Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

does everyone in ireland like donegal accents?

• 20-08-2008 5:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭

Is it true that everyone loves donegal accents. What is it about them that people like?
    Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

hate it. very whiney

• Registered Users Posts: 24,011 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

No. Nothing.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭suckslikeafox

Nothing hotter than a nice soft donegal lilt mmmmmmmmmmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 777 ✭✭✭boogle

ancientdog wrote: »
    Is it true that everyone loves donegal accents. What is it about them that people like?

Sexaaaaay ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

There is not one thing in the world that "everyone" likes. Except of course chocolate milkshakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I love Derry accents if that counts. I don't think it does though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭ancientdog

everyone in the world like breathing..haha

• Registered Users Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Don't like the Northern accents at all.

[In before R00t]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

*Sigh* It seems an accent thread pops up every two weeks

For the record:
    Dublin North = scanger
    Dublin South = irritating posh elitist
    Northern = terrorist
    Louth = unintelligible
    Cork = leprechaun
    West = farmer
    Midlands = backward idiot

As for Donegal sexy? Is Mary Coughlan sexy??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I like it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

My own two cents:

Dublin North = The accent is hilarious imo
    Dublin South = Can be pretentious, but funny sometimes
    Northern = Awful whiny noise
    Limerick = Nasty bast**d child of Kerry north/Clare
    Cork = Hilarious sing song
    Kerry = Guttural, but hilarious at times
    Mayo/Galway West = Pig-ignorant farmers
    Midlands = Utter pigs
    Waterford = Nasty bast**d child of East Cork/Kilkenny

As for the OP's question,

Donegal accent makes me want to rupture my eardrums with a syringe.

well her husband thinks so

Yes!

It is so freakin sexy! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Yes!

It is so freakin sexy! :D

You think Daniel O'Donnell's accent makes him sexy?

Words....fail me.

daniel o donnell is the typical old donegal accent...hes a slow man too.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Ah yes but you havent seen his wee daniel sing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

what about the longford accent. Now that is a weird accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I hate the Donegal accent. And two of my friends are from Donegal so I'm trying to get used to it. Effin hate it though!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Donegal accent's nice a young un. It just sounds camp on a lad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Curlypinkie

Cork accent all the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Joker wrote: »
    It just sounds camp on a lad.

Love it in general apart from on him...^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

No. It's rubbish. As is the way they say "Hi" all the time.

"Are ye going to the pictures, hi" :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Cork accent all the way.

I can never tell cork from welsh from pakistani

• Registered Users Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

nipplenuts wrote: »
    No. It's rubbish. As is the way they say "Hi" all the time.

"Are ye going to the pictures, hi" :confused:

yea some of my dublin friends give out to me for the "hi" thing - especially when i text it or whatever !

i also have an annoying habbit of saying "aye i know aye" - confuses the feck out of people :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Neesa wrote: »
    There is not one thing in the world that "everyone" likes. Except of course chocolate milkshakes.

I don't like chocolate milkshakes - whats wrong with me?? :(

Aye gotta love the Donegal accent - when its slight though, I have trouble hearing what people say nowadays even without them having a really strong accent!

dodgyme wrote: »
    what about the longford accent. Now that is a weird accent.

I've never noticed a 'Longford' accent, those that do have a bit of a one sound the same as the rest of the boggers with accents. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭AlanSparrowhawk

Female donegal accents are terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

You got to love the Norn Iron accent!!
    We have a Donegal lass on our football team she gets an awfull amount of slagging In a thick norn iron accent ''Whats the situation''

Joker wrote: »

Words....fail me.

If my eyes were closed/If I were blind..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 peach81

Donegal accent...head wrecking and yes men sound gay too!! oops

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

There was a kid in my class in primary school who had the thickest, most unintelligible Donegal accent ever.

Our teacher used to always call on him to read and break her sh1te laughing at him. You'd see her hiding behind her book convulsed with laughter.

Mean but looking back it was pretty funny.