If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leprechaun European Poker Open...New Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭The Little Guy

Rumours are abound that the Leprechaun European Poker Open (LEPO) is about to be cancelled.

THIS TOURNAMENT WILL GO AHEAD

As part of our ongoing commitment to provide the very best value to our players, we have supported the commercial venture that is the LEPO. We believe this to be one of the best value tournaments of 2008

We set up online registration, which is becoming more & more familiar to players as a means of entering tournaments, and we guaranteed a prizepool of €50,000.
    We also set up online qualifiers to allow players to qualify for as little as $3.

We also introduced offline registrations and satellites to satisfy our status as a European Rankin Event.

We put a lot of time and effort to research the kind of event which would be most appealing in these economic times.

To say we are disappointed in the numbers registering online would be a massive understatement for us. Though we fully appreciate the online players who have loyally supported us from our inception.

After speaking to several local tournament organisors about the rumours that are running amok at the moment, we feel we can still gather the numbers the to cover a €50,000 prizepool.

However we ARE a commercial venture, and this guarantee was based upon the encouragement of players onto the online site. At this point in time 75% of player who have registered have done so offline, which is at odds to what we started out to do. To this end we are no longer guaranteeing the Prizepool.

If anyone feels offended by this and wishes to withdraw from the tournament, we totally understand and offer refunds to anyone who has booked flights, hotels etc before 10:15pm this evening (Weds 17th December) upon production of valid receipts.

We are also taking the advice of some of our more positive contributors from among you and changing the blind structure to 1 hour levels.

We are also changing the Start time to 2PM

Prizewinners will also be paid on the Day

I'm sure some won't be happy (or maybe will be) with our decision, but as explained earlier, we feel we gave what was wanted, and we are mystified with the uptake of online registrations.

We still have what should be one of the best value tournaments of 2008 and look forward to seeing you all at the LEPO.

Anyone intending to play this event is advised to contact me bru@leprechaunpoker.com to clarify the day you wish to play, or alternatively register through the Poker Room Tallaght, the Westbury, JP, the Bridge Club Banbridge, The Clamper derek@leprechaunpoker.com Neill kelly (Blazing Aces), Jim Smith or Luke Ivory (Silks)

The Freeroll for online registrants will take place as scheduled on Monday 22nd December regardless of entrants.

I thank you for you patience

Kind regards

Bru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭CourierCollie

Bit disappointed, but I'm sure not as much as you are Bru.
    Might be worth amalgamating the 2 day 1s into 1 starting day the way its looking now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Rumours are abound that the Leprechaun European Poker Open (LEPO) is about to be cancelled.

It's fair enough given that you are offering refunds to those who have already entered. Btw, think your explanation is good and everyone has sufficient timing to adjust or change their plans. I'm aiming to play (100% guaranteed free money), but have to wait till payday to register.

If it is just going to be a one-day for the first day then you might want to have it the day after the Fitz have their end-of-month tournie ... (if that's possible)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

is the hotel in santry? i did some googling maps and a few different hotels came up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

THIS TOURNAMENT WILL GO AHEAD

As part of our ongoing commitment to provide the very best value to our players, we have supported the commercial venture that is the LEPO. We believe this to be one of the best value tournaments of 2008

We set up online registration, which is becoming more & more familiar to players as a means of entering tournaments, and we guaranteed a prizepool of €50,000.
    We also set up online qualifiers to allow players to qualify for as little as $3.

We also introduced offline registrations and satellites to satisfy our status as a European Rankin Event.

We put a lot of time and effort to research the kind of event which would be most appealing in these economic times.

To say we are disappointed in the numbers registering online would be a massive understatement for us. Though we fully appreciate the online players who have loyally supported us from our inception.

After speaking to several local tournament organisors about the rumours that are running amok at the moment, we feel we can still gather the numbers the to cover a €50,000 prizepool.

However we ARE a commercial venture, and this guarantee was based upon the encouragement of players onto the online site. At this point in time 75% of player who have registered have done so offline, which is at odds to what we started out to do. To this end we are no longer guaranteeing the Prizepool.

If anyone feels offended by this and wishes to withdraw from the tournament, we totally understand and offer refunds to anyone who has booked flights, hotels etc before 10:15pm this evening (Weds 17th December) upon production of valid receipts.

We are also taking the advice of some of our more positive contributors from among you and changing the blind structure to 1 hour levels.

We are also changing the Start time to 2PM

Prizewinners will also be paid on the Day

I'm sure some won't be happy (or maybe will be) with our decision, but as explained earlier, we feel we gave what was wanted, and we are mystified with the uptake of online registrations.

We still have what should be one of the best value tournaments of 2008 and look forward to seeing you all at the LEPO.

Anyone intending to play this event is advised to contact me bru@leprechaunpoker.com to clarify the day you wish to play, or alternatively register through the Poker Room Tallaght, the Westbury, JP, the Bridge Club Banbridge, The Clamper derek@leprechaunpoker.com Neill kelly (Blazing Aces), Jim Smith or Luke Ivory (Silks)

The Freeroll for online registrants will take place as scheduled on Monday 22nd December regardless of entrants.

I thank you for you patience

Kind regards

Bru

Fair Play for the transparency Bru, hopefully enough support the event to make a €50,000 prizepool anyway but your stance is totally understandable especially with all the rumour mongering going on.... Still looking forward to the event here anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

cuterob wrote: »
    is the hotel in santry? i did some googling maps and a few different hotels came up

ITS THE ONE NEAR THE OLD SANTRY STADIUM IN NORTHWOOD

CROWNE PLAZA HOTEL SANTRY

www.crowneplazahotels.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

I'm sure it will be a great success Bru even without the guaranteed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

I have to say I'm a little dissapointed. However I admire the transparancy. Is this not a little premature though? If you are confident that you'll get 250 players, then you can still guarantee the 50000.

How many have regged so far (incl online)? 10 days is loads of time for people to reg onlne. I'm sure you'll get well over 300. With the blind levels reduced - does the "missing 2 orbits" rule still stand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Fwiw. I never thought you would get the numbers you hoped and I know a few others said the same when it got announced. It was a bad time for a tournament and you didn't give yourselves enough time to promote it and allow clubs have enough live sats around the country for it.

If you think about how BigSlick and Carfax absolutely spammed this forum and other forums around Europe with constant reminders to people months out about the IPO and the Ladbrokes festival; while at times annoying was very effective.

From a pure selfish pov, I'd rather you do what you just did as I don't want you to take a hit for this. It greatly increase the chances I get the IO ticket.

Either way I hope it does get the numbers you hope as I am likely playing it and the more the merrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Jaysus the guarantee is just pulled like that, hope its not the same with the Irish Open tickets or there will a lot of angry people round here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

I will be running single table satalites for this in dundalk this sunday for any1 that gets knocked out early from the IPC sat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

I will be running single table satalites for this in dundalk this sunday for any1 that gets knocked out early from the IPC sat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

lololol this was alwysa going to happen fishies!!! !

ur all so naive, its kind of cute. glglgl with the IO tickets lolol.

pulling a gaurantee is completely offside. in bits? lol@bru

and fair play to sickpuppy for gettin a tic to galway asaap. solid plan solid plan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭wendelsailor

/\
    |
    |
    |
    |
    clearly been out on the piss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭thepokerroom

hi just talked to all my players who have tickets for this and i am glad to say they all will play in this event.

regards jim the poker room ireland

hi just talked to all my players who have tickets for this and i am glad to say they all will play in this event.

Thanks Jim, your efforts are much appreciated.

I'm pleased with the positve responses and the numbers are starting to come in today

Bru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭The Snapper

:(
    I'm not one to come on here flaming others at every whim and I certainly wouldn't want to see you guys take a hit on this, But TBH this very disappointing, The prizepool is either guaranteed or its not ?. :confused:
    Is this the standard for tourney organisers now, ala the insurance industry where your " covered up to the point of impact "

Paddypowerpoker Irish Open was indeed, guaranteed
    After speaking to several local tournament organisors about the rumours that are running amok at the moment, we feel we can still gather the numbers to cover a €50,000 prizepool.

So why renege.
    we are no longer guaranteeing the Prizepool.

Oxymoron for sure. ( always wanted to use that word in context :) )

I HAVE CONTACTED PLAYERS SUCH AS YOURS AND THE SAME RESULTS WERE CONFIRMED
    THANKS JIM

DEREK

there are many ways to skin a cat, not one of them was chosen by cats as the preferred option
    i didnt yet hear of a turkey voting in favor of christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭baz2007

this is an utter joke and i am not surprised 1 bit.clamper i asked u a simple question in the red cow last weekend about the security excuse u used for not paying out in cash. Ur exact words 2 me were ur not paying in cash because u dont want 2. pulling this guarantee is just another example of this bull**** set up its simple 2 everyone. If u cant guarantee it dont guarantee end of mo fcukin story.

baz2007 wrote: »
    this is an utter joke and i am not surprised 1 bit.clamper i asked u a simple question in the red cow last weekend about the security excuse u used for not paying out in cash. Ur exact words 2 me were ur not paying in cash because u dont want 2. pulling this guarantee is just another example of this bull**** set up its simple 2 everyone. If u cant guarantee it dont guarantee end of mo fcukin story.

FYI
    Clamper did not withdraw the guarantee. I DID.

I'm sorry your so annoyed. if you have any out of pocket expenses (flights, accomodation etc) Please PM me to arrange your refund

Bru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭baz2007

clamper u ,him ,ur fathers brother the good lord himself,buddha tomas kremser, it does not make 1 difference. as i said if u cant guarantee it dont guarantee it.There is a lesson here if u dont think ur going 2 make the guarantee take the hit its not going 2 be life changing sums u loose ,and the poker community will think alot more of u for this gl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

Hi Bru,

Sorry to hear that the guarantee is not going to happen.. I think it's better to find out now than on the day when there is a huge overlay.

I think it's only a matter of time before some large guarantee is defaulted on at the tournament itself.. I spoke about this recently and in fairness a good few poker "companies" are offer guarantees and most are lucky enough to hit the required numbers... what happens when they dont? most of them put their hands in their pockets and make up the difference but it will happen someday that the pockets aren't going to be deep enough..

This is why I think the industry needs some regulation and something that should be done is a kind of escrow system where the guarantee or a % of it is held by a 3rd party until the event is over.. anyway discussion for another day.

Best of luck with the tourney and since I've already qualified I'll see you there..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭The Poker Room

Fair play in the transparancy Bru, If we have learned anything in the last year its honesty and communication is always the answer.

As I have said from the start My club and I are 100% behind the tournament and there is a very long list of poker tournaments that don't offer a guarantee and are still a big success.

I actually think the changes are an improvement, pay out on the day is better and what people expect, can you confirm your paying 100% of the prize pool minus reg. ?

We will have at least 16 players at this tourny for the Poker Room and my dead money will be there as well.

Best of luck Bru and keep your chin up, people always love to have a go but if you supply value and your honest you will get the players.
    best regards Ross.

Thank you so much Ross for your kind words and support.

The prizepool will equate to €200+€20 reg for every player entered.
    All of which will be paid on the day

Thanks again

Bru

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭SuperHans

I admire the effort that has been put into the tournament, but I have to voice my disappointment at this announcement.
    I signed up to this tournament partially on the premise of the advertised value on offer and feel a little cheated. The tournament was never actually guaranteed as there was a chance that you would not stump up the overlay which, it turns out, has unfortunately occured.
    If this chance exists you should not be advertising the prizepool as 'guaranteed', as it at odds with the definition of the word.

Maybe in future a better idea would be a conditional guarantee ie. if we hit 200 players we'll guarantee the 50k.

I will still be playing the tournament as I think it has a great structure for the buy in and I really just want to have a bit of fun playing poker.

Again, I just posted this to express my thoughts on the matter and help you understand how some of the entrants may feel. Hopefully it will help you in marketing your tournaments in the future.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 moostaffa

Thank you so much Ross for your kind words and support.

The prizepool will equate to €200+€20 reg for every player entered.
    All of which will be paid on the day

Thanks again

Bru

Register for this online it only costs €192.15 all inclusive...

and you gain entry for the freeroll to win your entry fee back........

is maths a part of poker ??? :confused:

Why is not clamper posting this ??:(

i sent u a pm Mustaffa

Derek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭thepokerroom

thank guys tonight x-mas freeze out ardlea inn there will be a bounty prize with a ticket in to next weeks event. the poker room ireland will add a ticket in to the prizepool. thanks again guys regards jim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭pierce hard

Im also fairly disappointed that the guarantee had to be pulled. I think, giving the time of the year the event is on, that people will only decide at the last minute to play this as noone wants to be committed to playing and then find out that some relatives re coming over, they have a party to go to etc.

I was planning to play this, but was only planning to register at the last minute/pay on the day in case something else came up.

I also feel kinda cheated by you pulling the guarantee, however i am still likely to play if im doing nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I was planning to play this, but was only planning to register at the last minute/pay on the day in case something else came up.

I also feel kinda cheated by you pulling the guarantee, however i am still likely to play if im doing nothing else.

ditto