Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WSOP Seat any ideas?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,849 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

yeah-buddy wrote: »
    Who said it's live???

The people who suggested live events obviously:confused::confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

5starpool wrote: »
    The people who suggested live events obviously:confused::confused:
    emm, pretty much, or maybe I'm missing something. All the talk about the SE, the Fitz, etc. etc. etc. is what I was referring to, :confused::confused:

Boylesports aren't doing this out of the goodness of their heart, or "to give something back to Irish Poker" they're doing it to increase traffic in their on-line Poker room and to get some ideas from the largest captive audience of on-line Poker players in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭yeah-buddy

Boylepoker just want to send someone to the wsop, that's publicity enough, not just encourage a bunch of old codgers in the dublin poker clubs to play poker on boylepoker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Paul Spillane

Hi All

The promotion will be online not live. I will answer some of the points made and questions asked in a bit more depth later, just a little busy at present.

Paul Spillane

• Subscribers Posts: 32,849 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

yeah-buddy wrote: »
    Boylepoker just want to send someone to the wsop, that's publicity enough, not just encourage a bunch of old codgers in the dublin poker clubs to play poker on boylepoker.

Yes, it is a well known fact that everyone that plays live in dublin is over 50 and everone that plays online in under 25.

Who are you having this conversation with anyhow? Ste was ceratinly not disagreeing with you.

Yes, it is a well known fact that everyone that plays live in dublin is over 50 and everone that plays online in under 25.

Who are you having this conversation with anyhow? Ste was ceratinly not disagreeing with you.

I was joking with that part, i've never stepped foot in a casino in dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I guess a league of some sort makes most sense

Running one tournament might get you some goodwill but not a lasting player base.

maybe the top X rakers on boyle in the next month or so get entry to a freeroll which awards one WSOP seat? X = 20 would give a lot of incentive for people to play.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

its a b1tch being between 25-50 is it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭lee_arama

Hey Paul.

Let me start by saying that I didn't bother reading past your initial post for fear of losing plausible deniability should I copy someones idea...

The WSOP is some serious pokering. It's a savage event. And if Boyle want to send someone then they need to come up with a way of choosing a suitable candidate.

Can your software root out the 18-20 year olds when looking at poker results? If so they why not attempt to compile some data on who your most successful players are in terms of ratio? Or even look outside your online community and choosing some live player who exhibits the qualities you need, yet who might not possess the yo's needed to compete at such a high buy in?

Is even putting someone into the 10K the right move? You'd need them to go some bit deep in order to gain a return in terms of visibility...

Why not look at buying several players into the smaller events? I would love to play one of the Omaha events if I were ever able to make it over there myself. So would almost everyone on this forum.

Certain players here find they can handle Limit far more readily but there aren't any feeders to put them in that event. At least not over here.

Other players just love getting their RAZZ buzz on, or HORSE for that matter. Stars and Tilt are the only sites I've seen packing HORSE heat on a regular basis though...

My advice? Mix and match. You have plenty Omaha players online - pick someone to go. You can easily pick up a semi-pro/full-pro in Cork/Dublin/Ballymena cardrooms to lead the charge at one of the smaller Hold Em events.

THEN! If your chosen warriors come away with results from their respective tables you can take the decision whether to put one forward into the Main Event, based on whether you think that the TV coverage has been adequate...

Looking back over my post I feel I make reasonable sense...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭HoLLLLLaments

put in dougee or kraken.

so sick how boyles discriminates against people under 21.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 SIDESHOW BLOB

I think boylepoker should send marty focking smyth to the world series...only fair loike considering you sponsor the goy.
    And i've been speaking to him recently and he would just LOOOOVE if they asked if he would be interested.

I think boylepoker should send marty focking smyth to the world series...only fair loike considering you sponsor the goy.
    And i've been speaking to him recently and he would just LOOOOVE if they asked if he would be interested.

+1 he represents ireland in ever way, especially the hair.

Hi All
    Just a quick response to some valid points raised that i can answer quickly.

Are Boyle's actually allowed to run a skin specific WSOP sat that players on other skins on the network can't play in?.................................Yes we are and yes the promo will be unique to our players.

Freeroll for Boards players with one package guaranteed is the best way to win us over …………………...............................It will be open to all players though I will have to do something for boards players after the help I have been given

Also means more travel and accom expenses……….....................….Yep we are giving $3000 on top for hotel flight etc

I doubt you are intending to restrict it to a boards only package,……….............…..…nope open to all, regular, new big raking small raking, freeroll players.

Can your software root out the 18-20 year olds when looking at poker results?..............................................If the winner is aged between 18-20 and therefore ineligible to play we will either hold the seat over for them till their old enough or put them in an equivalent tournament of their choice in Europe. If the buy in was less they could use the spare balance as spending money.

Marty is being sent by us Sideshow

Thanks again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 SIDESHOW BLOB

Well thank fock for that!

Will he be wearing a Sundoireland jorseee?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

If your doing a league format i quite like the idea of using an average because alot of people have work or other engagements and by missing 1 game they more or less are out of the running. Its not really a disadvantage to the people who play every league game because they have a better chance of making a higher average. Heres what i mean

Say there is 2 games per week for 1 month i.e 8 in total
    You take your top 5 scores and discard the other 3. This give someone who couldnt play all 8 which will be a decent % based on the previous leagues run on boards over the last few years if you want to look it up and it would keep the interest of people who miss the 1st or 2nd game who would normally be out of the running. Like i said someone who plays the 8 games still has an advantage to someone who only played 5 because they can afford to have 3 bad tournaments.

Id safely say from all the tournament ran previously by the end of the tournament probably only 25% have completed all the games and there the degenerates tbh:D

Ok making progress, so far this is the idea, please feel free to add comments, it really needs to be finalised by Monday

Win one of our selected daily tournaments (including 7 freerolls!). This automatically enters you into the WSOP Grand Final to be held on June 9th.

The winner of the WSOP Grand Final wins

Paid entry into the WSOP main event

An extra $3000 to cover flight and accommodation.

Date: Tournament:

01/05/2008 $10 + $1 No Limit holdem Freezeout
    02/05/2008 $25 + $2.50 Deepstack Hold'em
    03/05/2008 $1000 Freeroll
    04/05/2008 $5 + $.05 No limit Hold'em with Rebuys
    05/05/2008 $3000 Freeroll
    06/05/2008 $15 + $1.50 Scalp tournament ($10 prize pool $5 Scalp)
    07/05/2008 $5 + $.50 Short handed No limit Hold'em with Rebuys
    08/05/2008 $10 + $1 No Limit holdem Freezeout
    09/05/2008 $25 + $2.50 Deepstack Hold'em
    10/05/2008 $1000 Freeroll
    11/05/2008 $5 + $.50 Short handed No limit Hold'em with Rebuys
    12/05/2008 $10 + $1 No Limit holdem with Rebuys
    13/05/2008 $15 + $1.50 Scalp tournament ($10 prize pool $5 Scalp)
    14/05/2008 $100 Freeroll
    15/05/2008 $50 + $5 No Limit holdem Freezeout
    16/05/2008 $25 + $2.50 Deepstack Hold'em
    17/05/2008 $1000 Freeroll
    18/05/2008 $100+$10 No Limit Hold Em F.O. 5000 starting chips, 15 minute clock.
    19/05/2008 $10 + $1 No Limit holdem with Rebuys
    20/05/2008 $15 + $1.50 Scalp tournament ($10 prize pool $5 Scalp)
    21/05/2008 $5 + $.50 Short handed No limit Hold'em with Rebuys IF CHELSEA WIN CHAMPIONS LEAGUE places 2,3,4,5 & 6 will have their prizemoney doubled.
    22/05/2008 $10 + $1 No Limit holdem Freezeout
    23/05/2008 $25 + $2.50 Deepstack Hold'em
    24/05/2008 $100 Freeroll
    25/05/2008 $5 + $.50 Short handed No limit Hold'em with Rebuys
    26/05/2008 Boards Invitational Freeroll with added Prize-money.
    27/05/2008 $15 + $1.50 Scalp tournament ($10 prize pool $5 Scalp)
    28/05/2008 $5 + $.50 Short handed No limit Hold'em with Rebuys
    29/05/2008 Boylepoker invitational
    30/05/2008 $10 + $1 No Limit holdem with Rebuys
    31/05/2008 $1000 Freeroll

Paul

• Registered Users Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Ok making progress, so far this is the idea, please feel free to add comments, it really needs to be finalised by Monday

Win one of our selected daily tournaments (including 7 freerolls!). This automatically enters you into the WSOP Grand Final to be held on June 9th.

14/05/2008 $100 Freeroll
    21/05/2008 $5 + $.50 Short handed No limit Hold'em with Rebuys IF CHELSEA WIN CHAMPIONS LEAGUE places 2,3,4,5 & 6 will have their prizemoney doubled.
    24/05/2008 $100 Freeroll

Paul

Paul no offence mate, but you came on here looking for ideas. You have not listen to any of the above points and it would seem that you had already made up the above schedule as it doesn't really look like something thrown together at the last minute.

So in hindsight, you have used this thread to advertise, which I believe is against the rules of this forum and in very bad and poor taste. I hope the mods take some sort of action and I believe there could be a small backlash from players to your misleading posts on this thread. Trust and honesty is a big thing in poker.

Finally in relation to the above, it will not attract any bigrollers as its a waste of there time to play such small buy-ins

gl with same

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

so we have to win one of the above mtts to qualify for the wsop gf?... what has that got to do with boards players?...i for one wont be participating in any..gl

the 100$ fo looking good though :)

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭sendic

This might be interesting if people could still buyin to the "WSOP Grand Final" for, say, 500 (no entry fee). that way you give the low stakes player a free 500 euro entry to a WSOP sat for winning one of your lesser tournaments and you still have the opportunity for the larger buy-in players to enter a rake free sat.

This sat could then be advertised as a $13000 overlay sat, assuming all the prizepool is redistributed and not used to pay for the first ticket. At 500 euro entry it would only take 26 players to generate another ticket. 57 players (26+31tournament winners) for two packages sounds like a good event to me (assuming its well structured, get advice from the online MTT experts here, don't just use your bog standard structure)

14/05/2008 $100 Freeroll
    24/05/2008 $100 Freeroll

Paul

Hi Ollie
    I will explain my thought process to clarify where im coming from.
    In my original post I stated I had already asked a variety of people (including various Boards members whom I was speaking to in an unrelated post) and said I would also like to ask Boards members for their feedback. I also stated it was a request for free market research and that I could be contacted by pm or email and not just by public posts.

Someone requested a Freeroll for Boards players. I have contacted the Moderators about this and am awaiting their permission. I have pencilled it in if the Moderators are happy I am conforming to their rules.

You put on your 1st post,
    I think you are eager to set-up some sort of league and send the winner to the WSOP. I hate this idea, as I want to play one tourney and win the seat.

I didn’t mention a league in my original post, only that I would like small staking tournament players to have the best chance of winning a seat. Leagues have there benefits but because there has been such a mixed reaction to the league concept I took the league option out. It could of course go back in but at the moment as many people have said they dont want a league as want one.

You did say you hated leagues and wanted to play a one off, this option isnt quite that but is down to playing 2 tournaments to win a seat.

Again I did state it would be a month long promotion.

I intend to do more promotions at live poker venues but due to time constraints this is not possible for this promotion.

I want a promotion that rewards freeroll players as well as higher staking customers, I thought this might suit both.

I can assure once I decided against a league coming up with this schedule was pretty simple. It wasn’t thrown together last minute, I have been working on it this morning. You have incorrectly assumed I have used this thread to advertise/spam a promotion but by asking for feeback on a promotion i guess i leave myself open to this accusation.

“Finally in relation to the above, it will not attract any bigrollers “………………As I stated in the original post I wanted the promotion to be a mix for all types of players.

“as its a waste of there time to play such small buy-ins”……………………………..Im confused here, you originally suggested a 50 rebuy or a 100 freezeout but now say these are a waste of time.

Please, I would like you to suggest to me either a better schedule or a better idea. I understand not everyone will like it but such is life. I can refer you to my original post Ollieboy and like I say, yours was one of the posts that encouraged me to step away from a league.

This schedule is flexible and im happy to add in a couple bigger tournaments, what do you have in mind? Do you think sendic’s idea of allowing people to buy in has any mileage?
    If you would like me to call you on the matter please feel free to pm me your contact number. Im not here to waste time spamming on Boards.

Paul Spillane

• Registered Users Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

Hi Paul,

I've just had a look at this post and heres my 2cent worth.

I think that if at all possible who ever wins the Package should be an above average player as in the long run Boylepoker are better off sending someone to the WSOP main event that has some sort of chance.
    With a single freezeout with winners coming from freerolls and $5 freezouts anyone can get lucky in 1 tournament and win the ticket. We see it all the time, guys winning tickets and dont actually want to go as they want the money or something else. Send someone that actually wants to play it and has some kinda chance. Also this would have to be an over 21 only promotion?
    32 events and qualifiers>? so grand final of 32? One winner ? any place prizes?
    Maybe 2% for everyone on the final table.

Or why not make the final 32 a heads up knockout tournament? then the final player standing is actually a good poker player?

Best of luck with this and Ill try to take part in a few of your events if this is what you finally go with.

when I mention a 50 rebuy or 100 freeze out, I meant one event. I dont' really have a problem with your schedule and it's a good mix of games to suit all. But asking bigstake players to play 2 events in the chance they might win a 13k package is a waste of there time. If you needs this explain, just watch the 100/200 rebuy on stars where there is great value and usually first prize of 40k.

What I do have a problem with is using this thread to advertise cheaply, but that is more of a Dev issue than any of my business. I feel you were slightly misleading in your first post looking for marketing research etc. I also felt board members were a bit unfair to you at the start, hence my request to members to be more positive, now I feel in hindsight they were correct. This thread as no value except for your posting of the above schedule. If this was your thought process, it would have been easier for you to post this schedule in the first place and ask members was it suitable, instead of wasting peoples time asking for market research. If you feel this thread had any other value, fair enough.

Most poker sites send players to the WSOP on freerolls, so what your doing here is nothing new and I dont know why you had the need to do market research.

As i said Paul already gl with it, I dont see the need to contact you about this issue as it as very little value for me and I dont want to waste your time or mine on just a small matter.

Again Good Luck with it,

Oliver Boyce

What bunch of b****es, good luck with it paul, looks good.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

Hi Paul

I think this is a pretty sweet promotion and you should ignore the begrudgers who wish you had implemented whatever they wanted instead.

[QUOTE=yeah-buddy What bunch of b****es, good luck with it paul, looks good..[/QUOTE]
    RoundTower wrote: »
    Hi Paul

I think this is a pretty sweet promotion and you should ignore the begrudgers who wish you had implemented whatever they wanted instead.

nobody begrudge's the promotion, just the market reseach rubbish, maybe if you took the time to read the thread you would have pick that up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Someone requested a Freeroll for Boards players. I have contacted the Moderators about this and am awaiting their permission. I have pencilled it in if the Moderators are happy I am conforming to their rules.
    Who did you contact?

I'll be honest with you, this doesn't bode well, and it really looks like the original post looking for feedback was just a form of shilling, which is one of the biggest crimes you can commit on boards, and Dev is a huge shill hunter, maybe you contacted him about this freeroll, and there's things happening in the background I don't know about, hence I'll hold off on doing anything just yet to see what the other mods you contacted want to do and to see if you make use of any of the advice put forward, but the old excuse of well I got alot of feedback in Private doesn't wash with me.

Ste05

• Registered Users Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭dvdfan

Wow boards is getting more and more, actually i dont know the word but unless you have credibility id recommend not posting anything here to the people of the poker industry, i had writen a big reply but wtf are you trying to scare off the people who are in a position to change the flaws of online poker before they even start since we complain about it on a daily if not bi-daily basis on here . I dont expect people to kiss azz but at least give them past their 1st post to prove themsleves. Absolutley rediculous IMO

I wouldnt be at all surprised if all offer of a boards tourney were withdrawn at this stage although it might not be a lucritive offer to all players im sure some players might have appreciated it. Its clear from the generous GJP boards tourneys that were not that lucrative a forum to target giving the poor turnout to great tourneys offered in the past.

Do you really think that Boyle came into this without any ideas of what they were going to do before they asked the mighty boards community, they obviously didnt think it up since they posted on boards but gave people the chance to offer an alternative option or suggestions, just because they didnt choose something from the mighty boards suggestions dosent mean they didnt consider our options as im sure theres other communities and opinions Boyle Sports respect.

I think the fairest solution would be to move this to the tourney section if people think there was an advertising angle but please give people a couple of weeks before we scare them off especially when theyre in a position to possibly push our views of how we want change online poker for the better.

I presume Paul knows that most decent rakers wont be drawn to Boyle Poker because of this tourney but may join and play these games simply because as decent rakers our money is made from rakeback/loyalty bonuses and boyle would need to match or outdo the great offers available to steal at least the regulars IMO and id be pretty confident that the larger % of people that post on boards daily play 50nl/100nl+ or the equivialant in tournaments so in future rakeback/tourney deals would be better for looking for keeping players long term or getting them to join.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I wasn't one of the mods contacted :/

5starpool must be the pretty one.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭digiman

14/05/2008 $100 Freeroll
    24/05/2008 $100 Freeroll

Paul

Fair play imo, there are no other sites that I am aware of on here that are giving away a free WSOP package with a generous amount of expenses to what will be mostly Irish players and I would imagine a fair few boards players. The above is a great way to get people to play on your site and a fair way of giving players the chance to play in it also. I for one will be playing these and think its a great idea. I don't think that you should be allowed to buy into this tournament either, the finalizts for the ticket should only be from the players that win one of these games. I'm sure most players don't want some high rollers who can afford a once of payment of $500 as its nice to send someone over there who probably wouldn't have a chance of qualifing otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I think it looks good and is a better promotion than any of the other suggestions.

Although I did like Connie's one.