Boards vs 'Scumbags'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

monkeyfudge
    Quote:
    Well it must be great where you live and don't have to put up with verbal and physical abuse on an almost daily basis from f*ckwits with nothing better to do with their time.

So in the past week can you give me examples of the verbal/physical abuse your talking about? I find it hard to believe... Sorry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Zangetsu wrote: »
    Alot of threads seems to have some sort of shot at people who wear tracksuits, the latest knock-off nike's and a peaked cap... Its pretty harsh the amount of stereotyping that goes on these boards.

Tbh the only stereotyping I see regularly on boards is that of attributing completely overhyped, tabloid definitions to other posters use of the word scumbag.

I think most people here don't have the image of the person you described when calling some fuker who stomps on a blokes head a scumbag. It's the stomping, not the dress sense that catagorises him.

A scumbag is only a scumbag as a consequence of his actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Indie18 wrote: »
    you left out the little w***ers who just do nasty s**t because they can. like the little Fcukers who keyed my girl friends brand new car out side of my house the other night. if i had have caught them i would have held there head under water until the bubbles stopped.

That's true, but could probably better fit under number 5 in the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭Baby4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 mojawoja

I don't think I had a full appreciation for what the word "skanger" meant until I lived in Inchicore for a few months:

Car windows smashed - Jan
    Death threat - March-ish
    Car broken into and written off - June
    Car set ablaze and almost pushed into river - June
    Riot, (yes a f-ing riot) - June
    Attempted mugging resulting in multiple injuries including facial scars - July
    On-going pleasent conversations with "the natives"
    Did however find a new appreciation for the Gardai, good people.

Don't judge people by their race, sex, orientation etc.
    Judge them by the content of their character - luckily many people of poor character have already been marked as skangers. So it's not ignorant to dislike skangers, it's merely following the advice of Martin Luther King and the likes.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

the drawling accent, use of small words and over use of "bleedin" gives them away.

That, and the can of druids/dutch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Bleedin is a great word that accurately describes a whole range of emotions...

A warm can of dutch is the beer of kings.

Shame on you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

You see ,its like this. and this folks really is rocket science.

Listen up here.

90% of the shyte,trouble, aggression in this town is caused by scumbags who are dressed as described in previous posts.

How do I know? I walk around town and keep my eyes open.

So (cue drum roll)

If you dress up same as them,it's reasonably likely you will be considered a scumbag too.

See, told you it was rocket science

He speaks the truth. If you wear the uniform of a scumbag, expect people to think you're a scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

In my own personal experience; I'm originally half clare/half dub, lived in Drogheda for a bit, then lusk, then Bahrain for 5 years, then Lusk again, then Clontarf for 4 years, back to Lusk for 2 and now Monkstown, as much as I dislike the label, I'm fairly middle class - have down the years hung out with people from as many different parts of society as you would like, "scum"; and rich cnuts. Went to college in Cabaiste DoNothing in Coolock for a bit. And I fit the 14 stone (a bit chubby eh?)martial arts enjoying rocker & biker stereotype (if there is one). I hate stereotypes and racism, deep down.

I do my best to be objective with stuff like this, but the simle fact of the matter is that there are a large amount of what we like to term "scum" walking around, and I have had MANY conflicts with them down the years - as has anyone who has gotten late night links or wandered the street at the wee hours, or in fact any hour of the day in Dublin City Centre. The fact of the matter is that many of these types REVEL in their stereotype (as do I to mine) - screaming matches with OH's in the street, shoutin mates names VERY loudly "DAMO DAAAAAMO ALREEY BUDDY" etc and many other things far to frequent to bother listing, because it would be endless.

To be brutally honest, anyone who has spent literally any time on the North side, Parnell st, Dominic St, Summerhill, finglas, or southside up in Tallaght, Clondalkin, ballyfermot who does not see people only fitting these stereotypes but apparently doing their best to further the image, must be bloody BLIND. This for me as a 27 year old waster, has come from years of conflict - I have several mates who "look" the part. To me these people are NOT their clothes, it's on how they act that I base my judgement. If I see a few "scobes" I don't care or judge them, unless they give me good reason to, which regularily they do.
    My auld man, before he passed on, professed a similar view to me, and I was amazed that he had never come in to contact of people of their ilk, but I put this down to him being a homebody & only mixing generally with people he has know for years
    I know myself that to tar them all with the one brush is brutally unfair, but for reasons of humour we all do, because it is easy for our simplistic minds to pigeon hole people, so we don't have to understand them, which is why I generally reserve my views on someone until they have acted, rather than simply because of how they dress
    whew that was a long one eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Great post jim !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

mojawoja wrote: »
    I don't think I had a full appreciation for what the word "skanger" meant until I lived in Inchicore for a few months:

Car windows smashed - Jan
    Death threat - March-ish
    Car broken into and written off - June
    Car set ablaze and almost pushed into river - June
    Riot, (yes a f-ing riot) - June
    Attempted mugging resulting in multiple injuries including facial scars - July

....they peed on your fvckin' rug. Am I right?!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

Stephen wrote: »
    He speaks the truth. If you wear the uniform of a scumbag, expect people to think you're a scumbag.

I agree with you, but in my book - I would wait for the person to actually do something before I would brand them as a scumbag
    However your point is very strong, because when someone walking around in "the uniform" actually does something that fits the bill of scumbag, they are conforming to my already formed preconception of them, which I was just waiting to drop. It's unfair, but the fact of the matter is - you walk down the street and see a fight, most of the time it's not 2 hippies, or 2 yuppies or 2 suits or 2 gards or 2 grannies or any of the millions of other categories of people walking down the street. It's generally scumbags. When a group of kids shout abuse at strangers, 99% of the time it's scumbag kids, these views really do come from people who face it regularily, myself included & I really do hate stereotyping - I just can't help it :p

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    ....they peed on your fvckin' rug. Am I right?!
    Nope, but would have loved to have seen that knacker's face when he realised that the radio had already been stolen a year ago!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

I would label anyone with a freckly inbred head on em, high pitched ratty voice, dirty mullet and tracksuits tucked into socks as a scumbag. Its not a simple trackies/hoodies equation - scummers usually wear navy trackies, ill fitting striped blue and white shirts and plain white runners. ya can spot em a mile off - they're a less evolved breed.
    Anybody on boards tuck their tracksuits into their socks btw? seriously... why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Sumire

Jesus, where in Inchicore were you living?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

Schism wrote: »
    I often wondered do scumbags know they're scumbags?

I don't think they just know it, I think they revel in it.

Sumire wrote: »

Jesus, where in Inchicore were you living?!?

Not behind the Iron Curtain of the Tramyard anyway, that would've been tolerable. Funny fact: at one stage there were 4, yes 4, guys who lived within a stones throw up for murder, all now convicted.

I'm now back in Templeogue being accosted by 8 year olds asking me to throw their football back over the wall. It's Hell everywhere I tells ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Nehaxak wrote: »
    1) Goths who probably get beaten up all the time (and deservedly so)

Eh?
    Im not sympathetic with those who paint their face and nails, but why do they deserve a kicking?
    I often considered the goth/emo culture quite harmless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

Knock some sense into 'em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

What sort of sense? What would you like to achieve? And who will do the 'knocking'?

Thank fvck I moved to a free country!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Anybody on boards tuck their tracksuits into their socks btw? seriously... why?

Helps keep my nob warm.

Krieg wrote: »
    Eh?
    Im not sympathetic with those who paint their face and nails, but why do they deserve a kicking?
    I often considered the goth/emo culture quite harmless

They don't, I was only kidding dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Helps keep my nob warm.

Get a f*cking girlfriend.

I have one, yore ma !

Sorry, couldn't resist :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

I have one, yore ma !

Sorry, couldn't resist :)

Just hope you sealed the coffin back up.

Ok look then, a semi serious psychologically minded answer to this then...

When the cops hate you and you get beatings from them at least a couple of times a year, for actually no reason other than wearing a tracksuit or hoodie, whatever - You think well, wtf, law of the land hates me so I don't respect them either now after that happened (and continues to happen) so stuff the country as well.

When your parents don't give a shyte about you, probably drunks or worse, junkies, well wtf I've nobody to guide me either on the right path or someone to talk too about growing up and all so fck it, I'm on my own.

When you can't get a job because of where you are from, your accent, your clothes and you can't afford to buy a suit or decent pair of shoes, well fck that too and fck paying taxes.

So you rob/steal, sell drugs or whatever to make some money as you either can't get the dole cos you're too young or you are old enough to get it but piss it away in one night. You start to detest everything else about the country and you are jealous of others who have a job, who can afford clothes, who do have friends/partner and a decent family - so you lash out as that's all that you know, it's what's been done (or if not then what you feel has been done) to you) so fck it, who cares ?

You eventually spend time in prison, Pats or MountJoy, probably both along the way, probably got raped while you were in there by some other knacker.

After all of that is done, you suddenly realise you're 15 and should be doing your first exams in school but too late. You've nothing to lose, nobody cares, cops hate you, government hates you, country is a pile of crap and all you have is the other shyteheads that have gone through the same thing.

So if you're nothing else and nobody even gives you the time to be anything else or even just a little break in life then wtf, may as well be the scumbag they think you are and play it up for all it's worth. You know they're scared of you, finally you are something or someone and you have some control or power over them. All you need to do is pull the hood up, give them a stare and you know they've shat their pants. Power. Fck it, I'll sell drugs to their kids as well, who cares ?

Get a bunch of us together and we have a riot or get a little gang war going like them rappers have in America...

/Fair City plot mode off

Right well, there ye go. Lack of parenting, violence from all sides growing up including from the cops (not all mind, again, not gonna tar them all as I KNOW they're not all like that) and being looked down on by society. Sure what way did you expect it to turn out ?

As for the drawling accent and all that, that's mostly due to the brain getting fcked up from Heroin or spending too much time in MountJoy - it jsut becomes your own accent after a short amount of time, fit in or get raped I suppose.

Just hope you sealed the coffin back up.

Aw no man, you can't use a comeback like that it's not fair, I was only making a witty comment :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Dragan wrote: »
    I've said it before but being a scumbag has **** all to do with how you dress.

True, usually I'd identify a scumbag after they speak, sometimes one could be beside me in a queue at the shop and I wouldn't have noticed and the next thing he opens his mouth and there ya go. You notice this more at the deli counter with their put on dopey talk... I don't know how to describe it, it's like all the drugs they do be taking on come out in their voice, and they struggle to put together a comprehensibe sentence...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

When the cops hate you and you get beatings from them at least a couple of times a year, for actually no reason other than wearing a tracksuit or hoodie, whatever - You think well, wtf, law of the land hates me so I don't respect them either now after that happened (and continues to happen) so stuff the country as well.

When your parents don't give a shyte about you, probably drunks or worse, junkies, well wtf I've nobody to guide me either on the right path or someone to talk too about growing up and all so fck it, I'm on my own.

When you can't get a job because of where you are from, your accent, your clothes and you can't afford to buy a suit or decent pair of shoes, well fck that too and fck paying taxes.

So you rob/steal, sell drugs or whatever to make some money as you either can't get the dole cos you're too young or you are old enough to get it but piss it away in one night. You start to detest everything else about the country and you are jealous of others who have a job, who can afford clothes, who do have friends/partner and a decent family - so you lash out as that's all that you know, it's what's been done (or if not then what you feel has been done) to you) so fck it, who cares ?

You eventually spend time in prison, Pats or MountJoy, probably both along the way, probably got raped while you were in there by some other knacker.

After all of that is done, you suddenly realise you're 15 and should be doing your first exams in school but too late. You've nothing to lose, nobody cares, cops hate you, government hates you, country is a pile of crap and all you have is the other shyteheads that have gone through the same thing.

So if you're nothing else and nobody even gives you the time to be anything else or even just a little break in life then wtf, may as well be the scumbag they think you are and play it up for all it's worth. You know they're scared of you, finally you are something or someone and you have some control or power over them. All you need to do is pull the hood up, give them a stare and you know they've shat their pants. Power. Fck it, I'll sell drugs to their kids as well, who cares ?

Get a bunch of us together and we have a riot or get a little gang war going like them rappers have in America...

/Fair City plot mode off

Right well, there ye go. Lack of parenting, violence from all sides growing up including from the cops (not all mind, again, not gonna tar them all as I KNOW they're not all like that) and being looked down on by society. Sure what way did you expect it to turn out ?

As for the drawling accent and all that, that's mostly due to the brain getting fcked up from Heroin or spending too much time in MountJoy - it jsut becomes your own accent after a short amount of time, fit in or get raped I suppose.

Great post man...I expect the boardsie neo cons to jump all over it in a bit but FWIW I get where you're coming from, and you've hit the nail on the head as regards a lot of issues.
    As someone who grew up on a council estate I've seen a lot of what you talk of, managed to have enough sense to stay out of the worst of the trouble my peers got up to...your point about accents and addresses equalling a glass ceiling when it came to any type of work or job interview is spot on as well; it's something both myself and others who grew up near me had trouble with over the years (and many still have)...I saw one particular girl passed up for a decent jornalism job, who was better qualified and probably a lot more talented than the hack they eventually gave the job to...

Wearing trackies and trainers is only part of the whole "us and them" thing, it's an easy way to label potential troublemakers and ne'erdowells and is probably fairly accurate. I'd have far more of a problem with the downright snobbery of categorising someone by their address, their accent or their personal and family circumstances...that to me is far more rife and underhand than the blatant dislike for the stereotypical scumbag...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

/Fair City plot mode off

No, no, no and no.

I'm sick of people trying to make other folks feel sympathetic towards scum.

I've lived all my life in Finglas. Growing up myself and my friends put up with the usual ****e from the Garda, weren't exactly rolling in money and were of course consider scum by most because we came from Finglas.

Ya know what everyone did? We all stayed in school and actually pursued an education, steered clear of drugs, never stole, dished out hidings or hurled abuse at random people, got ourselves part time jobs and ya know the outcome? I'm now a serving member in the Defence Forces, one friend is a 3rd year apprentice plumber and the rest are all currently in college after doing well in their Leaving Cert's.

So this ****e of "Oh society failed me, it's everybody elses fault" doesn't cut it at all. They're scumbags because they made decisons that led them down such a path. It's not the Garda's fault, it's not the parents fault, it's not the employers fault.... It's their own fault. End of.