Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards vs 'Scumbags'

• 01-10-2008 3:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭

Alot of threads seems to have some sort of shot at people who wear tracksuits, the latest knock-off nike's and a peaked cap... Its pretty harsh the amount of stereotyping that goes on these boards.

My question is, where does it all come from? Is it bad experiances? Someone shouting at you, just storys you've heard or is it as small minded as the clothes they wear?

Myself throughout my youth I hung around with alot of the people most on boards would lable as scumbags. I had my torn baggy jeans, chains hangin out of me and quite a few questionable mohawks and have NEVER had any problems that would warrent the level of ignorance people show towards folks with a dublin accent and casual clothing.

Now don't get me wrong I've had some run ins in my time but nothing that deserves the utter disrespect that is sometimes shown here...

So lads cough it up... Whats your beef with our supposedly violent 'scumbag' overloards that do yore ma every night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I've nothing against tracksuits, Nike runners, Hoodys, or fast cars.

I think its the exaggerated act the scangers put on and the trouble they cause, i have been stereotyped a 'scanger' for wearing tracksuits bottoms? They are comfortable to wear...Then i get stereotyped a 'rocker' for wearing jeans? What the hell am i then? :confused:

I think the only way of getting out of it, is to wear casual clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Strangest thing though, those people who generalise and call vast swathes of Dublin people scumbags, skobies, skangers and so on are usually either...

1) Goths who probably get beaten up all the time (and deservedly so)
    2) Culchies
    3) Cops
    4) "Fags"
    5) South Dublin "Fags"

Top five anyway, apololgies to anyone I've offended with that but sure...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I've said it before but being a scumbag has **** all to do with how you dress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

He's a scumbag, GET HIM!!!

*grabs pitchfork*

Grabs handgun from under kids buggie and points it at guy with pitchfork...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Nehaxak wrote: »

And who is it that carries out these beatings 99% percent of the time ? You guessed it ! Your very own Dublin Scumbags ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Strangest thing though, those people who generalise and call vast swathes of Dublin people scumbags, skobies, skangers and so on are usually either...

2) Culchies
    3) Cops
    4) "Fags"
    5) South Dublin "Fags"

From what I can see on these here boards it's the Dubs who throw around the scumbag label more so than anywhere else. I don't agree that scumbags are tearing this country apart at all. I think people just read far to many tabloids for their own good.

Lucky I have this kevlar vest on underneath my nike shell tracksuit top

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

2) Culchies
    3) Cops
    4) "Fags"
    5) South Dublin "Fags"

op, this post above answers your question pretty well imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

come on now, be honest, you don't know what you're talking about do you?! i mean seriously man, no scumbag in this country would even dream of lowering themselves by wearing knock off nikes! real air max all the way for them baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    I think the only way of getting out of it, is to wear casual clothes.

F*cking Yuppie :D.

I get caught up in the whole stereotyping thing mainly because I wear a hoodie and during the winter I actually put the hood up....its for nothing more than to stop my ears getting cold.

One of the last times it happened I was waiting for my OH at the bus stop it was pissing rain and I had my hood up. 2garda were walking by and gave me a good staredown before saying something that I didn't hear because I was listening to my i-pod.

Last time was a Security Guard who told me I was intimidating people. I refused to take it down and told him he was intimidating me and I have no intention of intimidating anyone. Eventually he p*ssed off.

There needs to be some for of Hoodie wearers appreciation group...we are people after all.

hopalong85 wrote: »
    come on now, be honest, you don't know what you're talking about do you?! i mean seriously man, no scumbag in this country would even dream of lowering themselves by wearing knock off nikes! real air max all the way for them baby!
    Not the air max classics either but those ones with the springs in the heel. It must help them leap over walls when they are getting away from another robbery.......or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I often wondered do scumbags know they're scumbags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

I'm sorry, but if you wear tracksuits casually and are not doing some kind of sport, then you have nothing to say worth listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

ScumLord wrote: »
    From what I can see on these here boards it's the Dubs who throw around the scumbag label more so than anywhere else. I don't agree that scumbags are tearing this country apart at all. I think people just read far to many tabloids for their own good.

Well it must be great where you live and don't have to put up with verbal and physical abuse on an almost daily basis from f*ckwits with nothing better to do with their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

Schism wrote: »

that is a very good question. i don't think they do to be honest.

Well I suppose then that some of us Dublin people have a different meaning as to who or what a scumbag is...

Listed in probable order according to me...

1) Cops (sorry not all, some are really nice but alas such if life as from what I see myself - it shouldn't be this way but it is).
    2) Junkies (sad but, they are mostly to blame for their own downfall)
    3) Heroin dealers (should be number 1 really)
    4) Corrupt politicians (many of them around these days it seems)
    5) Parents who disregard or don't control their children/teenagers
    6) Clampers
    7) Racists

Hmmm, think that's about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

That's only here though, in other conuntries scumbags dress much smarter and it is tougher to identify them among the crowd.....and evenly so, nice people goes around in tracksuit with no problems.

So there is an advantage to it here, let knackers wear tracksuits and make it easier for us to identify and avoid them. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

chamlis wrote: »
    I'm sorry, but if you wear tracksuits casually and are not doing some kind of sport, then you have nothing to say worth listening to.

Does trying to take a coppers head off with a baseball bat count as a sport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Well I suppose then that some of us Dublin people have a different meaning as to who or what a scumbag is...

1) Cops (sorry not all, some are really nice but alas such if life as from what I see myself - it shouldn't be this way but it is).
    6) Clampers
    7) Racists

Where do people from Ballymun come in this list....while we are generalising?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

Good question! I believe it is probably the same as asking "Do stupid people know they are stupid?" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

m@cc@ wrote: »

...in some countries maybe... ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

6) Clampers
    7) Racists

you left out the little w***ers who just do nasty s**t because they can. like the little Fcukers who keyed my girl friends brand new car out side of my house the other night. if i had have caught them i would have held there head under water until the bubbles stopped.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Only if he's wearing his cap, I believe,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,890 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

lol

One mate of mine likes to have a go at me cas I had a pair of white nikes, and on the odd occasion wear soccer jerseys and I have two hoddies I rarely wear. Also that I have a strong Carlow accent

Its funny, he gets it in return with him constantly wearing shirts everyday and the black shoes with a shiney buckel (Leprachain shoes!!) , oh not to mention his 20 euro umbrella!

Its all tongue and cheek but in fairness alot of these "scumbags" or "scoabs" do wear the tracksuit down to the top of their ankles, hoodies with that writing all over it, white pumps (usually ones with a velcro strap), Torres hairstyle, stripey jumpers and tacky gold chains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Well it must be great where you live and don't have to put up with verbal and physical abuse on an almost daily basis from f*ckwits with nothing better to do with their time.
    Well, I suppose, now that you mention it. It is. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I constantly remind my brother hes one! :D But i don't think it sinks into his head. I think its weird when a scanger says "No hes a sham"? Is there different breeds of them or something?

There's spikey heads and pretty boys, They actually dress and act different...fascinating...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭taibhse

TripleAce wrote: »
    That's only here though, in other conuntries scumbags dress much smarter and it is tougher to identify them among the crowd.....and evenly so, nice people goes around in tracksuit with no problems.

I think theres actually an international scumbag brigade - you have chavs in England. I also saw plenty in France. And a girl I know went on the trans siberian railway as part of a photography course.

When she came back she had pictures of kids with that shaved head with a fringe look that was all the rage with mid ninties scangers.

This was siberia!!!!!!!!!:eek::P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

You see ,its like this. and this folks really is rocket science.

Listen up here.

90% of the shyte,trouble, aggression in this town is caused by scumbags who are dressed as described in previous posts.

How do I know? I walk around town and keep my eyes open.

So (cue drum roll)

If you dress up same as them,it's reasonably likely you will be considered a scumbag too.

See, told you it was rocket science

Where do people from Ballymun come in this list....while we are generalising?

From the scumbags that are here, 2, 3 5 and 7 in that list, though there are less of 3 these days, but that is everywhere, not just here and not jsut in Dublin either.
    Mostly they sell coke to yuppies who drive by the blocks in the evenings or at weekends.
    At one stage I had to wonder myself at the amount of stretch limo's that were driving by and stopping at certain blocks, like really, can there be that many debs going on throughout the whole year. How naive even I was feeling after thinking that then finding out the truth of what was actually going on :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

monkeyfudge
    Quote:

So in the past week can you give me examples of the verbal/physical abuse your talking about? I find it hard to believe... Sorry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Zangetsu wrote: »
    Alot of threads seems to have some sort of shot at people who wear tracksuits, the latest knock-off nike's and a peaked cap... Its pretty harsh the amount of stereotyping that goes on these boards.

Tbh the only stereotyping I see regularly on boards is that of attributing completely overhyped, tabloid definitions to other posters use of the word scumbag.

I think most people here don't have the image of the person you described when calling some fuker who stomps on a blokes head a scumbag. It's the stomping, not the dress sense that catagorises him.

A scumbag is only a scumbag as a consequence of his actions.

Indie18 wrote: »
    you left out the little w***ers who just do nasty s**t because they can. like the little Fcukers who keyed my girl friends brand new car out side of my house the other night. if i had have caught them i would have held there head under water until the bubbles stopped.

That's true, but could probably better fit under number 5 in the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 mojawoja

I don't think I had a full appreciation for what the word "skanger" meant until I lived in Inchicore for a few months:

Car windows smashed - Jan
    Death threat - March-ish
    Car broken into and written off - June
    Car set ablaze and almost pushed into river - June
    Riot, (yes a f-ing riot) - June
    Attempted mugging resulting in multiple injuries including facial scars - July
    On-going pleasent conversations with "the natives"
    Did however find a new appreciation for the Gardai, good people.

Don't judge people by their race, sex, orientation etc.
    Judge them by the content of their character - luckily many people of poor character have already been marked as skangers. So it's not ignorant to dislike skangers, it's merely following the advice of Martin Luther King and the likes.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

the drawling accent, use of small words and over use of "bleedin" gives them away.

That, and the can of druids/dutch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Bleedin is a great word that accurately describes a whole range of emotions...

A warm can of dutch is the beer of kings.

Shame on you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

You see ,its like this. and this folks really is rocket science.

Listen up here.

90% of the shyte,trouble, aggression in this town is caused by scumbags who are dressed as described in previous posts.

How do I know? I walk around town and keep my eyes open.

So (cue drum roll)

If you dress up same as them,it's reasonably likely you will be considered a scumbag too.

See, told you it was rocket science

He speaks the truth. If you wear the uniform of a scumbag, expect people to think you're a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

In my own personal experience; I'm originally half clare/half dub, lived in Drogheda for a bit, then lusk, then Bahrain for 5 years, then Lusk again, then Clontarf for 4 years, back to Lusk for 2 and now Monkstown, as much as I dislike the label, I'm fairly middle class - have down the years hung out with people from as many different parts of society as you would like, "scum"; and rich cnuts. Went to college in Cabaiste DoNothing in Coolock for a bit. And I fit the 14 stone (a bit chubby eh?)martial arts enjoying rocker & biker stereotype (if there is one). I hate stereotypes and racism, deep down.

I do my best to be objective with stuff like this, but the simle fact of the matter is that there are a large amount of what we like to term "scum" walking around, and I have had MANY conflicts with them down the years - as has anyone who has gotten late night links or wandered the street at the wee hours, or in fact any hour of the day in Dublin City Centre. The fact of the matter is that many of these types REVEL in their stereotype (as do I to mine) - screaming matches with OH's in the street, shoutin mates names VERY loudly "DAMO DAAAAAMO ALREEY BUDDY" etc and many other things far to frequent to bother listing, because it would be endless.

To be brutally honest, anyone who has spent literally any time on the North side, Parnell st, Dominic St, Summerhill, finglas, or southside up in Tallaght, Clondalkin, ballyfermot who does not see people only fitting these stereotypes but apparently doing their best to further the image, must be bloody BLIND. This for me as a 27 year old waster, has come from years of conflict - I have several mates who "look" the part. To me these people are NOT their clothes, it's on how they act that I base my judgement. If I see a few "scobes" I don't care or judge them, unless they give me good reason to, which regularily they do.
    My auld man, before he passed on, professed a similar view to me, and I was amazed that he had never come in to contact of people of their ilk, but I put this down to him being a homebody & only mixing generally with people he has know for years
    I know myself that to tar them all with the one brush is brutally unfair, but for reasons of humour we all do, because it is easy for our simplistic minds to pigeon hole people, so we don't have to understand them, which is why I generally reserve my views on someone until they have acted, rather than simply because of how they dress
    whew that was a long one eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Great post jim !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

mojawoja wrote: »
    I don't think I had a full appreciation for what the word "skanger" meant until I lived in Inchicore for a few months:

Car windows smashed - Jan
    Death threat - March-ish
    Car broken into and written off - June
    Car set ablaze and almost pushed into river - June
    Riot, (yes a f-ing riot) - June
    Attempted mugging resulting in multiple injuries including facial scars - July

....they peed on your fvckin' rug. Am I right?!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Stephen wrote: »
    He speaks the truth. If you wear the uniform of a scumbag, expect people to think you're a scumbag.

I agree with you, but in my book - I would wait for the person to actually do something before I would brand them as a scumbag
    However your point is very strong, because when someone walking around in "the uniform" actually does something that fits the bill of scumbag, they are conforming to my already formed preconception of them, which I was just waiting to drop. It's unfair, but the fact of the matter is - you walk down the street and see a fight, most of the time it's not 2 hippies, or 2 yuppies or 2 suits or 2 gards or 2 grannies or any of the millions of other categories of people walking down the street. It's generally scumbags. When a group of kids shout abuse at strangers, 99% of the time it's scumbag kids, these views really do come from people who face it regularily, myself included & I really do hate stereotyping - I just can't help it :p

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    ....they peed on your fvckin' rug. Am I right?!
    Nope, but would have loved to have seen that knacker's face when he realised that the radio had already been stolen a year ago!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

I would label anyone with a freckly inbred head on em, high pitched ratty voice, dirty mullet and tracksuits tucked into socks as a scumbag. Its not a simple trackies/hoodies equation - scummers usually wear navy trackies, ill fitting striped blue and white shirts and plain white runners. ya can spot em a mile off - they're a less evolved breed.
    Anybody on boards tuck their tracksuits into their socks btw? seriously... why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Sumire

Jesus, where in Inchicore were you living?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

I don't think they just know it, I think they revel in it.

Sumire wrote: »

Jesus, where in Inchicore were you living?!?

Not behind the Iron Curtain of the Tramyard anyway, that would've been tolerable. Funny fact: at one stage there were 4, yes 4, guys who lived within a stones throw up for murder, all now convicted.

I'm now back in Templeogue being accosted by 8 year olds asking me to throw their football back over the wall. It's Hell everywhere I tells ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Eh?
    Im not sympathetic with those who paint their face and nails, but why do they deserve a kicking?
    I often considered the goth/emo culture quite harmless

Knock some sense into 'em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What sort of sense? What would you like to achieve? And who will do the 'knocking'?

Thank fvck I moved to a free country!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.