Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alchomoholification?

• 08-02-2009 5:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭

as the future (and present) drinker's,what do y'all think?
    for me it's a way to have a bit more fun on a night out ,but i never go out specifically for it and usually don't bother drinking(recession etc.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 862 ✭✭✭cautioner

I used to be vehemently opposed to all my fellow 15/16-year-olds getting crunk. Around 17 I wavered and started in moderation. Sadly, I now pretty much get drunk every time I go out :( I've only been really bad once though, and never again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I recently gave it up. How hard I found had me half thinking I had a problem, but I'm past it now. You can actually have a hell of a lot of fun sober. Was at a "sober session" there a few weeks ago, best night out for months! The lack of a hangover is awesome, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Much like Obl, I have given up drinking because of my impending exams, (His/hers (I dunno) exams being quite a bit more work, but how and ever). My problem is that I cant really afford to get much of a hangover anymore, if I get one, Im kinda out for the day, completely inable to work so I gave it up.

That said, Im kinda tempted to have a few after the mocks (and I am 18, so frankly I can do what like:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭cocoa

meh, I can't say I've ever thought about it too much. I generally enjoy non-alcoholic events (you know, events that can stop any time they want to...) quite a lot, but I'd also enjoy a couple of drinks at a party.

I generally manage to avoid hangovers by either (a) remaining sober enough (not actually that sober) to remember to drink plenty water before bed or (b) drinking so much that I throw up, cleansing my system in the process :D Going in between those two is a big no-no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

i went through a period of drinking to get drunk when i was 15/16, now me and my friends just go to the pub for a drink or two, sometimes we get drunk, others we don't. it works. i don't like drinking every weekend.
    since i've had my own car and passed my driving test, i have driven on nights out more often, saves me a hell of a lot of money when i do that, no drink money, ribenas/water on the night out and about €15-€20 for a taxi. works out well enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Due to a combination of recession, mocks, and friends being lame and not having parties due to also having the mocks I havent been drinking since new year. Actually no wait I totally forgot I got a bit tipsy on wine last night, but I havent had a PROPER night out. At least my 18th's soon (see sig -_-) and there's a big party planned, oh yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

I don't drink alcohol, never have and never will.
    I don't need it. I don't need it socially, I don't need it to have fun, don't need it to "lose myself", and most certainly do not need it to act like a big eejit.

I have confidence in myself and as a result do not need alcohol.

I don't need it. I don't need it socially, I don't need it to have fun, don't need it to "lose myself", and most certainly do not need it to act like a big eejit.

I have so much envious respect for that. F*ck it, I'm gonna try and skip the drinking next time I'm out.

cautioner wrote: »
    I have so much envious respect for that. F*ck it, I'm gonna try and skip the drinking next time I'm out.
    I've heard it's tough the first few times but gradually becomes natural. Then you can have a drink and really enjoy it, I'm told.
    That's if you feel you will eventually need a drink.
    And I'm not sneering down at all you alcohol addicts, I myself am a caffeine addict, which is even more pathetic. :p

You know, there may just be something in what you say... But quite apart from needing it for anything, are you not even a little bit curious?

I have to say I'm seriously considering just not bothering with alcohol for a while. I can't say it enhances me all that much in terms of mood / outgoingness / anything and it definitely doesn't help my wallet... I've gone without for fairly long stretches (month or more) just because, but I'm thinking of going without on purpose...

cocoa wrote: »
    But quite apart from needing it for anything, are you not even a little bit curious?
    Maybe I would be curious if I didn't know what alcohol does. I have seen my friends and family hammered though, so that ends the curiosity!
    I do drink non-alcoholic beer- weird I know but I really enjoy the taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Fad wrote: »
    His/hers (I dunno) exams being quite a bit more work, but how and ever

His.:P

And everyone's workload is relative. My exams a freakin' optional at the end of the day! Mocks aren't a fun prospect, bud. I remember well.

One of the factors in me drying up. I realised that of my favourite friends, the two I respect most don't drink, one at all, the other does now and then.
    I do drink non-alcoholic beer- weird I know but I really enjoy the taste.

You WHAT the taste?!

obl wrote: »

You WHAT the taste?!

:p I get that a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I don't *need* alcohol to enjoy a night out, I still drink it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

I have a few when I'm out, or have a bottle of wine with my friends in their gaff or mine (can actually be way more enjoyable than going out to a club and cheaper, too!:pac:). When I was a bit younger (okay, a year or so ago) I used to get hammered easily, too easily, and I didn't like how out of control I felt when I was locked (I'm a bit of a light-weight). So I stopped drinking for awhile and it was grand- I never drank before as young teenager anyway, so it didn't really bother me. I also saw what eejits people can be when they're totally off their face, and that made me also not want to drink for awhile.

Now, I just have a few drinks. I know I can still get drunk too quickly, so I only have enough to be merry/ tipsy. A nice balance, I think. Also, if I'm just not in the mood, I'll stick to soft drinks and not feel 'left out' or 'the sober one'. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

You seem pretty uptight about it. You should have a drink to unwind.

DDOOOOOO IIIT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Neverwhere

hmm alcohol. I used to drink on nights out. I found it easier to be more self controlled when out with a mix of friends.....half who drink, half who dont. Rules out getting hammered. No one wants to get hammered when a lot of the people with you are sober.

That and alcoholism runs in my family. When I became homeless I started heading towards the heavy drinking every night. It just ****s with your mood, and really is not enjoyable.

I quit drinking for 6 months after that...and now when I do? I don't see the appeal anymore. One or two on a night out, anymore than that is wasted

Sean_K wrote: »
    You seem pretty uptight about it. You should have a drink to unwind.

DDOOOOOO IIIT!
    OK, I'll take your advice Mr.Internet man.
    Nah, not really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

OK, I'll take your advice Mr.Internet man.
    Nah, not really.

Hey man, if you don't want to be cool then that's fine with me.

A mates 18th is coming up, and to calm his fears of everyone (me in particular :o) getting horribly drunk and ruining his house, I think I wont drink that night, the day after though! (I have a 3 day weekend after my mocks because I dont do Art History :D).

But my point is, I'll get to experience being the sober one:D (Some of my friends get a bit weird after a few, expressing violent desires for Ellen Page:cool:)

Bottle of Mickey Finns* and a few beers = a good night.

*Sour Raspberry, tastes much much better when you're already slightly drunk, or mixed with pepsi :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

When i go out,i drink,I hate when people who say ''oh i can have just as good a time sober'' That is bollox,they have obviously never experienced the joy of being pished with your best friends singing like a feckin' eijit!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I used to drink until parents told me about how alcoholism runs on my Dad's side of the family. It was a real eye-opener and I don't think she is lying either because I used to be able to polish off 2 bottles of wine and still have a craving for alcohol. Plus hangovers suck more than life itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Plus hangovers suck more than life itself

I don't usually get hungover. :p I've yet to experience the 'I Want To Die' feeling my friends have complained about- woo!

When i go out,i drink,I hate when people who say ''oh i can have just as good a time sober'' That is bollox,they have obviously never experienced the joy of being pished with your best friends singing like a feckin' eijit!!:D

I've had my fair share of hammered drunk evenings, and I've also had sober times when I had even more fun, and remembered every second in crystal clear detail...

cocoa wrote: »
    and remembered every second in crystal clear detail...

I have had a couple of black outs, and Im almost worried as to what happened then :s

Acacia wrote: »
    I don't usually get hungover. :p I've yet to experience the 'I Want To Die' feeling my friends have complained about- woo!

Me neither. Woo.

When i go out,i drink,I hate when people who say ''oh i can have just as good a time sober'' !
    I say this.
    And I have expeienced
    the joy of being pished with your best friends singing like a feckin' eijit!!
    However I have experienced this most joyous of joys WITHOUT alcohol. Once again- I really well and truly don't need it!
    You, mein schatz, like so many others, are shackled by alcohol. You need it. Like I need coffee to not be an arsehole. Break free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭anladmór

im really boring and id say i do need alcohol but ah well. dont really want to get into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I say this.
    And I have expeienced
    However I have experienced this most joyous of joys WITHOUT alcohol. Once again- I really well and truly don't need it!
    You, mein schatz, like so many others, are shackled by alcohol. You need it. Like I need coffee to not be an arsehole. Break free.
    NEVER!! *runs off naked into the woods*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I usually have a few drinks when I'm out but I've never had enough to make me drunk - the idea of being drunk just doesn't appeal to me that much. I've seen friends get completely ****ed up when they're drunk and it does freak me out a little.

I find it difficult however to have a good time when I'm out because I'm always sober and everyone else is drunk. Being the only sober person among drunks is not fun, and since I don't want to get drunk myself I try and avoid going out if possible. Unfortunately I've had very few really good nights out.

I've found some of the best nights out I've had were fairly sober house parties, where it wasn't that loud and we weren't that hammered. We were all sober enough to have amazing craic and actually make good jokes, instead of drinking enough to think just about anything was funny.

Stayed up til 7am last Thursday having banter in a mates house. Excellent stuff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Alcohol is a nice drug. It can be used in many different social contexts in varying amounts. Not being able to enjoy oneself without it is a bad thing in some respects, but considering that boozing is the primary form of recreation in this country, it's not so bad. Personally, variety being the spice of life and all, I think being able to enjoy both being sober and drunk is something to aspire to (I also find it quite depressing that the only recreational drug a lot of people will ever try is alcohol, though I won't go into that here).

As for my drinking habits, I tend to go in waves. I never say to myself I'm not going to drink on a night out, I just go with the flow and drink if I feel I want to, and sometimes this means not drinking at all. For example, if I go out dancing in a club with music I like, I often don't bother, since that's something I can enjoy sober - although vodka and red bull can be a nice inhibition freeing, energy buzz inducing drink, which goes well with dancing.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I took the Pledge at my Confirmation, but within 2 years of secondary school I had pretty much given up on Christianity. I still wanted to stay away from alcohol until I turned 18, just to prove that it could be done, and used that as my motivation as I moved away from any kind of religious belief.

On the day of my 18th I shared a beer with my dad, my first taste of alcohol since Christmas the year I was 12. I had a small party with my friends and only drank one pint and a tiny glass of cheap champagne. In the 30 months since then I've only been properly drunk twice. I've also been fairly tipsy on several other occasions, but not to the same degree as those 2 particular sessions (both with college buddies. Hmmm, rag week could be messy...).

There have been periods of several weeks to a month where I was off drink to keep fit for important GAA matches, and that's never caused any trouble for me. I got to know it was possible to have fun without drinking before I turned 18. That said, it seems that the best nights out are always the ones when we stay out later and drink more than we had originally planned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Acacia wrote: »

I used to never ever ever get hangovers but then one night, after a boards function with a lot of very generous people I wanted to die. Didn't drink for about 3 months afterwards. I'm now even more of a lightweight than I was before but i barely drink now. 2 glasses of West Coast Cooler and I'm well on my way to being floored.

Diriculous.

I agree with blixa though, it's entirely possible to have a fantastic night without alcohol. You can dance the night away without stumbling into everyone else around and you know when to change into your flat shoes so your feet aren't crippled beyond belief the next morning. Also it's much easier to sneak into the house at 4.30 in the morning when you can control your feet and remember to take of your noisy shoes in the porch...

It's nice to have one or two every now and again. No need to get sh*t-faced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Water > Everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Oisinjm

Usually drink once a weekend, I seem to be immune to hangovers so woop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Used to drink twice a weekend, until money and the lack of studying for the Leaving, so me and my mates have cut back to one night a week now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

Love getting hammered meself, although to be honest it saddens me to see 15 years old doing likewise, it just dosent seem right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I like going out when I can, it's a nice break from work to meet up with friends and have a few drinks, sure I get drunk but never TOO drunk..Well..Bar that time a few weeks ago..I wasn't *That* drunk though, It was what I had during the night that made me sick :pac:

You know you're sober when you actually care about half the burger on your trouser leg after a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I'm drunk right now! :pac:

Okay, I'm not really, but I was pretty tipsy when I logged on a while ago. Rag Week FTW :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Thinking of giving the ol' booze a rest for a while actually. I've been a regular binge drinker for the past four years or so, and (I never thought I'd say this) the novelty is wearing off. Recently been hanging out with people who either don't drink or don't get ****faced, so I didn't either, and you know what? It was okay! Unfortunately most of my close group of friends drink like cirrhosis-ridden fish, so it's tricky :(

Contrary to popular belief, alcohol is in fact satan's piss.

FACT.

Lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

Exactly how I feel. I just like to be in control of myself. I still have loads of fun and thankfully, most of my friends respect my decision. I still get the odd - "o he's a dry****e" or "he's no fun at all" comment but I just ignore them. Dosen't really bother me at all. I drive as well so its great coming out of a night club and just driving home. No queuing for taxis or anything and I save a lot of money because it costs €12 to get a taxi home for me.

Its nice to wake up the morning ever feeling really fresh and able to remember everything. (Although that can be somewhat of a disadvantage from time to time)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Really?

That guy must be constantly wasted...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

John Keats wrote:
    O for a draught of vintage! that hath been[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] Cool'd a long age in the deep-delvèd earth,[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] Tasting of Flora and the country-green,[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] Dance, and Provençal song, and sunburnt mirth![SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] O for a beaker full of the warm South![SIZE=-2] 15[/SIZE] Full of the true, the blushful Hippocrene,[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] With beaded bubbles winking at the brim,[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] And purple-stainèd mouth;[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] That I might drink, and leave the world unseen,[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] And with thee fade away into the forest dim:[SIZE=-2] 20[/SIZE] Fade far away, dissolve, and quite forget[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] What thou among the leaves hast never known,[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] The weariness, the fever, and the fret[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] Here, where men sit and hear each other groan;[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] Where palsy shakes a few, sad, last grey hairs,[SIZE=-2] 25[/SIZE] Where youth grows pale, and spectre-thin, and dies;[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] Where but to think is to be full of sorrow[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] And leaden-eyed despairs;[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] Where beauty cannot keep her lustrous eyes,[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] Or new Love pine at them beyond to-morrow.[SIZE=-2] 30[/SIZE] Away! away! for I will fly to thee,[SIZE=-2] [/SIZE] Not charioted by Bacchus and his pards,

I love booze.
    Keats did too.
    Thumbs up!

Despite popular misconceptions, Keats was in fact satan's whore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

Satan was in fact the notorious Adrienne Rich ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

i believe it

depressing fecker:mad: