Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do Men hate Sex & The City?

• 13-05-2008 5:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭

I know it's a show aimed at a largely female audience, but what is it about the programme you dislike so much?
    I enjoy watching it every now and again, but I find it impossible to watch when himself is around, which is crap because I compromise for his manly man shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Cant put my finger on it but its bruuuuuutal!

The thoughts of their women getting ideas about enjoying sex makes them feel inadequate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

There isn't really ANYTHING in it that would appeal to a bloke is there? I'm a chick and I'm not too fond of it myself, can't imagine what torture it is for fellas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭hunter164

I'm a fella and find it great!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

Its absolute shíte from a lads point of view. Total and utter garbage, revolving around shopping/men/sex/bitching about people etc.

all the perfect ingredients for a womans show tbh.
    But sickening to us guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 tadhg1

my girlfriend loves it i got her the box set of dvd for xmas, i watch a few with her its not realy my cup of tea but its okay.

and i'd watch Sex & ths City over Eastenders or Corrie any day of the week i cant stand soaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

I know a few lads who just watch it for the sex scenes etc...they shall remain nameless ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

I'd say it objectifies men and encourages women to be slutty and materialistic; but I'd be worried I'd sound pretentious - so I'll just say that it's unfunny, irrelevant and dull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

it is probably the most unintelligent piece of television ever made.

its popularity worries me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Couldn't put it better than PWD just did!

If it was a show about guys shagging around in the same way, it'd be berated by the ladies.
    It comes across as trying to be clever and funny and sexy, and it's none of the three...

I think Peter Griffin from Family Guy said it best when he said Sarah Jessica Parker has a face like a foot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I enjoyed it for the most part (as a bloke) but found it a little unrealistic: the message seemed to be if you're good-looking, have a well-apid job, sense of humour it's impossible to find a mate...?!

I did find myself screaming at some of the antics of Carrie though. She meets perfect men, finds some little flaw, exaggerates it and then uses it as an excuse to be lonely. She doesn't deserve to be happy.

Some very interesting (and serious) insights into the female mind, though. Both postives and negatives.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

What's to like? A bunch a c***s who love shoes and sex and if they were real would be the worst type of human beings.

I don't understand half the crap aimed at female audiences, soap operas and 'skinny celeb' "documentaries" (lolz).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

WindSock wrote: »
    I know it's a show aimed at a largely female audience, but what is it about the programme you dislike so much?
    I enjoy watching it every now and again, but I find it impossible to watch when himself is around, which is crap because I compromise for his manly man shows.
    On an entertainment level, it's puerile petty bourgeois titillating rubbish.

On an aesthetic level, Sarah Jessica Parker looks like a ugly man-faced t*t-stand.

OP - the question you should be asking is why don't you find Top Gear so appealing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

Just smells like a modern version of a soap and I don't know many men that watch soaps or dramas unless they're mensoaps like battlestar galactica or CSI. Those two manage to shield their dramaness with shiney things that sometimes explode.

If my girlfriend wanted to watch it then fair enough, thankfully she hates it. I'd just go do something else, I do that when it's Lost time anyway.

Mantel wrote: »
    Just smells like a modern version of a soap and I don't know many men that watch soaps or dramas unless they're mensoaps like battlestar galactica or CSI. Those two manage to shield their dramaness with shiney things that sometimes explode.

If my girlfriend wanted to watch it then fair enough, thankfully she hates it. I'd just go do something else, I do that when it's Lost time anyway.

Only people I know who like CSI are chicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

OP - the question you should be asking is why don't you find Top Gear so appealing?

I don't find top gear unappealing. Even if it is a bunch of public schoolboys thinking they are the shiz because they get to drive great cars for a show. I wouldn't not watch it either even if they all looked like feet :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Moonbaby wrote: »
    The thoughts of their women getting ideas about enjoying sex makes them feel inadequate?
    It's right at a moment like this one that I miss the old rolleyes smiley. For the record, no it's not. I mean what the hell's the point if women don't enjoy it? When they don't they're utterly crap at it basically. Less than useless. So basically the only time a man is irritated about a woman enjoying good sex is when he's not the one involved in it, or it's his partner and he finds out she's knobbing someone else. That's it.

Breaking it down, I reckon it's because(and as luck would have it I had this very conversation with a bunch of guys at the weekend) it's a show about women and how much they go on about and obsess about men, while wittering on about how independent they are.

The older one is cool but tries too hard. The best looking brunette one is uptight and overly girly while being obsessed with marriage and kids. The red head seems cool, good actual job, but is also as harsh emotionally as a sand paper backrub and the parker lassie, while coming up with some insights along the way is also as obsessed as the rest about men. There seems to be a lack of bitchiness about each other that doesn't quite sing true. The off camera japes would be more realistic.

It comes across as mind numbingly self obsessed and trivial. We can see the fun part of it, but the somewhat vacant stabbing in the dark of personalities fumbling around for what should be mostly obvious grates a little. Especially in an age group of women who should know better.

The general consensus about the perfect frankenstein woman that could be made up of the four protagonists seemed to be the brunette for looks(with the odd objection in favour of the blond) the red head for professionalism, the blonde for fun and the parker one for quirkiness. I suppose that's it's appeal for women in some way too. There's some self recognition and identification with at least one of the characters.

That said I've watched a few times and while I wouldn't be rushing home to watch it in pink fluffy slippers, sipping tesco wine while chuggin haagen das, I can see it's appeal. It wouldn't kill me to watch it TBH.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Kold wrote: »
    Only people I know who like CSI are chicks.
    Pretty much.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

it makes me weep for mankind...

there.

I said it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I've never found anything appealing about Sex and the City, tbh. The hoopla about the movie coming out and how it's the second coming is all beyond me. I've never gotten what was so great about Sarah Jessica Parker. Every woman on that show is a caricature and not funny, just annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭JackieO

You know why men don't like it..............

Because its a show about women, and they're various antics and problems etc. There is no real male leads and the male parts are totally ancillary to the 4 leading females lives whom the show revolves around.

Therefore, men not the centre of the universe in S&TC as its all about the female perspective and THIS is why men don't like it!!

Ps. Wibbs - I really don't think most men are even a fraction as deep as your last post would suggest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

I don't find top gear unappealing...I wouldn't not watch it either even if they all looked like feet :)
    Too many double-negatives make Baby Jesus cry and my head hurt. What are you saying in man-speak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

why do wimmin hate football?

and don't say not all of them do, because the exact same can be said for sex and the city.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

My wife is demanding I bring her to see the Sex and the City film and I am trying to think of some way of knocking myself for the 2 hours (or however long it is). Perhaps I'll be able to sleep through it? Last time I did that though, the bollicking I got for snoring in the cinema wasn't worth it :( Perhaps an audio book on my phone and a discrete headset? Seriously- answering ridiculous gardening questions from random members of the public is positively rivetting in comparison :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

When I was in my final year in college it was on every night on paramount so I think I've seen every episode at least twice.

Totally vacuous garbage but I think it's on the same 'its so bad its good' level as Home & Away.

I kind of have a soft spot for the show and I'm sure my lady friends would be delighted if I asked if I could go see the film with them

Too many double-negatives make Baby Jesus cry and my head hurt. What are you saying in man-speak?

Sorry :pac:

I can easily sit down and watch Top Gear and appreciate it for what it is. A bit of 45 minute mindlessnes (is it that or 1 hour?) in a fantasy world where I and most of the people who watch it will never be able to afford the cars and race with our friends around the south of France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

JackieO wrote: »
    Therefore, men not the centre of the universe in S&TC as its all about the female perspective and THIS is why men don't like it!!

I don't think I'd think too much of a TV show that just had women as ancillary characters either.

Are shows like Desperate Housewives and Ugly Betty female orientated? I'd have a lot more time for programming like them over Sex and the City.

Also the Beauty and the Beast TV series was awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,467 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Can't really stand sarah jessica parker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Simply dont get it to answer your question.

Ps. Wibbs - I really don't think most men are even a fraction as deep as your last post would suggest.

But ofcourse, all men are stupid and don't understand emotions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

They talk about shoes. Simple as that.

And yer one looks like a foot.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

We were just talking about this the other day as the movie is coming out. I wouldn't bother to watch it if I was there on my own but if the girlfriend is watching I inhale. I think it's pretty funny.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Kold wrote: »
    What's to like? A bunch a c***s who love shoes and sex and if they were real would be the worst type of human beings.

I don't understand half the crap aimed at female audiences, soap operas and 'skinny celeb' "documentaries" (lolz).

Perfect :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Partially fear of being seen as "gay" or "unmanly" if they admitted to liking it.

Partially because it really isn't a great show. The characters are two dimensional and boring. Personally, after watching it, I'm not thinking, "wow, women are really sexually liberated and independant these days", I'm thinking, "wow, are women generally like this these days? Because if they are, they're really retarded...."

And the only good things Kim Cattrall ever did were Big Trouble in Little China and Star Trek VI.

Have you ever seen The Boy Who could Fly?
    Sarah Jessica Parker was in that. I watched it heaps when I was a young 'un. Bloody terrible movie :)

Was she also in 'My Left Foot'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Na that was Daniel Day-Lewis playing Christy Brown, looks like her alright.

No, I think it was Footloose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

It simply was not written with a straight male audience in mind. To capitalise on some markets it can help to isolate one, gives you less ground to cover. Sex and the City simply would not have worked if not written as it is.

It's not that men don't like it because it wants to portray women in a light that women assume we don't want them shown in, it just lacks very little of interest to us. From my point of few the actresses are not very attractive ( with the except of the whoever players Charlotte ) so it doesn't offer much eye candy.

My last two ex's have been big fans and i have seen a lot of episodes of it ( it's only fair as they would end up watching my shows at times ) so i'm not dimissing it out of hand and am aware of the plotlines and writing etc in the show. It can be funny at times because sometimes humour is a pretty universal thing but it simply lacks what i, as a viewer, like in a show.

bigfoot.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Because its a show about women, and they're various antics and problems etc. There is no real male leads and the male parts are totally ancillary to the 4 leading females lives whom the show revolves around.

So, so wrong that I don't even know where to start. Are you sure that the men you've met haven't really just been cavemen? Most men don't like the show because of the two dimensional characters that are so shallow that you can almost see through them, coupled with ridiculous decision making by the characters, and comedy that never fails to fall flat...
    Also the Beauty and the Beast TV series was awesome.
    It was FANTASTIC, but then it did have Ron Perlman...
    And the only good things Kim Cattrall ever did were Big Trouble in Little China and Star Trek VI.
    And a screechy role in Porkys... :D

foot_face.jpg
    Sarah Jessica Parkey, yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

D'ja know, I'd prefer to spend 2 hours in the cinema watching Top Gear. At least I'd know I was going to have a good laugh.

i dunno about that. They're clearly so ancillary that they're almost the entire focus of the show. That and shoes and such.
    It's mostly about how hard it is to get a man, get the right man, keep a man, how to know how he feels, how she feels about him etc.

If the men and talk about the men was a tiny part of it or done for laughs I could see your point. It isn't though. OK the men individually are for the most part are ancillary characters(though mr big is one of the exceptions), the concept of their need for a man to define who they are as women is probably the biggest "character" of them all. Even their friendships for the most part are viewed through that prism.
    It really isn't. If it is the female perspective to that degree some women would do well to apologise to men and other women and hand back the vote. ;):D
    Actually if we're taliking about men not boys(not really an age thing either) a goodly proportion are. OK water finds it's own level and all that so if you talk about this stuff, you'll tend to fall in with similar.

Then again in that conversation I referenced before I knew only two of the guys out of maybe 15. Guys of a fairly wide spread of ages and backgrounds. We discussed far more "deep" subjects than SATC too. Fatherhood, the nature of love and the meaning of life were knocking about before the beer and the talk of tight bottoms took over...

It would be all too obvious of me to remind you how many of the great thinkers, poets, writers, painters philosophers etc were and are women? NOt bad for a bunch of knuckledraggers.

Maybe some men reduce that side of themselves around women as experience may tell us it sadly isn't as fruitful as being obvious and crass in a lot of such company. Either that or as DamoElDiablo wrote you've only dealt with woolly backed cavemen types. If so that's a pity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

And another great post from Wibbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I like it tbh. I would hazard a guess that some blokes hate it because they should.

"Top gear is OK it wouldn't kill me to watch it". Further translation of woman into man comes with a fee. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

Should the real question not be "why do women like it????". Unless you're an uneducated, vacuous, shoe obsessed half wit you really shouldn't find it entertaining, or have anything in common with the characters.

The aim of the show is clearly to "show the world" that women talk about sex, enjoy sex and are sexually liberated creatures who can sleep around will nilly and not give it a second thought. Which might be fair enough if their lives had any other substance. But what do these newly liberated, well educated ladies do all day??? Talk about men. And talk about men. And sometimes men. And then shoes. But mostly men.

Plus, they all end up in love at the end. Happily settled with Mr. Perfect as if their aim was not, in the first place, to try to show that women can survive without them. Even the nymphomaniac Samantha finds true love. I'd have a hell of a lot more respect for the show if they all ended up (or at least two of them) cynical and single and miserable. That would be consistent.

But what does their "girly" audience want to see?? After all that detatched having of sex and girl power bull****, turns out all they really needed was love. Awwwwww.

Bluuuugggggggggghhhhhhhhh. It's everything that's wrong with women. Yet watch them team into the cinema in their droves next week to sniffle into their hankies at what I'm sure will be the end result - a nice happy loved up ending.

A9738~Attack-of-the-50-Foot-Woman-Posters.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Dlite

Well Pookie you seem to know a lot about S&TC for such a hater!!.

I hate all those soaps Eastenders, Coronation Street, etc - its depressing t.v and I think the women’s roles in these types of soaps are dated and full of women in dead end situations -nothing to aspire to.

S&TC, Desperate housewives are funny! I personally think they show you that you don't need men to have a good time. It's about escapism and I would rather escape to Wisteria Lane than down the Rovers Return or the Vic.

For adventure give me "The Unit" any day!!