Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Proper Broadband Map Of Ireland Exchange Location Request

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

CMON guys , we waned this finished weeks ago but need the info !! I explained on page one how to do it. The outstanding list is above ye .

Where are they ??

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭wasim21k

here is kilminchy
    number assigned by eircom 0578635xxx
    http://maps.yahoo.com/#mvt=m&lat=53.041&lon=-7.2699&zoom=17&q1=53.0410N%252C7.2699W
    but i think there is another one in the are but let me check today.

Here is a list of Laois exchanges .

Their locations are all known bar the two in bold , mind you I have a Ballyroan Exchange to locate but I am not sure if it is in that area or in a different Ballyroan in the Dublin Mountains , It would be a great help if you found it in Laois :)

Thats

BALLYROAN BAO

Laois exchanges .

BALLACOLLA BCA
    BALLICKMOYLER BKR
    BALLINAKILL BAK
    BALLINTUBBERT BBT
    BALLYBRITTAS BBS
    BALLYFIN BIN
    BALLYLINAN BYN
    BORRIS IN OSSORY BSO
    CLONASLEE CSE
    CLOUGH COU
    COOLRAIN CRN
    CULLAHILL CIL
    DURROW DRW
    ERRILL ERL
    GRACEFIELD GCF
    KILLENARD KND

KILMINCHY KLM
    LUGGACURREN LRN
    MOUNTMELLICK MMK
    MOUNTRATH MTH
    PORTARLINGTON PAN
    PORTLAOISE PGS
    RATHDOWNEY RAY
    ROSENALLIS RNL
    SHANAHOE SNO
    STRADBALLY SBY
    THE HEATH TTH
    WOLFHILL WOL
    ABBEYLEIX ABX
    TIMAHOE TOE

Does NOBODY in Dublin know anything ???? :(

Where are these exchanges ( numbers on right) ???

Name Code STD Enabled ? Numbers Assigned

BALDOYLE BDL 01 0 Dublin n 0 018467000
    BALGADDY BGD 01 0 Dublin n 0 n/a
    BALLYCOOLIN BNZ 01 0 Dublin y 0 n/a
    PARK WEST PKW 01 0 Dublin y 0 n/a
    COURTLOUGH BUSINESS PARK CTH 01 balbriggan area Dublin y
    PELLETSTOWN PLT 01 D15 area Dublin y 018664000
    DUBBER DBR 01 Finglas area Dublin y 018449000
    BALGRIFFIN BBF 01 north of Darndale Dublin y n/a
    GREENOGE GNO 01 Rathcoole Dublin somewhere Dublin y
    ADAMSTOWN SQUARE ASQ 01 Dublin y
    ADAMSTOWN THE PADDOCKS ATP 01 Dublin y
    BALLYMOUNT BLT 01 Dublin y 014295000
    CAPPOGUE BUS PARK CPO 01 Dublin n 018649000
    CHERRYWOOD CWD 01 Dublin y
    CLONSKEAGH CKH 01 Dublin n n/a
    COLDWINTERS CDW 01 Dublin y 018448000
    DONAGHMEDE DOM 01 Dublin y
    GLENCULLEN GLC 01 Dublin y
    HEUSTON SQUARE HSQ 01 Dublin y
    NAUL NAL 01 Dublin n 018419000
    NUTGROVE NEP 01 Dublin y
    PEAMOUNT LANE PML 01 Dublin n 015050000
    QUARRYVALE QVE 01 Dublin y
    ST JOHNS ROAD ( Houston ?) SJR 01 Dublin y n/a
    MITCHELSTOWN BUILDING MTN Dublin y west Dub ?
    CENTREPOINT BUSINESS PARK CNP 01 dublin 12 area Dublin
    TYRELLSTOWN TLT 01 Dublin y

Still bugger all from Dublin bar a few speculative PMs , can yiz git locating this weekend, full instructions in page one of this thread on how to easily locate long and lat from the comfort of your browser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I'm back home (parents) for Christmas now. If you give me a list of Offaly exchanges still unknown, I'll see what I can find out.

I can see Pollagh on the list. I live near enough there that I can probably pop over and find it for ya. Any others around that area in Offaly?

Offaly Outstanding .

Nothing like as utterly pathetic as Dublin considering the population though

Number blocks on right .

BALLYDALY BDA 057 e of Ferbane Offaly 0579334000
    COLLINS LANE CSA 057 Tullamore Offaly 0579361000
    MUCKLAGH MUK 056 nr tullamore Offaly 0579356000
    POLLAGH PLL 057 between clara and ferbane Offaly 0579348000

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Offaly Outstanding .

Nothing like as utterly pathetic as Dublin considering the population though

Number blocks on right .

BALLYDALY BDA 057 e of Ferbane Offaly 0579334000
    COLLINS LANE CSA 057 Tullamore Offaly 0579361000
    MUCKLAGH MUK 056 nr tullamore Offaly 0579356000
    POLLAGH PLL 057 between clara and ferbane Offaly 0579348000

Can definitely do Mucklagh, maybe Pollagh. Might not be able to find it in Pollagh since its a complete bog and just a weird village. Don't think anything in the place was ever planned, just built where they felt like it. Should be able to do Collins Lane too if I can find it. Must be on the outskirts of town somewhere.

Don't know where Balydaly is but I'll find it on yahoo maps and see where abouts it is. Ferbane isn't that far from Pollagh anyway so it might be doable for me.

Mucklagh is near the old post office according to my father so it should be here:
    http://maps.yahoo.com/#mvt=m&lat=53.251217&lon=-7.548854&zoom=18&q1=mucklagh%252C%2520offaly%252C%2520ireland

I'll confirm better tomorrow. Have to go to Sligo today so won't be back until 7 this evening. Do you have Rahan exchange? I didn't see it on the list but its my parents local exchange.

I have Rahan , and thanks for Mucklagh .

If it is any help I suspect that Collins Lane is referred to sometimes as Collins Road and it may be in or next to the Axis Business Park on the Clara Road .

Was looking for Collins Lane the other day. No sign of the exchange on the roadside or down the housing estates that have been added to it.

It doesn't appear to be by the roadside. Saw a couple of usually grey or gunmetal grey type cabinets but there were two in one estate at opposite ends so I don't think its the exchange box. It is a massive estate with a new industrial estate nearby so I'm not sure if it is or not.

Other than that, I didn't see any old garage type buildings on the road in the area that was there before the new housing estates were built. Maybe someone from the midlands forum can help a bit better if they are from the area. I can take a picture of the gunmetal boxes I did see if you want, next time I'm in the area. You could probably tell easier than I could if they were exchanges or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

Here are the results of the Cork Jury (so far):

Ringaskiddy Port RIP 021 > 51º 49.830 N 8º 18.916 W

Raffeen RFN 021 > 51º 50.061 N 8º 22.192 W

Farmers Cross FMX 021 > 51º 50.812 N 8º 28.306 W

Photos to follow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭bishop brennan

Was this map ever finished?Cant find it anywhere.

I'm trying to find out where the Watergrasshill exchange is in Cork as I'm moving there in the new year and want to know how far it is from my house.:confused:

near the roundabout on the village side of the Motorway .

Many thanks Sponge Bob!Maybe you could tell me if I'm within about 500mtrs of it will it be fairly ok?

It is an ADSL1 exchange ( max 8mbits or 7.6mbits with eircom) but at 500m you should get the full whack if you choose .

Thanks a lot! 7mbits would do me just fine.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭bigpaddy2004

Here is a list of Laois exchanges .

Their locations are all known bar the two in bold , mind you I have a Ballyroan Exchange to locate but I am not sure if it is in that area or in a different Ballyroan in the Dublin Mountains , It would be a great help if you found it in Laois :)

Thats

BALLYROAN BAO

Laois exchanges .

BALLACOLLA BCA
    BALLICKMOYLER BKR
    BALLINAKILL BAK
    BALLINTUBBERT BBT
    BALLYBRITTAS BBS
    BALLYFIN BIN
    BALLYLINAN BYN
    BORRIS IN OSSORY BSO
    CLONASLEE CSE
    CLOUGH COU
    COOLRAIN CRN
    CULLAHILL CIL
    DURROW DRW
    ERRILL ERL
    GRACEFIELD GCF
    KILLENARD KND

KILMINCHY KLM
    LUGGACURREN LRN
    MOUNTMELLICK MMK
    MOUNTRATH MTH
    PORTARLINGTON PAN
    PORTLAOISE PGS
    RATHDOWNEY RAY
    ROSENALLIS RNL
    SHANAHOE SNO
    STRADBALLY SBY
    THE HEATH TTH
    WOLFHILL WOL
    ABBEYLEIX ABX
    TIMAHOE TOE

KILENARD: 53.133088, -7.148634

GRACEFIELD: 53.159622, -7.204655

• Registered Users Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭bigpaddy2004

BALLYROAN: 52.946324, -7.301391

This was on the long finger pending some fragments.

First of all anybody of a DIY bent can download eircom exchange coverage areas here ( google earth) or view them ...I recommend you DOWNLOAD this file :)

Download > http://www.nextgenerationethernet.com/exchanges.kmz

View > http://maps.google.ie/maps?q=http://www.nextgenerationethernet.com/exchanges.kmz&oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a&um=1&ie=UTF-8&source=websearch

Should be able to integrate everything into a nice KMZ file and sticky it here. :)

Naturally the coverage polygon file is incomplete, this is eircom after all. :( But that can be sorted.

I also need the exchange code ( if applicable) and location and std codes for these exchanges if they exist. By all means tell me they do not exist.

Exchange ( suspected code )

Need locations for the following exchanges. Most are a white or grey boxes on the roadside or in a church car park where a phonebox used to be...etc. There are streetview examples for EMMOO DEEPFORDE and FARMERS CROSS below.

Exchange Name ( suspected) and STD need location and std codes . for these two.

GORTNAHOE GUE

Need locations and exchange codes for these.

OLDTOWN 01
    PHOENIX PARK 01
    ASHMOUNT 021
    MODEL FARM RD 021
    Mallow The Beeches) 022
    LYRE 029
    KILASHEE 043
    LAKEPOINT BUSINESS PARK 044
    BOHERMEEN 046
    ORAM 047
    CROSS Keys 049
    BALLYLOOBY 052
    MONEYBALLYTYRELL 057
    FAHA CROSS 066
    CARNEY (CABINET) 071
    EMMOO 090

LISSAVAIRD ? Cork.
    ROUNDWOOD ( laois or wicklow)

Phoenix Park may be Farmleigh , if so say so. Some of these exchanges were called one thing in planning and launched as another.

TIA to everybody who will help.

In Response to the PM, this is indeed an exchange and I suspect it is the EMMOO exchange in County roscommon, is that on the wholesale ADSL Exchange list ?? If anyone is driving past there ( 2 miles east of Roscommmon on Lanesboro road) can the confirm whether there is another ( slightly higher) cabinet out there now.

PM on Lakepoint Business Park in Mullingar.

Nothing between there and the entrance stands out. It will not be a standalone green box but a White or Grey Box ( or one of each) beside one or more green boxes.

Can you check the structure behind the barrier after Woodies and PM ? Here.

http://maps.osi.ie/publicviewer/#V1,645800,753676,7,10

Could be on the Delvin Road itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

I'm just going to post here what a DSL-enabled cabinet exchange looks like: It is Deepforde in Drogheda:

Two cabinets beside each other, containing exchange equipment

And going from when I saw The Naul's exchange, the cabinet chassis for these small exchanges (aka RSUs) does seem to vary. Here it is.

PM req to clarify what the two boxes do.

Here is Farmers Cross in Cork.

The box on left is a Voice Only Exchange like the one in EMMOO two posts back. It is usually white.

The one on the right is the DSL unit. It is slightly higher and has vents on top. This is a greyer colour, more grey than offwhite.

Old eircom junction boxes are often a silvery grey colour and have no vents on top...... but the ADSL box is around 1.8m high and the older junction boxes are around 1.2m high.

You can have one or both at a location but do tell us if the vents are visible on top so we know whether it is DSL or not.

The Naul has not been upgraded yet TBC ( promised since 2007 and that streetview is from 2009)

I reckon there may be a larger box or set of boxes out there nowadays, that yoke is ancient. Could someone photo that location in the Naul today perhaps ??

• Registered Users Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

I know too well unfortunately from contacts in the area that it's not enabled, it was an example of a voice-only RSU that doesn't look like the regular white box with a protruding handle/lock cover in the centre.

The photos would indeed be around May 2009 in that part of the world like much of the google streetview footage, but I've been there and saw it myself in the summer of last year if that's any help? I'll see what I can do for a photo.

Couple more exchanges, we know they exist and have exchange codes but we need precise locations

LETTERMORE LTM 091 n 0 Galway
    MALLOW AEH MWY 022 y 2 Cork
    Mallow The Beeches) 022 maybe = AEH Cork
    MONEYBALLYTYRELL 057 y 2 Laois
    SHANBALLY SHY 058 Waterford
    THE SWAN TSW 057/059 Laois/Kilkenny

OK Here is what we need now

Location of these exchanges ( use google streetview or yahoo maps ..the latter is more accurate)

LETTERMORE LTM 091 n 0 Galway
    MALLOW AEH MWY 022 y 2 Cork
    Mallow The Beeches) 022 maybe = AEH Cork
    MONEYBALLYTYRELL 057 y 2 Laois
    SHANBALLY SHY 058 Waterford
    THE SWAN TSW 057/059 Laois/Kilkenny

Location and STD code for this exchange

GORTNAHOE GUE Tipperary 056 ?

Location and EXCHANGE Code ( 3 Letters for these exchanges)

SUNCROFT 045
    OLDTOWN 01
    PHOENIX PARK 01
    ASHMOUNT 021
    MODEL FARM RD 021
    Mallow (The Beeches) 022
    LYRE 029
    KILASHEE 043
    LAKEPOINT BUSINESS PARK 044
    BOHERMEEN 046
    ORAM 047
    CROSS Keys 049
    BALLYLOOBY 052
    MONEYBALLYTYRELL 057
    FAHA CROSS 066
    CARNEY (CABINET) 071
    EMMOO 090

Phoenix Park may be a planning name for the Farmleigh Exchange, we know where that is.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭roast

PM sent with some info.

I'm not surprised they never enabled that, it looks like a cowshed :)

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Gambit217

I'm not surprised they never enabled that, it looks like a cowshed :)

I hope I'm ok to ask, I've just moved into a house in a place called Garrisker, a couple of miles from Broadford, Co Kildare.
    Much to my annoyance, I've been told by all ISPs that line broadband is not available. I'm on the Broadford Exchange & I am wondering if anybody knows if/when this exchange may be upgrdaded?

Any help with this would be really appreciated.

Thanks.