Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

markens2 wrote: »
    Can't be sure about the mileage. It's fresh on the inside but I don't know.

It's my car by the way.

I'd be very interested if it was genuine mileage :) however as you say, if there's a doubt, it could be anything :(

Actually, how bad is mpg on the v6? Early 20s even?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

MidlandsM wrote: »
    to be fair, whilst the rx8 is not a candidate yet, I predict some will enter the bangernomic territory late this year, or next as fuel prices keep going up.

Rx8 for under 2 grand?

Things will get bad, but there'll still be enthusiasts. That's unless the petrol goes up near the 2 quid mark. Which they said would happen at the end of 08.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Rx8 for under 2 grand?

Things will get bad, but there'll still be enthusiasts. That's unless the petrol goes up near the 2 quid mark. Which they said would happen at the end of 08.

rough one's will, this country's fooked.

Rough anything will. Sure 8 series can be bougth within the bangernomics budget, doesn't mean they're any good :P

And tell me about it :rolleyes:

I reckon you're right in so far as cars fond of petrol are worth little and depreciating rapidly if anyone at all will buy them. For the likes of not really uncommon stuff anyway.

An unloved RX8 needing an engine rebuild with uncared for bodywork might well be close to unsellable as the market to buy, sort and sell on is virtually non existent now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Col200sx wrote: »
    I'd be very interested if it was genuine mileage :) however as you say, if there's a doubt, it could be anything :(

Actually, how bad is mpg on the v6? Early 20s even?

Probably between 20-25mpg but to be honest if mpg is an issue then a 166 V6 is probably the wrong car to be looking at...:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

166man wrote: »
    Probably between 20-25mpg but to be honest if mpg is an issue then a 166 V6 is probably the wrong car to be looking at...:p

Very true :D

But I've had cars with less mpg ;)

Still, a 166 is on my list of cars to own :)

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭voojeq

small request to bangernomics people

any chance to find a decent mondeo in dublin? talking bangernomics budget here

ive searched on my own previously but managed to find only a few, im confused

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Pushing bangernomics budget a little bit, but looks like a decent motor - 2 months tax, 1 year NCT, leather and UK SE spec. 1800.
    View2-9239800.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2843508

Also, this is a nicely specced 528i. I reckon a change of wheels (or a good clean) would make this look tidier. 1495.
    View2-8308614.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2618765

Facelift 520i for 1200:
    View2-9249103.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2845705

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭markens2

Col200sx wrote: »
    Very true :D

But I've had cars with less mpg ;)

Still, a 166 is on my list of cars to own :)

The very best I've gotten from it is 33.4 mpg
    That was the most boring drive of my life.
    No air con. Kept it below 100kph.
    Torture.

Ordinarilly it gives about 24/25 mpg.

Not the best but not the worst.

Lads, can we have less chit chat, and more cheap jammers please?

like this topless number........leather, turbo'd, decent spec,

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2563644
    short nct (but you could respectfully ask/get (demand..lol) the seller to lash it thru prior to sale), the roof looks in good nick, good tyres......haggle to €1300 or 1400 or the like, cheap ragtop......

Full?id=8078996

FapFapFapFapFapFapFapFapFapFapFap...

The tax!

FapFapFapFapFapFapFapFapFapFapFap

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2853030

Full?id=9280357

• Registered Users Posts: 73,393 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

that's quite a find.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Yes just yes. Turbo couch.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    that's quite a find.

I drove a 03 auto one yesterday, nearly as nice to drive as manual. Although, I thought it was slow. I took off from a junction, floored it. Didn't feel fast, but little did I realise I was doing 70mph after about 4 seconds, lol.

Uber fast cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 64,977 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Turbo couch.

LOL :D

Nice find, LM!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I drove a 03 auto one yesterday, nearly as nice to drive as manual. Although, I thought it was slow. I took off from a junction, floored it. Didn't feel fast, but little did I realise I was doing 70mph after about 4 seconds, lol.

Uber fast cars.

Damn that's amazing, official figures are 8.2 seconds to reach 60mph
    There must have been some serious work done to it.

tuxy wrote: »
    Damn that's amazing, official figures are 8.2 seconds to reach 60mph
    There must have been some serious work done to it.

Didn't literally mean 4 seconds :P

That said a friend of mine had a remapped one, could get it 0-60 in under 6 seconds. Extremely fast cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Didn't literally mean 4 seconds :P

That said a friend of mine had a remapped one, could get it 0-60 in under 6 seconds. Extremely fast cars.

'Tis a sleeper if I ever saw one!:D

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭Briskit

Are these older saabs problematic, hard/expensive to maintain (OEM parts/ breakers yards, or Asian manufactured replacement components?? etc!)

From what I gather here... they're: Fast....& extremely comfy from a seating perspective... but what are they like on petrol.. say one being used in an urban environment, petrol 2.3t and driven briskly whenever needs be, factoring the usual start stop activities with lights & what not!... guesstimate

How do their autoboxes match up to the manual ones?

How do these heavy cars stand up to the speed bump & pot holed urban environment?

I've never driven one and I haven't been in one since I used to get a lift home from school in a 900 non turbo back in the pre '87 reg plate days.
    Nice big comfy thing in the back, and I remember, big bumpers, big dashboard and big curving windscreen. - How do the newer generation stack up... the GM days I guess...

Haven't a clue about the latest...

much obliged

short nct (but you could respectfully ask/get (demand..lol) the seller to lash it thru prior to sale), the roof looks in good nick, good tyres......haggle to €1300 or 1400 or the like, cheap ragtop......

Full?id=8078996

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Minister Boyce

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Big test, looks straight. Not the cheapest but get itt for a grand, drive it for a year and sell it for 6 or 700 and you're away.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2801407

View2-9062545.jpeg

Lovely car. Back door looks a shade greyer than the rest of the car??

Briskit wrote: »
    Are these older saabs problematic, hard/expensive to maintain (OEM parts/ breakers yards, or Asian manufactured replacement components?? etc!)

From what I gather here... they're: Fast....& extremely comfy from a seating perspective... but what are they like on petrol.. say one being used in an urban environment, petrol 2.3t and driven briskly whenever needs be, factoring the usual start stop activities with lights & what not!... guesstimate

How do their autoboxes match up to the manual ones?

How do these heavy cars stand up to the speed bump & pot holed urban environment?

I've never driven one and I haven't been in one since I used to get a lift home from school in a 900 non turbo back in the pre '87 reg plate days.
    Nice big comfy thing in the back, and I remember, big bumpers, big dashboard and big curving windscreen. - How do the newer generation stack up... the GM days I guess...

Haven't a clue about the latest...

much obliged

"it was pretty good actually 37mpg was what i was getting driving like a normal person! and around 25 driving like a lunatic"

That's Very daycent mpgs altogether Limerick Man. Appreciate that feed back...
    "it was pretty good actually 37mpg was what i was getting driving like a normal person! and around 25 driving like a lunatic"

• Registered Users Posts: 282 ✭✭voojeq

Full?id=8078996

same type of car was featured on wheeler dealers, gives you a piece of mind of what to expect in terms of repairs if you're looking for one

Wheeler Dealers Saab 93 Turbo Convertible

Part 1

http://www.streetfire.net/video/wheeler-dealers-saab-93-turbo-convertible_2249603.htm

Part 2

http://www.streetfire.net/video/wheeler-dealers-saab-93-turbo-convertible_2249602.htm

Part 3

http://www.streetfire.net/video/wheeler-dealers-saab-93-turbo-convertible_2249592.htm

Part 4

http://www.streetfire.net/video/wheeler-dealers-saab-93-turbo-convertible_2249601.htm

voojeq wrote: »
    same type of car was featured on wheeler dealers, gives you a piece of mind of what to expect in terms of repairs if you're looking for one

Wheeler Dealers Saab 93 Turbo Convertible

I'm gonna have a look at those episodes Voojeg. Cheers for the links

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Terrible photo's, but 650 and 9 months NCT. Needs 2 new tyres and tracking apparently so the suspension could be fecked but it's cheap!

Full?id=9276667
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2852178

• Registered Users Posts: 28,864 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

since when is 28mpg economical?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Quazzie wrote: »
    since when is 28mpg economical?

Since 9 around town is what you normally get :p