Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

X Factor 2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭XxlauraxX

Chinafoot wrote: »
    Eoghan grates on my last nerve! He does not have a good voice. He's been píss poor the last few weeks and the judges just praise him, it sickens me.
    Eoghan - Always thought he was a weak singer, but in fairness he was very good tonight. I hope he doesn't win though, because there are better singers there.

Finally somebody who agrees with me :D ! I just don't get him and how people think he is so good ?:confused: He is just not vocally strong enough

laura

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,459 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Disappointed that Daniel's gone but tbh it was gonna happen anyway. Fair play to him though for being extremely gracious about it (somehow I doubt Rachel would have been the same!) and a very well liked gentleman throughout by the sounds of the comments.

I can't stand Rachel and though I knew she was safe the moment the bottom 2 were announced, what pissed me off was her cocky arrogant attitude as she clearly knew she wasn't going home either! Hopefully she will next week!!

Diana was awful but I don't like her voice anyway. Her quirkiness is just irritating in my opinion.

JLS were weak but as Dannii and Simon said that's more because of Louis and his song choice.

Ruth also very poor this week. She doesn't seem very fond of Rachel either from the looks she was giving her in the Xtra Factor after the results.

Eoghan did very well tonight I thought, as did Alexandra (my favorite to win at this stage).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

This week obviously went according to the scripted plan the two older judges had in their head. I mean, I knew from the start that if Daniel ended up in the bottom two he was never gonna survive, which is a big shame cause I actually took the bother of voting.

Diana was awful, I agree with the last poster, I find her voice irritating and I think she got a sympathy vote being honest. I think if she comes out next weekend and starts to **** up then it will just prove the mistake they have made (they being the public)

I do believe that this contest is voted by the public on personality and not on singing talents, and Ill say that now

I dont know what the hell JLS were signing and there is no way I would have recommended that song as a best of their country representation....Just absurd

Rachel was the most cocky, arrogant person I have ever seen, and when I saw her climbing all over Simon's desk she looked like a stripper in my opinion. Anybody who needs to prostitute themselves to the judges is simply talentless. But that wasnt the worst, the worst thing was when she was asked what song she wanted to sing to try and save her, and chose MARY J BLIDGE'S HIT One:eek:

Now, I don't know if anyone had told her before Dermot then asked if she actually meant the U2 song, and Rachel dismissed it as 'yah that one'...when she came out, she totally ignored the first verse....and adding insult to injury she never stopped shaking and moving her head around the place which obviously distracted the judges (in fairness Simon did point it out a little) from her simply screaming the lyrics...especially at the end....in obvious mockery of the fact that she knew there was no way they would send her home....and if thats not enough, her family are always shouting abusive comments at the judges, and Rachel seems to encourage it.

Her background pertudes a racial stereotype on national television and she is embarrassing some people of a similar background by the behaviour of herself and her family. Anyone who saw the ITV2 show saw this behaviour too.

This woman needs to be sent home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,665 ✭✭✭magnumlady

I think Rachel really murdered that song.
    I've been wanting Daniel to go for weeks, but I think he did better in the last song then Rachel did.
    She was all over the place.

I'm amazed that Diana wasn't in the bottom two though, she's like a goat on acid.

Eoghan is never on the late xtra factor show because of his age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

This week obviously went according to the scripted plan the two older judges had in their head. I mean, I knew from the start that if Daniel ended up in the bottom two he was never gonna survive, which is a big shame cause I actually took the bother of voting.

Diana was awful, I agree with the last poster, I find her voice irritating and I think she got a sympathy vote being honest. I think if she comes out next weekend and starts to **** up then it will just prove the mistake they have made (they being the public)

I do believe that this contest is voted by the public on personality and not on singing talents, and Ill say that now

I dont know what the hell JLS were signing and there is no way I would have recommended that song as a best of their country representation....Just absurd

Rachel was the most cocky, arrogant person I have ever seen, and when I saw her climbing all over Simon's desk she looked like a stripper in my opinion. Anybody who needs to prostitute themselves to the judges is simply talentless. But that wasnt the worst, the worst thing was when she was asked what song she wanted to sing to try and save her, and chose MARY J BLIDGE'S HIT One:eek:

Now, I don't know if anyone had told her before Dermot then asked if she actually meant the U2 song, and Rachel dismissed it as 'yah that one'...
    when she came out, she totally ignored the first verse....and adding insult to injury she never stopped shaking and moving her head around the place which obviously distracted the judges (in fairness Simon did point it out a little) from her simply screaming the lyrics...especially at the end....in obvious mockery of the fact that she knew there was no way they would send her home....and if thats not enough, her family are always shouting abusive comments at the judges, and Rachel seems to encourage it.

Her background pertudes a racial stereotype on national television and she is embarrassing some people of a similar background by the behaviour of herself and her family. Anyone who saw the ITV2 show saw this behaviour too.

This woman needs to be sent home

Mary J Blige has covered One, and it's a genre splitting version so I don't mind that she said it, it's not as blatant as Bad Lashes singing Wonderwall by Ryan Adams.:pac:

Again, I think a lot of people as misconstruing her "cocky smile". For me she was just putting on a brave face. Also, the choreography is all up to Friedman so I doubt her sprawling herself on the table was her own idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,219 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Nah Rachel needs to be thrown out, the problem is the judges won't kick her out, she really needs to be up against the likes of Diane (or as I like to call here the lovechild of Dolores O'Riordan and Sinead O'Connor :) ) another Judge favourite to have any chance of her been kicked out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

If Daniel had gone through again then I think a lot of people would have boycotted the show & stopped watching. Having said that, he's been such a great sport. Did anyone see Dermot getting a tad upset about it as they've become good mates? Bless. I reckon Daniel will get a decent career out of it.

The judges & presenters really went on about voting & making sure to vote re talent etc. & ended up with highest vote turn out ever & correct decision being made (Daniel & Rachel in bottom 2)

Leona Lewis was outstanding (a million times better than Mariah's performance last week) & fair play to Simon for really acknowledging her duly. I'd never seen her do a gig & I was impressed.

Diana is rubbish, can't bear listening to her.

Alex, Ruth & JLS should be in final & Alex or Ruth to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

She Devil wrote: »
    Eoghan? ..... don't dare fault his vocals he is spot on .

HA!!

He's been consistently straining his voice, and has hit bad notes every performance, but the pervy judges just keep battin their eye lids

his voice is crap, it'd be in the same league as Daniels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Mink wrote: »
    Alex, Ruth & JLS should be in final & Alex or Ruth to win.

Ruth and JLS? Eoghan and Diana better then them both and have been better throughout the entire series. From what I've gathered from JLS, they're another Chico. Entertainers, but are poor singers. Ruth is good, don't get me wrong, but Diana and Eoghan are better imo.
    unreggd wrote: »
    HA!!

He's been consistently straining his voice, and has hit bad notes every performance, but the pervy judges just keep battin their eye lids

Why is he topping the phone vote every week then?

I can't believe you compared Eoghan to Daniel. Oh sweet mercy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Peewee_lane

Is anyone here going to be auditioning next March when the X-Factor comes to Dublin?

andyman wrote: »
    Why is he topping the phone vote every week then?

I can't believe you compared Eoghan to Daniel. Oh sweet mercy.
    Because its a popularity contest, and not a talent contest

If he's topping them at all, because fookall people should know the actual vote counts anyways

he has all N Ireland voting, because they can

I still think Daniel is a stronger singer than Eoghan, and its so annoying that the judges wont comment on his faults, its like they're afraid they'll make him cry

And he's nothin special. at all!

Eoghan in the final over Ruth is a loada me bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭Cina

The only good performance of that show last night was from Leona Lewis, she has an incredible voice and that was an amazing cover of one of Snow Patrols finest songs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Ahhhhh Diana's voice is the most irritating voice I've ever heared in my life! She's just doing a poor imitation of Dolores O'Riordan!

Its still a toss up between Alex and JLS for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Lexus1976

Why are the judges so determined to keep Rachel in. Even the presenters were always kind of on her side. Is there something going on in the back round?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,068 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

I think the judges didn't act on the final performance last night as Rachel butchered that song and Daniel was by far the best. But they all knew that Daniel was getting a sympathy vote and really wasn't on the same level as the other finalists. I think they were shocked to see him go so far.

Rachel is hit and miss and has a better chance then Daniel so I gather that's why they kept her in and probably reluctantly. Not a fan of her personality and she was so cocky last night it was disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭tobytobe

[QUOTE
    What happened to Eoghan, why was he not in the studio for the Xtra factor??[/QUOTE]

He is too young I think. He cannot appear on live tv after a certain time at night due to his age. I think that is it anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I don't get how people can say Rachel performed badly in the sing off. I think she put plenty into it, but was limited by the organization of the song. If you watch the above video you'll see how Mary J Blige builds up to the end where she lets rip. I don't think Rachel did that bad, she was hampered because it's a slow building song and time limits meant she couldn't do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Can't understand why people are giving Diana such a hard time - she's awesome and hot. Wanna see Diana, JLS and Ruth in the finals.

Rachel is sh*t, Alexandra has the personality of a lamppost and Eoghan is just irritating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Next week - Take That. Gonna be crap. :(

I bet the producers chose that theme because it will suit Eoghan and JLS, and they want them to get through because they are the most marketable. A lot of the X-Factor audience is tween girls who'll just vote for JLS and Eoghan (a.k.a Furby!) because they're "cute". For that reason, I was very surprised when Austin was booted out.

I don't know how Ruth or Rachel will manage next week, unfortunately they will probably be the bottom 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭XxlauraxX

HA!!

Because its a popularity contest, and not a talent contest

If he's topping them at all, because fookall people should know the actual vote counts anyways

he has all N Ireland voting, because they can

I still think Daniel is a stronger singer than Eoghan, and its so annoying that the judges wont comment on his faults, its like they're afraid they'll make him cry

And he's nothin special. at all!

Eoghan in the final over Ruth is a loada me bollix

Fair play unreggd you have it all spot on !
    Its horny teenage girls keeping him in the comp.When he is nothing special at all !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

That performance by Diana was her worst yet - and that is really saying something. Horrible, horrible stuff.
    How in the name of Christ can you "put on" a singing voice? :S
    It's her accent. Pronouncing "you" as "yrrrrrrrrrr" - now that's what I call put-on. And then there are the "yelps" into the bargain.
    Big_Mac wrote: »
    I doub't it'll be Daniel. He seems to be immune to the laws of common decency and good judgment
    I think that statement would be far more apt for Diana.
    From what I gather, it's nothing to do with the talent she possesses, it's just out and out hatred because she's gimmicky (which I'm willing to admit) but all of them are. I read more people disliking her because of her gimmicks rather then her voice.
    Well I think she has a very weak voice and doesn't even sing in tune a lot of the time. But she covers that up with the ludicrous accent and those yelps, which endear people to her. The whole combination makes her painful to listen to - ear-blocking, volume-muting painful. And those gimmicks are reason enough to want her out, in my opinion.
    I also think it's naive to mistake Diana's forced "uniqueness" for talent...
    It's ridiculous because it's completely impossible to put that kind of voice on week in, week out.
    I can't see how it would be impossible. Do you honestly think her accent and yelps are natural?
    Huggles wrote: »
    Can't believe Snow Patrol allowed that. Jesus.
    Thought Leona did a beautiful version of that song.
    appleidog wrote: »
    I really can't stand rachel the way she talks, acts can't take critisism, ad tries to turn it around on the judge's and please her sob story she knew what she was doing when she was younger.
    I don't know... I find her becoming more and more humble as the weeks go on.
    She is everything what is wrong with london at the moment.
    KateF wrote: »
    Some people have hearts, ya know.
    Sorry, but some people are bought over by silly quirks which anyone could put on but because they're "different" (translation: irritating) they're viewed as a shining example of talent.
    minxie1 wrote: »
    anyone think diana sings just a bit like
    ronan keating??
    Yes! That infuriating accent is very like his, but exaggerated!
    Lexus1976 wrote: »
    Why are the judges so determined to keep Rachel in. Even the presenters were always kind of on her side. Is there something going on in the back round?
    That's what I would have applied to Diana. I really think there's something funny going on. Certainly Simon would usually dismiss fake bullsh1t like Diana's without mercy.
    Can't understand why people are giving Diana such a hard time - she's awesome and hot. Wanna see Diana, JLS and Ruth in the finals.

Rachel is sh*t, Alexandra has the personality of a lamppost and Eoghan is just irritating.
    Well I can't understand all the adulation for Diana - for one, she's still in the damn competition! Also, I notice guys always have to factor her hotness into it - that to me smacks of "I suppose she's not that great really - but she's HOT so that makes her good". She's actually very average looking, in my opinion. I wouldn't be surprised if it was a case of "blonde therefore hot". Alexandra is way better looking, way more striking. And it's not as if Diana has much of a personality - oh wait! She puts on an accent, yelps at the end of every line, has messy hair, does strange hand movements - that's charisma right there that is!

- I think Rachel has a great voice - don't understand the criticism. She has a problem staying in tune at times though.
    - Ruth - as Rachel
    - Eoghan's baby-ness belies any star quality but he sure can sing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Dudess wrote: »
    Well I can't understand all the adulation for Diana - for one, she's still in the damn competition! Also, I notice guys always have to factor her hotness into it - that to me smacks of "I suppose she's not that great really - but she's HOT so that makes her good". She's actually very average looking, in my opinion. I wouldn't be surprised if it was a case of "blonde therefore hot". Alexandra is way better looking, way more striking. And it's not as if Diana has much of a personality - oh wait! She puts on an accent, yelps at the end of every line, has messy hair, does strange hand movements - that's charisma right there that is!

She's above average looking and the fact she's a blonde has nothing to do with it - in fact to say that men are only attracted to blonde women is a complete myth, especially when Irish men are involved. I'd say about 7/10 Irishmen prefer brunettes to blondes, myself included, but Diana is an exception and she can definitely sing. Maybe it depends on your taste in music. I tend to get the whole Gwen Stefani meets Kate Nash meets Amy McDonald vibe from Diana and considering I think that those 3 artists are 3 of the best female singers in the world, it would make sense that I like Diana, whereas I can't stand Rachel, as I can't stand the likes of Mary J. Blige, but it's unfair to say Diana can't sing because you're not a fan of her type of music. I accept that Rachel can sing, I just don't like her style of music. And it's fair enough that people don't like Diana, but I don't think that the reasoning should be, she can't sing, because she can - all the remaining contestants can sing, so it really is a personality contest at this stage, because surely any of them could sell records.

She's above average looking and the fact she's a blonde has nothing to do with it - in fact to say that men are only attracted to blonde women is a complete myth, especially when Irish men are involved. I'd say about 7/10 Irishmen prefer brunettes to blondes, myself included
    Sorry CaptainNegative :o
    It's just, it's clear from your reply you're not who I'm talking about, but a lot of guys, when defending Diana, say "she's hot". Why say it if she's so talented? I know looks are part of the package - it would be naive and delusional to say otherwise - but why when defending her talent? What have her looks got to do with her talent?
    but Diana is an exception and she can definitely sing.
    I don't think she can't sing but I also don't think she can sing well. Strip away the accent and yelps (and I can't see a positive in them) and you're left with a very unremarkable, weak, not-always-in-tune voice. She can sing, as in she'd be able to knock out a number at her nana's 80th. I firmly believe her popularity is based on her "kookiness" alone. Fine, but that doesn't mean she has a good voice.
    I tend to get the whole Gwen Stefani meets Kate Nash meets Amy McDonald vibe from Diana and considering I think that those 3 artists are 3 of the best female singers in the world, it would make sense that I like Diana
    I think it's a travesty to compare Diana with those girls, who are great. :)
    She may be a wannabe Kate/Amy (I don't get a Gwen vibe) but she's nowhere near as good as them.
    whereas I can't stand Rachel, as I can't stand the likes of Mary J. Blige
    Not particularly a fan of Mary J myself but for me, that's besides the point. I think Rachel's voice is great.
    but it's unfair to say Diana can't sing because you're not a fan of her type of music.
    You got me wrong - if that's aimed at me. I don't know what her type of music is anyway as she's only sung covers. If she wins X Factor she'll be at the mercy of the record company, her agent, her manager, her publicist. She's not gonna be doing an independent songwriter thing like Kate Nash or Amy McDonald. Selling units will be the ultimate aim and Amy is not commercially successful, Kate is to a degree, but much less so than what would be aimed for in the case of an X Factor winner.

I have no idea what her type of music is, I just think her voice is terrible.

You got me wrong - if that's aimed at me. I don't know what her type of music is anyway as she's only sung covers. If she wins X Factor she'll be at the mercy of the record company, her agent, her manager, her publicist. She's not gonna be doing an independent songwriter thing like Kate Nash or Amy McDonald. Selling units will be the ultimate aim and Amy is not commercially successful, Kate is to a degree, but much less so than what would be aimed for in the case of an X Factor winner.

I have no idea what her type of music is, I just think her voice is terrible.

Comment wasn't aimed at you Dudess, it was directed at everyone.
    Fair enough, if you don't think someone can sing, but that's a personal opinion (and this is directed at all posters) and does not justify comments such as "she/he doesn't deserve to be in the competition." They all deserve to be there just as much as the next person.

To reiterate: I think she can sing, as in, hold a tune (albeit not always in tune).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭JP Liz

So long Daniel he did well to last that long he seems like a really decent fella

Has little Eoghan a crush on annoying Diana?????????

The judges are picking terrible songs i would prefer the contestants pick their own song choices

Leona Lewis butchered Snow Patrol's great track Run why has she been given permission to sing this track she should stick to the Mariah or Whitney big ballads :mad:

How come Cheryl Cole gets more airtime and speaking time that any of the other judges wtf does she know she is in a band as eye candy only Nadine is the only singer in Girls Aloud

JP Liz wrote: »
    So long Daniel he did well to last that long he seems like a really decent fella

The judges are picking terrible songs i would the contestants pick their own song choices

Leona Lewis butchered Snow Patrol's great track Run why has she been given permission to sing this track she should stick to the Mariah or Whitney big ballads :mad:

How come Cheryl Cole gets more airtime and speaking time that any of the other judges wtf does she know she is in a band as eye candy only Nadine is the only singer in Girls Aloud
    I need an opposite to "thanks" for that post!

Leona's cover of Run was amazin

I likes how she paced it, then let go at the end

Sure noone would even know about Run if it wasnt for her Live Lounge cover

And Nadine isnt that great a singer tbh. Nicola and Sarah are much better than her

I think their song Promise sounds so bad live because its in too high a key for the whole band. They could clean it up in the studio production, but not live

Yeah, I don't see how Leona Lewis "butchered" Snow Patrol's Run. I thought her performance was fantastic - if a bit OTT. LOL at the 80s-ness with the huge choir and dry ice... :D

Diana's performance of Coldplay's Yellow - now that was butchering... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

JP Liz wrote: »

Absolutely. She fancies him as well. Blatently obvious.

Speaking of Eoghan, himself and Aston in this video :D :

http://xfactor.itv.com/videos/video-detail/item_200445.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Yeah, I don't see how Leona Lewis "butchered" Snow Patrol's Run. I thought her performance was fantastic - if a bit OTT. LOL at the 80s-ness with the huge choir and dry ice... :D

Diana's performance of Coldplay's Yellow - now that was butchering... :)

I completely agree. And this comes from someone who loves Snow Patrol's version of run. I thought it was fantastic. (Leona's version.)

And I think at this stage it's a given that I don't like Diana!