Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hudson, Nugent, or Ifor Williams

• 13-02-2009 11:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭

Folks,

Looking to upgrade the trailer - looking around for a 12 x 5' 6"/10" cattle trailer.

Just wondering what the best make is out there?
    Hudson, Nugent, or Ivor Williams - which are the best?

Not planning on buying a new one - maybe a 05/06 if i could pick one up.

Any feedback would be much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

dryan wrote: »
    Folks,

Looking to upgrade the trailer - looking around for a 12 x 5' 6"/10" cattle trailer.

my brother owns a nugent which he bought 3 years ago , its a good trailer but it has a terrible jack , its so awfull he would not buy another one , ifor williams are very over rated , personally i would go for the hudson , they have a tremendous name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭thetangler

Hi
    I have a Nugent tri-axel 14*6 and am very happy with it. A friend of mine has a Hudson same size, pulls the same as the Nugent I dont notice any difference.
    Personally I prefer the Nugent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Folks,

I bought a brand new 12x5"10 on behalf of my father in law in Enniskillen for €4100 straight last week. I scoured the north for a saturday before that looking for a second hand one. Could buy a 04 Ifor for €3800. What's the point, for €300 more I got a brand new one for him. Very difficult to find a good secondhand trailer - you never know what brakes are like. They normally need tyres (€100 each).

Best quote I could find in the south was €5100 for the nugent in the south.

I can pm you the guy's details if you like - he will deliver.

|I have a 12x6 ifor myself and seriously contemplating trading it for a Nugent - its made from much better stuff and will stand up to a lot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭dryan

Cheers for the info lads.

Was advised against the Ifor by a friend alright but said i'd check it out here to see what the feelings were like.

Looks like a Nugent or Hudson so.

Im in no real panic to buy. Will look around over the next few months - yead never know what would pop up!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

Was advised against the Ifor by a friend alright but said i'd check it out here to see what the feelings were like.

Im in no real panic to buy. Will look around over the next few months - yead never know what would pop up!!

go for the hudson , they are a bit more expensive than the nugent but as i said earlier , the jack is very troublesome on the nugent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

I've had a 12' x 5'10" Ifor wiliams since 2003 and can't speak highly enough about it. Of course, some of the others have an opening hatch thingy on the front which will make it easier to pull against the wind, which is a feature the Ifor Williams doesn't have. I always felt that the Hudson and Nugent trailers weren't as well-finished as the Williams. Again, each to their own, but I always thought they looked a bit home-made when parked beside the Williams. That said, I have no first-hand experience of either of them, so take my opinion for what it's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Are Bateson livestock trailers any good? Is it true that they tend to sway a lot when towing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭canon5571

reilig wrote: »
    I bought a brand new 12x5"10 on behalf of my father in law in Enniskillen for €4100 straight last week. I scoured the north for a saturday before that looking for a second hand one. Could buy a 04 Ifor for €3800. What's the point, for €300 more I got a brand new one for him. Very difficult to find a good secondhand trailer - you never know what brakes are like. They normally need tyres (€100 each).

|I have a 12x6 ifor myself and seriously contemplating trading it for a Nugent - its made from much better stuff and will stand up to a lot more.

I'm heading up north meself this Friday. Looking for a new 10' x 5' or 10 x 5'6. Pulling it with a 2.0ltr Grand Vitara. I want an easy pulled trailer. What would ye recommend??
    Who was the fella you bought the trailer off in Enniskillen?
    Any feedback would be appreciated.

I've had a 12' x 5'10" Ifor wiliams since 2003 and can't speak highly enough about it. Of course, some of the others have an opening hatch thingy on the front which will make it easier to pull against the wind, which is a feature the Ifor Williams doesn't have. I always felt that the Hudson and Nugent trailers weren't as well-finished as the Williams. Again, each to their own, but I always thought they looked a bit home-made when parked beside the Williams. That said, I have no first-hand experience of either of them, so take my opinion for what it's worth.

I had the Nugent trailer parked beside my own Ifor for a week gone by. In my opinion, the Nugent is far better made than the Ifor. It has the top front opener as standard. Its finished to an equally high standard with dividing gate. The steel in it is much heavier than the ifor.

Another major attraction in the Nugent is that the side sheeting is cleated for reinforcement. My ifor is just straight sheeted and the bull backed against it once and you can see the tract of his arse where he pushed it out (even though it poped back into shape again, you can still see it), this would not happen with the Nugent. Its an all round better built trailer.

I definitely know what I'll be buying the next time I change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Hi Guys ! My first post ! Considering heading north and going shopping for a livestock trailer , any recommendations ? Plenty of dealers on the Autotrader.ie website, not ruling out buying down south either.

Hi
    I dealt with Tom Regan in Frenchpark and found him to be a Gentleman to deal with.
    094-9870250

If you are interested in a Nugent 14*6 tri axel pm me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭paulmallon

if you're coming up north,theres a wee man in coagh,co.tyrone makes trailers.
    Alex Crooks (crooks trailers) hes been at it for years and hes a decent man.
    i can get you his no. if youre interested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 tomkc

Hi just wondering could you pass on the details of the dealer in enniskillen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I have an old 12x10'ish Ifor Williams myself. I got it at handy money a few years back. I had to do a lot of repair work to it. At the time I was looking at different wakes. For what it's worth I thought the Hudson was the most solidly built of them all! Maybe a bit heavier to pull, but if it's heavy cattle that's going into it, might be a better option.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭teepee

I 4 williams all the way , for me i like them because there easy to hitch on hitch off with easy , no matter with a heavy load or empty , and you dont need 3 hands for it .:cool: , in a ruah and off you go .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

ifor williams are a great trailer alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

Ifor williams were always a good trailer ive an old blue roof 10 by 5 one, great steel and well made, the newer ones however are not well built and use inferior steel, they continue to sell because of the name but hudsons and nugents are far superior nowadays, if i was buying id be buying a porter trailer, built v strong great quality !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

pakalasa wrote: »
    I have an old 12x10'ish Ifor Williams myself. I got it at handy money a few years back. I had to do a lot of repair work to it. At the time I was looking at different wakes. For what it's worth I thought the Hudson was the most solidly built of them all! Maybe a bit heavier to pull, but if it's heavy cattle that's going into it, might be a better option.;)

12by10'ish dam thats wide!!!!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Corkfarmer

Anybody buy a trailer recently or know a good place up north to buy? I was looking at the murphy 12x6, seems good value at €4500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭epfff

Corkfarmer wrote: »
    Anybody buy a trailer recently or know a good place up north to buy? I was looking at the murphy 12x6, seems good value at €4500.
    Have a 14ft murphy mates all have 12ft model
    14Nicer trailer to pull empty or full although nothing wrong with 12
    They are both well built for cattle jim is a nice bloke to deal with
    Trailers hold value well
    Highly recomend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Corkfarmer wrote: »

I presume that its John Murphy (Cork & Kerry) you've talking about?

http://www.murphytrailers.ie/agri12-59.asp

As opposed to Jim Murphy (Aerlite) Tuam?

http://www.aerlite.com/12and14_ft_Livestock_Trailers.html

When I was shopping around for a trailer, I tralled the net looking at different trailers. Eventually I decided to go see Jim Murphy. It was a Saturday and they were closed. Not wanting it to be a journey in vane and having a mobile no for 'Murphy trailers' saved in my phone, I decided to ring him and tell him I was outside and see if he'd meet me.

Within a few secs I copped that I was on to Murphy's in Cork!! When I explained to yer man my mistake he wasn't too happy and let on he never heard of Jim Murphy!! How would he, he's only the leading trailer maker in the country!!! :D:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Muckit wrote: »

When I was shopping around for a trailer, I tralled the net looking at different trailers. Eventually I decided to go see Jim Murphy. It was a Saturday and they were closed. Not wanting it to be a journey in vane and having a mobile no for 'Murphy trailers' saved in my phone, I decided to ring him and tell him I was outside and see if he'd meet me.

Within a few secs I copped that I was on to Murphy's in Cork!! When I explained to yer man my mistake he wasn't too happy and let on he never heard of Jim Murphy!! How would he, he's only the leading trailer maker in the country!!! :D:D

Thanks muckit, just had a look at JIM murphy site. I see they have the waste tank as an optional extra, is it not compulsory for new trailers to have a tank.

If there was a poll on this thread I'd vote for ifor simply because they are so easy to pull, esp a tri axle.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Ya I was talking about the fella in Kerry. The Aerlite ones look good too though.

Id say Hudson would be the best built trailer must ring for prices tomorrow, anybody know any dealers besides the one in Cavan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

Whats the dealer's name in Enniskillen, I am only a half hour from there and interested in a 10 by 5"6 with easy load sheep decks

Got a quote today for for ifor williams 12x6 with tank and divider for £4064+vat up North and got a quote for same Hudson down south €6500 including, waiting to hear back from northern hudson dealer for his price but its some difference there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭red bull

how about aerlite trailers

razor8 wrote: »
    Whats the dealer's name in Enniskillen, I am only a half hour from there and interested in a 10 by 5"6 with easy load sheep decks

McCorry Agri in Derrylin.

EUR 4100 for a Nugent 12 x 6. That was 2 years ago but the haven't gone up much. Phelim is the owner. Easy to negotiate with and he will deliver. He has a full selection in stock. After 2 years, I'm still very happy with my nugent. Its easy pulled and very steady on the road!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

as someone that drags a hudson up to a 1k miles some weeks, they are built to last. mine is 3 and half years old (12ft) and the condition of it for the amount of animals its has carried is something else apart from the odd springs or 6 (bad roads, bog loads) etc, brakes need re-shoeing now aswell. this one is just coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I ended up buying from Murphys in Kerry late 2009 paid €4200 for a 12 x 5' 9" , happy with the purchase , grand on the road and they delivered .

as someone that drags a hudson up to a 1k miles some weeks

Wow wow wow. Now that's some truckin'. Is it from going around to marts? :confused: You must burn alot of 'dazzel'....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Anyone have a porter box. Fella I know has a 14ft one and he never has it off the jeep. They look very well built and his is holding up well and an awful lot of cattle have gone through it

Link

Anyone have a porter box. Fella I know has a 14ft one and he never has it off the jeep. They look very well built and his is holding up well and an awful lot of cattle have gone through it

Link

Porter are the king of trailers. Very well made. Easy to pull. very stylish. Very expensive. Hold their value like no other!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

Link

yes bought a very clean 2nd hand one, 12 by 5"9. very happy so far anyway. they are very strong although they now make a lighter variation of the same trailer as well. you would want to clean them fairly quickly after use though as the corrugation in the metal seems to make ****e stick.

Porter are the king of trailers. Very well made. Easy to pull. very stylish. Very expensive. Hold their value like no other!!

I'd agree 100%. The Rolls Royce. They really stand out. You could bring elephants in them and they'd hardly dent them I'd say :D You'd rare enough. I'd be scared to ask the price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I'd agree 100%. The Rolls Royce. They really stand out. You could bring elephants in them and they'd hardly dent them I'd say :D You'd rare enough. I'd be scared to ask the price

They do look seriously well made. I would imagine they are very heavy though but could be mistaken. Not a massive fan of nugent trailers. I hate the way the ramps get dented from cattle walking up them. They could be ok apart from that though. I must ask your man how much the porter set him back. He trades them every couple of years, He has a few pajeros worn out pulling it too.

they are easy pulled, at least in comparision to our old bateson box.
    http://www.portertrailers-tractors.co.uk/
    neveille porter, nnice chap to talk to, think the are similar price wise to the other makes

I hate the way the ramps get dented from cattle walking up them.

I think they solved that didn't they? I remember when I was looking at trailers this time last year, the nugent dealer near me said that they had redesigned the back end with new interlocking sheeting on the ramp and new tail lights. He could have been waddin' me up to my eyeballs though! :D

I seem to remember recommending one to you...overengineered I think you said ;)

Wow wow wow. Now that's some truckin'. Is it from going around to marts? :confused: You must burn alot of 'dazzel'....

Bought the current jeep on the 20th of April, got 39k km up as of this week, quick sum and that comes out at around 7k of fuel in 7 months:eek:.Doing sums are bad:D

I seem to remember recommending one to you...overengineered I think you said ;)

Ha ha Vander!!:D You did indeed and yes that was my comment at the time! I also said they were a well made trailer back then aswel though as I recall :p

I'I still stick by what I said, and add that a trailer that's light enough to do the job and still can take abuse... and is cheaper still wins out in my books! Aerlite trailers (the next best IMO) fits the criteria there... then again I would say that and I having one!! :D

I would also give preference to buying and supporting the nearest man to you. You support him and hopefully he'I support you if and when he's needed.

Ha ha Vander!!:D You did indeed and yes that was my comment at the time! I also said they were a well made trailer back then aswel though as I recall :p

I'I still stick by what I said, and add that a trailer that's light enough to do the job and still can take abuse... and is cheaper still wins out in my books! Aerlite trailers (the next best IMO) fits the criteria there... then again I would say that and I having one!! :D

I would also give preference to buying and supporting the nearest man to you. You support him and hopefully he'I support you if and when he's needed.
    im only messing, those aerlite trailers look very strong as well

Bought the current jeep on the 20th of April, got 39k km up as of this week, quick sum and that comes out at around 7k of fuel in 7 months:eek:.Doing sums are bad:D

Holy cow! That'd soon negate any 'bargain bunch' you picked up at the mart! You'd want shares in Esso or your own oil well and refinery! :D

Our diesel is currently costing around €20 - €25 per animal slaughtered!! if one was to add in contractor fuel and feedstuff fuel that would quickly rise to €50 per head I would think. just a cost of doing business I suppose. Its the one cost I can change, yes we try to be as efficient as possible but we still have the work to cover. Anyone chipped a landcruiser, looking for better MPG

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Our diesel is currently costing around €20 - €25 per animal slaughtered!! if one was to add in contractor fuel and feedstuff fuel that would quickly rise to €50 per head I would think. just a cost of doing business I suppose. Its the one cost I can change, yes we try to be as efficient as possible but we still have the work to cover. Anyone chipped a landcruiser, looking for better MPG

Jez bob thats a lot of driving, I'm averagein 24.5 mpg in a 97 LC, thats with half trailer work, the rest is tippin around with a few bags of meal. Often wondered does an intercooler make much difference.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Would a cattle truck be anymore economical than a jeep if you were buying and selling fairly often ? Two fellas beside me have bought cattle trucks in the last year and they wouldnt be on the road every day with them either . I must ask them was it comfort or economy they bought them for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

McCorry Agri in Derrylin.

EUR 4100 for a Nugent 12 x 6. That was 2 years ago but the haven't gone up much. Phelim is the owner. Easy to negotiate with and he will deliver. He has a full selection in stock. After 2 years, I'm still very happy with my nugent. Its easy pulled and very steady on the road!!

yes I know him, he's renowned for been one of the cheapest, must take a spin down

moy83 wrote: »
    Would a cattle truck be anymore economical than a jeep if you were buying and selling fairly often ? Two fellas beside me have bought cattle trucks in the last year and they wouldnt be on the road every day with them either . I must ask them was it comfort or economy they bought them for

yeah and neigh, if you need a jeep then running a second vehicle costs allot of extra money. To be legal then you have to run a 10t or 12t truck at the min,as a 7.5t would only have a payload of something like 3.5t. Have you priced insurance/tax for a 12t, then they would be doing less than 10mpg. so you would want to be running full one way all the time. Some marts I might only have 5 animals, If I have more I get a haulier or do a second run. We used to run a 26ft truck but it cost allot of money. but as always we are thinking of going back to this route

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Hi all
    First post have been reading thread with interest.
    Just posting to let all know I attend an auction in Omagh on the first Saturday of every month, have no affiliation to this auction.
    Just letting all know about it as there are a good selection of trailers at most sales from scrap to new as all will know if going make sure to do home work first.

http://home2.btconnect.com/pollocks/auctions.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Heh lads and ladies

Not to steal the thread but my question is on the same vein.
    Thinking of trading jeep against a 2L TDi Passat or Octavia but wonder does anyone here use 2L cars to pull trailers and how they find them.

The jeep is ideal job but with the young crew, the commercial is not an option anymore and passenger jeep is a rob.

Was doing the sums and reckon that for all the time i pull the 12' trailer with more than 4 weanlings home from mart, it would amount to the same money between paying someone to bring cattle home if you bought a good few and what you would save in the year with a Passat compared to jeep on diesel doing round 15K miles.

Passat and trailer fine for 4 or less I was hoping. What ye reckon.

As part of this, a good light 10' trailer would be the ideal thing. any ideas.