Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

global warming my h*le

• 03-07-2008 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭

have you looked outside ?

I cannot believe people are falling for this crock of sh*t, if it was warm they'd tell us it was because of GW - is raining we're told its coz of GW.

crock of sh*t I tell you, crock of sh*t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I concur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Did you not get the memo? They changed it to climate change instead of global warming a while back to counter this exact argument. Crafty feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

feckers have also been telling us every year for the last three years that we are gona have a ton of hurricanes when in fact there has been below average activity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

utick wrote: »
    feckers have also been telling us every year for the last three years that we are gona have a ton of hurricanes when in fact there has been below average activity

Thats because I stand in different fields each day and wave my arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I blame manbearpig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

Ever notice how the folks over at Mozilla seem to believe in this global warming malark? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

javaboy wrote: »
    Did you not get the memo? They changed it to climate change instead of global warming a while back to counter this exact argument. Crafty feckers.
    science guy"hey science friends,i discovered that climate,like,changes!" science guy's friends "dude what??No way man!" science guy "dude i know!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I blame that Al Gore guy. He comes across as such a goody two shoes but check this out:
    LINK

I heard he even kept sketch while Monica Lewinsky was serving her country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,475 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

well the rain gets up in the sky because of the warmer weather... we get the water, england get the warm weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Now is the time to sell all our junk on ebay before this global warming ..or rain sets in for good ;)
    eolhc wrote: »
    well the rain gets up in the sky because of the warmer weather... we get the water, england get the warm weather

Tis true, apart from the odd lil shower it's being quite sunny and warm here all week

* probably wake up to a monsoon tomorrow morning * :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

latchyco wrote: »
    Now is the time to sell all our junk on ebay before this global warming ..or rain sets in for good ;)

Tis true, apart from the odd lil shower it's being quite sunny and warm here all week

* probably wake up to a monsoon tomorrow morning * :rolleyes:

And money is absolutely worthless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭Jackovarian

i blame william wallace... dunno why. random blame generator...

And money is absolutely worthless.

Will worry about that later :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

ireland should have the weather of southern spain by this stage, at least thats what they told us :( spain on the other hand should have been a desert by now :P

i remember growing up in the 1980s and some amazing summers like 1984, the sun hasn't shone here for the last month it seems, raining every day, grey skies :mad:

in fairness tho, global warming doesnt actually mean we will get warmer.

for us it means the slowing of the gulf stream, so we will actually get colder! our weather will probably just reach a point of pure crap, like now. todays weather all year round. so yeah... it aint gona get warmer folks, just more bland.

I remember the summer heatwave of 76. Not a mention of global warming then and that was some summer ,a real hot summer

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

+1000
    A load of old **** this global warming nonsense is.

what about the summer heat wave of august 2003, i missed that because i was in france and switzerland at the time and it was a bit hot over there, paris was like an oven

somebody please help me, i think my mind is going to melt

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

The weather will improve in the next 10 days I think. Until then :P

Beware of the floods this weekend aswell. Gonna be alot of rain.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

IIRC it used to snow more when I was young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

IIRC it used to snow more when I was young.

Them were the days :rolleyes:

i never remember that much snow this side of the country in my lifetime, my dad talks about the heavy snow in the 1960s and 1970s though. we did have a white christmas here in 2004, never thought i would ever see that in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I live on a hill overlooking a low flat plain, that a few miles further on, reaches the sea. Is it too soon to capitalise on global warming by building a harbour and marina at the bottom of my driveway?

If a lot of like-minded and forward thinking people, like me, did this now, then the construction industry would be back on its feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

rossie1977 wrote: »
    what about the summer heat wave of august 2003, i missed that because i was in france and switzerland at the time and it was a bit hot over there, paris was like an oven

**** yeah! it was like 30 degrees. absolutely roasting. remember lying outside all day on a deck chair :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

javaboy wrote: »
    I blame that Al Gore guy. He comes across as such a goody two shoes but check this out:
    LINK

I heard he even kept sketch while Monica Lewinsky was serving her country.

sadly though he is making a profit off of pushing Hybrid Engines on everyone. sneaking fat bastard. And wheres my electric car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

The weather is so crap lately :( I want some sun!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I believe the term is "Global Warming" not "Global Drying"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Publicans will be using it as an excuse to ramp up the price of drink next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

It's obvious what we must do fellow boardsies. We shall each go out and buy gas guzzling SUVs, knock down cyclists and belch out as much cr@p as we can till we get the temperatures we want!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭turgon

SUVs

SUV's are for the past. Hummers are the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

turgon wrote: »
    SUV's are for the past. Hummers are the future.

/Slaps face

How could I be so blind! Thank you brother turgon for turning me to the light! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

RobAMerc wrote: »
    if it was warm they'd tell us it was because of GW - is raining we're told its coz of GW.

GW is a very powerful AI, I wouldn't second guess it....

Where did I leave my coat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

global warming my h*le

Tell me, exactly how warm has it made your h*le?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

zomg conspiracy! Global warming is nothing but a sinister plot perpetuated by rich capitalists so that they can further strengthen their grip on humanity! Tell everyone you know! Facists! Hitler! Evil!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Yeah, Global Warming is all a giant hoax... all those giant fúcking iceshelves, breaking off and melting into the seas on the other hand...

And you "Global Warming nay-sayers" are guilty of some bending crap too, when people point out continuous rain in the summertime as a sign of climate change, we get "sure this is Ireland, what did you expect?". Uhmm, I expect the weather we got today, for the majority or near majority of the summer, like we used to have when I was growing up...

But what the hell, my boat is ready. Had to sacrifice a few tinfoil hats to make it, but you guys didnt really need them anyways so what the hell...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

http://www.independent.co.uk/environment/climate-change/why-canada-is-the-best-haven-from-climate-change-860001.html

Don't worry lads, we'll be grand. All we need do is build a large perimeter fence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Jimkel

Ivan wrote: »
    Yeah, Global Warming is all a giant hoax... all those giant fúcking iceshelves, breaking off and melting into the seas on the other hand..

Ice breaks off when the Ice is expanding, not melting. sorry:eek:

If anyones in doubt it's a hoax, please read http://www.middlebury.net/op-ed/global-warming-01.html
    Now it's a real science article written by real independant scientists, and please don't comment on me if you have not read the article, I am not an internet anarchist trying to undermine anyones beliefs or fears, I am trying to spread a little light on the issue so people will not worry about things that do not exist.

And before I get accused I am NOT a conspiracy theorist, I am a down to Earth guy who uses allot of chemistry in work, and have a decent grasp of science and an even better grasp of common sense.

ICE CAPS ARE GROWING
    ..At least It's highly evident that they are.
    Don't believe me...Ask NASA

http://www.nasa.gov/lb/vision/earth/environment/sea_ice.html

Oh right, my bad. I was sick that day the teacher told us that melting ice magically reverts to frozen ice again. And of course the holes in the ozone layer is just a hoax. Or is it an unverified scientific claim? No wait - I get it; its a natural progression of the planet and humanity has had no affect on it either way?

My interpretation of a 50 degree global temperature increase since roughly the begining of the industrial age is incorrect because I'm not a "real science person" nor a "real independant scientist". Also, the unquestionable drop in global average temperature of 12/9/2001, (the day after September 11th when the majority of American planes were grounded) is almost certainly unrelated because an independant science website believes we are reacting too agressively to climate change.

And no, I wont bother including my sources. No I dont really care if you believe my quoted numbers since I have no citations. Yes I am aware this isnt wikipedia. No, I didnt bring up nazis...

Nasa wrote:
    Sea Ice May Be on Increase in the Antarctic: A Phenomenon Due to a Lot of 'Hot Air'?
    Jimkel wrote: »
    ICE CAPS ARE GROWING
    ..At least It's highly evident that they are.
    Don't believe me...Ask NASA

http://www.nasa.gov/lb/vision/earth/environment/sea_ice.html

Key point is in bold. And yes, the planet may be readjusting itself to our stumbling about in the proverbial dark here. We just dont know. Up until a few years ago, America officially didnt acknowledge that there was any Climate change going on. Natural or otherwise. Research is needed, millions of dollars is required for this research. But at the rate we are going, by the time we've gotten the money for these investigations it may be too late. So you'll have to forgive us, if some people have decided to skip (or shorten) the middle step and just assumed the worst...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭mthd

gas guzzling

does this phrase annoy anyone else or is it just me?

ITS ****ING PETROL

(or diesel)

Its an American phrase. Its gasoline in America. You might as well get upset by Fall or "Football" or The "World Series" of baseball...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭mthd

Its an American phrase. Its gasoline in America. You might as well get upset by Fall or "Football" or The "World Series" of baseball...

I would be annoyed if irish people started using those aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Well, whether GW is natural or caused by man or (my personal suspicion) a combination of both, this summer so far is close enough to what I have heard "climate change" experts predict as the way Irish summers will go ...

and I'm sick of it! :(

Key point is in bold.

If you had read my first link in this thread you would see that they are growing.

Look I totally agree that as a species we are in the process of screwing everything up. And Yes the world has gone through a temp increase over the past century but since early this century it has begun to decline.

But instead of us focusing on bogus issues like "reducing our carbon footprint" we Should be focusing on the real issues at hand, Food crisis, Imminent Fuel shortage, I hate pollution but CO2 is not the issue, in fact the more CO2 we have in our atmosphere the better it is for life on this planet, especially plants which is a good thing considering the food crises. I never buy a plastic bag if I can help it and try to recycle as much as I can, I donate when I can to the 3rd world and I cycle everywhere. I do believe there is a problem and I am "green" aware. The real issues for me are overpopulation, World hunger, Fuel shortages and War not Carbon emmisions or the Earths natural cycle.

Does the fact that Mars is warming at the same rate as Earth tell you nothing?

http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2007/02/070228-mars-warming_2.html

CO2 does not cause global warming, the sun does. CO2 is called a Trace Element for a reason, there is very little of it and it is widely dispersed. In fact mankind accounts for only 2% of all CO2 produced in the world and because only some of of the suns spectrum are absorbed by this it cannot account for more then 8% of the Earths temperatures. Nature accounts for the rest of the CO2 emmisions, the other 98%, and as the sun heats the Earth CO2 levels Rise. CO2 comes off our Earth as heat radiates upwards. The reason why we detected rising CO2 over the past few decades is because the Earth is getting warmer, which as I said is caused by the sun and NOT the other way round.

Do you know that it is historical fact that there was a mini Iceage in the 17th century, and that before that the world was as hot as it is today? and that these are just natural cycles that have been around since this our solar system began, albeit in different extremes?

The Climates natural cycle is caused as the Earths poles change over the centurys, causing ice ages and warmer ages This is also effected by the suns cycles of iridescence. It is, in the long run unpredictable, uncontainable and unstoppable.

We are just unlucky/Lucky enough to be around when this cycle peaks and begins to fall, Science believes it peaked somewhere between the 1930's and the early 21st century and is currently cooling, Problem is that natural emmisions take a long time to catch up with the sun, so we're at the arkward stage of these cycles, many scientests see this petering out in the next 15 years or so to a cooler global climate and possibally a new ice age, maybe a minor one in the coming centurys.

As for the Ozone layer, of course I believe there is a hole, It has been proven. Good news is that the Ozone layer is on the mend, since CFC's and the like have not been used in a good portion of the world for some years now. Storms help replenish the Ozone layer and according to National Geographic and NASA the hole is beginning to shrink.

I am not getting at you, I just want to try add some balance from a different perspective, I don't like to see people becoming distressed when their is no need. There is little we can do to stop global warming, when the sun feels like giving us a break we will enter a cool cycle, in fact we may have already entered it. The reason why We have experienced so much rain these past 2 summers is because the biggest "greenhouse" gas, namely Water vapour is at a high, and what goes up must come down. ;)

don't cattle produce more co2 through farting than all of mankinds toys put together.

i read somewhere that cows are a major cause of things like acid rain, river and sea pollution, desertification and that it takes something like 1000 litres of water to produce one litre of milk :eek:

Did you hear that absolute moron on the Last word yesterday?
    Matt Cooper schooled that vegetarian hippy douchebag.
    With his moronic comments about how meat eating is causing climate change.
    Go choke on some soy milk with your psuedo science you totally uninformed moron.
    Pontificating to me about ****.
    Goddamn moron.

Did you hear that absolute moron on the Last word yesterday?
    Matt Cooper schooled that vegetarian hippy douchebag.
    With his moronic comments about how meat eating is causing climate change.
    Go choke on some soy milk with your psuedo science you totally uninformed moron.
    Pontificating to me about ****.
    Goddamn moron.

this is an interesting article, the UN agree with the hippy douchebag it seems http://maleist.blog.co.uk/2007/05/22/cow_farts_more_damaging_to_planet_than_c~2315470

That crap's been around for years.
    The cmplexity of the (wrong) vegetarian argument relates to land usage for livestock vs. vegetation and the CO2 from agricultural production. It's a spurious load of nonsense endorsed by hippie lecturers.