'm a private sector worker on 25k a year with a wife on 11k a year (a job she will be losing in a month or two), we are graduates with a child and are renting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    Think of it this way:

Intel is a company that makes money by selling microchips. The government is a company that makes money through tax

One of intel's major customers is dell, they buy billions of chips every year. If people stop buying computers, dell stops selling computers and stops buying chips from intel

The result is that intel loses money because it's selling fewer chips and the government loses money through less vat intake

In that scenario, neither intel nor the government are at fault, but when intel makes cuts because of falling revenue do you see their employees throwing a tantrum saying "it's not my fault revenue is down, blame dell for not buying our chips. I'm not taking any cut"?

Of course you don't because private sector employees understand that if no money is being taken in, no money can be given out, something which public sector employees don't seem to comprehend

One thing that seems apparent is that the public sector seem to hit some kind of mysterious reset switch each day on this conversation and we just have to go through the same crap each time.

Resisting discussing the topic like the public sector resists changes in work practices. Either that or they all have amnesia or are drinking themselves stupid each night and can't remember the previous day and need to attend AA meetings.

I've come to the conclusion that discussing with them is non-productive and pointless and we should just ignore them and so should the government and just make whatever cuts they want. If they refuse to work, there are plenty of people to take their places/jobs.

The current attitude of the public sector is getting us nowhere.

Oh and the government aren't dividing and conquering. I'm very pissed at them and reading on that situation with golden circles and dodgy bank dealings and kickbacks etc.. too because I'm an adult and capable of focusing on more than one topic. I'm sick of that worthless excuse being thrown out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

It looks like the coming week could be the beginning of the end.

Everyone needs to realise that these 7% decreases in pay for the public sector is a mere droplet. The problem needs a correction of such a huge figure its unmeasurable at this stage probably too late.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

It looks like the coming week could be the beginning of the end.

Everyone needs to realise that these 7% decreases in pay for the public sector is a mere droplet. The problem needs a correction of such a huge figure its unmeasurable at this stage probably too late.

And who's going to pay for it?
    Everybody.
    The people who arent affected by the levy at the moment are going to be whinging and crying salt tears of thier own when the next budget comes round...
    And judging by some of the stuff people in the Private sector on here are saying(and presumably beliving) i'm increasingly inclined to tell them as a body to go **** themselves and dont be knocking the unions for at least attempting to sort this mess out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Degsy wrote: »
    Everybody.
    The people who arent affected by the levy at the moment are going to be whinging and crying salt tears of thier own when the next budget comes round...
    And judging by some of the stuff people in the Private sector on here are saying(and presumably beliving) i'm increasingly inclined to tell them as a body to go **** themselves and dont be knocking the unions for at least attempting to sort this mess out.

The problem is so big that 7% will be laughed at come the next budget, we are talking huge tax increases. Peoples pay packets will need to shrink by 20% to even level this boat.

At this stage all of this means nothing if we cannot keep international investors confident in Ireland, otherwise our money will be shipped out in the coming days and we really will be in big trouble. We won't really need to care about what we are earning.

Degsy wrote: »
    Everybody.

standing outside leinster house screaming "give us money you don't have" and refusing to acknowledge that you should take any cut when your employer has an 18 billion deficit doesn't count as "sorting this mess out". it more counts as "making the mess worse"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Was out with some friends last night and one of them (teacher) was moaning and groaning about having 2500 odd cut out of her wages :mad:. I felt like standing up and walking out and the wife knew it. FFS there are people out there losing everything in the private sector and this one on 45k a year is thinking off going on strike for the sake of 2.5k....The amount of pure greed out there is shocking.