Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Embarrassing U-turn for Beverley Cooper-Flynn

can anybody here say they wouldnt take 41k from any govt dept if entitled to it AND it was not public news/gossip ie nobody would find out?

i bet you not a sinner here would give it back.........

if u would tell me and i'll show you a liar.

I wouldn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

themont85 wrote: »

Sums it up really.

ha ha , lol,

always gives me a laugh tho................its not easy gay, you should try it..........a house in castlebar, a house in dublin, a house in brussels........a couple of housekeepers..........its not easy, you should try it some time...........
    aw man, it was CLASS tv (just like bev)

if anyone hasnt seen this ............have a look.

Myth wrote: »
    I wouldn't.

ya would'nt ? really ? you would be entitled to it ...and no poss of it becoming public goss....?

blessed are those without sin.

i feel we're in the presence of someone higher............

or someTHING higher

• Registered Users Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭veryangryman

God how did that audience member resist the urge to punch Flynn.

Family of crooks

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

And you know what...she will prob top the poll after the next election...what does that say about the people of Mayo??

No wonder they havent the balls to win an All-Ireland when thats the type of crap they put up with from their TDs.:(

She is such an ugly person (not taking about physical attributes).

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭k99_64

hmmm check out the wiki

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beverley_Flynn

Last line of the paragraph for Libel action

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b203/k99_64/ugly.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭smokingman

k99_64 wrote: »
    hmmm check out the wiki

Brilliant! :)

smokingman wrote: »
    Brilliant! :)

lol....:)

Come on lads..own up? who has jam on this chins...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Deadzone

quote "She also stated that the allowance was used to benefit her constituents."

News to me and anyone else I've asked in the constituency.

emailed her over the HPV vacine debacle. didn't even have the courtesy to acknowledge my mail.

Don't know anyone who voted for her but guarantee she'll get in again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

k99_64 wrote:
    hmmm check out the wiki

lol, that's brilliant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Baby4 wrote: »

...to sum up - an immortal great line from an even greater real-life genuine man (R.I.P.):
    "The money was (would) only be resting in my account!"

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Sure she will just claim €41,000 extra in expenses.. simple as that and they will all be signed off without questions..

So it just wont be seen as an independents grant/fee or whatever ya wanna call it, it will be seen as expenses and left at that as I'm sure someone somewhere will add a few quid here and there to her receipts and she will get it back over the course of the next few months and as expenses are tax free, there wont be any problems..

The reason she keeps getting re elected is simple as she and her family have wealthy connected friends who I'm sure are well looked after, fund raising etc is easy for them, big campaigns etc and sure wasnt the whole RTE saga about her advising people on evading tax.. now why wouldnt they want to support her.. its more money in their pockets at the end of the day!!

Tox

As my mother says...the people get the government/politicians they deserve.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Biggins is your mother??

monkey9 wrote: »
    Biggins is your mother??

Say whaa! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Biggins wrote: »
    Say whaa! :eek:

Biggins

The Irish government is living proof that this statement is probably the truest thing ever said.

...is this along the same line of thinking "you get the goverment ye deserve!"

If so, its very true for Ireland. As long as muppets keep re-electing more muppets, nothing will change.

partyguinness

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jackal

can anybody here say they wouldnt take 41k from any govt dept if entitled to it AND it was not public news/gossip ie nobody would find out?

i bet you not a sinner here would give it back.........

if u would tell me and i'll show you a liar.

ya it was politically bad judgement but thats it.

why do people vote in Flynns and the like..............? easy, look at castlebar, a fantastic town that has come on in leaps and bounds and has left other towns like ballina/ballinasloe (ie similar towns of 30 years ago) way back in terms of progress. tis like a mini galway.

So you're alright then Jack?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

....yadda........ look at castlebar, a fantastic town ....yadda....

You lost me right there, tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

So you're alright then Jack?

But of course? Parish-Pump Gombeenism ftw!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Myers in today's Independent. Brilliant.
    Here's my theory. The Flynns aren't human. They're cyborgs, sent down from the Planet %'/~&~#. Maybe they're planning an invasion. Maybe they're here to study us. Maybe they want to learn from us. Maybe they have the effrontery to want to teach us. Either way, whatever it is they want, they're not human.

Look at Beverley Flynn. She doesn't even walk like a human. She was taught to walk in an interplanetary spacecraft before she was beamed down here. But the gravity-machine wasn't working properly in the craft, and she learnt to make her strides in about half the force of gravity which she was to experience in Mayo. The result is that on earth, she looks as if she's crossing a tightrope in high-heeled rugby boots, with a hod-load of bricks on her shoulder.

And the smile. She smiles at the wrong places, and the wrong times, because the %'/~&~#ian scientist who screwed up the gravity-machine was also responsible for hard-wiring her smiling-circuits. He was the %'/~&~#ian equivalent of drunk. So tell Beverley Flynn that you have a flesh-eating virus that is devouring your genitals, and her face will promptly erupt with a huge Flynnian-beam, the eyebrows will arch with joy, and the mouth will drop in ecstatic amazement. Tell her that your mother was eaten alive by lizards while sunbathing in Bohola, and she'll grin from ear to ear in delight, and punch you cheerily in the ribcage.

So, she loses a libel action, the loss of which cost her the equivalent of our current GDP, yet she emerged from the court looking like she had just been told she had won €120m on the EuroMillions lottery and a night with George Clooney on Viagra. But of course, that is human-speak, and there's no reason to believe she's human, so she wouldn't understand the reference to George Clooney.

For not being humans, the Flynns probably don't understand desire. They don't even go to the lavatory. A question. Has anyone ever seen a Flynn buy any toilet paper? No? Question answered, and case proven! To the Flynns, a bladder is something you lean against a bwall: and a bowel is a round kitchen utensil in which you mix a puddeng.

We should have guessed all this long ago, with the Da. The %'/~&~#ian scientist who made such a sterling job of the Flynn smile and the Flynn walk also seems to have been the creator of Pee's hair. For years, his mane was one of the scientific wonders of the European Union. It glowed like a thermonuclear conker reaching critical mass. You could have stood Pee Flynn with his glowing thatch at Malin Head and merchantmen rounding the Iceland Bight would have sheered off in terror, convinced that they were about to plough into an orange-coloured Donegal.

Earlier explanations for this phenomenon (and ones that, in my ignorance, I admit, I initially favoured) were that Pee Flynn dyed his hair -- hence that unique blend of umber and amber, maroon and Palomino, sunset and tangerine, with possibly a hint of burnt satsuma. But no, that was not the reason at all. It was simply that %'/~&~#ian scientists did not understand the immense complexity of the human mane. It doesn't have a single colour, but lots. However, since the %'/~&~#ian scientist's single eye was between its toenails (the %'/~&~#ians' main sensory organs being their facial whiskers, a relic of which you can see in Pee's eyebrows) the subtlety of the human head of hair was beyond its understanding.

Which brings us to Audrey, my pet, and easily my favourite Flynn. Ten years ago, she was found guilty of driving 18 children on a school run without tax, insurance, or a PSV licence. Judge Mary Devins was almost incoherent with rage and when sentencing her said: "Complete, breathtaking arrogance." Audrey gets her licence back next year.

You can't shame a Flynn, because "shame" is a concept unknown to their moral order. Thus in Flynnian, "shame" merely means "very, very shimilar". This is why Beverley initially refused to surrender her €112.33 a day in tax-free expenses, 365 days a year, as an independent TD, even though she was back in the Fianna Fail fold. But then came the order from Planet %'/~&~#: back off, Bev! For come the next election, once again, she'll probably top the poll in integrity-loving Mayo. And Planet %'/~&~# needs its Flynnian eye within the morality-free zone that is Fianna Fail.

kmyers@independent.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

For once a good Kevin Myers article.

Myers article.

Spot on. Class and sooo true.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Yeah she says the oddest things such as

"I'd would be totally dishonest if I said all this didn't hurt me deeply"

So....we should be grateful that she's being honest about being hurt???!!!

Anyone who follows her is a fool. A complete, damn fool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

galwayrush wrote: »
    If the brass necked bitch had an ounce of integrity in her , she would have resigned from politics many years ago.
    Hmm, is an elected politician a true to life reflection of the people who voted him/her in?:eek:
    in her case, she's a terrible reflection on Mayo people.

eh excuse you dont tar all of us with the same stupitidy brush, i DIDNT vote for her or ANY of her Fianna Fail croneys and as previously stated in another thread i think shes a crook!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Freewheeling Ed

smokingman wrote: »
    Anyone hear her on the Mayo radio station when she announced it?
    She said that she approached Cowen about it, organised the meeting and instigated everything herself.

Balls like brass monkeys I tells ya :eek:

yeah, I heard her say "it was completely my own decision to give it up"

She has obviously been swotting up on
    Paul Joseph Goebbels : Reich Minister of Public Enlightenment and Propaganda in Nazi Germany

"the bigger the lie"

Myers in today's Independent. Brilliant.

i'd vote for her just to zap it to myers and his type.

God Myers is such a west brit with a serious identity crisis..am pretty sure he hates himself...

I used to read Myers in The Irish Times solely to see could he go one article without mentioning Sinn Fein or the IRA. It was hilarious..he could be writing about French artists and yet he somehow manage to mention SF or IRA. He was actaully an embarrassment to the paper.

Thank God he has gone to the Indo..its where he belongs.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jackal

God Myers is such a west brit with a serious identity crisis..am pretty sure he hates himself...

I used to read Myers in The Irish Times solely to see could he go one article without mentioning Sinn Fein or the IRA. It was hilarious..he could be writing about French artists and yet he somehow manage to mention SF or IRA. He was actaully an embarrassment to the paper.

Thank God he has gone to the Indo..its where he belongs.

Is he not an actual brit? He was born in Leicester.