Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Wicklow 200 (2009) Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭kenmc

Cheers for the advice about the spare wheel BTW mu**et
    Sorry mate, just feeling a little vicious today. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

kenmc wrote: »
    <autojinx>
    Sorry to be pedantic, but I think it's only called a breakway if you go off the front of a group. :pac:
    </autojinx>

That's what I am saying: I will in be in front of a group, and after they pass me, chances are, I will be in front of another group again ... and so on. Hopefully I will leave early enough so there are Lots are groups behind me to 'breakaway' from ... I am so amazingly smart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

That's what I am saying: I will in be in front of a group, and after they pass me, chances are, I will be in front of another group again ... and so on. Hopefully I will leave early enough so there are Lots are groups behind me to 'breakaway' from ... I am so amazingly smart

That's more of a break-back than a break-away?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

So how will people be approaching it ?
    Take first climb very easy and concentrate on saving energy for Slieve Mann and Glenmalure.

Taking it handy enough on the Sally Gap is usually a good tactic. It's a bit trickier this year to pace yourself as the terrain between Kilbride and Donard is fairly lumpy and harder to keep a steady pace on.
    How spread out does the field get i.e can you have a good crack at the descents or are there riders all over the shop

It's fairly spread out, even by the time you get to Sally Gap. People are starting over a number of hours, so it'll be mainly small groups and riders in ones and twos that you'll encounter.
    I believe you have to stop at the checkpoints how long is this for and when they say refreshments what do they mean ?

You only have to stop long enough to get your card swiped. Refreshments include sandwiches, bars, tea, etc.
    From those who have done it whats the toughest part ?

The later climbs obviously will feel harder, but honestly if you've done the training and pace yourself, you'll be grand.
    If the weather looks like it could be changeable would you bring a ruck sack with change of gear.

Wouldn't advise the rucksack at all. I never bother with rain gear as I just find it sweaty and a nuisance. Staying warm is more important. I'd go by the forecast and then take clothing to suit. As the lads said, take stuff that you can carry in your pocket or on the bike. You'll be hating the rucksack by the end of the day.
    ROK ON wrote: »
    Hi: Can the folks that have done this before (preferrably a few times) give an indication as to what type of times that ye have done, and have they improved (albeit that course changes every year).

I have a goal for a time that I would like to achieve that is based on what I have done 100 to 140km spins in Wicklow at.
    I am wondering at how realistic this is given that the inevitable tiredness factor that will kick in especially after descending Shay Elliott.

If I see times from much stronger cyclists than me around the time I am aiming for then I will have to re-evaluate obviously.

7:50 for me last year. Trained for it the year before but didn't ride it because of a broken bone. Probably would have been north of 8:30 that year.

I wouldn't worry too much about time if it's your first one. You've done the training and probably know well what's a comfortable pace for you. Setting a target could just result in you pushing too hard too soon. Fatigue will set in, but try and stay with other riders as much as possible. Sharing the work on the front during the flat bits will keep you motoring along without much effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

Raam wrote: »
    That's more of a break-back than a break-away?

There's a documentary film about that technique called...erm...'break-back mountain'.

I'll get me coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

so its not a mass start
    why would people wait a few hours to get going ?
    sorry confused

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

kenmc wrote: »
    Sorry mate, just feeling a little vicious today. :)

no worries so am I !!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

so its not a mass start
    why would people wait a few hours to get going ?
    sorry confused

Because some people like their kip and don't fancy the idea getting to UCD for 6am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭kenmc

also, there's a big queue to get your card swiped at the start before you go - can take 15-20 mins if you're unlucky

oh and in blorgs case, to give us a head start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Itsfixed

I meant to sign up for the Wicklow 200 via the online entry form and pay by credit card this evening and I see just now that I’m too late!

Is there absolutely no way I can enter now?

I assumed that when the website said the closing date was today, that it would still be possible to join up by 6pm or before midnight.

I sent an email to admin@wicklow200.ie just now, but if anyone here has any connection with the event organisers.....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭Home:Ballyhoura

Itsfixed wrote: »
    I meant to sign up for the Wicklow 200 via the online entry form and pay by credit card this evening and I see just now that I’m too late!

I assumed that when the website said the closing date was today, that it would still be possible to join up by 6pm or before midnight.

I sent an email to admin@wicklow200.ie just now, but if anyone here has any connection with the event organisers.....?

Exact same situation here, I had to register my 3 friends today to find entry was closed early!!! Whats the story with this? I presumed it would be midnight and 6:00P.M. worst case scenario! I need to enter them otherwise I am a dead man walking! Any ideas on how to get in, I suppose I'll send them an email and see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Itsfixed wrote: »

My mate entered and can't make it. He's looking to offload his entry. I presume they are transferrable....can anyone confirm this??? PM and I'll see what I can do.

Arg, I went to register someone else there too and found that it's closed! Will also e-mail and hope for the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

Exact same situation here, I had to register my 3 friends today to find entry was closed early!!! Whats the story with this? I presumed it would be midnight and 6:00P.M. worst case scenario! I need to enter them otherwise I am a dead man walking! Any ideas on how to get in, I suppose I'll send them an email and see how it goes.

Could you perhaps post it... I doubt thy'll not process it.

I presume they are transferrable....can anyone confirm this???

They are. They year I broke my finger I enquired about it and they said no problem. Blorg got my entry as it happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

el tonto wrote: »

I wouldn't worry too much about time if it's your first one. You've done the training and probably know well what's a comfortable pace for you. Setting a target could just result in you pushing too hard too soon. Fatigue will set in, but try and stay with other riders as much as possible. Sharing the work on the front during the flat bits will keep you motoring
    along without much effort.

Thanks for all of that folks.
    I can't actually resist setting myself a challenge. Happy with times I am seeing, as I hope for 9hrs (avg 22km/h), but would be satisfied with less than 10hrs.
    Again, I guess a lot can depend on weather on the day/what type of group you are in, or whether you are on your own etc.

Also a big +1 on the road ffrom Kilbride around lakes. That is actually the part I am dreading most, I just hate undulating roads (pure energy sapping), whereas I can mentally gear myself up for the climbs.
    I have this crazy (for me target of getting to Kilbride in 2hrs, and then allowinf for the fact that I will slow considerably after that. Is this a completely stupid idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

el tonto wrote: »
    They are. They year I broke my finger I enquired about it and they said no problem. Blorg got my entry as it happens.
    Excellent, looks like he could make a profit with all the interest!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,510 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I used some ladies card, no bother. She wasn't able to do it.

If you post a thread on the official site's forum, you generally get a flurry of trading happening in the week leading up to it.

Could you perhaps post it... I doubt thy'll not process it.

I do have a bit of evidence/backup!!! On the help page here it says the closing date is 14th of May 2009. They also say you can post a cheque with the paper entry form but this is no longer available to download and print! Does anyone by any chance still have the file saved on their computer so I can print it off and risk it? Hopefully they will take the mistake on the help page into consideration and re-open entries until that date! Good luck

P.S. Any other help would be greatly appreciated, and anyone hoping to transfer entries can happily offload them to me! Cheers, thanks for your help in advance. I genuinely really appreciate it! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭SetOverSet

I've not been out o the bike much lately except for a 20ish km per day commute so I'll be doing the 100 anyway and will decide at the split whether to carry on and attempt the 200...

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I used some ladies card, no bother. She wasn't able to do it.

If you post a thread on the official site's forum, you generally get a flurry of trading happening in the week leading up to it.

did you meet her at the hair dresser?

Nope, on the internet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭The tax man

I went up to Kippure today and I'm just wondering how that climb relates to the climbs of Slieve mann and Shay Elliott?
    Also I've no idea where exactly on the route both climbs are.
    Can someone mark on the attached map roughly the start and finish of both climbs. A simple S and F would be great.

BTW Kippure took 20.38:o although I briefly stopped twice to give my back a break from the pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I went up to Kippure today and I'm just wondering how that climb relates to the climbs of Slieve mann and Shay Elliott?

I find it tougher, as there are parts that have 15%-18% streches just before the ramp up to the end (last switchback).
    Kippure: 250m of elevation over 3.3km (c 7.5%).
    Slieve Maan: 261m of elevation gained over 4.4km (c 5.9%).
    Shay Elliott: 244m of elevation gained over 3.1km (c 7.8%).

Looks like Shay Elliott is tougher, but road surface is good and there is a 2km, 1km and 500m mark on road (from a race). This helps with pacing onself. Also, there are no 16% pieces of gradient - its pretty constant all the way. Kippure starts out gentle enough and turns in to a right bollix toward the end. Also road surface is shocking.
    My tuppence worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭The tax man

ROK ON wrote: »
    I find it tougher, as there are parts that have 15%-18% streches just before the ramp up to the end (last switchback).
    Kippure: 250m of elevation over 3.3km (c 7.5%).
    Slieve Maan: 261m of elevation gained over 4.4km (c 5.9%).
    Shay Elliott: 244m of elevation gained over 3.1km (c 7.8%).

Looks like Shay Elliott is tougher, but road surface is good and there is a 2km, 1km and 500m mark on road (from a race). This helps with pacing onself. Also, there are no 16% pieces of gradient - its pretty constant all the way. Kippure starts out gentle enough and turns in to a right bollix toward the end. Also road surface is shocking.
    My tuppence worth.

Cheers for that ROK ON. That certainly gives me an idea of what they're like. Kippure certainly turns into a bo**ix towards the end all right. That was my first time up it today. I'm in awe of the times set on the recent TT up it.

As I learned in Belgium, road surface is pretty much as important a factor in hill difficulty as the gradient or distance. A poor surface requires a lot more effort and is altogether a more energy sapping ordeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

So I log on tonight ready to sign-up last minute and I find the deadline is closed.Major bummer as most of my clubmates are participating.
    This is dodgy....but is there anyway I can ride along anyway?

I do have a bit of evidence/backup!!! On the help page here it says the closing date is 14th of May 2009. They also say you can post a cheque with the paper entry form but this is no longer available to download and print! Does anyone by any chance still have the file saved on their computer so I can print it off and risk it? Hopefully they will take the mistake on the help page into consideration and re-open entries until that date! Good luck

P.S. Any other help would be greatly appreciated, and anyone hoping to transfer entries can happily offload them to me! Cheers, thanks for your help in advance. I genuinely really appreciate it! :)
    Zipp101 wrote: »
    So I log on tonight ready to sign-up last minute and I find the deadline is closed.Major bummer as most of my clubmates are participating.

Try this.... Cached google search

http://209.85.229.132/search?q=cache:LKV1ecBPzaQJ:www.wicklow200.ie/2009/09entryform.pdf+http://www.wicklow200.ie/2009/09entryform.pdf&cd=1&hl=en&ct=clnk&client=safari

I presume this will work once it arrives before May 22nd shouldn't it? It's not like we are risking the €42 or anything here by sending it off and hoping for the best. I know it says they will accept "normal entry" but then why did they take the form down off the website, so we had to use the skills of scottreynolds to find another way of getting it for us? Am I missing something here, we're not doing anything wrong by doing this are we? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Zipp101 wrote: »

You can ride along (roads are public afterall), you just won't be able to use the food stops.