Boards vs 'Scumbags'

• 01-10-2008 04:02PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭

Alot of threads seems to have some sort of shot at people who wear tracksuits, the latest knock-off nike's and a peaked cap... Its pretty harsh the amount of stereotyping that goes on these boards.

My question is, where does it all come from? Is it bad experiances? Someone shouting at you, just storys you've heard or is it as small minded as the clothes they wear?

Myself throughout my youth I hung around with alot of the people most on boards would lable as scumbags. I had my torn baggy jeans, chains hangin out of me and quite a few questionable mohawks and have NEVER had any problems that would warrent the level of ignorance people show towards folks with a dublin accent and casual clothing.

Now don't get me wrong I've had some run ins in my time but nothing that deserves the utter disrespect that is sometimes shown here...

So lads cough it up... Whats your beef with our supposedly violent 'scumbag' overloards that do yore ma every night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I've nothing against tracksuits, Nike runners, Hoodys, or fast cars.

I think its the exaggerated act the scangers put on and the trouble they cause, i have been stereotyped a 'scanger' for wearing tracksuits bottoms? They are comfortable to wear...Then i get stereotyped a 'rocker' for wearing jeans? What the hell am i then? :confused:

I think the only way of getting out of it, is to wear casual clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭Nehaxak

Strangest thing though, those people who generalise and call vast swathes of Dublin people scumbags, skobies, skangers and so on are usually either...

1) Goths who probably get beaten up all the time (and deservedly so)
    2) Culchies
    3) Cops
    4) "Fags"
    5) South Dublin "Fags"

Top five anyway, apololgies to anyone I've offended with that but sure...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I've said it before but being a scumbag has **** all to do with how you dress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

He's a scumbag, GET HIM!!!

*grabs pitchfork*

Grabs handgun from under kids buggie and points it at guy with pitchfork...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Nehaxak wrote: »

And who is it that carries out these beatings 99% percent of the time ? You guessed it ! Your very own Dublin Scumbags ! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Strangest thing though, those people who generalise and call vast swathes of Dublin people scumbags, skobies, skangers and so on are usually either...

2) Culchies
    3) Cops
    4) "Fags"
    5) South Dublin "Fags"

From what I can see on these here boards it's the Dubs who throw around the scumbag label more so than anywhere else. I don't agree that scumbags are tearing this country apart at all. I think people just read far to many tabloids for their own good.

Lucky I have this kevlar vest on underneath my nike shell tracksuit top

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

2) Culchies
    3) Cops
    4) "Fags"
    5) South Dublin "Fags"

op, this post above answers your question pretty well imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

come on now, be honest, you don't know what you're talking about do you?! i mean seriously man, no scumbag in this country would even dream of lowering themselves by wearing knock off nikes! real air max all the way for them baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    I think the only way of getting out of it, is to wear casual clothes.

F*cking Yuppie :D.

I get caught up in the whole stereotyping thing mainly because I wear a hoodie and during the winter I actually put the hood up....its for nothing more than to stop my ears getting cold.

One of the last times it happened I was waiting for my OH at the bus stop it was pissing rain and I had my hood up. 2garda were walking by and gave me a good staredown before saying something that I didn't hear because I was listening to my i-pod.

Last time was a Security Guard who told me I was intimidating people. I refused to take it down and told him he was intimidating me and I have no intention of intimidating anyone. Eventually he p*ssed off.

There needs to be some for of Hoodie wearers appreciation group...we are people after all.

hopalong85 wrote: »
    come on now, be honest, you don't know what you're talking about do you?! i mean seriously man, no scumbag in this country would even dream of lowering themselves by wearing knock off nikes! real air max all the way for them baby!
    Not the air max classics either but those ones with the springs in the heel. It must help them leap over walls when they are getting away from another robbery.......or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

I often wondered do scumbags know they're scumbags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

I'm sorry, but if you wear tracksuits casually and are not doing some kind of sport, then you have nothing to say worth listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

ScumLord wrote: »
    From what I can see on these here boards it's the Dubs who throw around the scumbag label more so than anywhere else. I don't agree that scumbags are tearing this country apart at all. I think people just read far to many tabloids for their own good.

Well it must be great where you live and don't have to put up with verbal and physical abuse on an almost daily basis from f*ckwits with nothing better to do with their time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

Schism wrote: »

that is a very good question. i don't think they do to be honest.

Well I suppose then that some of us Dublin people have a different meaning as to who or what a scumbag is...

Listed in probable order according to me...

1) Cops (sorry not all, some are really nice but alas such if life as from what I see myself - it shouldn't be this way but it is).
    2) Junkies (sad but, they are mostly to blame for their own downfall)
    3) Heroin dealers (should be number 1 really)
    4) Corrupt politicians (many of them around these days it seems)
    5) Parents who disregard or don't control their children/teenagers
    6) Clampers
    7) Racists

Hmmm, think that's about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

That's only here though, in other conuntries scumbags dress much smarter and it is tougher to identify them among the crowd.....and evenly so, nice people goes around in tracksuit with no problems.

So there is an advantage to it here, let knackers wear tracksuits and make it easier for us to identify and avoid them. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

chamlis wrote: »
    I'm sorry, but if you wear tracksuits casually and are not doing some kind of sport, then you have nothing to say worth listening to.

Does trying to take a coppers head off with a baseball bat count as a sport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Well I suppose then that some of us Dublin people have a different meaning as to who or what a scumbag is...

1) Cops (sorry not all, some are really nice but alas such if life as from what I see myself - it shouldn't be this way but it is).
    6) Clampers
    7) Racists

Where do people from Ballymun come in this list....while we are generalising?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

Good question! I believe it is probably the same as asking "Do stupid people know they are stupid?" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭chamlis

m@cc@ wrote: »

...in some countries maybe... ¬_¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

6) Clampers
    7) Racists

you left out the little w***ers who just do nasty s**t because they can. like the little Fcukers who keyed my girl friends brand new car out side of my house the other night. if i had have caught them i would have held there head under water until the bubbles stopped.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Only if he's wearing his cap, I believe,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,496 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

lol

One mate of mine likes to have a go at me cas I had a pair of white nikes, and on the odd occasion wear soccer jerseys and I have two hoddies I rarely wear. Also that I have a strong Carlow accent

Its funny, he gets it in return with him constantly wearing shirts everyday and the black shoes with a shiney buckel (Leprachain shoes!!) , oh not to mention his 20 euro umbrella!

Its all tongue and cheek but in fairness alot of these "scumbags" or "scoabs" do wear the tracksuit down to the top of their ankles, hoodies with that writing all over it, white pumps (usually ones with a velcro strap), Torres hairstyle, stripey jumpers and tacky gold chains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Well it must be great where you live and don't have to put up with verbal and physical abuse on an almost daily basis from f*ckwits with nothing better to do with their time.
    Well, I suppose, now that you mention it. It is. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I constantly remind my brother hes one! :D But i don't think it sinks into his head. I think its weird when a scanger says "No hes a sham"? Is there different breeds of them or something?

There's spikey heads and pretty boys, They actually dress and act different...fascinating...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭taibhse

TripleAce wrote: »
    That's only here though, in other conuntries scumbags dress much smarter and it is tougher to identify them among the crowd.....and evenly so, nice people goes around in tracksuit with no problems.

I think theres actually an international scumbag brigade - you have chavs in England. I also saw plenty in France. And a girl I know went on the trans siberian railway as part of a photography course.

When she came back she had pictures of kids with that shaved head with a fringe look that was all the rage with mid ninties scangers.

This was siberia!!!!!!!!!:eek::P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

You see ,its like this. and this folks really is rocket science.

Listen up here.

90% of the shyte,trouble, aggression in this town is caused by scumbags who are dressed as described in previous posts.

How do I know? I walk around town and keep my eyes open.

So (cue drum roll)

If you dress up same as them,it's reasonably likely you will be considered a scumbag too.

See, told you it was rocket science

Where do people from Ballymun come in this list....while we are generalising?

From the scumbags that are here, 2, 3 5 and 7 in that list, though there are less of 3 these days, but that is everywhere, not just here and not jsut in Dublin either.
    Mostly they sell coke to yuppies who drive by the blocks in the evenings or at weekends.
    At one stage I had to wonder myself at the amount of stretch limo's that were driving by and stopping at certain blocks, like really, can there be that many debs going on throughout the whole year. How naive even I was feeling after thinking that then finding out the truth of what was actually going on :/