If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Benitez not happy with Fergie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭mormank

DeadSkin wrote: »
    Haven't read most of the thread, but what I take from the 'mind games' is this part in Tony Barrett's piece from the Liverpool Echo today;

very poor piece of journalism imo. in the first paragraph it seems to claim that matchin the 18 titles this year would be enough to knock us off our perch and then in the second paragraph suggests that if we win the title matchin our 19 would no longer be enough but that thne fergie would need 20..

besides all that, fergies boys at utd well and truly have knocked the pool off their perch since he has been there. im sure he would like to match the 18 titles but make no mistake that when defgie first utter the immortal words he never in his wildest dreams was implying that he in his lifetime would manage utd to overtake liverpools haul of league titles...what he set out to do regarding the perch is accomplished and was accomplished years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Charlie

I'm not trawling through god knows how many pages of tripe, but has this been posted yet?

fergierafa.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Charlie wrote: »
    I'm not trawling through god knows how many pages of tripe, but has this been posted yet?Y

Yes, yes it has.

Des wrote: »
    Yes, yes it has.

:(

No thanks for me so.

Just in case you were wondering, the Rafakeegan picture has also already been posted.

Which I suppose you wouldn't find as funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭bigstar

No thanks for me so.

its still as funny the second time round, so thanks.

anyone else think rafa's english is better than fergie's

Just in case you were wondering, the Rafakeegan picture has also already been posted.

:mad:

Link???

I'm in no mood for Kev bashing this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

:mad:

Link???

I'm in no mood for Kev bashing this evening.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055335091&page=361great pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Benitez back on the offensive

Monday, 12 January 2009 14:52

Liverpool boss Rafael Benitez has made a fresh attack on Manchester United with a swipe at the club's chief executive David Gill.

Benitez made headlines last week with a series of outspoken remarks about his Old Trafford counterpart Alex Ferguson.

He has followed that up with further comments about Gill, who also holds a senior position at the Football Association.

Benitez said: 'They were saying we are a threat. Now they know we are, they are playing mind games.

'But I don't think it's a mind game when you have control over everything; it's a mind game when you have the same level as the other people, then you can show you are cleverer than the others.

'But when you have control of everything and your chief executive is powerful in the FA and things like this, then that is not mind games.

'Is there a conflict of interest with David Gill at the FA?

'That is another fact. It is a fact that one person has a lot of power and control, and is on a lot of committees in the FA. To me that is very strange.'

Neither the Football Association nor United have commented.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0112/benitezr.html

My god, keep digging Rafa......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Excellent point from Rafa. Surely this has to be a conflict of interests here. Hopefully more managers will come out and expose this situation. Unbelievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Well Man U fans used to complain about it all of the time when that Arsenal lad was in a similar position, bet we won't hear similar complaints now :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Well Man U fans used to complain about it all of the time when that Arsenal lad was in a similar position, bet we won't hear similar complaints now :rolleyes:

Eh, welcome to yesterday lads. I direct you to post 395 of this topic and the subsequent discussion. Not sure how to link directly to a post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,681 ✭✭✭Chong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,667 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Having checked too - Gill was VOTED on to the FA Board by the premier league, which i presume means that the premier league club chairmen voted for him to take that position. (Hint, Liverpool would have had a vote on this). He is also one of FOUR premier league reps; which include the Bolton chairman and a Blackburn director (or it did comprise this at the time he was voted on to the board)

I'm sure Rafa is equally angered by big liverpool supporting Barwick having held so much power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

Having checked too - Gill was VOTED on to the FA Board by the premier league, which i presume means that the premier league club chairmen voted for him to take that position. (Hint, Liverpool would have had a vote on this). He is also one of FOUR premier league reps; which include the Bolton chairman and a Blackburn director (or it did comprise this at the time he was voted on to the board)

I'm sure Rafa is equally angered by big liverpool supporting Barwick having held so much power.
    Em big differnce between Barwick supporting Liverpool and Gil actually being involved at United.

Highsider wrote: »
    Em big differnce between Barwick supporting Liverpool and Gil actually being involved at United.

Yeah, there is, but is it any less contemptious to imply Gill is a murky figure using his power, power given to him by the premier league as one of their 4 representatives, to cheat other clubs to help a club he works for, than it is to say Barwick and the FA might be lenient on Liverpool cause he is a fan and obvioulsy wants them to do better than their rivals?

If you can cite any incidents in which Gill can be seen to have used undue influence to aid United I would love to see it.

Also, I would assume people don't want the premier league to have any representatives with the FA, or if they do, they want these premier league reps to have nothing to actually do with the premier league.

Never let it cross anyones mind that the premier league body, made up of each club, voted for Gill to be one of their four reps because they felt he could do a good job and is a person they trust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

how much do Utd pay Gill every year?

Mr Alan wrote: »
    how much do Utd pay Gill every year?
    Can't find any info on it - i know he is well paid though. What has that got to do with it though? The premier league chairmen voted him into the position - they obviously did so for a good reason. I also don't remember reading that he was head of any disciplinary panels and I have seen no evidence or hints at corruption on his part.

Again, I presume you either want the PL to have no representation, or that any representation they do have has nothing to do with the PL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

i was just asking.

i aint claiming that there is a conspiracy, but it undoubtadly is a conflict of interests and is in no way comparable to Brian Barwick being fond of Liverpool.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    i was just asking.

i aint claiming that there is a conspiracy, but it undoubtadly is a conflict of interests and is in no way comparable to Brian Barwick being fond of Liverpool.
    I honestly don't know. I don't know enough about his role with the FA; as 1 of 4 representatives of the PL, on the FA board, i don't know what undue power he could weild in favour of man united.

As regards Dein, for the majority of his time he held a role different to Gill. For a time, Dein was VICE-PRESIDENT of the FA. A role he lost in 2004 after a restructuring, and was then voted on to the FA board.

I would imagine having a minority vote, as Gill would have, and being a representative on the board among others, reduces your power to do pretty much anything that would be unfair.

Wonder why people don't piss and moan about Gartside having the same role as Gill.

that wouldn't suit anyones agendas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

why is everyone getting so worked up about this.Rafa is just doing what fergie always do and attempting to divert media attention and pressure to rivals.
    Cool your jets,its just a bit of craic that fills the tabs till a big signing happens.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

that wouldn't suit anyones agendas

now ur getting it

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I love how Benitez goes from saying that Ferguson served a two match suspension for having a go at a referee, to saying that he is the only manager that can say anything to referees and not get suspended.

Facts indeed FSW...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,602 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

I'm beginning to think Benitez was just bored out of his tree and feeling a bit mischievous. Look at all the reaction he got from a 4 minute spiel.. he must be p*ssing himself laughing.

spockety wrote: »
    I'm beginning to think Benitez was just bored out of his tree and feeling a bit mischievous. Look at all the reaction he got from a 4 minute spiel.. he must be p*ssing himself laughing.
    Thats interesting, he didn't really look like he was too amused in that press conference. FSW must be a good poker player...

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

FSW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

mayordenis wrote: »
    FSW?

Best I could do was this

He must mean Female Sex Worker I guess......

edit; seriously though, using such a term as Fat Spanish Waiter to refer to him kinda undermines you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

spockety wrote: »

ye haha id say hes pissing himself laughing at the fact that united are breathing down his neck, in fact id say he's laughing so much its hurting.
    Bored out of his tree? might have been better off picking a better ****ing team to that farce that took the pitch against stoke, instead of clowning around and messing with the master of mindgames.
    Yep, hes most definitely pissing himself.

Hey mayord, its just a bit of fun. No need to be so uptight just because your manager is feeling the pressure from United breathing down their necks on their way to a third consecutive title. You're doing ok, you haven't ****ed your entire season up before christmas this time. :)