Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I want criminal sentences in Ireland increased and more rights for victims, How?

• 24-05-2008 12:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

I am absolutely fed up of the justice system in this country, everyday crime is getting worse and worse with little or no satisfaction for innocent hardworking victims. Im fed up of the government trying to write off car crime as petty crime, i and many others dont regard our expensive assets being joyridden and burned out, as petty, i actually find it very insulting to suggest so.

Also, i want to see the act of a person kicking another person in the head as attempted murder, assuming the person was lucky enough to survive. Serious assaults are treated in a disgusting manner in Ireland. Doctors will back this up, i know many who say that people are ending up in vegtable like states after random attacks and the crime is just written off as petty assaults whereas if there had been 1 extra kick the victim would be dead and the guards would be looking for a murder. When a person is left in a coma the criminals should be looking at hefty sentences. People are afraid to go on nights out due to all this assaults.

Also, the whole charade of scumbags with multilpe convictions often well into double figures and even hitting close to 100 sometimes are still amongst society causing pain and anguish.

Another failure and joke of the so called justice system is the fact that serious (not petty) criminals are allowed to roam the streets and organise intimidation of victims and witnesses. A person awaiting trial for leaving someone in a coma should not be allowed out.

Another thing i want to see sorted out is the intimidation of victims in Ireland. It is so easy for scumbags to be allowed intimidate victims that complain about them, people are afraid to complain now due to this.

I honestly believe the justice system needs a serious overhaul in this country. I also genuinely feel that the scumbags are beginning to win, they have no fear of consequences, cause they're are none for joyriding/house burgulary, serious assault, etc... All these common crimes need way more tougher sentencing.

This is an issue that Ive had some interest in for a good while now and want to try and get things changed. What can I do, or what do the people of this country have to do to get tougher sentences for crimes committed against them, get involved in politics to try change things, organise mass protests, whats the best way to get the government to take action upon what the majority of the country wants to see. I want to feel relatively safe in my country and also want to be reassured that if a "serious" petty crime is committed against me that the offender is put away for a "serious" amount of time. Why should a hard-working honest person go to work, when scumbags who dont/wont work rob the workers house when at work, joyride his car, then burn his car and then violently assault him at the weekend when he's out for an innocent drink, and these scumbags are getting off absolutely scot free.

More jails are just going to have to be built for taking these dangers/risks to society in general, off of the streets. I dont blame the guards, they generally catch a lot of these scumbags but the court system keep handing down humiliating sentences for the victims and the jails arent big enough to accommodate them. So, i blame the government for not developing more jails and hence restricting sentences to little more than trvial revolving door set-ups.

Feel free to discuss the above and if anyone has any tips how I can get involved in improving the justice for victims and getting criminals put away for longer please tell me, as Im seriously thinking of doing something about this when I finish college.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Ask your sheriff nicely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Well i'm all for wiping out people who are a hindrence to society.

Kill them all and let God sort them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Great post, and I 100% agree.

Violent street crime and lack of any real punishment would be number one on my list if I was ever to get in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

armour87 wrote: »
    Ask your sheriff nicely
    This calls for Baws Niggah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

I suspect that much of the problem is human rights legislation, where it is deemed that a criminal has such rights and so must be treated gently by the law. So I'd guess it's likely that if one who beats another up to steal his mobile phone is sentenced to (say) 20 years in the nick, it would be classed as a "cruel and unusual" punishment. So, perhaps, the first step is to campaign for a change in the law to the effect that anyone who deliberately and calculatingly sets out to harm or injure another or steal his property is deemed to have forfieted his human rights.

He can then be taken outside and flogged senseless:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Trains heading east, then showers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Deputy Dog wrote: »
    i know many who say that people are ending up in vegtable like states after random attacks and the crime is just written off as petty assaults whereas if there had been 1 extra kick the victim would be dead and the guards would be looking for a murder

You'll never get a murder conviction for that! Manslaughter at best.

Dunno what you can do. Michael McDowell was a well respected lawyer and remains one of the top barristers in the country.
    Many people taught he would bring in sweeping and radical changes but in the end, not much changed and the electorate rejected him.

The people have spoken, more of the same please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭gogglebok

Feel free to discuss the above and if anyone has any tips how I can get involved in improving the justice for victims and getting criminals put away for longer please tell me, as Im seriously thinking of doing something about this when I finish college.

Fair play to you for wanting to get involved. It seems like politics or joining the Gardai would be obvious possibilities.

But if you want to be taken seriously in any arena, you need to get some facts together. By what measure is crime getting worse? Worse than when? What are our average sentences for specific offences, and how do they compare to other jurisdictions? How have the differences in those jurisdictions affected their crime figures?

You need to be providing this stuff if you want to distinguish yourself from the ranting heart-attacks-in-waiting who have decried modern standards of everything since time we first loped out of the caves. However admirable the quality of your anger, there is not a single concrete example of anything in your post. That doesn't help to make your case. It will just get you agreement from the people who already agree with you.

To have any chance of changing things politically, I would say there are four key factors:

1. Do the research.
    2. Identify solutions as well as problems.
    3. Cost the solutions.
    4. Present the whole package calmly and forcefully.

A big task, and I wish you luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭ImDave

Great post, your dead right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Fine idea, except that jail doesn't stop people committing crimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

At the next election vote for anyone but FF - might be a start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Collie D wrote: »
    At the next election vote for anyone but FF - might be a start

Yeah Sinn Fein :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭jos28

Great topic and well presented for someone so young. We have never had a government that was serious about crime and that is where the problem lies. As one of the earlier posters said, we expected great things from McDowell but that did not happen. We need a really strong tough and unrelenting Minister for Justice who would oversee a complete overhaul of the sentencing system. I personally would like to see :
    • The end of reduced sentencing
    • Victims rights before criminals rights
    • Accountability for judges, they have to be answerable to someone. If a criminal on bail or early release commits a further crime, then the person who released him/her should be held accountable.
    • The end of time off for good behaviour-time should be added on for bad behaviour
    • No more temporary release for prisoners
    Fair play to you for raising the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

vigilantisim for the win

seriously tho seeing as the stoners wasters and general scumbag population are still asleep i'll give you some iof my ideas

1. you can work you do work; if you want welfare payments then you work for them unless you can't , idle hands and all that.
    2. blame the parents; petty criome caused by kids teaches the little chits that they will get away with stuff so if they act up then fine the parents
    3. propper community service 60 hours a week 6 days a week with night curfew and drink/ drug testing for the duration
    4.arm the gaurds mabey put them in black uniforms if they are armed but arm the feckers not the traffic corp etc but the gaurds need to be guiven the tools to tackle modern situations
    5. if all else fails jail and propper ; hard labour no treats

the current system does not work and the whole thing is gonna colapse around us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭bman

luckat wrote: »
    Fine idea, except that jail doesn't stop people committing crimes.

Do we really care? As long as they're locked up in jail they can't commit crime against the general public.

It'll be interesting to see if anyone comes on to this thread saying that the current system is fine. I believe the OPs opinion is one that is held by the majority of the people in this country. The majority of the people against changing the system are probably the scumbags themselves. Surprising that if so many people think this way that something hasn't been done about it.

Stiffer sentencing and harsher punishments? Yes. There has to be a response to the present system where criminals of all ages just get a slapped wrist. But in many Middle and Far Eastern countries the punishments are much more severe than ours -- hands cut off for stealing, flogging for littering, etc etc, and they still have crime. Personally I think the solution is in the long haul, starting by teaching children that they must respect authority and must behave themselves or face the consequences. Make it plain to them that they haven't yet earned adult rights, and put tape over the mouths of the bleeding heart liberals who will squeal and wet themselves at the thought. Make it very plain to parents, and apply it rigidly, that if their kids misbehave they will be held accountable and WILL be punished firmly. Make the age of adult responsibility 16 years, with the parents responsible until then. If they complain that they can't control their kids, take the kids away from them. Raising children is the most important thing anyone will ever do, so we should expect their best endeavours all the time.

That way maybe eventually people will start to raise kids who become responsible adults and don't think it's fun to kick someone's head in just because they feel like it.

Reason why I feel like this? Some years ago I was driving a company truck through Waterford. Two young girls, I'd guess about 13 years old and in school uniforms, deliberately stepped off the pavement right in front of me, laughing as I was forced to brake hard. I leaned out of the window and shouted "Are you trying to get yourselves killed?" One of them raised a digit at me and shouted "Ah f**k off, c**t." I imagine that they will have turned out to be very responsible adults, but responsible for what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 d_tobin1

I agree with the majority of what was said by the OP. But we need to put the criminal system in a realistis frame here. Ireland has one of the lowest crime rates in the world, and although the level of crime is increasing as a whole the level of serious assaults and murders has actually been decreasing.

In Ireland today the reporting of crime and criminal acts has developed a very sesationalist media report. Everyday we read on the front of 'The Sun', 'Star', etc that some lajor crime took place, or how some criminal has commited some crime. This sort of reporting also is taking place in the broadsheets aswell. The reporting of the recent scandals in the latest tribunal also has been given serious news coverage. All of this undermines the justice system as I see it as it develops a perception in peoples minds that crime is rife among us and that we live in a dangerous society.

Nothing of course could be further from the truth. Murders in this country usually take the form of crimes of passion between family members, the ones unrelated to family matters are as a result of feuding among rival gangs which only takes place in certain areas of the country.

As for petty crime increasing I believe this is a result of the increase in wealth among the general population. In the past petty crime was less due to the fact that people had less valuable personal belongings which would be worth robbing for criminals. Also the lavel of house burgaleries has dropped in recent years due to less lessening in value of items which are capable of being stolen. For instance it is not worth the risk for a criminal to break into a house to steal a dvd player and a few dvd's because of the low sell on value of these items.

The increase in illegal activity in this country though has been on the increase. The classification of this should be limited to the sale and supply of banned or illegal goods. The increase in the sale of these goods can be attributed to the low cost of acquiring these goods and the small criminal convictions faced when prosecuted for possession or sale of these goods.

The only way to stop this sort of crime is to refuse to purchase the goods off those who attempt to supply them. This of course is a large problem to overcome. The country is awash with people who claim to be completely against crime but still purchase cocaine or knockoff dvd's. This has to be stopped if we are to remove this type of criminal, only by stopping demand for this type of good can we hope to stop the supply of these goods.

Sorry about the length but I think its impotant that people realise that we don't live in as criminal a society as is made out, and that the justice system is attempting to do its best but its rather the average citizen who can do the most to stop the petty crime being complained about.

d_tobin1 wrote: »
    Murders in this country usually take the form of crimes of passion between family members, the ones unrelated to family matters are as a result of feuding among rival gangs which only takes place in certain areas of the country.

While I agree with a lot of what you say, and certainly it's true that the media do tend to make banner headlines out of things that would not have reached the public notice years ago, I am not sure about the murder rate. Limerick and Dublin seem to be determined to copy the US Wild West, and so I would ask (I genuinely don't know -- not trying to be clever) how many murders in (say) the last 5 years have been gang and criminal related as against murders of family members etc?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 d_tobin1

While I agree with a lot of what you say, and certainly it's true that the media do tend to make banner headlines out of things that would not have reached the public notice years ago, I am not sure about the murder rate. Limerick and Dublin seem to be determined to copy the US Wild West, and so I would ask (I genuinely don't know -- not trying to be clever) how many murders in (say) the last 5 years have been gang and criminal related as against murders of family members etc?confused.gif

Hi art,

I'm not saying that murders have been only gang or family realted I just recognise that the majority of murders are associated with these.

Read this article :

http://archives.tcm.ie/businesspost/2007/09/30/story26998.asp
    In the first six years of the new century, 64 people were fatally shot in incidents which could be described as gangland-related.
    The vast majority -just under 75 per cent -of gangland killings occurred in the Dublin area. A further 5 per cent were Dubliners who were kidnapped and taken to locations peripheral to the capital prior to their execution-style murders.
    I do agree with what you say about parts of Dublin and Limerick becoming almost Wild-West but Dublin is also the capital with almost half the population living in Dublin or its sourrounding counties. This of course leads to a higher incident of crime. The murders in Limerick are related to the Ryan family feud which has torn the city apart.
    The average homicide rate in EU states is 3 per 100,000, according to the UN Survey of Crime Trends and Operations of Criminal Justice Systems. The homicide rate in Ireland is approximately 1.4 per 100,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭'Ol Jack Chance

wont somebody think of the children!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

The problem is that the judges are completely out of touch with what is going on on the streets, The government, bring in mandatory minimum sentences and the judges refuse to implement them and decide to give say drug dealers 2 to 5 years when the minimum sentence is 10 years.

Get rid of the out of touch judges and make prison a more unpleasant place that'll sort the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Interesting rant OP - are you sure you're not a FG TD in disguise...?

Now here's the problem: Jail. Does. Not Work.

Doesn't matter how long the sentence is, the reoffending rate will always be high. The rule of fear doesn't work because these guys are not scared to lose everything.

Don't get me wrong, jail is fine if all you're looking for a is a quick-fix emotional-reaction solution and a bit of instant revenge, which is what I sometimes believe we want in this country.

Also, where you gonna put all these jails? Building more prisons means more money diverted away from health, education, infrastructure where it's needed. Which means your taxes go up. Which means Deputydog and the rest of the redneck Texas Republicans will be back here moaning again even more vehemnetly.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

The current system certainly isn't working.

Take for example, child abuse. Under our current system, at least 25% of people (personally I think it's a lot higher than that) will continue to get molested and raped by family members. This is totally unacceptable.

Whether more jail or more education/whatever is the solution, I don't know.

If I had to pick something, I would start with compulsory parenting classes, and compulsory therapy sessions a few times per year. Somewhere people can talk openly and honestly about their issues.

I would also introduce some kind of anonymous phoneline which potential abusers/rapists can ring to discuss their (I'm hoping) unwanted, confusing urges.

Something I've often thought - do you ever notice scumbags are uneducated? Does this mean we're all naturally scumbags but it gets educated out of us, or is it just a coincidence?

I dunno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

dublindude wrote: »
    Take for example, child abuse. Under our current system, at least 25% of people (personally I think it's a lot higher than that) will continue to get molested and raped by family members. This is totally unacceptable.

25% :eek:
    Got a link for that as there is no way it's even a fraction of that. Sure how could it be, 25% of all children abused? No way!

Or maybe I just have a sheltered life....

I dunno.

Do you mean 25% of the total population has been abused? Thats an extraordinary figure.

micmclo wrote: »
    25% :eek:
    Got a link for that as there is no way it's even a fraction of that. Sure how could it be, 25% of all children abused? No way!

Or maybe I just have a sheltered life....

Well the organisation "one in four" say it's one in four.

I know this is only my own experience, but out of all the girls I've known well (~50), a lot more than 25% of them have been abused. I really think the problem is a lot bigger than we think.

Well the organisation "one in four" say it's one in four.

I know this is only my own experience, but out of all the girls I've known well (~50), a lot more than 25% of them have been abused. I really think the problem is a lot bigger than we think.

Ah, all credit to 1 in 4 but i dont think the figure is really that high, jeysus that would indicate that......
    na its not worth thinking about.

caoibhin wrote: »
    Ah, all credit to 1 in 4 but i dont think the figure is really that high, jeysus that would indicate that......
    na its not worth thinking about.

Honestly, I think it's higher.

Depressing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

Sherifu wrote: »
    This calls for Baws Niggah.

Brilliant!

Reminded me of Pryor and Blazzin Saddles :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭gogglebok

Something I've often thought - do you ever notice scumbags are uneducated? Does this mean we're all naturally scumbags but it gets educated out of us, or is it just a coincidence?

Scumbags is also a loaded word. It's weighted towards a certain category of criminal. If someone talks about scumbags committing crime, I'd say most of us instantly picture men in tracksuits robbing handbags or starting fights, rather than middle-class people opening bogus non-resident accounts or beating their husbands.

Some other factors might be that it is harder for uneducated people to get out of the social and economic sinkholes that breed so much crime, and harder for people born in them to get education. And it's easier for educated people and their kids to avoid the consequences of their crime. They can navigate the criminal justice system better, and they're more likely to have a social network that includes gardai, judges, and so forth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭jim_bob

Totally agree op, I think they should be made to build their own prisons, bring in the chain gangs and make prison life as hard as possible for them

gogglebok wrote: »
    Scumbags is also a loaded word. It's weighted towards a certain category of criminal. If someone talks about scumbags committing crime, I'd say most of us instantly picture men in tracksuits robbing handbags or starting fights, rather than middle-class people opening bogus non-resident accounts or beating their husbands.

OK, by scumbag I mean someone willing to directly harm you, e.g. mug you, beat you up, spit on you, stab you, damage your property, break into your home, etc.

I don't mean the accountant ciphening money off shore.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

gogglebok wrote: »
    However admirable the quality of your anger, there is not a single concrete example of anything in your post. That doesn't help to make your case. It will just get you agreement from the people who already agree with you.

To have any chance of changing things politically, I would say there are four key factors:

1. Do the research.
    2. Identify solutions as well as problems.
    3. Cost the solutions.
    4. Present the whole package calmly and forcefully.
    Sound advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jim_bob wrote: »
    Totally agree op, I think they should be made to build their own prisons, bring in the chain gangs and make prison life as hard as possible for them

....and how are you going to deal with building contractors and security consultants screamign at you that you're taking work away from them...?

Come to think of it, are you sure trusting criminals to build secure detention centre is a good idea?!! It's a bit like asking George Bush to chair Greenpeace and expecting Climate Change to be sorted out.

Honestly, some of the ideas expressed in here have to be the most hilarious and short-sighted knee-jerks I've ever read on boards, and THAT is saying something!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Papad

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Now here's the problem: Jail. Does. Not Work.

Doesn't matter how long the sentence is, the reoffending rate will always be high. The rule of fear doesn't work because these guys are not scared to lose everything.

Don't get me wrong, jail is fine if all you're looking for a is a quick-fix emotional-reaction solution and a bit of instant revenge, which is what I sometimes believe we want in this country.

Also, where you gonna put all these jails? Building more prisons means more money diverted away from health, education, infrastructure where it's needed. Which means your taxes go up. Which means Deputydog and the rest of the redneck Texas Republicans will be back here moaning again even more vehemnetly.

This is the reason why the country's judicial system is a mess.
    A minority of like-minded individuals is apparently ruling the roost at the moment. And if you disagree with the current system, you are a redneck Texas Republican.

Papad wrote: »
    This is the reason why the country's judicial system is a mess.
    A minority of like-minded individuals is apparently ruling the roost at the moment. And if you disagree with the current system, you are a redneck Texas Republican.

It's not a case of disagreeing with it - it's pretty evident that the current system is not working. And it's the conservatives who are in power at the moment, don't forget, who are promoting the rule-by-fear system which, as discussed, is not working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

actually i saw a graph for executions in america and the more executions the less murders took place, and when the numbers executed feel the murder rate rose.

and about prison not working because the criminals will reoffend, how about locking them up for life and haveing a reoffending rate of 0%, and as they say if you cant do the time dont do the crime.

Also get sick of hearing a criminal get a sentance for say 5 years then the judege will let them out a year early for good behaviour, i think it would be much better to add a year on if they dont behave

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

how much tax do you want to give the government to fund this?

utick wrote: »

and about prison not working because the criminals will reoffend, how about locking them up for life and haveing a reoffending rate of 0%

Jesus, they get worse.

EVERY criminal? EVERY crime? There's be more peopel inside than out!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Krsnik87

Police State FTW YAY!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

OK, by scumbag I mean someone willing to directly harm you, e.g. mug you, beat you up, spit on you, stab you, damage your property, break into your home, etc.

I don't mean the accountant ciphening money off shore.

I think every person is born with capacity to mug,beat up, stab etc. People grow up in an environment that shapes them. Some people grow up in good backgrounds but get mixed up with dodgy people and situations. Lot of crime is drug related and while having little sympathy for criminals I can understand why an otherwise decent person who becomes addicted to drugs does some of the bad things they do. No one wants to become a drug addict but once you're addicted (no matter what your socioeconomic background) you will do anything to fuel your addiction and your normal morals are discarded.

None of the scumbags I grew up with had drug problems...

I'm not saying you're wrong ronbyrne2005, but I think the "they're junkies" line is overused.

I think there are simply a lot of scummy humans in this world.

This is just my little theory I invented today, but I do think education educates the scum out of people...

Certainly from my own personal experience, when I am going through phases of study I am a lot more thoughtful and gentle than my non-study phases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

caoibhin wrote: »
    Trains heading east, then showers.

ffs caoibhin :rolleyes: this one's wearing real thin at this stage...

but it does have a plus, the gougers go in as scumbags, and come out as bars of soap ;)

now THAT'S progress :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Mickelodian

You see the problem here is that crime actaully does pay. If your not particularly well gifted in the brains department and you wanna earn a few euro then simply ripping others off with no downside is a pretty cool idea.

Now if we wanted it all to stop its pretty simple... An 'AUTOMATIC' sentence on conviction of ANY crime of ten years... plus whatever normal time ... and you can get OFF the ten year sentence by agreeing to a GPS based tag.

The GPS based tag would then follow you for ten years...

If you decide you don't want the tag... fair enough that'll be your vitims safe for a full decade at least.

Problem solved... and needless to say if you were a career criminal then your friends would give you a pretty wide berth when they seen your tag!.. if its following you about... its also following them.

Slight change of subject here though ...as I'd rather PREVENT the crime rather than punish the perpetrator...

You see I live about 200 yards from Ballymun... well in fact I practically live IN ballymun... so I'm now in the process of safeguarding the huge amount of money I spent on technology in my home... theres a lot of it... and just in case theres any educated scumbags reading this I'd better not say how much... ;)

So I've decided to install an addition to my home network... basically a proactive security system that will actively use force on an intruder...

It will be computer controlled and autonomous with the ability to inflict reasonable force to protect my property and other occupants.
    As during the recent Nally case the rights and responsibilities of the occupier are foremost in my mind here. It wouldn't do to be arrested for my security system killing some little s*it!

This is my primary question… if a system like this accidentally kills an intruder am I responsible? The systems preferred method of incapacitation is mild electrocution. This would increase in intensity to a point where the trespasser is eventually overwhelmed.

I’m giving my rights in this matter to a security system and am therefore using such force by proxy. The system uses biometric data and is not as clever as you or I. like all technology it could be prone to making errors of judgment.

For example at present there is a small chance it might fail to recognize that a trespasser has fallen and hurt themselves and would continue to administer force. Since I’m a programmer I can fix this…but what about all of the possibilities I can’t consider.

A way out or ‘retreat’ would at all times be open to the trespasser if they wish to avail of it. The systems job is to protect my property, itself, occupants and indeed the trespasser and get them out of the house as fast as possible.

From what I read of current legislation this system is okay…from what I’ve read it even complies with the EU convention on human rights. However I would not like to see a point in the future where I’m charged with manslaughter because some stupid burglar decided to ignore 10 separate verbal and visual warnings then fell down the stairs as the voltage got higher.

The problem with all this is I'd much prefer the Oklahoma 'MAke My Day' law which says that if someone enters my home, or looks as if they are about too...even if they are unarmed I can blow their f*cking brains out if I feel like it with immunity to prosecution.... but what can you do.. we life in pansy land!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,675 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

micmclo wrote: »
    Dunno what you can do. Michael McDowell was a well respected lawyer and remains one of the top barristers in the country.
    Many people taught he would bring in sweeping and radical changes but in the end, not much changed and the electorate rejected him.

He was a tool as much as any of them and incapable of acting evenhandedly.
    Politicians will always go after the easy win and make life difficult for the law abiding quicker than endure the difficulties and associated risks of failure that go hand in hand with tackling the real problems.
    Sort the country from the top down I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

I am absolutely fed up of the justice system in this country, everyday crime is getting worse and worse with little or no satisfaction for innocent hardworking victims. Im fed up of the government trying to write off car crime as petty crime, i and many others dont regard our expensive assets being joyridden and burned out, as petty, i actually find it very insulting to suggest so.

proof that it is getting worse?

/ you do know that we have one of the lowest crime rates in the world, don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Now if we wanted it all to stop its pretty simple... An 'AUTOMATIC' sentence on conviction of ANY crime of ten years... plus whatever normal time ... and you can get OFF the ten year sentence by agreeing to a GPS based tag.

The GPS based tag would then follow you for ten years...

If you decide you don't want the tag... fair enough that'll be your vitims safe for a full decade at least.

Problem solved... and needless to say if you were a career criminal then your friends would give you a pretty wide berth when they seen your tag!.. if its following you about... its also following them.

Genius but there is one or two slight flaws with the idea. Where do we house the thousands of extra prisoners this would create and how do we pay for it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Op I respect the thread is irish based but it could equaly be about Britain .the world and it's dog are crying out for harder punishment and stiffer sentences, up and down the lenght and breath of uk, the ordinary man and womon in the street is screaming it from the roof tops for it ,for all the right reasons and incidents you mention .

I admire the lady who shopped her two sons to the police last week for seriously assulting a man .They are now doing the time .We need more like her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

latchyco wrote: »
    Op I respect the thread is irish based but it could equaly be about Britain .the world and it's dog are crying out for harder punishment and stiffer sentences, up and down the lenght and breath of uk, the ordinary man and womon in the street is screaming it from the roof tops for it ,for all the right reasons and incidents you mention .

I admire the lady who shopped her two sons to the police last week for seriously assulting a man .They are now doing the time .We need more like her

And yet longer prison sentences in the US do nothing to reduce crime. Interesting.