Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Give him 10points

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

This is a bit disingenuous. What that guy did had nothing to do with how tough the emergency people's job might be.

You are pissed off because he tried to steal a march on the rest of the traffic. Don't be trying to pass it off as some kind of high-minded objection.

He's pissed off 'cos your man was at home atein his snack box when the OP was still stuck in traffic!

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

This is a bit disingenuous. What that guy did had nothing to do with how tough the emergency people's job might be.

You are pissed off because he tried to steal a march on the rest of the traffic. Don't be trying to pass it off as some kind of high-minded objection.

ohhh ...the begrudgery card:pac: ...always a nice one.

An emercency vehicle driving with lights and sirens on has certain excemptions from traffic laws (written and unwritten ones) ...the car behind hasn't. So while following an emergency vehicle it is quite likely that you are breaking several laws. That's count one.

Count two is that an emergency vehicle disrupts the normal flow of traffic (other drivers get out of its way) and that traffic then sorts itself again once the EV has gone through. Following directly behind one, more or less driving blind, is an extremely stupid thing to do, as in the wake of the vehicle all sorts of unexpected and dangerous maneuvres will be going on while traffic sorts itself out again and fills that vacuum. Not a clever place to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Darragh29 wrote: »
    He's pissed off 'cos your man was at home atein his snack box when the OP was still stuck in traffic!

What? After he got his ticket from the Garda? Yeah, he sure got one up on all the suckers in the traffic. :rolleyes:

Read the original post again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Strange that the VW passed me by on th M1 just before Donabate and was driving in a remarkably calm way. And more then likely I was in my house eating my lunch while he was still on his merry way with hopefully a pocket full of points and hopefully a few quid lighter.
    I dont really care that he passed me BUT if he had of hit the ambulance and thus causing a pile up due to his stupidity then I would take exception.
    As regards to how tough the emergency services job and my post.Not only does the ambulance driver have to worry about dodging trucks slow moving traffic and concrete bollards while they are on their way to a crash BUT they also have to deal wiyh a 1st class Moron who thinks he is having a laugh/getting 1 over on everyone else then I wouildnt really term it as disigenuious.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

surprised it wasnt a woman driving a shiny Bmw. They seem to think they own the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Dont drive behind an emergency service vehicle period, couldnt give a f*ck who is in the back honestly.

What happens, your following, you get side swipped by a car, ambulance/fire/garda has to stop etc etc.

There is a reason gardai dont normally give escorts to ambulances, what happens is the garda car goes by lights and sirens, then people start to pull out again not realising its the ambulance sirens going this time, and often come close to hitting it!

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Assuming the 2 lanes of traffic pulled to either side, the ambulance would be drving up the middle of 2 lanes of traffic. Surely following him constitutes dangerous driving?

In normal driving if you overtook between 2 cars, with half you car in each of their lanes thats got to be dangerous driving?

As for people that do these things? idiots of the highest order.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

I did indeed mean obstructing gardaí rather than obstructing a vehicle or road. (Well obviously).

I'm going to assume Darragh29 is just a troll, I prefer not to believe someone could be that selfish and irresponsible and gloat about it so freely.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,149 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Its just wrong, isnt it.

House wrote: »
    I did indeed mean obstructing gardaí rather than obstructing a vehicle or road. (Well obviously).

I'm going to assume Darragh29 is just a troll, I prefer not to believe someone could be that selfish and irresponsible and gloat about it so freely.

I did it once or twice, big deal... Yeah I am selfish, load's of people are!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,429 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Don't feed the troll, it'll get bored eventually.

QFT.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    surprised it wasnt a woman driving a shiny Bmw. They seem to think they own the road.

Darragh29 drives like a BMW driver :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭jayok

robbie99 wrote: »

You mean, since I own a BMW, I can drive like that! Deadly... :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

jayok wrote: »
    You mean, since I own a BMW, I can drive like that! Deadly... :D:D

So does your quotie;)

And yes, he does drive like one:P

I wouldn't even think about driving behind an ambulance to essentially avoid traffic. No matter what anyone says that's wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,080 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

so you're following the ambulance up the tiny hardshoulder as the traffic is solid to your right for two lanes. Then the ambulance stops to deal with he accident. Where do you go then? Start indicating right or something?:confused:

And dont discourage him from playing russian roulette for gods sake!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

I had to follow an ambulance up from an accident once- never again, nearly got killed by idiots who thought I was chancing my arm and they decided to exact retribution and cut me off - had my hazards on and all.

I've no problem with BMW's, it's the drivers I've always had the problem with there! The fur coat and no knickers brigade is mostly comprised of BMW drivers...

So does your quotie;)

And yes, he does drive like one:P

I wouldn't even think about driving behind an ambulance to essentially avoid traffic. No matter what anyone says that's wrong.

I wouldn't make a habit of it, but if I'm sitting in traffic for 40 minutes that's goin' absolutely nowhere and I've had a c*nt of a day and want to slash me f*ckin' wrists in the car and then a nee naw comes along, happy days, I'm outa there!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

it's the drivers I've always had the problem with there!

And therein lies the irony! :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,841 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

I wouldn't make a habit of it, but if I'm sitting in traffic for 40 minutes that's goin' absolutely nowhere and I've had a c*nt of a day and want to slash me f*ckin' wrists in the car and then a nee naw comes along, happy days, I'm outa there!

Do us all a favour next time then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

And therein lies the irony! :D

Or it whooshes past him in the hard shoulder....gnarf gnarf.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,552 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

javaboy wrote: »
    I blame video games for this type of behaviour. Specifically Die Hard Trilogy. :D

I blame Mr.Bin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gur-VzfebuA

0:10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭victor1

As the title thread to give them 10 points is a understatement. I have family and friends as paramedic's across the country and while they take a extremely dim view of some eejit driving up their arse when they are on their way to an emergency, a judge would take a dimmer view, if these guy in teh ambulance get your plate and report you and it goes to court, it will not be points but rather a suspended licence by all a/c's, precedents set and my mates have been witness to it over the years.

Personal opinion is that if some feckin eejit piggybacks through traffic on the misfortune of others(where the ambulance is off to), deserve their licence ripped in 2, the paramedics are trained in evasive driving skills, some d*&khead following suit over the speed limit probably has not so may cause another accident!!!

whiterebel wrote: »
    Do us all a favour next time then.

God what a really excellent comment, so super constructive:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭sonicthebadger*

Stekelly wrote: »
    In normal driving if you overtook between 2 cars, with half you car in each of their lanes thats got to be dangerous driving?

I do this all the time in slow moving traffic. Oh wait though, I've a motorbike. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

next time you think about doing it consider the possibility that you could cause the ambulance to be in an accident and as a result of that someone who is possibly minutes from death could end up losing their life because you were being a selfish cnut and couldn't wait an extra few minutes in traffic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭Dartz

It's the internet.

I place this alongside those people who belt up bus lanes or the hard shoulder, then expect you to let them in at the end, and insist on flipping you off....or trying to trade paint...when you don't. Some people are just daft, impatient and stupid. And the stupidest ones post on the internet about it, not understanding how bloody stupid they are and how much we are all laughing at them for not realising how stupid they are...repeatedly.

Retarde...Douze Points!

vibe666 wrote: »
    next time you think about doing it consider the possibility that you could cause the ambulance to be in an accident and as a result of that someone who is possibly minutes from death could end up losing their life because you were being a selfish cnut and couldn't wait an extra few minutes in traffic.

I don't think I was causing any danger or causing any risk to anyone at the time. I certainly wasn't causing an obstruction as set out here. I don't make a habit of it, I did it once or twice, no big deal, no need for the drama that is always thrown out here by the PC brigade.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

I don't think I was causing any danger or causing any risk to anyone at the time. I certainly wasn't causing an obstruction as set out here. I don't make a habit of it, I did it once or twice, no big deal, no need for the drama that is always thrown out here by the PC brigade.

so you can't imagine a situation where you are driving up close behind an ambulance (close enough to stop disgruntled people in the traffic blocking you off) and the ambulance (which is big enough that you will have difficulty seeing round it) having to brake sharply and you not being able to stop in time and piling into the back of him?

if you can't see the inherent danger in what you are doing then you shouldn't be on the road at all.