Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shocking! - Car robbery attempt, burned instead!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

E92 wrote: »
    All performance cars need their own digital CCTV system(one that is very good at resisting fire obviuosly) that can clearly and readily identify individuals that are up to this sort of behaviour.

I'm normally the last person to encourage nanny state-ism but on this occasion it really is needed.

In fairness that's not very practical is it...

I've never been in the market for an exotic/rare/expensive car but could be in the future. However I have to agree with previous posters who say that a big consideration would be the type of trouble it would draw. Especially to your home/family :eek:

I love cars but if i go away for a weekend to Cork/Galway etc. and do not feel comfortable leaving it in a reasonably safe place it's really more trouble than it's worth.

I agree these people are scum etc. but it's just a fact of life that if you buy a car(s) that attracts that much attention and get too hung up on 'possessions' there will be a downside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

cashmni1 wrote: »
    I agree, lets look at the bigger picture here. If a criminal gets caught setting fire to a car, he probally won't go to jail, previous offences or not.
    They catch me speeding, no NCT or no tax they take my car away from me.
    (not quite but you get the picture).
    The Motorist. Just an easy target.
    +1 billion. But the holier than thou do gooder PC left wing socialist/communist anti car type seem to conveniently "forgetting" all of this. I'd bet that there are people of the type above enjoying the fact that your man Alan lost those 3 lovely cars.

But sure they are the same morons who are now getting us to mistakenly believe that diesel is better than petrol for the planet(it might be better on CO2 but it is still vastly inferior to petrol and is going to make us breathe in sh1ttier air and kill plenty of people with all the cancer causing fumes like PM and Nitrous Oxide), and hybrids are the solution to all our problems(even though batteries are often sent half way around the world, they've been shown on several occasions to be less CO2 friendly than diesel in the real world and most of all they're very expensive compared to diesel let alone petrol):mad:!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Where was this?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

Where was this?

Over in drumcondra, apparantly so I read.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

ye thats beresford

i know the guy this happened to, hes in the mini club:eek:

that evo had some serious money spent on it apparantly.

im actually feeling sick thats disgusting

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

What a horrible thing to wake up to.
    Apparently they tried to nick the evo, but couldn't. So they torched it and legged it. The fire spread to the 205, and when the handbrake cable failed on the evo due to the fire, it rolled back into the RS4 :eek:.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,477 ✭✭✭maidhc

pburns wrote: »
    I agree these people are scum etc. but it's just a fact of life that if you buy a car(s) that attracts that much attention and get too hung up on 'possessions' there will be a downside.

I agree. Especially if you don't have secure storage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

pburns wrote: »
    In fairness that's not very practical is it...

What's not practical about that?

We've 2 cctv cameras in the back garden, set it up myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

kona wrote: »
    ye thats beresford

Wow. Literally just up the road. That's insane. The poor guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

omg im totally gutted for the owners.....often thought of gettin a fancy car but worried that something like this might happen....scumbags:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

HungryJoey wrote: »
    But his one is an Evo 6 Extreme RS450, I thought even more rare? Can't remember where I read it now!:o

EDIT: ahh, the 450 is not bhp, but the torque figure.

The guy is a good friend of mine. I was up there last night and he's heartbroken. The two cars were his pride and joy - the Evo was running 550-600bhp (was yet to be properly set up), had just had 20k dropped on the engine and was only run in. It is a mega rare RS450 - there are only 2 left in the world now, out of the original 4 made.

The RS4 was a 01 with low mileage and lots of toys - ridiculously hard to find another model in the same nick and mileage.

Luckily they're both fully insured with all mods declared, but we all know how awesome insurance companies are at paying to the full value....

And he lost his Pug 205 GTI too, another very rare car.

I hate to say it but that's why I'd never own a seriously good/valuable/rare car. It would break my heart if anything ever happened to it.

No amount of money will ever replace the loss of losing your pride and joy.

The guy is clearly a complete car nut, not just a fanboy of one make on another.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

car nut doesnt describe the guy,hes like the level after.

he has a V-tec powered mini half built too:eek::eek:, very very nice guy too.

still sickening hope the insurance are on the ball with this along with the guards.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,460 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Biro wrote: »
    For those who were enquiring, the Evo 6 Extreme was a limited edition model of the Evo 6. They made 50 of them. So far as I've seen they were available with 2 colour schemes. One was white car with red spoiler, side skirts, and front splitters, and the other was silver car with black spoiler, skirts and splitters. It had Extreme decals on the wings. The normal Evo 6 had around 276bhp, the Extreme had 350bhp, lightened, full 4 point racing harnass, different bucket seats that are kind of rally style, and larger brembo brakes with the ABS removed to give a more direct feel.
    I longed after one for years! Never saw one. They seemed to escape much public attention. Not as "famous" if you like as the Impreza 22B was, despite that being made for the Jap market only, and 424 of them.
    So, ya... insurance is not much of a replacement for that car!
    I think we need to go the way of England where the driveway is a retractable lift.

yep and to celebrate that extreme (Ralliart) made 4, yes just 4 Rs 450's!
    so this car was one of 4 in the world and i believe maybe 1 or 2 of them have already been crashed and gone to car heaven.

he was fully insured on the audi and the evo but the pug wasnt!
    i hope to god the insurance dont tyr screw him and he gets what the cars are worth but you know yourself what insurance companies are like!!

There are now only 2 of those 4 EVO extremes left. What a real pity.

I think the other one met the wrong side of a hedge, though I'm not 100% on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Somethings not right with those pics, why was the mitsi moved and then burnt out, same with the RS4, it looks like they were moved to avoid any damage to other cars/property...3rd party fire and theft maybe... how did both cars end up "parked" in such a way. Just some observations. shame about almost 100k worth of cars going up in smoke but this is very rare (3 cars same fate) even in crime ridden dublin...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭Wossack

Somethings not right with those pics, why was the mitsi moved and then burnt out, same with the RS4, it looks like they were moved to avoid any damage to other cars/property...3rd party fire and theft maybe... how did both cars end up "parked" in such a way. Just some observations. shame about almost 100k worth of cars going up in smoke but this is very rare (3 cars same fate) even in crime ridden dublin...

prefer Cmar's theory...
    What a horrible thing to wake up to.
    Apparently they tried to nick the evo, but couldn't. So they torched it and legged it. The fire spread to the 205, and when the handbrake cable failed on the evo due to the fire, it rolled back into the RS4 :eek:.

or are you insinuating some sort of insurance scam?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Wossack wrote: »
    prefer Cmar's theory...

or are you insinuating some sort of insurance scam?

The 205 wasn't insured.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭commited

Hash slinging? More like Mud slinging. Read the thread before you start mouthing off *****.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Poor guy. I've had my car broken into numerous times before. Thank god they never managed to steal it OR burn it out for that matter. But it makes you feel insecure afterwards.

To whoever done this, their balls + a bench vice. It's the final solution.

bench vice isnt enuf. put a blow torch there too whilst in a vice. see how they like their presious valuables burnt. little scumbags. OP, sorry to hear about the cars i really hope they're caught. little F*CKERS!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Kavinsky

Somethings not right with those pics, why was the mitsi moved and then burnt out, same with the RS4, it looks like they were moved to avoid any damage to other cars/property

In my old estate I witnessed a car being set alight in somebodys driveway, and the fire brigade smashed the drivers window and let down the handbrake to roll the car away from the house, to avoid any damage to the house. So perhaps something similar happened here. I'd find it very hard to believe a car enthusiast would torch 3 of his own cars for insurance. There's no way the insurance company would pay out even near the amount of time/effort he put into that evo.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

If the thiefs new what they were going for, do they prepare to burn out the cars before the attack. Or do they think that if they can't take them they torch them?

Also, is this the permanent residence for these cars? Someone with these kind of motors should have a decent place to put them, lockup perhaps?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

wow.. Im speechless..

I almost cried seeing those 2 cars =(

fooking scumbags..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Pity the Guy, RIP Evo 6 Extreme, RS4 & 205. Had a 1600 Opel ascona burnt out and robbed by scum in Galway ten years ago, it was only a 1500 quid loss. ROFL every time you hear of these scum getting killed at their own game, ie less of them on the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭Cmar-Ireland

Wossack wrote: »
    prefer Cmar's theory...

Not a theory, this was posted over on the lancerregister forum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

They should be hung drawn and quartered.

These incidents makes me wish that Ireland had a Gun policy where one can protect his home and property from these ****ers.
    Pop a cap in their ass!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

This is despicable. Destroying someones car is not on.

I know people out there that love there cars so much and have had to work so hard for so long to get them that they would have no problem in torching the persons house that did this.

I know that sounds VERY Wacko and I'm not sure that I would agree with it. but I would understand why someone would retaliate aggressively to having this done to their car.

4 of these cars were made. and a poster above said 1 or 2 may have been crashed, probably on a track day or something like that. but at least they were destroyed doing something they were designed to do and not by some knacker that wont even do time for this.

To be honest. if i had that car and i found out who did that. i would be looking for some serious revenge. I know thats wrong but i wouldn't be able to help myself. It was only on prime time last night about victims of crime having little or no rights at all. Like seriously, if that guy was caught, he will not be asked to pay for the damage caused, if he's very unlucky he'll do 3 months max and not have to pay a cent. What kind of society are we living in?

THIS IS MENTAL LIKE!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,460 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

the evo was set alight first which spread to the pug GTi as it was parked right up against it and when the fire eventually ate its way through the interier of the the evo it burned through the handbrake lever and the cable snapped and hence it rolled into the the audi RS.

trust me guys this was not an insurance scam as if you knew they guy in question, he wouldnt even run over a fly in that evo, it was his dream car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

jank wrote: »
    They should be hung drawn and quartered.

These incidents makes me wish that Ireland had a Gun policy where one can protect his home and property from these ****ers.
    Pop a cap in their ass!
    There was a policy in the North not so long ago. This type of activity was treated as "anti social behavior" and was dealt with in the correct manner. Perhaps if the same tactics were applied down here by a third party it would soon put an end to scum bags robbing cars. The law here is a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

If that was my car, I'd be headin around to those boys houses with a box of matches and some petrol...