Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Headshops unlawfully suffering under intimidation-politics

• 06-11-2008 7:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭

The coordinated raids today on the Headshops had no legal backing. All the products seized were legal. The issue here was not whether the Headhsops were dealing legal or illegal stuff. It was an act of intimidation by the politicians in Dublin and should be treated as such.
    When shops that sell stuff that is not illegal by law are attacked by the force that has to uphold the law and justice one can basically eat the lawbooks of Ireland and prepare for the worst, especially when such an act turns out to be ordered by politicians.
    The policeforce was used as the strong arm of politicians today to make a point and intimidate where politicians could not succeed by using the law. The media was also invited to this pogrom so this lashout by Dublin politicians would not go unnoticed.
    Unfortunately for the politicians two institutions will not see kindly upon such an abuse of power. Judges and the EU.
    Judges in Ireland could be influenced, but to be member of the EU it is absolutely paramount that there be a strict line between politicians and legislature/policeforce. When the law doesnot allow it politicians are not allowed to enforce their will by using the type of measure they took today.
    Apparently unlawfull intimidation by ruling politicians is not restricted to countries like Russia or Bellarus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I agree its pure intimidation for the sake of intimidation. The ****ers just can't allow anybody to be happy in this country...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I don't know what a headshop is or what you're talking about but I just felt compelled to post.

Enforcing their will? You mean like the Patriots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

I heard the owner on Joe Duffy. He was much less hysterical than the OP and was actually quite please with the publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Hammered hippie

The publicity generated is good. But the fact that politicians can just order some act of intimidation where the law doesnot help them in their efforts to make front page upstanding citizen appearance is frightening.
    It boils down to this:
    If you annoy a powerfull person in politics or they can increase their electorate then they will send the guards at you irrespective of whether you did something unlawfull or not. Bit like Russia but then with a bit more backing of the general public, since it is all about how much political votes can be generated out of such an action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

This is all a precursor to banning certain substances. Get used to it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Headshop ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Toiletroll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Ponster wrote: »
    Headshop ?
    Not a place where you can buy a bj, unfortunately ... :(

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

I hope those shops do become ilegal i mean they sell everything to grow produce & take drugs bar the actual drug itself.

That BZP stuff in those party pills is nasty stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Links please?

Caught the end of something on the local news here that mentioned a head shop in Dundalk being found with mescaline and some other substance on the premises...both substances are illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

The publicity generated is good. But the fact that politicians can just order some act of intimidation where the law doesnot help them in their efforts to make front page upstanding citizen appearance is frightening.
    It boils down to this:
    If you annoy a powerfull person in politics or they can increase their electorate then they will send the guards at you irrespective of whether you did something unlawfull or not. Bit like Russia but then with a bit more backing of the general public, since it is all about how much political votes can be generated out of such an action.

It wont be in a few months when after copping on what is being sold the government start to ban stuff like Salvia.

Tbh headshops should be keeping as low a profile as possible. Agree that its pure intimidating behaviour but my point is its down to ignorance, they dont know what this stuff is and once they realise they wont be long about doing something about it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

So 'headshop' is some sort of Dublin slang for a place that sells drugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Legal drug paraphernalia, like pipes, grinders, and bongs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

BTW OP...these search warrants...what was the reason and/or substance stated on the warrants that were executed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

It's pretty international as slang goes.

I've heard it in the UK, USA and the 'dam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Dental plan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Yer man the owner who was on liveline today hinted he heard rumours about Joe Duffy and drugs.
    Closest Joe Duffy has ever come to losing the rag.

Jooooooooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Duuffffffffffffffffffffyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!

The stuff targeted were cacti and seeds of decorative flowering plants.
    The cacti contain mescaline, but are sold as biological samples, not for consumption.
    The seeds were of fairly unknown flowering plants and contain LSA. Again these seeds are also not sold for consumption
    LOADS of these seeds can be found in loads of flower shops and DIY shops. They sell the same seeds with LSA in them. They didnot get raided.
    The raid was a nationwide coordinated attack. I can think of other countries in the past where certain shops were raided nationwide with consent or even stimulation of goverment ..it all reeks of intimidation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

The cacti contain mescaline, but are sold as biological samples, not for consumption.
    The seeds were of fairly unknown flowering plants and contain LSA. Again these seeds are also not sold for consumption
    LOADS of these seeds can be found in loads of flower shops and DIY shops. They sell the same seeds with LSA in them. They didnot get raided.
    The raid was a nationwide coordinated attack. I can think of other countries in the past where certain shops were raided nationwide with consent or even stimulation of goverment ..it all reeks of intimidation.

Is there much mescaline in them there cacti?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

This is hardly surprising. The politicians appear to be "morally outraged" and attack the head shops as they are seen an easy target with little recourse to fighting back. It's cynical and sad. The sex shops also get this treatment when "illegal" porn videos are seized. WTF decade are we in anyway - the 1950s or the 2000s?

Not all that many years ago, the same Garda raids were happening on gay bars due to widespread homophobia and anti-gay laws.:mad:

When it comes to recreational drugs, the law needs a massive overhaul as the so-called "war on drugs" has failed utterly. When will this country grow up and cop on? If anything, things are going backwards, personal liberties are being stripped off us - every month a new law is brought in to nanny us even further. When will people collectively shout "stop!!" ?

Finally, I think it's a ploy by Harney and Co to take attention off the collapsing economy and the mess the FF government has got this country into, including the health cutbacks. A cynical ploy at diverting the public's attention. The Head shop owners/managers should collectively take this to EU level and make a formal complaint.

Remember, Ireland has a lot to thank Europe for - it has dragged much of our social and environmental legislation, kicking and screaming, into the 21st century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Wait, so there's seeds with illegal substances in them, but it should be ok because since they were not sold as consumable nobody would ever think to consume them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Would be better if all those complaining about this instead got together and formed their own political party. We need a proper youth movement in government, at the very least to balance out the stuffy backward old muppets that are there now.

Pisses me off they ban recreational drugs and drugs like Hash etc., are still illegal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

do the garden shops need licences for these seeds, thats what the news said was the issue?

humanji wrote: »
    Wait, so there's seeds with illegal substances in them, but it should be ok because since they were not sold as consumable nobody would ever think to consume them?

Exactly. The label on the bag say they are NOT for human consumption, so obviously the head shop can't be held responsible if people decide to ingest them ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

No the substances in them are legal as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Not sure i'd want head off Harney, better to close them.

Sherifu wrote: »
    Not sure i'd want head off Harney, better to close them.

It could be interesting, I'd say she's a real gobbler

DarkJager wrote: »
    It could be interesting, I'd say she's a real gobbler

And you know she'd swallow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

You can sell industrial glue to people to stick things together. It is illegal to sell it to people to sniff it.

It's illegal to sell fertiliser to make a bomb but not to fertilise a field.

It's illegal to sell dodgy seeds to allow people get wasted. It's not if they are sold for other purposes.

Sean_K wrote: »
    No the substances in them are legal as well.

But didn't he say mescaline was in it, and isn't that illegal?
    You can sell industrial glue to people to stick things together. It is illegal to sell it to people to sniff it.

It's illegal to sell fertiliser to make a bomb but not to fertilise a field.

It's illegal to sell dodgy seeds to allow people get wasted. It's not if they are sold for other purposes.

Well no, a correct analogy would be it being legal to sell heroin as long as the packet it came in said it was not to be consumed. That's what I got from his post.

But didn't he say mescaline was in it, and isn't that illegal?

I was referring to the seeds which as far as I know, only contain legal chemicals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

oh **** where will i buy a new head now??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Nehaxak wrote: »
    Would be better if all those complaining about this instead got together and formed their own political party. We need a proper youth movement in government, at the very least to balance out the stuffy backward old muppets that are there now.

Pisses me off they ban recreational drugs and drugs like Hash etc., are still illegal.

You know, it's not just old people who aren't in favour of recreational drugs being legalised.

Sean_K wrote: »
    I was referring to the seeds which as far as I know, only contain legal chemicals
    Sorry, I was talking about Hammered Hippies post. He said:
    So, they contained an illegal substance. Now, maybe I'm just getting overly suspicious in my old age, but I do wonder about a shop that sells drug paraphernalia that just unfortunately happened to stock flowers that contained an illegal drug. It does seem like an unusual coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

head shops are such an easy target

they are very blatent in their retailing of legal paraphernalia to illegal drugs

frankly I reckon they are stupid to market themselves so, and it was clearly only a matter of time before they were used as a political tool

there's a tobacco shop in my nearest city which has been operating for over 50 years they sell a few grinders and boxes, tins and skins but very low key ie no massive jungle doobie style reefers hanging out of some blonde's gob in the window of the shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Dental plan?
    Lisa needs braces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

The coordinated raids today on the Headshops had no legal backing. All the products seized were legal. The issue here was not whether the Headhsops were dealing legal or illegal stuff. It was an act of intimidation by the politicians in Dublin and should be treated as such.
    When shops that sell stuff that is not illegal by law are attacked by the force that has to uphold the law and justice one can basically eat the lawbooks of Ireland and prepare for the worst, especially when such an act turns out to be ordered by politicians.
    The policeforce was used as the strong arm of politicians today to make a point and intimidate where politicians could not succeed by using the law. The media was also invited to this pogrom so this lashout by Dublin politicians would not go unnoticed.
    Unfortunately for the politicians two institutions will not see kindly upon such an abuse of power. Judges and the EU.
    Judges in Ireland could be influenced, but to be member of the EU it is absolutely paramount that there be a strict line between politicians and legislature/policeforce. When the law doesnot allow it politicians are not allowed to enforce their will by using the type of measure they took today.
    Apparently unlawfull intimidation by ruling politicians is not restricted to countries like Russia or Bellarus.

Actually it was not a Dublin politician who was shouting for this it was a gap toothed bogger from Galway. Fidelama Healy Eames,

All the shouting started when the head shops started opening in provincial towns and the problem of youth using mind altering drugs (exp alcohol) became visible one to bog politicians.

The point here is not what combination of stuff induces suspicion.
    Yeah..selling certain seeds in combi with bongs might seem suspicious...but the point is..if the products are legal the guards have no right harassing the sellers. Not even if the almighty of our time wish them to do so!!!

One can buy stuff to build a bong in a DIY shop aswell as what one needs to grow suspicious plants....even seeds with LSA in them are available in those shops. But that is also legal.
    If a politician can cause a shop that acts legal to be raided..it can also go further than that.
    If politicians of all people take it easy with the law...then what is next?

It is simply not OK to reason that if at this moment a part of the voters want something outlawed.that is even legal according to the law....that intimidation is suddenly part of the political trade. What fecking good is a lawbook if people in power can induce exceptions at will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

If you don't know what a Headshop is don't parade your ignorance and assume it is a Dublin slang term for a store that sells illegal drugs.

We have Headshops in Australia and they are allowed to operate without police intimidation or raids. In fact if you go to any of these New Age, Mind, Body Spirit expos you will most likely see one or two of them doing brisk trade with people who wish to experience altered states of awareness without the illegality factor.

Nothing threatening about that.

@Traumadoc
    I believe she is a Senator..which puts her in Dublin aswell

One thing is that the guards are probably not that unhappy with the headshops.
    The dealers of illegal stuff have lost a lot of merchandise
    Stuff they sold was quite dodgy at times
    Most customers in Headshops value and respect the fact that the stuff there is legal.
    But for a meazly handfull of extra voters politicians don't mind sending those people back into the hands of illegal trade. Basically in the long run these politicians will and should be held responsible for a increase in drugdeads if they ever manage to close down/outlaw headshop.
    Shame on them
    BUT...WHOEHAHAHAHIHAHIHAAA....WHO EVER BELIEVED POLITICIANS EVER ACT FOR THE GOOD OF THE PUBLIC....THEY ONLY CRAVE MORE VOTERS AND MORE POWER.

So bring out your pitchforks and flames....a politician is in need of attention and votes!!!!

Also the minister of health has announced to crack down on some aspects of Headshops...as I remember well.
    She reallly really can do with a diversion since she is in some kind of trouble nearly everywhere.

Mary Harney should consider these in her local Head shop. :pac::pac::pac:

http://www.slimming.co.uk/diets/products/herbal/herbal-slimming-pills.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Didn't the government prohibit a whole raft of perfectly legal and safe herbs such as St Johns Wort (to treat depression) some time ago?

Next step is Codex Alimentarius.

Open your eyes people...

Yeah...The Irish healthboard is the slave of the big pharmaceuticals
    Everything that works benificial to anyone will be banned...unless we can pay for it.

However, Illegal stuff like mushroom pills can be bought at the Pharmacy as a pick me up
    ,without prescription.

Even if the same stuff cannot be sold in a Headshop in its non consumer form

Soon plant life will be banned from Ireland to prevent people plucking the stuff themselves.

But not lead in the galway water.......that is allowed.

Unfortunately politcians in Ireland are absolute slaves of big money.
    Worse than on mainland Europe...way worse.
    A nice diner here..a factory there..et voila...legislation is adapted to ban a range of certain products.
    Politics here in Ireland is a joke performed by a bunch of clowns compared to a real democracy!

Hear Hear Hear.....I shout the loudest of the land..

Hihihiahahahaaaa (sorry..but that is so very silly...shouting in cabinet..what do they think??...what are they thinking?..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

I hope those shops do become ilegal i mean they sell everything to grow produce & take drugs bar the actual drug itself.

so do garden centers and any shop that sells bottles / skins / rolling tobacco

the seeds arent illegal neither are the plants they grow

Yeah...The Irish healthboard is the slave of the big pharmaceuticals
    Everything that works beneficial to anyone will be banned...unless we can pay for it.

Illegal **** like mushroom pills can be bought at the Pharmacy as a pick me up.

Soon plant life will be banned from Ireland to prevent people plucking the stuff themselves.

But not lead in the galway water.......that is allowed.

Unfortunately politcians in Ireland are absolute slaves of big money.
    Worse than on mainland Europe...way worse.
    A nice diner here..a factory there..et voila...legislation is adapted to ban a range of certain products.
    Some hallucinogenic frog will soon be discovered in the Burren and will also be banned.

Only in America :rolleyes: http://www.kmbc.com/news/14587550/detail.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

dSTAR wrote: »
    If you don't know what a Headshop is don't parade your ignorance and assume it is a Dublin slang term for a store that sells illegal drugs.

We have Headshops in Australia and they are allowed to operate without police intimidation or raids. In fact if you go to any of these New Age, Mind, Body Spirit expos you will most likely see one or two of them doing brisk trade with people who wish to experience altered states of awareness without the illegality factor.

Nothing threatening about that.

Theres nothign threatening about rich people taking heroin or cocaine in the privacy of their own homes. Unfortunately it's not only people who can afford to do so quietly and fund it themsleves that take them.

Stekelly wrote: »
    Theres nothign threatening about rich people taking heroin or cocaine in the privacy of their own homes. Unfortunately it's not only people who can afford to do so quietly and fund it themsleves that take them.

that wasnt his point

head shops have nothing to do with cocaine or heroin to think so is complete ignorance

they mainly sell paraphenalia for smoking marijuana and also sell legal equivalants of marijuana usualy

i think some used to sell mushrooms when it was legal to do so(was it legal to do it in ireland or was that just britain?) and so they will probably have legal hallucinagens too

nothing above is addictive ad therefore anytalk about heroin and cocaine or any other drug like that is completely irrelevant and off topic