Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christian Bale's rage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

krudler wrote: »
    What a moronic thing to say, how does this prove hes an idiot? the guy had a go at someone who wasnt doing their job properly and probably ruined a shot, according to set reports its the most intense scene in the movie and the guy ruined a take Bale and McG were happy with, the guy obviously has a ton of pressure on him (or had since this happened last summer) and snapped, big deal people get yelled at who screw up every day

Pressure??? Are you for real? There are thousands of people in this country losing their jobs. That's pressure!! :rolleyes:

The guys getting paid obscene money to make entertainment. What an a$shole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 TheParrot

I am amazed by the stupidity of you lot.

This "rant" is a PROMOTIONAL EXERCISE. It gets the little people like yourselves talking about the new film. When it comes out in a few months, all you little people will say, "yes, I remember that. Yer man had a great go a someone, must go and see it".

Is there nothing you lot will not believe???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

The DP was an idiot. And Bale was "in character" as a method actor usually is.

A non story, being blown out of proportion by rag media.

http://www.aintitcool.com/node/39984

TheParrot wrote: »
    I am amazed by the stupidity of you lot.

This "rant" is a PROMOTIONAL EXERCISE. It gets the little people like yourselves talking about the new film. When it comes out in a few months, all you little people will say, "yes, I remember that. Yer man had a great go a someone, must go and see it".

Is there nothing you lot will not believe???

Yeah cos Bale doesn't have a history of anger issues, and Terminator Salvation needs all the help it can get in the publicity stakes, so much so that Bale is willing to risk his reputationover it???

I think my :rolleyes: button is about to break...

Noopti wrote: »
    The DP was an idiot. And Bale was "in character" as a method actor usually is.
    .... and, boards.ie has a proud, historical dislike of bullies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 TheParrot

davyjose wrote: »
    Yeah cos Bale doesn't have a history of anger issues, and Terminator Salvation needs all the help it can get in the publicity stakes, so much so that Bale is willing to risk his reputationover it???

I think my :rolleyes: button is about to break...

Do you know Christian well?

Yeah, and every film needs all the publicity it can get. The rant sounds scripted.

"oh, if only the little banks would be nice and start lending again to eachother" <--- Is that your opinion on the economy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

davyjose wrote: »
    .... and, boards.ie has a proud, historical dislike of bullies.

...and a proud historical tradition of mercurial lynch mobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

I've lost all respect for him tbh, and it would somehow make me stay away from watching his movies. What a pr1ck!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Do you know Christian well?

Eh... do you? You're obviously on a first name basis so maybe you do. :pac:

To be fair, davyjose has a makes a good point while you're just wallowing in conspiracy.

1) Bale has a history of anger management issues.

2) The new Terminator movie doesn't need this kind of publicity.

Is it so hard to accept that multi-millionaire actors can behave like enraged primma donnas when something trivial upsets them? It's a fairly common Hollywood phenomenon.

"oh, if only the little banks would be nice and start lending again to eachother" <--- Is that your opinion on the economy?
    Do you know me well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

And the electro song about the whole thing:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I love Christian Bale, he chooses his role very carefully and takes it very seriously and the result is great even though some of the films might not be well known, at least not at first.

But he's an asshole apperently :mad: Sort of puts you off him as an actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Can you imagine how pissed off at the sound guy he's gotten when he realised this was leaked?

I wish there was video tbh

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,673 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Assuming that this isnt a publicity stunt (i have my suspicions given some of Bale's comments during the clip which dont tally up with his rage) then I would blame the director (McG the muppet) and the AD.

Its up to the director to call the shots and the relevant AD to coordinate the crew. If the scene required some sensitivity by the crew, that should have been made aware to everyone.

Then again, an experienced DP shouldnt act the mickey.

Bale for Taoiseach! "stick your national pay agreement up for arse ya prick!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

Am I the only one who doesn't see what the problem is? He was pissed off, had a bit of a rant, that's it. Nothing abnormal about it really, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Bale is a legend. Harry at AICN is fairly trustworthy so I'll take his word over the tabloid rags. Supposedly the DP kept fluting around during scenes and when he did it during the big emote scene of the film Bale cracked. A bit OTT mind but still justified I think. Jesus if half the other actors got as stressed out about their work then maybe we'd get more than a handful of good films every year.

He takes his work seriously, that's why he gets cast into good roles in great movies. I don't see why people are saying oooh, I'm not gonna watch his films anymoe. Thats a bit sad, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Mingey wrote: »
    Am I the only one who doesn't see what the problem is? He was pissed off, had a bit of a rant, that's it. Nothing abnormal about it really, imo.
    "nothing abnormal about it really".

So that's your fcuking take on this whole fcuking sorry fiasco. A spoilt rich human fcuking being shouts at another human fcuking being who had the fcuking audacity to make a fcuking human mistake and you with your perfect fcuking grammar and your perfectly formed fcuking sentences waltz onto boards defending the fcuker when every Tom Dick and fcuking Harry can see that he's acting the fcuking prick.

You've really gone way down in Pigheads estimation here Mingey. Defending the indefensible is fcuking indefensible. Pigheads trying to browse fcuking boards here and he can't do it fcuking properly because you're defending the indefcukingfensible. Seriously Mingey, you and Pighead are fcuking done professionally.

Hey Pighead, sorry I ruined your browsing. I know how difficult it is for you to get into character so I understand if I messed up. You have your rant and I'll just get on with it eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭ZOLTAN28

You can respect the man's acting talent whatever his personality.

I believe this rant happened around the same time as the incident with his mother and sister last summer.

The guy obviously puts a lot into his acting and the weight loss/weight gain/weight loss/weight gain period (he did it twice) has probably fried his brain.

Can't believe the DP just stood and took it - maybe it's a daily occurrence on Bale sets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

ZOLTAN28 wrote: »
    Can't believe the DP just stood and took it - maybe it's a daily occurrence on Bale sets.
    As posted on AICN the DP has a bad rep as "a tweaker" someone who can't sit still during a take and has to run around in the actors eyeline fiddling with lights etc. VERY distracting and in all good sets everything is locked down when an emotional scene is going to be filmed to maximise the actors performances. You should be able to hear a pin drop on set in that instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

KerranJast wrote: »
    Bale is a legend. Harry at AICN is fairly trustworthy so I'll take his word over the tabloid rags. Supposedly the DP kept fluting around during scenes and when he did it during the big emote scene of the film Bale cracked. A bit OTT mind but still justified I think. Jesus if half the other actors got as stressed out about their work then maybe we'd get more than a handful of good films every year.

If a film is **** then it's ****. The acting being terrific won't change a film if the story is ****.
    The quality of movies coming out in the past few year is crap, not the quality of the acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭JohnK

Mingey wrote: »
    I don't see why people are saying oooh, I'm not gonna watch his films anymoe. Thats a bit sad, tbh.
    I dont think anyones said they wouldnt watch his films - just that hes a twat. I dont care about a persons politics, religion or personality as long as they entertain me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

The quality of movies coming out in the past few year is crap, not the quality of the acting.

The latest crap already in production is the reamake of the Karake Kid:
    -A classic movie from your childhood you watched at christmas will now become a modern day disaster about Will Smith's ten year old son standing up to the bullies in his school. No seriosuly, that's what it's about.

And that absolute abomonation, that's officially going ahead now, from MTV to remake The Rocky Horrow Show:
    -Inevitable pop crap rubbish with rap and poncy men being unfunny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Wagon wrote: »
    And that absolute abomonation, that's officially going ahead now, from MTV to remake The Rocky Horrow Show:
    -Inevitable pop crap rubbish with rap and poncy men being unfunny.

So it's a faithful remake of the original then....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

He looks like a hothead too. See how natural he was in Shaft, American Psycho and Harsh Times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

JohnK wrote: »
    I dont think anyones said they wouldnt watch his films - just that hes a twat. I dont care about a persons politics, religion or personality as long as they entertain me.

+1. If I couldn't separate the man from his art, I couldn't enjoy the likes of Chinatown (Roman Polanski), Thriller (Michael Jackson) and to a lesser extent, I'm The Leader Of The Gang (Gary Glitter).

Fair play to him, he should have given the DP a kick in the hole as well. Nothing worse than annoying work colleagues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Corcs001

That was brilliant! Bale is a diva!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Rant score: 6.5 Not one of his best :p