Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have you watched recently?

• Registered Users Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Twilight: New Moon:

If you're between the ages of 11-17.... and a girl you'll love it.

I'm not therefore I hated it. Nothing in it appealed to me whatsoever. The vampire genre has taken a serious blow to its credibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

carlitos way last night , have seen it about ten times at this stage , not a classic by any means but a very good movie , terrific performances all round and whatever happened to penelope ann miller , incredibly beautifull actress

• Registered Users Posts: 12,668 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I saw Inglorious Basterds tonight. Complete and total sh!te. Very poor indeed. Steer well clear

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

That_Guy wrote: »
    Twilight: New Moon:

If you're between the ages of 11-17.... and a girl you'll love it.

I'm not therefore I hated it. Nothing in it appealed to me whatsoever. The vampire genre has taken a serious blow to its credibility.

Indeed, I only watched the first Twilight movie recently, purely so i could have a reason to hate it instead of moaning about how it sucked having never watched it, it was awful, so I watched Near Dark, Blade 2 and 30 Days of Night in the days afterwards, y'know, proper vampire movies:D none of this wishy washy "twinkle in the sunlight" crap, vampires explode, melt or at least get crispy in the sun, not shine like a coat belonging to Elton John

• Registered Users Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Tell No One: Enjoyed this one a lot, well worth the watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

krudler wrote: »
    Blade 2 and 30 Days of Night
    y'know, proper vampire movies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

irish_bob wrote: »
    carlitos way last night , have seen it about ten times at this stage , not a classic by any means but a very good movie , terrific performances all round and whatever happened to penelope ann miller , incredibly beautifull actress

I love Carlitos Way. Some great lines in it. I love when he's hiding in the jacks with no bullets and then comes out screaming "Here's comes the pain!!!" :D

And William Dafoe shaved the top of his head for this film and had curly hair. He looked like one of the Three Stooges :)

OutlawPete knows it was Sean Penn .. you won't get me twice Irish Bob .. hehehehe

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

indough wrote: »

Regardless of what the movies are like, its their idea of vampires I like, not wishy washy romantic ideas, animalistic creatures hellbent on eating people is the way to go, i love the smackhead comparisons in Blade 2 of the reapers, and although 30 Days of Night has its flaws, the vampires themselves arent one of them, besides Blade 2 is awesome, its easily the best of the trilogy, who'd have though that the singer from ****ing Bros would make such a badass villain in two great comic book movies?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

In the past few months some of the movies I've watched:

Taking Of Pelham 123 - Decent but you've just seen the story before and I'm not a fan of Tony Scott's style at all. John Travolta was all over the place ("Motherfùcker!!") but, I dunno why, I've always liked him. Denzel was just, well, a fat version of Denzel (everyday guy la la la). The ending was rushed and left a sour taste in my mouth. Not a patch on the original which, in fairness, wasn't brilliant to begin with. (Though anything with Walter Matthau is a plus in my books :D)

Moon - Heard soooo much about this film for months so I finally watched it. The first 15-20 minutes I was unsure where the film was going but it did pick up and left me satisfied. I thought it stood apart well from the other obvious sci-fi films. Didn't like that robot, especially the emoticons it showed (something to make it different from HAL?). Sam Rockwell was good and
    some of the interactions between himself and his clone were very well done like the pong game while others were poorly edited (The fight).
    I also came to the conclusion that Rockwell would make a great Macguyver, he has quite alot of Richard Dean Anderson's traits. :D

Mesrine (Public Enemy No.1 & Death Instinct) - Another French 2-part film I heard quite a bit of and have to say I was thoroughly impressed, and I'm not a fan of French cinema. Mesrine was a charming, lunatic of a prick who thought highly of himself despite he wasn't very good at what he proclaimed himself to be. The film does fly through his story but it is an engrossing film about the France's most notorious criminal.

Pandorum - This film made no sense and was so badly edited and so predictable that I just gave up caring. Truly forgetable.

Doghouse - Danny Dyer film that went straight-to-DVD.........and rightly so. Horrible, horrible, film with horrific humour and easily the worst film I've seen this year. A pure "British football lads, OI, OI!!" film. It's about a group of friends who mistakenly go to a shìthole of a town for their friend's stag party. They're greeted by female zombies and............uh, nevermind. It was shocking to see Stephen Graham (Combo from This Is England) reduced to this type of tripe. Avoid at all costs. Seriously.

2012 - Daft, stupid, cliched as fùck, pointless scenes. But I thought it was enjoyable tripe, and it knew it was. CGI was very good but did have a lot of dodgy moments in scenes. Meh, we all knew what to expect from Robert Emmerich.

Public Enemies - So disappointed with this film. Very interesting at the beginning, becomes incredibly dull in the middle, but picks up quite well towards end. Somehow I feel the attachment of Johnny Depp changed what could have been a forgetable movie. Editing was odd to the point where I couldn't tell who was shooting who / who was been shot at. Wasn't too impressed with Mann's choice of camera work, and this guy can be incredibly slick. Mesrine was much better criminal film.

District 9 - Excellent film that exceeded all expectations. I see alot of people here complaining about the plot holes (there were a few, not many) or "stupid references" though I felt alot of them were purposely done as a joke. (Cross-species prostitution? Horny for cat food?) We were constantly reminded that the worker prawns were stupid, hence Christopher being labelled as "one of the smarter ones" since he could understand English and was collecting fuel. It was also nice to see "the hero" being a dickhead for a change. The transition from documentary to action film felt seemless to me and the "Peter Jackson Gore™" I found hilarious and enjoyable. Plus
    I fùckin' love that robot and it was given just the right amount of screen time

Inglorious Bastards - A film that rarely even featured the mentioned team of mercenaries. 2 hours of talk about a plan we've known since near the start and 15-20 minutes of action (Trailers are very deceiving ;)) The German bad guy though is excellent, perfectly restrained evil. At least Tarrantino didn't cameo in this ranting about how he likes his German sausage in the morning :pac:

The Hurt Locker - Very slick Iraqi war movie with a start that throws you right into it. Not as much action as people would expect but the tension is carefully built up.
    The celebrity cameos felt a bit gimmicky but I suspect their demises was to showcase that nobody was safe in war
    It does fall down at some few spots but overall a very good movie and definitely one of the better ones released (limited as it was) this year.

Zombieland - I fùckin' love zombie movies so this parody was, to me, a lot better than Shaun Of The Dead (I don't get all the love and stardom that Simon Pegg got from this one movie). I loved the little references to various zombie and non-zombie movies alike and the explaination of zombie rules. The intro is very well done and love "For Whom The Bells Toll" thrown into it. I thought it began to lose itself and the type of scope the film was making itself out to be but overall a fun movie.
    The Bill Murray cameo was funny but not "the best thing in the frikkin' world". I wanted to punch Woody when he wouldn't shut up complimenting him.

Most "bromance" comedies, if not all, I just didn't understand the appeal in them. Each had some "smirk" bits but not enough to validate their popularity. I miss the time when real comedy existed.

The Cube - Watched this again for the first time in ages and I was disappointed from the last time. I never realised how bad some of the acting was, the soundtrack (Cha-cha-cha-cha!) still irritated me, and the hammy dialogue was.........well, hammy. It's still good and the premise still holds up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

fair enough, blade 2 is not that bad really (worst of the series though imo, well close to the third anyway), but 30 days is a horrible movie, i just didnt get whether it was supposed to be funny or what because it wasnt even remotely scary

im not a big fan of horrors though i only watch the likes of john carpenter etc (the thing being one of my favourite movies)

i do understand what you mean about their idea of vampires though

anyway back OT i watched total recall tonight, for the millionth time

still as good as ever though

• Registered Users Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭fluke

fluke wrote: »

I'm gonna watch Twilight at some stage soon to see what the fuss is about!

So i watched this and while it wasn't completely awful it was slow moving but I'm more critical of it taking itself way way too seriously, and because of that there were moments that were unintentionally funny.
    1. When Bella enters a lab class Edward sees her & looks like he wants to puke!
    2. Edward grabs Bella and speeds up a hill with her in tow... piggyback style!
    3. Edward to Bella: 'You're like heroine to me'
    4. Vampires playing baseball!!!
    5. Why does Edward always look like he's let off a horrible fart?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Regardless of what the movies are like, its their idea of vampires I like, not wishy washy romantic ideas, animalistic creatures hellbent on eating people is the way to go, i love the smackhead comparisons in Blade 2 of the reapers, and although 30 Days of Night has its flaws, the vampires themselves arent one of them, besides Blade 2 is awesome, its easily the best of the trilogy, who'd have though that the singer from ****ing Bros would make such a badass villain in two great comic book movies?

i thought they were both great!:D real vampire films indeed

Duggy747 wrote: »
    In the past few months some of the movies I've watched:

Mesrine (Public Enemy No.1 & Death Instinct)

Pandorum

District 9

Inglorious Bastards

Thanks for your helpful comments. I have watched half an hour of Mesrine but had to turn it off because of my squeamish wife. Will watch the rest of it when she is away. Looks good so far.

Pandorum was Pants-dorum. It was very disappointing. I liked the monsters but they were not utilised correctly

District 9 was the best sci fi I have seen in years

Inglorious Bastards was one of the worst films I have ever seen, though not quite as bad as Deathproof. Tarantino's "style" is very annoying. You are right about the Nazi officer. He was very menacing. I am able to stomach Tarantino's violent style. However, I didn't like the gratuitous gore of this film, nor the misogyny. As far as I'm concerned, Reservoir Dogs was his best one.

Ally Dick wrote: »

Inglorious Bastards was one of the worst films I have ever seen, though not quite as bad as Deathproof.

i don't think any film was as bad as Deathproof

• Registered Users Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭Joeface

I will just give quick rates too many movies watched

The Horsemen :4/10 (poor seven wanna be, not badly acted just a weak movie)
    The fifth commadment :0/10 ( don't even bother

Pandorum: 3/10 loads of potential wasted

Gamer : 4/10 violent, mildly entertaining from that point

2012 : 3/10 Roland likes to blow stuff up .the biggest question on this movie is John Cusack and why he did it

UP: 8/10 if this doesnt make every awards movie best list at least,then there is no justice

GI Joe : 2/10 noise noise , rubbish

Transformers 2: 2/10 just all over the place ,

Blood: The Last Vampire: 3/10 weak movie , Anime version is far better

XIII: best game to movie I have seen , its a poor bourne but still ok 5/10

FAR CRY: well they got the shirt right , Uwe Boll is just useless 0/10

just realised I aint seen any thing good other than UP in ages

roll on ,The Road , daybreakers , Avatar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Nigel Farage

Death Becomes Her. A silly harmless piece from the past.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,024 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I watched Meserine Parts 1 & 2 this week. Very good they were. Mr Bellucci is brilliant in it.

i don't think any film was as bad as Deathproof

It was SO boring. Did you enjoy the other side of the double bill Planet Terror ? I thought it was great

Ally Dick wrote: »
    It was SO boring. Did you enjoy the other side of the double bill Planet Terror ? I thought it was great

yeah, i got PT on DVD and loved it. it's quite a shock to see two films that tend to polarize people (at least people I know) as a double feature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Films I've watched recently (not all recent movies tho):

-The Damned United: a brilliant piece of film-making, Michael Sheen showing why he is one of the best character actors of his generation by quite simply becoming Brian Clough. While a lot of it is fictional and a lot of creative licence was taken, it is still a fascinating piece of film-making based upon fact. One quibble is that at 90 minutes, it feels rather short. 8/10.

-The Big Lebowski: The Dude abides. The Coen Brothers at their finest. Intertwining storylines involving kidnapping, toe-cutting, German Nihilists, porn actors, bowling, White Russians, $1,000,000 cash and a ferret. Don't try to make sense of this rambling, Just go and watch this movie!!! 10/10.

-Mad Max: Mel Gibson's first starring role (at the tender age of 23) is here. Max Rockatansky is Australia's best cop and is hell bent on revenge against the bikers who are terrorising his friends and family. Ugly, visceral, low-budget... but the superb chase scenes and the amount of films this has influenced alone make it a classic. 8/10.

-White Heat: The film from which the immortal line ''Made it, Ma! Top o' the World!!!'' comes from. Jimmy Cagney is the unhinged gangster, with an almost Oedipal connection to his hard-boiled Ma, who robs and pillages his way across California with the law never far behind. Classic film that is up there with the best of them. 10/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭CokaColumbo

Donnie Darko. Yes, it really is impossible to explain.

if.... Absolutely class. Not for girls though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Do porn movies count?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I watched a few recently: Greta, Here On Earth, Pandorum.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭Ridley

fluke wrote: »
    The Mummy 3 - No, just...no. Terrible crap. Yetis...

That film annoys me and I can't quite place why. It's a knock off of Temple of Doom, Tomb Raider and itself but on paper it had some nice ideas. Seemed to have a lot of waste.

Anyway, last movie I watched was The Butterfly Effect. Thought it was okay, but the premise seemed to collapse in on itself toward the end. Would rather have had a more ambiguous ending aswell.

Oh and X-Men Origins: Wolverine. Better than The Last Stand.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Groundhog Day - aah I could watch this movie again and again. Classic Bill Murray cynical humour and strange outlook on time and relationships.

Twlight(the first one) - Saw on Sky Movies last week just to check out wat all the buzz was about... Well where do I start; its rubbish. She cannot act all she does is blink and stutter and say uh uh... he does his best but ends up pulling silly moody faces. Then the stupid musical interludes to give that time passing effect and them 'getting to know' each other is just sooo baad and weakly written... and dodgy fight scene WTF how do ppl like! As a Vampire film... the *sparkle*??? lack of fangs???

Once - somethign abit more bittersweet about romance and fleeting love, much more of a tone change that Twilight but great film and some great songs here... not too sure on the lack of an ending but hey thats just like life.

Apocalypse Now - Great performance from Sheen and Brando. Wish this was real haha... 'The man is clear in his mind, but his soul is mad. '

• Registered Users Posts: 20,448 ✭✭✭✭joes girls

PARANORMAL ACTIVITY!

Do not go to see this film!
    What a load of spoof. It was not terrifying, and if there was shocking footage i missed it!
    Best part of film was listening to everyone giving out about it!!!
    DEFO 0/10!

Fargo:

Was a little weird but having said that I really enjoyed it. The accents in that film are just crazy.
    Very good though and well worth a watch.

Do porn movies count?

Only if Hillary Scott is in them. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

Fargo:

Was a little weird but having said that I really enjoyed it. The accents in that film are just crazy.

oh yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Fargo:

The accent is actually quite accurate for that region. Great movie.