Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Torres getting subbed off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,018 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

mike65 wrote: »
    Xavi6 - Xabi/Xavi, its all Zeds!

Mike.

Lol well the reason it's Xavi is cause he's from Catalunya. If he was from the Basque region it'd be Xabi as in Xabi Alonso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

An Citeog wrote: »
    I never suggested that Güiza should start the next match. All I'm saying is that Torres isn't unsubstitutable and for people to be getting outraged at that is fairly pathetic imo. I thought Torres had a poor game tonight and Aragones was right to bring Güiza on. He scored a goal aswell, which vindicated his manager's decision.

As for Fabregas starting the final, if Villa is out, Aragones wont have that big of a selection headache. He's done well coming on as a sub but I'd till rate Xavi and Iniesta as better players than him. Just my personal opinion though.

I agree that he normally conducts himself well on the pitch but I thought he acted like a bit of a spoilt brat in the first half. There was one incident in particular where he wanted a foul given and when it wasn't, he just sat on the ground complaining to the ref ala Ronaldo.

Please don't ever, ever compare Torrres to Ronaldo!! i know some people will attempt to, but Torres is so much classier on and off the pitch, i honestly don't think it needs stating!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,574 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

monkey9 wrote: »
    Please don't ever, ever compare Torrres to Ronaldo!!

Your Right! Ronaldo ever day of the week, proven winner, Torrres (even with 3 r's) has won fúck all!

Arigones is a poor manager, apartently he only plays Torres because he is pressured to.

If he had any sort of bollix he would have made the decision last night of dropping him and playing Fabergas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

we're talking about his attitude.

as a big thick corkonian bouncer said to me the other weekend, "jog on".

Mr Alan wrote: »
    we're talking about his attitude.

How Noble. :rolleyes: I'll lace my sneakers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Is Boggles going for Charmer of the Year award?

Mike.

Mike.

No.

Boggles.

Mike.

He is the manc version of me.

When I'm hyper.

And feeling a little less intelligent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

No. He was quality in Spain, quality in the last World Cup and I think he's done well in this tournament, just not at his very best.

Nipplenuts was not saying Torres ain't quality, but maybe not the saviour of the universe he's painted to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

nipplenuts wrote: »
    Nipplenuts was not saying Torres ain't quality, but maybe not the saviour of the universe he's painted to be.

No-one is saying he's a saviour. The arguement is that Torres is being treated like sh!te by Aragones and to be taking him off when he can score at any moment no matter how quiet he is is ridiculous

monkey9 wrote: »
    No-one is saying he's a saviour. The arguement is that Torres is being treated like sh!te by Aragones and to be taking him off when he can score at any moment no matter how quiet he is is ridiculous

He brought on a striker that did actually score. Was he wrong?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Saviour of the universe may be going a litle to far but:
    • Joined Atlético Madrid aged 11 after scoring 55 goals in a season
    • Atlético sent an U-15 team to a Europe wide tournament, which they won and Torres was voted best in Europe at his age level
    • Made his full debut for Atlético in 2001 aged 17 and scored his first senior goal a week later
    • At 19 he was named club captain, led his team to UEFA cup final
    • Has appeared in Euro 2004, WS 2006 and now Euro 2008
    • 82 goals in 214 league games for Atlético
    • Best debut season of any foreign striker in the EPL
    • First LFC player since Fowler to score 20+ league goals in a season
    • Equalled Roger Hunt's record of scoring in 8 consecutive Anfield games
    • 33 goals in 47 games for LFC
    • Important goals scored away from home in ECL including LFC.tv goal of the season away to Marseille, not to mention scoring in the San Siro

Not bad for a 24 year old...

Saviour of the universe may be going a litle to far but:
    • Joined Atlético Madrid aged 11 after scoring 55 goals in a season
    • Atlético sent an U-15 team to a Europe wide tournament, which they won and Torres was voted best in Europe at his age level
    • Made his full debut for Atlético in 2001 aged 17 and scored his first senior goal a week later
    • At 19 he was named club captain, led his team to UEFA cup final
    • Has appeared in Euro 2004, WS 2006 and now Euro 2008
    • 82 goals in 214 league games for Atlético
    • Best debut season of any foreign striker in the EPL
    • First LFC player since Fowler to score 20+ league goals in a season
    • Equalled Roger Hunt's record of scoring in 8 consecutive Anfield games
    • 33 goals in 47 games for LFC
    • Important goals scored away from home in ECL including LFC.tv goal of the season away to Marseille, not to mention scoring in the San Siro

Not bad for a 24 year old...

Not bad at all, still no Ronaldo thou.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 759 ✭✭✭gixerfixer

Bubs101 wrote: »
    Torres was terrible today, he got into positions but didn't bring his shooting boots at all. He missed from 6 yards today. Not exactly on form. If your lone striker hasn't really come close to scoring and has fluffed his two best shots and you have another 25 goal scorer who has hit the onion bag in the tournament already then you should bring him on. Aragones was right

Do you watch football much at all? Completely stupid comment.Torres has played a blinder in the tournament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭gucci

Boggles wrote: »
    Not bad at all, still no Ronaldo thou.

Thankfully :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭colly10

nipplenuts wrote: »
    I was going to start a similar thread. Does anyone else think the EPL flatters this player? He hasn't looked quite the boy wonder Sky Sports make him out to be. (Nor has C Ronaldo looked so good either) Maybe they're on their holidays :D

Not going to discuss Ronaldo. The style of football that Spain play does not really suit torres, they play mostly a slow buildup through the midfield, when they're at this the opposition tends to drop alot deeper and this reduces the space available to play a ball through to him. He has aslo bee crowded out in this tournement.
    I think Aragones (sp?) isn't the best anyway, Torres is a confidence player and you can see that being subbed is affecting him, he feels he has to score and is under pressure, he is normally very cool but I could see him rushing last night.
    You would also have to question the time he chose to sub him, 5 minutes after Torres came off the russian back line began to push forward more, the space that was created would have been perfect for Torres.
    As for the talk of him not being up to it, the prem is not a weak league and he has done it in the CL (to Liverpools style with Gerrard knowing how to feed him). The only defence in the prem that really seem to boos him is Chelsea's and he has said himself that he rates Carvalio (sp?) as the best defender in the prem

gixerfixer wrote: »
    Do you watch football much at all? Completely stupid comment.Torres has played a blinder in the tournament

Are we watching the same tournament??

Words like Banjo and Donkeys arsé spring to mind!

he has played better than the best player in the world did in the tournament.

that'll do for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,296 ✭✭✭✭event

honestly, i dont really see the issue here

he was subbed in the first game, wrongly probably but they were 2-0 up at the time. Fabregas came on, set up one goal and scored another. This vindicated the managers decision.

in the second game, he played 90 minutes and scored a goal.

In the third game he didnt play

In the fourth game he was subbed wrongly, should have stayed on.

last night he was subbed and his replacement scored.

So he has been subbed 3 times and in two of those times, the guy who came on has scored.

Im sorry to say, that if rafa did this, he would be seen as a tactical genius, much like against chelsea when he brought on babel. Most people here criticised it but a lot of pool fans defended it, as babel scored. Whats the difference here lads?

BTW, i dont have any issue with torres, i think he's class and personally i wouldnt take him off, but the decision has been vindicated.

he has played better than the best player in the world did in the tournament.

that'll do for me.

Arshavin? :D

Boggles wrote: »
    Your Right! Ronaldo ever day of the week, proven winner, Torrres (even with 3 r's) has won fúck all!

Arigones is a poor manager, apartently he only plays Torres because he is pressured to.

If he had any sort of bollix he would have made the decision last night of dropping him and playing Fabergas.

Ive been reading your comments over the last few weeks boogles and to be honest it's as plain as day that you are trolling to get a rise out of liverpool fans.I gave you the benifit of the doubt before because you said you where entitled to post on every thread etc....(even though you post on the liverpool thread more than Manchester united thread),but now you have proved otherwise that you are in fact just a **** and it's TBH very childish.People like you are the reason that most discussions on the soccer boards get turned into liverpool V Manchester United arguements when some people can see past the the dislike both sets of fans have for one another and just discuss a point without it turning into Torres is a **** or Gerrard has won **** all or Scholes is **** because he cant tackle etc......Grow the **** up lad,but i doubt you will so for now i'll be hitting the ignore button as it's the only way to deal with trolls.

event wrote: »
    Most people here criticised it but a lot of pool fans defended it, as babel scored. Whats the difference here lads?

First off, he was injured against Chelsea, which is why he was taken off.

Secondly, i think wat is annoying me personally is that the very people who would have criticised Rafa on the night about the change are now defending Aragones. they just want a pop at Torres/Rafa/whoever they can get their hands on.

Im gonna ask you the same question. He was very poor last night and for me, overall, hasnt been great this tournament. Last night he missed a few sitters and didnt look like the player he looks at Anfield. He looks sulkier and has dived a fair bit also.

Also, there has been the suggestion before about him that he's best when he's the "big fish", ie not in a team full of stars. Now no disrespect to Liverpool, but take out Gerrard and Torres and you have a team of good players but not stars and Torres certainly is the "big fish" there now (along with Gerradr". In the Spain team he;s ONE OF the stars along with Villa, Xavi, Iniesta, Fabregas, Silva, Casillas etc etc

If this is something that affects him mentally then he needs to get past that.

NOTE: I think Torres is a super player BTW, Im just trying to be objective.

but now you have proved otherwise that you are in fact just a ****

:eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Villa is no1 as recently he has a better scoring record for Spain then Torres.

Everyone's seen Torres do the business for Lverpool this year but he hasn't exactly set the Euro's alight. Fresh legs last night were needed to put Russia away so Guiza came on.

To be honest though I wouldn't be surprised if there's some negative feelings towards the players who moved away from Spain. Not saying this is why Torrs was subbed but it explains Cesc not starting and Spanish TV giving the MOTM to Iniesta.

Last night he missed a few sitters and didnt look like the player he looks at Anfield. He looks sulkier and has dived a fair bit also.

Objective is not making **** up man, i cant think of a single thing that could be confused for a dive in this tournament? and as for sulkier? pfft

Im gonna ask you the same question. He was very poor last night and for me, overall, hasnt been great this tournament. Last night he missed a few sitters and didnt look like the player he looks at Anfield. He looks sulkier and has dived a fair bit also.

Also, there has been the suggestion before about him that he's best when he's the "big fish", ie not in a team full of stars. Now no disrespect to Liverpool, but take out Gerrard and Torres and you have a team of good players but not stars and Torres certainly is the "big fish" there now (along with Gerradr". In the Spain team he;s ONE OF the stars along with Villa, Xavi, Iniesta, Fabregas, Silva, Casillas etc etc

If this is something that affects him mentally then he needs to get past that.

Complete nonsense.If you took Gerrard and torres out of the liverpool team they would be ordinary(no ****)....is that you Eamo. Torres lead the line brilliantly last night.He worked his arse off for the team and guess what they hammered Russia.People who make these kind of comments are the same as Liverpool fans who say Ronaldo isnt world class (course he is) in other words complete clowns.In case you didnt notice Spain are in the final...you did notice that didnt you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,303 ✭✭✭gucci

Im trying to be subjective too, but obviously I'm a Liverpool supporter so its tricky.
    Was I the only one to think Torres played pretty well last night? Yes he had a horrible miss, off his shoulder, I really dont know what happened. But I thought he worked hard, as did the Russian defence at stopping him. It was actually turning into a ding-dong battle between them, but I knew he would be hauled in after 60 or 65 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

His game is based on pace. He is a lone striker. It's no surprise that he will be the first to be considered to come off to be rested. If Spain/Liverpool were still chasing the game, he would probably stay on, unless the manager wants to change the system. At that point, you decide who you want to take off, and most people would say Villa has been better than Torres.

As for Torres being better in the EPL. that's no surprise at all is it? This has much much better defending consistantly. Also teams in the Euros would have more of an idea of how to deal with Torres, which is to defend deep and take away his pace.

Secondly, i think wat is annoying me personally is that the very people who would have criticised Rafa on the night about the change are now defending Aragones. they just want a pop at Torres/Rafa/whoever they can get their hands on.

Listen there is no one having a pop at Torres/Rafa so get down off your paranoid high horse.

Argones is a weak manager, As I said previously he panders to the Spanish media, Torres weakens the Spanish team, he is used to been the big player and teams like Madrid and Liverpool are built around him.

Torres is fantastic, but he is limited.