Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda ANPR

• 16-10-2008 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭

Saturday, December 31, ''2005'':eek:

Garda Traffic Surveillance - Privacy Implications for Motorists?

The Irish Times reports that the police are proposing to bring Automatic Number Plate Recognition (ANPR) to Ireland:
    The computer will be installed in Garda Traffic Corps vehicles and is due to be introduced in the coming months, The Irish Times has learned.

The computer and camera system will allow for the instant reading and analysis of registration plates of all traffic passing a Garda car. The system will be linked to the Garda's Pulse computer database.

It means any vehicles which are not taxed or insured or which have been reported stolen will trigger a warning notice on an in-car computer screen.

A warning will also be triggered for cars which have not passed the National Car Test (NCT) or which have any other outstanding infringement.

This will allow gardaí to give chase and issue a fine to the motorist. It will also allow gardaí to instantly identify repeat offenders who have ignored previous fines and other sanctions and to put them off the road.

Currently, if gardaí want to check on a vehicle they must call their local station via in-car radio and ask a colleague to manually check the registration on the Pulse system. This is time-consuming and means only a small number of checks can be carried out.

Under the new system, 50 Garda Traffic Corps vehicles will be fitted with two small in-car cameras. One camera will face to the front of the vehicle and the other to the rear.

The two cameras will allow for instant analysis of registration plates of all vehicles passing in both directions, whether a Garda vehicle is moving or parked by the roadside.
    This scheme raises many questions. Will the Gardaí have access to the name and address of every motorist passing by? (In the US, where systems like this have been in place for some time, it's common for police to look up the details of an attractive woman in a passing car - known as "running a plate for a date".)

Given that the vast majority of motorists scanned will be entirely innocent, what happens to their data? Will it be retained? If so, for how long? What privacy safeguards have been built into the system? Has legal advice been taken on the data protection issues of ANPR? Will this be a precursor to a much wider system?

ANPR has already been controversial in other countries - notably England - so there is no excuse if it turns out that the Gardai and/or the Department of Justice have failed to consider these issues.
    Eh?
    I doubt this has happened, doesn't it need tetra to work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Your links don't seem to be working - they redirect to Yahoo 404 page.

As for privacy issues? I reckon the system is a good step forward and is badly needed. It might take some more of the nastys off the streets. Assuming information is only used (yah, assumptions and then policys change etc I know .. but you've gotta go with it) for the purpose intended then I see no harm and would be happy for it to be introduced.

The system behind it would have to be rock solid though. I'd be very pissed off if I got pulled every second day by the Garda because my reg is being flagged by mistake because the backend is faulty or not updated etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

donvito99 wrote: »
    Given that the vast majority of motorists scanned will be entirely innocent, what happens to their data? Will it be retained? If so, for how long? What privacy safeguards have been built into the system? Has legal advice been taken on the data protection issues of ANPR? Will this be a precursor to a much wider system?
    Relaaax...relaaAAAaaxxxxx.
    It's not as if this info would be made available to, say, a toll company.

Funny how ANPR can be issued with no big hooha to National Troll Roads, or whatever they're called.

Gaaawd forbid the Gardai got their hands on this technology. Sure, we'd go shtone daft, altogether.

A peann luaidh and a stout pair of boots was all a good guard needed back in my day...and they were taller too. ANPR indeed. Spoilt - that's what they are PURE SPOILT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Run to Da Hills is an authority on ANPR. Should I PM him a link to this thread? :eek:

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

ANPR is an evil technology. next private clampers will be getting access to the database as well. don't worry the 'nasties' will just start using fake plates, fake e-tags and fake transponders. so it will only affect people won can't be arsed with the NCT

at least they are not putting cameras every few 100m on the roads so they can track where everyone is going like they do in england. biffo needs to know where these evil terrorists and fuel smugglers are at all times. that will be next. just ask run to the hills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Mylow

Saturday, December 31, ''2005'':eek:

Garda Traffic Surveillance - Privacy Implications for Motorists?

A warning will also be triggered for cars which have not passed the National Car Test (NCT) or which have any other outstanding infringement.

NCT infringements.....that will be well spent money.

I would like to see them used in same manner as UK, co-ordinated operation with checkpoint past the ANPR and people with no insurance, tax, and MOT get pulled. If they use it purely for NCT then they might as well stick it where the sun don't shine. DVLA (The UK vehicle registration and licensing authority) also run ANPR. If you drive by them and have no tax you will get automatice ticket, none of this bull of chasing people.

I wonder will Garda Traffic Corp want more money for operating the ANPR. Was that not part of the hold-up on automating the points system. More pay to do their job.

The original article is from Dec 2005!!!!!!

Mylow wrote: »
    I wonder will Garda Traffic core want more money for operating the ANPR. Was that not part of the hold-up on automating the points system. More pay to do their job.
    Yeah, that'd be it.

(It's spelled corps)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

^ Pronounced 'corpse' by those not in it? :)

Not your ornery onager

esel wrote: »
    ^ Pronounced 'corpse' by those not in it? :)
    Exactly. Orwellian doublespaek in action to weed out the imposters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Excuse me, but dont Gardai already have access to this information???? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Yes we do and have had it for years.

Heres a quote that Run for Da Hills would wet his pants over "We have had this information for years and new people are being added to that database everyday".

:mad: Well, that's just brilliant Karl and Nog.
    I had joe public thinking I had all the reg numbers off by heart.

deadwood wrote: »
    :mad: Well, that's just brilliant Karl and Nog.
    I had joe public thinking I had all the reg numbers off by heart.

That's old school policing!!!!! My dad knew everyones reg in the village off by heart back in the 1980's so when I was about 7yrs old I went up to the pub carparks with a pen and copy (Irish copy didnt get much use) and took down everyones reg. ;)

TheNog wrote: »
    That's old school policing!!!!! My dad knew everyones reg in the village off by heart back in the 1980's so when I was about 7yrs old I went up to the pub carparks with a pen and copy (Irish copy didnt get much use) and took down everyones reg. ;)
    Auxiliary Nog Police Record

deadwood wrote: »
    Auxiliary Nog Police Record

LMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭bryanmurr

Mylow wrote: »
    NCT infringements.....that will be well spent money.

I would like to see them used in same manner as UK, co-ordinated operation with checkpoint past the ANPR and people with no insurance, tax, and MOT get pulled.

If they use it purely for NCT then they might as well stick it where the sun don't shine.

you do realise that MOT and NCT are the same thing?

It never said it was just for NCT, it said also for NCT offences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

I've seen this technology working in the UK and it's about time it was brought into Ireland, I see no privacy issue with it, my details are already available to any Garda once I register a car to myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I see it has arrived !

The undercover cars are certainly not undercover anymore, cameras all over the car.

Nice screen in the dash too, seen a car get pulled on the way home. Take it the Garda were using the ANPR.

Great stuff, lets just keep it too the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

yep didnt want to say but was wondering how long it would be before someone posted it here.

Good piece of kit but at the moment still in its infancy with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

What type o' vehicles, unmarked mondeos, vectras?

Excellent news anyway, gardai have finally woken up and smelt the coffee!

yayamark wrote: »
    yep didnt want to say but was wondering how long it would be before someone posted it here.

Good piece of kit but at the moment still in its infancy with us.

One question, Is the camera only mounted on the back of the car or is there another one mounted up the front too?
    What type o' vehicles, unmarked mondeos, vectras?

Excellent news anyway, gardai have finally woken up and smelt the coffee!

Unmarked. Have not seen to many unmarked cars, but they had it down in Carlow & Two unmarked cars in Dublin. So I think it has been rolled out, might be wrong :confused:

Keep the info comin' guys!

was using it the last few days, works well in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

The two minute recording loop is a great feature, as soon as you hit record you automatically have the previous two minutes.

CLADA wrote: »
    The two minute recording loop is a great feature, as soon as you hit record you automatically have the previous two minutes.

Everyone been trained up on the use of the stuff? Or is it really user friendly ?

Looks dead interesting, wouldn't mind a good look at it, into my tech stuff..

bryanmurr wrote: »
    was using it the last few days, works well in fairness

Is it traffic?

yeh just traffic, it fairly user friendly, just takes a bit to get used to it. bein able to take still pics is good for accidents too

CLADA wrote: »

Clada ye have any probs with it draining the car battery yet?

bryanmurr wrote: »
    Clada ye have any probs with it draining the car battery yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Any pics of the comptuer/touch screen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

We arent "officially" trained up yet just playing around with it at the moment.

During the day it works brilliant but at night its not as good.

cameras back and front always looking for a reg to read can ping off 6 0r 8 regs off straight away.

Does any one have any idea of how much it costs?

yayamark wrote: »
    We arent "officially" trained up yet just playing around with it at the moment.

During the day it works brilliant but at night its not as good.

cameras back and front always looking for a reg to read can ping off 6 0r 8 regs off straight away.

That sounds really cool. Are they confined to Traffic at the moment or will it be used by district case. Also whats the problem with using it at night? Have you come across problems with illegal reg plates?

In-car-ANPRLARGE.jpg

This is a Metropolitan Police ANPR sys.

image_talon_sp.jpg

The screen itself, probably newer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s-4tRWMuLhM

This guy can explain. Pretty interesting, also explains blues and twos etc. Most of its already been discussed.

German court rules against Garda scanners

DAVID LABANYI
    GERMANY'S FEDERAL Constitutional Court has ruled that laws used by police to automatically scan car number plates to search for stolen vehicles violate privacy rights.
    In a statement yesterday, the court says that the current rules lack "a clear definition as to when data may be collected and of the scope of data use".
    The news comes as An Garda confirmed that it will shortly place a tender for 100 automatic number plate recognition (ANPR) systems to detect stolen, untaxed and uninsured cars. The ANPR systems can also be used for speed enforcement and will complement the eight new mobile speed detection "Gatso" vans which have been ordered by the Garda and also the privatised speed camera which was recently approved by the Cabinet.
    Gardaí expect each division will be given three mobile ANPR units with a number of additional units reserved for enforcement in high activity areas.
    The ANPR system uses two small in-car infrared cameras to scan the number plates of passing cars. It cross-checks these numbers against a file of stolen, missing, uninsured and untaxed vehicles, as well as those associated with persistent offending, which is downloaded daily from the Garda's Pulse database. If a number plate from this file is identified, the system alerts gardaí, who can then intercept the vehicle.
    ANPR units can monitor number plates on vehicles travelling in both directions and British registration plates.
    The Garda have declined to comment on the cost of the ANPR project although The Irish Times understands that individual ANPR units cost between €40,000 to €70,000.
    © 2008 The Irish Times
    This article appears in the print edition of the Irish

This is from March 08. Unit price could be anywhere between 40000 and 70000, so they are pretty damn dear. Nice to know that (touch wood) there will probably be 100 ANPR units on Irish roads, along with 8 GATSO vans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

That German ruling wont effect Ireland. We are entitled to stop cars purely to detect and prevent crime without any suspicion and collect any data available in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Gotta love ireland!

Got to see the ANPR very, very briefly the other night. Looks like a great system but was told at night it doesn't work too well but sure maybe that will be ironed out soon enough.

A skipper told me it is a brilliant set up. He pinged a van with no tax and it turned out the lad had no insurance and was disqualified from driving. Great catch. One other porblem he mentioned was if they get a ping in heavy traffic it is difficult to know which vehicle it was cos it will have just passed them by. This will probably be sorted out once the lads get to know the system better and used to it. They only have it a week now. These are the traffic lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Is it just on pilot with a few units or what?

No sign of it yet with us. :(

House wrote: »

No I have heard it has been spotted in Dublin, Cork and Meath. It is in the Policing plan that it is being rolled out Nationally. I do remember reading somewhere that the target is 3 units per division but I could be wrong there. I would hope that at least one district patrol car would have one as well as Traffic Corp.

Cars with the ANPR are easy to spot with a short aerial (about a foot long and at the rear of the roof of the car I saw), camera mounted above the rear window and it was on a marked Traffic car that I saw. Front facing camera was fitted in behind the rear view mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Sounds like a really decent bit of kit for a change.

Costs are estimated at 40-65k per vehicle.

yeesh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 smokeybear1980

The ANPR system has been rolled out to Traffic Units over the country. Wateford/KIlkenny Traffic Corps have their units for approx 1 month. ANPR cars can be identified very easily by the small black box positioned on the boot lid of the car. They are a very effective unit and yes they can be used during the hours of darkness. It's a very impressive piece of technology.

On the few ANPR equiped cars that I have seen I have not seen an extra ariel on the car

There is no plans for district patrol cars to get these units at the moment as they are expensive and training is required by all operators.

TheNog wrote: »
    Got to see the ANPR very, very briefly the other night. Looks like a great system but was told at night it doesn't work too well but sure maybe that will be ironed out soon enough.

A skipper told me it is a brilliant set up. He pinged a van with no tax and it turned out the lad had no insurance and was disqualified from driving. Great catch. One other problem he mentioned was if they get a ping in heavy traffic it is difficult to know which vehicle it was cos it will have just passed them by. This will probably be sorted out once the lads get to know the system better and used to it. They only have it a week now. These are the traffic lads.

Doesnt the system take a picture of the offending vehicle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It's in Carlow as well on an unmarked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

image_talon_sp.jpg

The screen itself, probably newer.

Not much point blurring the plate in the photo but still showing the plate P20PAJ highlighted on screen in blue. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 smokeybear1980

Yeas it does take a picture of the offending vehicle and this can be made bigger by pressing a function key,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

House wrote: »

nope it's not a pilot AFAIK there'll be about 200 cars fitted with the ANPR in total.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 braypaul

seen a few around the phonics park . one or two were marked cars but most on unmarked i would have thought it would only be put into new car's like 08's and 09's but most i have seen are older cars i didn't notice the little aeral on the back the the camera was at the base of the rear window . wouldn't mind have a look at it in action . also seen my first 09 garda car today the new volvo's look really nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

ANPR is working well, we have two cars since well before xmas. Not great at night, bad glare off the screen so its unsafe to use sometimes.
    Costs €10,000 per vehicle. Its GPS linked and will have live PULSE in about 2 years in the vehicles. very few car fitted at the moment and it will only be allocated Traffic vehicle for the foreseable future.
    Its PULSE linked for info at the moment so only %50 of hits are good ones and it has to be manualy updated everyday. ANPR is also calibrated for speed and can record video, both front and back at same time. Also takes still photos. Good piece of kit.

O ya the box on the booth is an infra red light for the rear camera, which is night vision.....or so they tell us.