If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leprechaun European Poker Open...New Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

I dont know if this has been covered or not. But if I play the event will my prizemoney be paid in cash on the day? Or will it be paid into my poker account? I dont really want to scoop 10k and then have to wait around for the withdrawal process to complete before I can get my greasy hands on the cash - I mean the regulars in the Fitz would be outraged at this barrier to me doing my brains in there!! :pac:

can you let me know, it might sway me towards playing or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

I'd like to know the answer to that as well, would prefer to have the cash paid out on the day. Can you confirm which will be the case please?

Also, I have a few other questions about the tournament, could you PM me a number I could get you on.

Cheers,
    Adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭The Little Guy

I dont know if this has been covered or not. But if I play the event will my prizemoney be paid in cash on the day? Or will it be paid into my poker account? I dont really want to scoop 10k and then have to wait around for the withdrawal process to complete before I can get my greasy hands on the cash - I mean the regulars in the Fitz would be outraged at this barrier to me doing my brains in there!! :pac:

HI BCB,
    Good to hear from someone oozing with so much confidence..
    Be careful we don't put a bounty on ya..:pac:

Glad you brought this up, as it was something we have thought long and hard about.

In the interest of security (both ourselves and players) we decided on the safest option, which is to pay prizemonies back to players accounts.

We However, will endevour to make sure that winners will be able to withdraw as expeditiously as is possible.

Thanks again for your input

Bru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

IS THERE ANY CHANCE THAT YOU COULD FURNISH DETAILS OF YOUR WIN RATES ETC, I AM TRYING TO CALCULATE ODDS

maybe as you are in the business, you would like to assist us in creating odds of players scooping 10k + into their greasy hands

i admire your confidence, you are clearly playing well /running hot and have correctly set your sights on the main target, i.e. top 1% of players

we hope you can make the event and that you do really well too, i wont put your name on the trophy just yet though, as luck sometimes plays a part in poker tournaments, good and bad

thanks for your input Noel, always a pleasure

Derek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭FuttBucker

The poker room tallaght are doin satellites for this tourney, are you linked with these sats and do you know what the story is with them? Or do i have to ask them to find out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

What day is yer man Mad Marty playing?

I was looking forward to this until I heard he was coming.

Is there a bounty on his head?

If there is, do we have to cut it off to win, or will shooting him be OK?

FuttBucker wrote: »
    The poker room tallaght are doin satellites for this tourney, are you linked with these sats and do you know what the story is with them? Or do i have to ask them to find out?

Yeah, Ross has kindly agreed to hold a few sats..

But you would need to discuss the finer details with him

Bru

Grafter wrote: »
    What day is yer man Mad Marty playing?

I was looking forward to this until I heard he was coming.

Is there a bounty on his head?

If there is, do we have to cut it off to win, or will shooting him be OK?

That's a shame Grafter, especially after he asked for the draw to be fixed so as he could sit next to ya..:D

Day 1b (Me thinks):eek:

Bru

Mad Marty has a bizzarre sense of humour, so bizzarre in fact that it can come accross as quite funny and lots of people like his kind of lunacy

he is called MAD Marty for a reason, that reason my be because he is in fact actually MAD

I think he is very amusing, but then i am a bit mad myself, so that could explain a lot

if you find yourself stiing next to Mr Marty, dont like his madcap fun, and dont own a set of earplugs, just ask to be moved or to have him moved

we dont mind anyone asking, even you

however, we may move you to a table with Big City Banker on it and there is only 1 move allowed per day

hope to see you go deep at this one

Derek

...however, we may move you to a table with Big City Banker on it....

Derek

I Know BCB sounds confident.

does this mean the Clamper fears a Shark attack ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

HI BCB,
    Good to hear from someone oozing with so much confidence..
    Be careful we don't put a bounty on ya..:pac:

Glad you brought this up, as it was something we have thought long and hard about.

In the interest of security (both ourselves and players) we decided on the safest option, which is to pay prizemonies back to players accounts.

We However, will endevour to make sure that winners will be able to withdraw as expeditiously as is possible.

Thanks again for your input

Bru

I have to be honest and say that because of this, I will not be playing the tournament. At all the bigger live events the prize money is available to be payed out on the day, so this shouldn't be a problem. I don't see why other tournament organisers, with much bigger prizepools, can have this option available and you can't. I don't mean to sound smart when I say this, but if you are offering free parking and courtesy coaches, then surely you can afford to have proper security in place to watch over things. In fairness these days in a large poker tournament €50,000 isn't a lot.

Paying out on the day makes everything much more transparent and I would be much more inclined to play to if it was payed on the day. Because of this lack of transparency I think a lot of people will be turned away.

Good luck with the event though. It looks good, and fair play for taking on board the suggestions by various people regarding the structure.

Adam

The only answer I can give you on this is;

We're not the first to pay out in this way, and no doubt this tournament won't be the last either:confused:

I'm sorry you feel unable to attend because of this

Good luck

Bru

• Subscribers Posts: 32,872 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'd much prefer physical payouts too, but it probably won't stop me playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

The only answer I can give you on this is;

We're not the first to pay out in this way, and no doubt this tournament won't be the last either:confused:

I'm sorry you feel unable to attend because of this

Good luck

Bru

Hi Bru,
    Why not consider the best of both worlds and keep everybody happy. Would it be possible to pay out 30% cash and the remainder into an account?
    Its handy for players who want to leave a decent tip, play cash tables and celebrate their winnings to have some of their winnings paid on the day.
    Loks like a great event,

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

connie147 wrote: »
    Hi Bru,
    Why not consider the best of both worlds and keep everybody happy. Would it be possible to pay out 30% cash and the remainder into an account?
    Its handy for players who want to leave a decent tip, play cash tables and celebrate their winnings to have some of their winnings paid on the day.
    Loks like a great event,

Connie

I think this would be a good idea, for the reasons above.

Might get some more players aswell.

Connie & JP Thanks for stealing my thunder...LOL

I was due to make this announcement next week.

The Leprechaun European Poker Open has just been granted European Ranking Status.

In Order to fulfill our obligations for this we cannot restrict all registrations to happen online.

We have authorised a few clubs around the country to organise satellites for the event, tickets for which will be valued at €200+€20.
    We will pay this cash out on the day on a percentage basis.

The clubs concerned will communicate with their members.
    Any club wishing to be added should contact me directly.

I hope this is as clear as mud to you as it is to me:)

Bru

yes, thats perfectly clear

a % can be paid on the day in cash

this % to be finalised in time

European Ranking points are very important to a lot of players and will certainly encourage them towards turning up

I think its a bit strong to suggest non transparency, but if that how not paying on the day is perceived by a player, then that is their right

Its a pity that it would stop somone from playing and if that situation should change, we will post it here

Its really great to get suggestions from people as to how we might improve the event and we have taken them on board in an effort to make it super dooper

we look forward to seeing you there, keep them suggestions coming

Derek

There's a very high probability that this will be the last European Ranking Tournament of 2008.
    http://www.pokerineurope.com/majortournaments/index.php?year=2008

So it could get interesting.

just remember guys "When she's full, she's full"

Bru

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭The Poker Room

Just a note to remind people that we are running a €27 Satellite tonight for a Ticket to the event on the 27th, 28th, 29th of December.

We are guaranteeing one ticket and one ticket for every 10 runners, if there is more than 10 player but less than 20 for example there will be cash prizes. We payout 110% of the prize pool, so great value.

So get down to The Poker Room tonight and win a ticket for this great event.

Questions Ross 086-2301229 http://www.thepokerroomtallaght.com

Just a note to remind people that we are running a €27 Satellite tonight for a Ticket to the event on the 27th, 28th, 29th of December.

We are guaranteeing one ticket and one ticket for every 10 runners, if there is more than 10 player but less than 20 for example there will be cash prizes. We payout 110% of the prize pool, so great value.

So get down to The Poker Room tonight and win a ticket for this great event.

Questions Ross 086-2301229 http://www.thepokerroomtallaght.com

Nice one Ross..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

Whats the numbers like now? last time I checked there were 4 peeps regged/.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

newbie2 wrote: »
    Whats the numbers like now? last time I checked there were 4 peeps regged/.

I just reged now and there is 9 I think so far... but this is normal enough for this early stage I guess... looks an excellent event and deserves to do well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭The Poker Room

Based on the response to the satellite tonight, I think we will have sold 30 tix before the event.

3 tickets went tonight and we had problems with texting today so i would image we will have even more runners next week.

Also i will ensure that The Poker Room supports this event 100% and will run free transport etc from tallaght.

Looking forward to it myself, based on recent performance I would think that will exit the tourny early and then have some fun playing cash.

No heads up for me this time. Hope to see you there.

( We will be supplying a couple of very attractive masseuses for this event if your stressed no worries.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Wolves

So if I was to get a ticket in a cardroom and I dont have an online account I will be able to get any winnings on the day right?

N1 WOLF
    OK, SO YOU WIN A TICKET IN A CARD ROOM

YOU DOWNLOAD THE PROGRAM
    THE CARD CLUB TELLS US THAT YOU WON A TICKET
    THE CARD CLUB GETS YOUR DETAILS, NAME EMAIL ETC
    WE EMAIL YOU, TELLING YOU HOW TO REGISTER WITH NO MONEY CHANGING HANDS
    WE SEE YOU REGISTER AN ACCOUNT ON THE SITE
    WE ATTACH A VOUCHER TO YOUR ACCOUNT
    THE VOUCHER IS WORTH AN ENTRY TO THE EVENT ONLINE
    YOU USE THE VOUCHER TO REGISTER YOURSELF

AS ALREADY DISCUSSED HERE, WE WOULD HOPE TO PAY OUT A % OF WINNINGS ON THE DAY, OBV DEPENDANT UPON SIZE OF WIN ETC

HOPW YOU WIN A SAT AND THEN GO ON TO GO DEEP IN THE EVENT

GL

DEREK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

AND NEVER APPROACH A CLAMPER FROM BEHIND . LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Mr. Wolf

Genius! :D
    DAMO72 wrote: »
    AND NEVER APPROACH A CLAMPER FROM BEHIND . LOL

yes, never evr approach a clamper from the rear
    WELL, not unless you have money in your hand

i saw a street one Saturday evening near Temple Bar with 27 cars in a line, all with nice new, shiny, glossy yellow accessories attached, catching the moonlight at just the right angle

i'm sure now that i recall it, as i looked on in awe,
    i think i was actually aroused

Hmmmmmm, makes you feel all warm inside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭PokerNit

Just registered for this now. When is the freerole happening for the first 100 that register?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Wolves

Derek - how much to get a clamp taken off anyway?

I was just figuring it might be easier (and cheaper) to just get my car clamped outside the fitz for this weekend instead of paying for the parking every couple hours.