Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EMS China

• 28-04-2008 5:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭

Anyone used these guys and not been satisfied.

I paid $20 for 3-5 day shipping and here is the timeline

2007-12-16 16:05:00 SHENZHEN Posting
      2007-12-16 17:37:00 LHAG Despatch from Sorting Center
      2007-12-16 21:36:45 SHENZHEN Arrival at Sorting Center
      2007-12-16 21:54:23 SHENZHEN Despatch from Sorting Center
      2007-12-17 09:42:00 GUANGZHOU Arrival at Sorting Center
      2007-12-17 14:13:00 GUANGZHOU Despatch from Sorting Center
      2008-01-04 12:01:00 IRELAND PORTLAOISE Handed over to Customs
      2008-01-04 12:01:00 IRELAND P'LAOISE SDS Arrival at Sorting Center
      2008-01-06 16:26:00 IRELAND PORTLAOISE Released from Customs
      2008-01-08 06:39:00 IRELAND SANDYFORD Arrival at Delivery Office
      2008-01-08 14:40:00 IRELAND SANDYFORD Delivery

They guarentee return of 50% of delivery fee for delays. They only have an address on their website to write to in China. My question is has anyone bothered to write? Am using them again now and if there is a huge delay I will be writing. The last time was very annoying as it was Christmas presents I was waiting on that I had ordered in November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

Ye i have used them before, didn't think it was anything special, was expecting quicker, mine was 8 days not as bad as yours. looking at the tracking details the An post side of the shipping doesn't seem great makes it look even worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭mcaul

davton wrote: »
    Ye i have used them before, didn't think it was anything special, was expecting quicker, mine was 8 days not as bad as yours. looking at the tracking details the An post side of the shipping doesn't seem great makes it look even worse!

Arrived in An Post on Friday and delivered on the following Tuesday - I'd say that's fairly OK.

The main problem is Christmas. Airfreight normally works great, but at Cristmas there are still the same amount of planes but about 5 times as much freight. EMS is a prioity mail system that uses commercial carriers to move packages unlike DHL / UPS who use their own aircraft.
    Basically its as simple as seasonal delays causing your package to arrive late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

I used EMS CHina twice and it was a disaster. I now use TNT to ship items from China and i always receive my packages in 3 days guaranteed. Would never use EMS again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

mcaul wrote: »
    Arrived in An Post on Friday and delivered on the following Tuesday - I'd say that's fairly OK.

The main problem is Christmas. Airfreight normally works great, but at Cristmas there are still the same amount of planes but about 5 times as much freight. EMS is a prioity mail system that uses commercial carriers to move packages unlike DHL / UPS who use their own aircraft.
    Basically its as simple as seasonal delays causing your package to arrive late.

i didnt check if it was a weekend but even so shouldn't take longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Grawns

zarquon wrote: »
    I used EMS CHina twice and it was a disaster. I now use TNT to ship items from China and i always receive my packages in 3 days guaranteed. Would never use EMS again.

Will be avoiding them in the future but good news is here is status as of this morning
    ( I guess they go to Ireland within 5 days this time as opposed to 20 days last time) Also don't think I can bother to write over $10

2008-04-25 15:34:00 SHENZHEN Posting
      2008-04-25 15:51:00 LHSY Despatch from Sorting Center
      2008-04-25 21:17:27 SHENZHEN Arrival at Sorting Center
      2008-04-25 22:11:41 SHENZHEN Despatch from Sorting Center
      2008-04-26 10:02:00 GUANGZHOU Arrival at Sorting Center
      2008-04-26 14:20:00 GUANGZHOU Despatch from Sorting Center
      2008-04-29 14:33:00 IRELAND P'LAOISE SDS Arrival at Sorting Center
      2008-04-30 06:32:00 IRELAND SANDYFORD Arrival at Delivery Office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭mcaul

When shipping from China always ask the company you are buying from to arrange shipping with UPS or similar. - It is WAY cheaper.

Example 170kg from Guangzhou. Quote from UPS Ireland to collect china & deliver athy = €2,420. 3 day service
    Quote from supplier in China to use UPS from china & deliver Athy. $1350. 3 day service.

Same servuice, same carrier, just one booked from China and paying local rates & other booked in Ireland paying ireland rates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Gelena

I ordered some things from China and paid for EMS delivery. It was shipped on [FONT=verdana, sans serif]4/3/2009 but today is 14th. I have a tracking number. It's look like this - EE058332094CN I can check it on EMS site, but i don't know how i can do it in http://track.anpost.ie/track/trackone.html. Could you help me, please? :o:o:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭darc

Gelena wrote: »
    I ordered some things from China and paid for EMS delivery. It was shipped on [FONT=verdana, sans serif]4/3/2009 but today is 14th. I have a tracking number. It's look like this - EE058332094CN I can check it on EMS site, but i don't know how i can do it in http://track.anpost.ie/track/trackone.html. Could you help me, please? :o:o:o

The ems china site should give you all the info. An Post will only enter it on their system when it arrives in Ireland. - basically its stuck somewhere between China & Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ah-Watch

darc wrote: »
    The ems china site should give you all the info. An Post will only enter it on their system when it arrives in Ireland. - basically its stuck somewhere between China & Ireland.

Timing Site Status
      2009-04-06 14:53:00 SHENZHEN Posting
      2009-04-06 15:18:00 SHENZHEN Despatch from Sorting Center
      2009-04-06 20:14:22 SHENZHEN Arrival at Sorting Center
      2009-04-06 20:20:44 SHENZHEN Despatch from Sorting Center
      2009-04-07 09:11:00 GUANGZHOU Arrival at Sorting Center
      2009-04-07 21:06:00 GUANGZHOU Despatch from Sorting Center

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭madmik

ems is better than regular airmail but worse than a proper courior like dhl etc

usually ems boxes look like someone played football with them when they come from china to eire
    so make sure your man in china wraps it well if its fragile
    normally takes 7-14 days to get a ems from china

the weird thing is sometimes the box is scanned about 7 times in china ,sometimes all in the same city ,as if they pick up the box ,scan it and instead of putting it on the plane they set it down again and forget about it for a day or two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Gelena

thank you. It's not even good news :(. I used a regular airmail ( it was "free shipping") and it was better and the order was on time. But this time i dicided to pay for the delivery because it was a little bit bigger and i wanted to have it earlier. But now i'm just afraid that it's gonna be broken into pieces. :eek::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭delllat

by the way dont track internationl deliveries on an posts site before they arrive in ireland

its useless

check them here :

http://www.track-trace.com/post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 kdoher

Hi dont know if anyone can help me but ordered an item from chaina over 3 weeks ago.. Neary 2 weeks in i was given a tracing no and after a week of the parcel not arriving in ireland i got onto the shop i ordered off ( I ordered off an english website which i had a phone no. for the man) He the sent me another tracing no. which had absolutley no info and said that the parcel had arrived in irleand and customs sent it back... I have never heard of this and when i have bought items out of america when the items arrived in portlaois it came up straight away before it went anywhere near customs... The have now given me a third tracing no. and it says that it has been dispactched from sorting centre in china that was on the 9th July and nothing since.. Does anyone know is this normal or has it happened to them? What could i do?? Please any opinon or advice would be brilliant :(:(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭stapolinhosting

Hi Kdoher,

Just wondering if you ever got your package.

If you didnt I have a funny feeling you may have been scammed. What you described sounds very similar to some typicle chinese scammers.

Can you post the website address and I can check it out for you.

I've used them a lot and never had a problem, most items I had within a week, others a bit longer only because they got held up at customs here :rolleyes:

Hi ya yes i recieved my package 4 weeks after i ordered it.. Same thing happpened there ordered off another company and chinese customs sent the package back twice got the company then to send it via ups (it was light!) and was here within a week! Dont know now whether to use ems or not again

hellboy99 wrote: »
    I've used them a lot and never had a problem, most items I had within a week, others a bit longer only because they got held up at customs here :rolleyes:

Have you used them recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

kdoher wrote: »
    chinese customs sent the package back twice

Outward bound parcels are not inspected, so Chinese customs would not have even been looking at it, let alone have a reason to block it. Sending by a courier, like UPS, will not get around customs either.

Now in china they are i do not know why i seen it on an ebay discussions site recently as other people are experiencimg the same thing

Have you used them recently?
    Two weeks ago, shipped on a Thursday and with me the following Friday.

hellboy99 wrote: »
    Two weeks ago, shipped on a Thursday and with me the following Friday.

So you mind me asking what you were shipping?

I didn't ship anything, I received a kids toy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Shades799

2009-08-22 14:50:00 SHANGHAI Posting
      2009-08-22 16:17:00 65 Despatch from Sorting Center
      2009-08-22 18:46:36 SHANGHAI Arrival at Sorting Center
      2009-08-22 19:50:24 SHANGHAI Despatch from Sorting Center

Is it normal that my package left China on the 22 and it still hasn't even touched Ireland yet? They're a pair of shoes for the missus' birthday which is tomorrow.

Don't know how I'm gonna be able to explain this to her! :eek:

Shades799 wrote: »

Is it normal that my package left China on the 22 and it still hasn't even touched Ireland yet? They're a pair of shoes for the missus' birthday which is tomorrow.

I got a shipment using EMS a few weeks ago.

I was checking the Tracking and it showed that the package was in China for a while. Think it was a Tuesday when I checked but on Wednesday there was a note from An Post in my letterbox saying it was ready for collection in the sorting office.

The delivery before that one I got from China using EMS it did show it was dispatched from China. But again showed nothing of when it reached Ireland. Again, same thing, knok on the door and there was my package. Cheched the tracking on that one after I got it and it was only updated that day to say the item arrived in Ireland the day before.

So maybe you will get it today or tomorrow. 2 week is usually the longest I have had to wait using EMS from China.

I have tried tracking on An Post website but it didnt work so I called An Post and they were able to tell me if the package is in Ireland or not.

Hi ya yes i recieved my package 4 weeks after i ordered it.. Same thing happpened there ordered off another company and chinese customs sent the package back twice got the company then to send it via ups (it was light!) and was here within a week! Dont know now whether to use ems or not again

EMS are like the standard postal service.

Using the like of DHL or UPS is much quicker. But one thing to remember is not to organise the shipping from this end as it will be much more expensive. It will save you alot of money if you price if in China by calling them in China or getting your seller to do it for you.

It may cost a little more than EMS but you will receive your goods much quicker.

Personally, I like using EMS, they have not let me down yet. Like I said in my previous post, I have never had to wait more that 2 weeks from the time i order to the time I have my order in my hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Is it normal that my package left China on the 22 and it still hasn't even touched Ireland yet?

Normally it would be at least a week, but 2 wouldn't be unheard of. Have you rang An Post to see if they're being held anywhere?

Give her the tracking number...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 cyberbob222

I am just about getting my first purchase in china, just a box of electronics. I havent had an occasion to deal with customs. I went through the customs manual available on revenue site but it still doesnt answet one big question.

Will the parcel will be delivered to my doors and then customs will send me a letter? or shall i ask the E - M - S /like EA is in the game :) / to look after customs issues for me, and how much will they charge for this service?

Anybody has a clue?

I am just about getting my first purchase in china, just a box of electronics. I havent had an occasion to deal with customs. I went through the customs manual available on revenue site but it still doesnt answet one big question.

Will the parcel will be delivered to my doors and then customs will send me a letter? or shall i ask the E - M - S /like EA is in the game :) / to look after customs issues for me, and how much will they charge for this service?

Anybody has a clue?

Usually I pay the driver when he drops the goods at my door.

Depending on who you buy from, they may or may not offer a service to pay customs for you.

Usually what happens is when the good hit Ireland the curior service who picks it up from customs pay the import duties on your behalf and then charge you for the service. I think the charge is about 10 euro, it depends on who the delivery service is. Some will only 10 but others can charge you about 15 euro for paying the duties for you.

I dont think you have a say in this, but you could alway have your order shipped to Ireland for collection at customs and pay yourself, either way its probably going to cost the same if not more in petrol to do it your self.

Hope that info was helpful.

Cheers

Did your parcel arrive in time for the missus?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11 cyberbob222

Does the driver leaves relevant paperwork with me?
    I am going to ship it with Chinese EMS. Do these guys have a clue how to deal with Irish customs?
    For some reason all wholesaler offer free shipping with Chinese EMS. It saves bit of money. But is it most efficient way?
    The cost of the item is 200 euro. Revenue said it ll go under 2% duty, so 4 euro for the state and rest for driver+operational fee. Makes sense.
    Usually I pay the driver when he drops the goods at my door.

Depending on who you buy from, they may or may not offer a service to pay customs for you.

Usually what happens is when the good hit Ireland the curior

Hope

Does the driver leaves relevant paperwork with me?
    I am going to ship it with Chinese EMS. Do these guys have a clue how to deal with Irish customs?
    For some reason all wholesaler offer free shipping with Chinese EMS. It saves bit of money. But is it most efficient way?
    The cost of the item is 200 euro. Revenue said it ll go under 2% duty, so 4 euro for the state and rest for driver+operational fee. Makes sense.

Just out of interest and may help you too. Can you tell me where your buying from. Do you have a website address?

I not trying to scare you but there are many many scammers in China with fake websites selling electronics. They give you a really good price on something, tell you its free shipping, when you send the money you get either something completly different or nothing at all.

You can PM it to me if you prefere and I will look into it. Would hate to see someone getting scammed. It happens all too often.

If they are asking for you to pay by western union of bank transfere dont do it yet. Let me take a gander at them. If they are not the real deal I will pass on some of my suppliers to you where you can get legit products at legit prices.

As for customes, EMS simply send the stuff to Ireland, once here it is dealth with by Irish customs.

To give you an example of the cost of customs... I paid $160 for some items including shipping and I had to pay SDS €45.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

rite my package was not successfully delivered somewhere in portlaoise
    does any one know what will happen to my package now???:confused::confused::confused:

ecoli wrote: »
    rite my package was not successfully delivered somewhere in portlaoise
    does any one know what will happen to my package now???:confused::confused::confused:

Hi ecoli,

Gonna need a bit more info than that. When did you purchase, who did you purchase from, how did you pay?

You have to be very careful when buying from China, there are tons of fake businesses out there. If you let me know the above I can check it out for you.

regards

When did you purchase, who did you purchase from, how did you pay?

well its not tat i think its a fake company its
    that my package was sent n i was usin the trackin n along the list
    it said not successfully delivered
    what happens to my package now
    here is the list below:

EE160643172CN
      Your item was not delivred successfully(IRELAND PORTLAOIS) at 2009-09-25 01:59:00

Timing Site Status
      2009-09-19 18:36:00 MEIXIAN Posting
      2009-09-19 19:18:00 MXST Despatch from Sorting Center
      2009-09-19 19:39:32 MEIZHOU Arrival at Sorting Center
      2009-09-19 19:52:15 MEIZHOU Despatch from Sorting Center
      2009-09-20 10:38:00 GUANGZHOU Arrival at Sorting Center
      2009-09-20 23:25:00 GUANGZHOU Despatch from Sorting Center
      2009-09-23 22:30:00 IRELAND P'LAOISE SDS Arrival at Sorting Center
      2009-09-25 01:59:00 IRELAND PORTLAOIS Attempted delivery

To me that looks like they called to your house (or where ever the delivery address is) and there was no-body there. Also, it may have been delivered to the wrong address and refused.

Usually what happens is the item is sent back to the sorting office so I would suggest calling the sorting office and give them the tracking number. They should be able to tell you where it can be collected or arrange to be delivered again. An Post are the usual guys who deal with EMS.

If you leave it too long it will be sent back to where you bought it from and you may end up having to pay charges for non-delivered item.

To double check the delivery address go back to the website you purchased from. (You should have set up an account to buy from the website) and check your account details to see what address you put in. You may have made a typo when entering the delivery address. It happens quite a bit.

EDIT: Just looking back at the info. It shows attempted delivery at 2am. Not sure why anyone would be out delivering at that time. But it 'could' be that it was stopped by customes.

Again, best way to find this out is to phone them and ask.

ye i would have tought tat my self but the address
    is in south dublin where i live and it says it was not
    delivered to some were in portlaoise???

Hi Ecoli,

Ok, that IS a bit of a distance from where you live.

Trying calling the Mail Center on in portlaoise on 057 868950, they should be able to help.

The only other thing I can see that happened is it was scanned twice by accident at the mail center giving a false account of its tracking history.

grand i will try tat today
    tanks for the help wit let ya no how it goes

No problem at all. Any time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 lydia1234

Im aslo having trouble with EMS. I bought a pair of runners online last thursday. I recieved my ems tracking code which doesnt seem to be valid? EE231362288CN. Im now worried that the website i bought them off may have been a scam... anyone any ideas at all? much appreciated!!

lydia1234 wrote: »
    Im aslo having trouble with EMS. I bought a pair of runners online last thursday. I recieved my ems tracking code which doesnt seem to be valid? EE231362288CN. Im now worried that the website i bought them off may have been a scam... anyone any ideas at all? much appreciated!!

Hi Lydia,

Can you tell me the website address and I can look into it for you.

Buying trainers from China can be risky. There are hundreds if not thousands of website advertising Brand Names but they are just scammers with either cheap know-offs of they have nothing at all and just keep your moeny..

How did you pay? PayPal, Bank, Western Union?

If you paid using PayPal or Bank, you could have achance of getting your money back (provided you have been scammed), if you paid by western union, there is no comeback.

Anyway, let me know the above and I can check it out or you.

regards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 lydia1234

Thanks so much for the reply. The website is dunkdunkshoe.com and i paid using paypal...hopefully i havent been scammed but its starting to look that way!
    -Lydia

Thanks so much for the reply. The website is dunkdunkshoe.com and i paid using paypal...hopefully i havent been scammed but its starting to look that way!
    -Lydia

Hi Lydia,

I am checking into this company and am finding reference to them on other sites that, in my opinion do not seem legit.

Their website is brand new and the domain name was only registered on 24 August 2009.

Now, its actually imposible for these guys to sell Nike shoes without a Nikes consent. Anyone who is a legit nike destributor has been givin permission from Nike to so so.

From the looks of it, you may well have been scammed. But dont worry, there is some good that can come out of this. Get onto paypal, or open a dispute in your paypay account on the transaction. When entering the details of the dispute say you suspect the website you purchased from to be a scam website. Paypal will then limit the sellers account (in most cases) and hold any money that is in the account until there is a resolve. If they turn out to be scammers then you may well have just saved many others from being scammed and you get your money back through paypal. If they are not a scammer all well and good, but to be honest, I think they are.

The software they used to build their website... I could build the same site in less than a day using the same sofware.. so they didnt really go to any expense on it.

Chinese internet scammers build tons of websites all selling the same products. The main ones to watch out for are Brand Name trainers, watched, electronics (PS2, LCD Tv's etc) all at half the normal RRP or even less sometimes.

So, email the company one more time, If you dont hear anything from them by tonight then go to your paypal account and open a dispute. If you paid using your Credit Card without setting up a paypal account, call your credit card issuer and have them do a reversal. Explain that you thing the website you purchaed from is a scam site and the credit card issuer will process a charge back with paypal.

Sorry if I am rambling on but the more info you have the better i recon. lol

If there is anything else, just hollah,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭doubletap

just checked your traking number
    and got
    Your item was collected(City of Beijing) at 2009-10-10 15:39:00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Maria12

I ordered shoes online on 11.10.09 - still not delivered - last tracking from EMS was they left Shanghai on 14.10.09 - no other updates - should i be worried?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 lgc

Hi can anyone help me i bought some rings from china my tracking number doeesnt seem to be valid should i be worried?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭doubletap

Maria12 wrote: »
    I ordered shoes online on 11.10.09 - still not delivered - last tracking from EMS was they left Shanghai on 14.10.09 - no other updates - should i be worried?

not yet i had an item posted on the 6th and it only arrived this morning.
    thats two weeks for a service thats supposed to be faster then ordenary air mail but isn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 lgc

Can customs confiscate my items,they are not counterfit or anything,just costume jewelrey rings.

doubletap wrote: »
    not yet i had an item posted on the 6th and it only arrived this morning.
    thats two weeks for a service thats supposed to be faster then ordenary air mail but isn't
    Thanks for that - fingers crossed!

Did you ever get the shoes ?