Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S04E10 - Revelations [***SPOILERS***]

• 13-06-2008 7:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭

Yep, this is out there, as of about an hour ago. Ripped from the sci-fi webcast this afternoon. The quality is almost as good as the normal 350mb versions, but not quite. A little bit grainier. Still perfectly watchable.

Just watched the first 20 minutes. OMG :D

What did you think of the mid-season finale? 167 votes

Frakkin' A for Adama
    0% 0 votes
    B for Baltar
    83% 140 votes
    C for Crashdown
    15% 26 votes
    D for Dualla
    0% 1 vote
    E for Ellen
    0% 0 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭MrGump

im sure youre not allowed say where u found it, but if u cud pm me where, id be much obliged sir. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

No early night for me tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

MrGump wrote: »
    im sure youre not allowed say where u found it, but if u cud pm me where, id be much obliged sir. :D

pirateDM2505_468x456.jpg
    michael_bay.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭MrGump

Am I to guess based on this two evil men?

Ok: emmmm, Captain Jack + Bay = JackBay.com ?

:P

I know, I know. JohnnyMichaels.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Holeeee Jesus!

2009 can't come soon enough.

HUGE MOTHERFRAKKING SPOILER PIC I JUST TOOK!

click

:D:D:D

What an ending! What the hell happened to earth? Where on earth are they? And when are they?
    I can't believe they're making us wait 'til January(or maybe even longer) to find out! Fúck sake!

/me engages willpower

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

If anyone posts a spoiler without spoiler tags, even though it says spoiler in the title, i will hurt you.

Frakkin' A, what an episode. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

pirateDM2505_468x456.jpg
    michael_bay.jpg

lol
    Holeeee Jesus!

2009 can't come soon enough.

HUGE MOTHERFRAKKING SPOILER PIC I JUST TOOK!

click

:D:D:D

What an ending! What the hell happened to earth? Where on earth are they? And when are they?
    I can't believe they're making us wait 'til January(or maybe even longer) to find out! Fúck sake!

thanks thats my new wallpaper

Morning everyone. Having had time to think,
    where do they go from here?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Best
    Episode
    Ever

i can't believe we have to wait another half a year

it only came back a few months ago :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,541 ✭✭✭duridian

Great ep. Months of painful waiting and wondering now though.
    Well, judging by the devastation around them, I'd say it's obvious that the colonials and rebels have touched down inside the Yes camp in the aftermath of the Lisbon treaty rejection :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,217 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

What an episode. EVERYTHING we expect form BSG at its best.... and more. Thing I love about this series is that
    Ya never know what they are going to do. Wouldn't have put it past them to flush Tigh into space. none of that "Ah, they won't chicken out and do THAT" with BSG
    But
    why did they have to land in Limerick?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

What a fantastic episode!

Edge of the seat stuff all the way.

Where in earth time are they? Whats happened? Whats going to happen?

Frackin hell, I cant wait till next year to find out.

Jumping in 5....4....3...2....1..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Damn...what happens now?
    Where on Earth are they? Looked a bit like new york based on the amount of water around it,I half expected to see the statue of liberty. I assume it is the future,after a world war 3 or something. Damn why do we have to wait so long. And where do we go from here? A fight for earth? Are the other Cylon models (Cavill at al) gone for good,will they be back?

Great how the 4 were revealed,loved how Tigh was willing to have himself put out the airlock for the sake of humanity. So who is the final cylon,D'Anna only wanted the 4 because they were in the fleet,the fifth is not in the fleet? Who the hell is it then?

That scene with Galactica,the base ship and the whole fleet approcahing earth was amazing.

quick question..

Why is there a need to use spoiler tags in the thread when the thread title says [***SPOILERS***]

because a large percentage of the population are idiots

LOL

Truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

pirateDM2505_468x456.jpg
    michael_bay.jpg

Feckin' Classic!! You Sir are a legend! :D LMFAO here! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,952 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Fantastic episode.43 minutes of exhilarating adrenaline packed drama.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

+1. best episdode since the one where Galactica dived into that new caprica planet.

which one of y'all **** voted B?

2 of them, fools :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

Holy ****!

This episode is right up there!

One of the best ever.

I'm blown away.

WHAT THE FRACK HAPPENED TO EARTH!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,082 ✭✭✭✭Stark

You maniacs! You blew it up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

What have people not figured it out yet?
    Earth was not so much the home of the 13th tribe, but more likely the first.

Earth, then Kobol and then Caprica and the Colonies are all part of an evolutionary cycle where man rises, creates sentient life and then through selected breeding and conflict the product of man with his creation - the 'shape of things to come' - becomes the next generation in the cycle. Remember the road they are taking is to 'the end of the human race' - but not through extermination, per say, but selective evolution.

As the man says, all this has happened before and will happen again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

I want to make babies with Bear McCreary, the score to Revelations was simply amazing. :]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭wet-paint

Well, that's the last of the first half of season four, and a great great finish it was. It had everything, and I for one was sure
    Tighe was finally going to get it in the airlock.
    He's the best character in the show I'd venture, and one of the best on sci fi generally today. He's amazing.
    It would have been a decent end for him, none of the fanfare he hates, just get the job done, down and dirty.
    I liked the angle of the viper in it too. Perfectly plausible in the light of everything else that's happened so far. Again, really cool with the signal attracting them all to it.
    I wasn't surprised to see Tori show her true colours, she's just wanting to out herself for ages, and I don't know why. It's only since she found that she was a cylon that she started acting all bitchy.
    It was so sad to see Tirol without Callie when everyone else was rejoicing, and at the same time, it showed Anders and Starbuck side by side. I wonder if she'll be able to live with him being a cylon. I think the Admiral will accept Tighe in time. And Tori, she can go **** herself. She could be a danger too in the future, knowing as much as she does, and being a through and through cylon.
    Strange, that Deanna knew that there were only four of the final five in the fleet, so I guess that rules out everyone we know being the final one.
    And we've to wait til fracking January To find out what happens next? ****ign ghey.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Hmmm, now to be the voice of dissent. I thought it was a reasonably good episode - I wasn't impressed with Adama or Lee's over-reactions to Tigh's confession, or the hand-wavey approach to the passage of time, or the fact that Baltar was apparently inches away from death last episode but spry on his feet in this episode.

The ending felt very over-the-top at first - the ships jumping all at once without reconnaisance was politically expedient but in terms of military operations very stupid, and the celebrations were a bit premature considering they hadn't checked out the planet yet. It did serve to create a nice double-take once they actually arrived on the surface, although the similarity to the ending of Season 2 detracted from it.

I'm interested enough that I will watch the second half of the season. It's still not proved to be anywhere near as good as seasons one and two were, which is a shame; hopefully there's something interesting planned for the final cylon model, and I hope that they don't chicken out and do a "leave it to the viewer's interpretation" on the reason for all the visions that Baltar, Rosalyn and Starbuck have had throughout the show. If they can pull it all together in a coherent way they could still pull off a series conclusion good enough to match the quality and promise of the first two seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

wet-paint wrote: »
    Strange, that Deanna knew that there were only four of the final five in the fleet, so I guess that rules out everyone we know being the final one.

Unless the fifth was one of the colonial hostages on the base ship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Holy frack they're on Earth, never thought it would happen but there ya have it.

Best episode of Galactica there ever has been, it had everything and more...

What an ending, so many questions that It's going to kill us having to wait almost a year for any new episodes, the biggest question on my mind is where do they go from here? what now???

Noticed they were presumably picking up radiation from the soil, aftermath of a nuclear war?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Fenster wrote: »
    I want to make babies with Bear McCreary, the score to Revelations was simply amazing. :]
    +1, buddy. That score was something else entirely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

robby^5 wrote: »
    Holy frack they're on Earth, never thought it would happen but there ya have it.

Best episode of Galactica there ever has been, it had everything and more...

What an ending, so many questions that It's going to kill us having to wait almost a year for any new episodes, the biggest question on my mind is where do they go from here? what now???

Noticed they were presumably picking up radiation from the soil, aftermath of a nuclear war?
    Yup, I think I know the spot they were standing at too, It's in Brooklyn, looking out to Manhattan.(though i remain open to correction ;))

I wish the poll was public now. Mods? Curious who gave it an E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭wet-paint

robby^5 wrote: »

Great spoiler dumbass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,082 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Great spoiler dumbass...

Did you not read the great big [***SPOILERS***] in the thread title?

I voted B. Felt that the latter 1/4 of the episode was a bit rushed for the same reason that Fysh, above, did.

- At the end....I think that was a first, right, with the single running cam shot of the whole cast? Very cool.

- I think Michael Hogan deserves some awards for this episode alone.

- Can someone remind me....was the Dying Leader (Roslin, I guess) supposed to set foot on Earth? Or merely just lead them to 'Earth' and than um, die, before setting foot on it? Cos if it's the latter ..... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,284 ✭✭✭Talisman

"Children are born to replace their parents, for children to reach their full potential their parents have to die." That line from Starbuck sums up the final scene for me.

Great spoiler dumbass...

and the prize goes to....

Fysh wrote: »
    The ending felt very over-the-top at first - the ships jumping all at once without reconnaisance was politically expedient but in terms of military operations very stupid, and the celebrations were a bit premature considering they hadn't checked out the planet yet. It did serve to create a nice double-take once they actually arrived on the surface, although the similarity to the ending of Season 2 detracted from it.
    The jumping without any reconaisance was covered in the scene with Roslyn, Lee and the Admiral.
    "Frak it, this is the end of the line, we've got nowhere left to go."

As for the celebrations being premature - WTF? They finally found Earth.

The nuclear wasteland reveal was excellent - typical BSG, no such thing as a happy ending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

moar!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I haven't watched this yet, or even read any of this thread. I just came on to have a look at the poll results. All I can say is: HOLY SH*T!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Talisman wrote: »
    The jumping without any reconaisance was covered in the scene with Roslyn, Lee and the Admiral.
    "Frak it, this is the end of the line, we've got nowhere left to go."

Ah yes, we're at the end of the line according to a series of visions and things that we can't rationally explain. Therefore the most logical course of action is to jump everyone together into what could quite easily be a trap from the other Cylon faction, because "we've got nowhere else to go". Would it have killed them to send a smaller vessel out on a recon mission just to make sure the place was right?
    Talisman wrote: »
    As for the celebrations being premature - WTF? They finally found Earth.

Yes, and 30 seconds of screentime later they were on the surface of the planet and finding out that actually, it's not looking so good as a new home. But hey, why bother checking whether the planet's even got a survivable atmosphere or already inhabited before going mad and celebrating...

Fysh wrote: »
    Yes, and 30 seconds of screentime later they were on the surface of the planet and finding out that actually, it's not looking so good as a new home. But hey, why bother checking whether the planet's even got a survivable atmosphere or already inhabited before going mad and celebrating...
    FFS it's Battlestar Galactica, not Star Trek: The Next Generation.

It's still a bit daft that they couldn't be bothered putting in even a single line of dialogue concerning the planet's atmosphere being hospitable or anything. It's the sort of little detail that can really throw things - a military organisational structure that has just brought all that remains of humanity to what will hopefully be its new home, but they don't bother checking any details other than "well, the planet's there" in terms of whether it will be suitable. It's kind of like tuning in to check the winning Lotto numbers and then saying "Hey, I have a lotto ticket, I WON! WOO!" and then being disappointed later if it turns out that, actually, you didn't win squat.

I know it's not a big thing, but it's the sort of detail that makes the clearly fictional stuff easier to accept. Just because BSG is more of a drama-in-space than a straight sci-fi show doesn't mean they shouldn't get the sci-fi aspects right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 eob

Oh stop being such a bunch of killjoys over BSG protocol... One of the best yet for BSG. I felt like I was being force fed candyfloss with the whole emotional scene of finding earth, but, the ending was pure unadulterated BSG... The whole bleak post war landscape on earth.

What does it mean? This is not their true home?

Ihad a sneaky feeling all along, when it slipped out that it 'wasn't going to be a happy ending' in the media, that earth was going to be a rotten apple, I suspected that considering the show, and RDM in his sci-fi in general, tends to be quite political, that earth was going to be destroyed by either war or pollution, that it would have some take on the earth we live in now, some moral.

What happens next? Utter desolation amongst the fleet, Laura dies of cancer, not willing to go on, people airlock themselves, then the rest of the 'bad' cylons turn up, wipe the fleet out, and that's the end of the show. Lots of emotional scenes of the bridge finally coming crashing in and Adama dying and that sort of thing, and the whole show has some grand message about war, the economy, possibly the Lisbon treaty.

I loved it. \o/

SofaK wrote: »
    - Can someone remind me....was the Dying Leader (Roslin, I guess) supposed to set foot on Earth? Or merely just lead them to 'Earth' and than um, die, before setting foot on it? Cos if it's the latter ..... :)
    Have to bump my earlier comment as I think this is important :pac:

Read back over some old eps, and its making me think more and more that the fleet are not on Earth - or rather they have not reached the Promised Land as mentioned in the prophecies, sacred scrolls etc... (if we are to take them literally). Either there is a different planet they are supposed to end up at - New Earth if you will - or perhaps some planet-changing event will happen to the Earth they are on currently. And perhaps the Final One is waiting at that place..?

The fact that the Dying Leader has set foot on 'Earth', when they are not supposed to according to prophecy (I think), would seem to re-inforce this. RDM is trying to pull a fast one on us, methinks.

Thoughts?