Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phoning Garda HQ

• 19-03-2008 11:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭

Just wondering can people just ring Garda HQ to find out the status of
    a Firearms application?

ie if your local station cant help and you ring the main Garda HQ in Phoenix Park
    is there any division that you can be transferred to that can let you know if
    our application is being processed or not.

My main concern would be if HQ actually recieved my application from my Local station.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭foxhunter

Nothing to stop you ringing them it's a free country and maybe it would speed up things a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Typical!! Just like my local station No Answer when I ring!!

Have I got the correct number 01 666 0000 ?
    Thats whats in the phone book (but its an old phone book)

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Mac Tire

01 666 2445
    thats computer firearms, the guys n gals that print the license and that sort of craic, have your pulse ID handy, ask for 'Margaret' i think, Hurley, she is very helpful....Mac

Pm Sent

Cheers guys,

Got onto a "Mary" and she was very pleasant to deal with.
    They have no record of receiving my application from my local station yet.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Mac Tire

ooops...:)

Guys that number ye gave me is as good as Magic!

Who ever that Mary Lady is she's spot on!!!
    My station posted it March 12th (Wonder what it was doing all of Jan and Feb)
    She said she would get right on it and have it posted tomorrow.

~B

bullets wrote: »
    Guys that number ye gave me is as good as Magic!

Who ever that Mary Lady is she's spot on!!!
    My station posted it March 12th (Wonder what it was doing all of Jan and Feb)
    She said she would get right on it and have it posted tomorrow.

~B

You see sometimes things can go right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

(Wonder what it was doing all of Jan and Feb)
    It is not uncommon for applications to be sat on for extended periods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Terrier

Mary is spot on, she always states that she turns licenses around in 2 days!! and that the delay is always with the submission. It's great info to have when you ring about your licence.

Remember once your application is accepted it has to be assigned to a Garda at all times on the PULSE system so ask for who it is assigned to and track him down. (Note. They never return calls, especially when you leave a message that it's in relation to a firearms licence)

Terrier wrote: »
    Mary is spot on, she always states that she turns licenses around in 2 days!! and that the delay is always with the submission. It's great info to have when you ring about your licence.

Remember once your application is accepted it has to be assigned to a Garda at all times on the PULSE system so ask for who it is assigned to and track him down. (Note. They never return calls, especially when you leave a message that it's in relation to a firearms licence)

Yeah pleasant experiance dealing with someone so efficient. I know the Garda
    that will be looking after mine so hopefully will get a call from him soon.
    Nice guy but painfully hard to get in contact with.
    They also sent up a form P21 (never seen one) as I asked for an ammo increase for
    my rifle too. I think thats what triggered my CPO visit asking for two different things
    at the same time. (I was warned only ask em to do one thing at a time)

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭tonysopprano

You all have to remember that "Mary in HQ" is not a garda but a civilian worker, and so the difference in attitude and service speaks for itself.

If you can do the job, do it. If you can't do the job, just teach it. If you really suck at it, just become a union executive or politician.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

I know I don't like my name being listed on the internet without either my consent or my involvement, (whether comments are good or bad) .

I wonder how this lady would feel ?

Mods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭V Bull

freddieot wrote: »
    I know I don't like my name being listed on the internet without either my consent or my involvement, (whether comments are good or bad) .

I wonder how this lady would feel ?

Mods?

Freddie is right, the ladies name and work telephone number shouldn't be posted on this forum, who gave permission for this or is it required ??

I wouldn't like my name or work phone number posted here, would you ??..........open and waiting for your replies........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Agree, it should only be given out by PM to known people on this forum.

Just for the record the lady in question is a diamond among knobs of coal. I rang that place a few months ago and got through to what I presume to be a "YOUNG ONE" and she was downright plain ignorant. Got through to this other lady and she was very helpful and definately a civil servant.

If anyone in justice is reading this she deserves a promotion and a good payrise ! The "young one" deserves a good kick in the behind

sorry been sick today. I got the info I needed so I got no objection to this thread being locked or deleted.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Folks ,
    Since Mary H... does such a good job for Irish gunowners.Would it not behoove us,and our respective societies that represent us .. or failing that..US!!! the Irish gunowner to show some form of token gratitude to this lady for doing such a good job????

C.mon..we need allies and good PR wherever we can get them.So I think a small token is appropriate ...

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

V Bull wrote: »
    Freddie is right, the ladies name and work telephone number shouldn't be posted on this forum, who gave permission for this or is it required ??
    In fairness, it's her work number and her first name. If it was her home address and family details, that'd be something else; but everyone in the community knows of "Mary in the park" (sorry, that does sound a lot more dodgy than it was intended to!), and the number for the DoJ firearms department is public domain information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

This thread has been quite helpful. Called up about my cert, was told it had been printed and sent out on the tenth of March. Got to give someone an earful later now...

Edit: And another update. It came back to the Superintendent's office and left there on the 13th of March. I really do need to have a chat with the local chap this evening. On the upside, I should be cradling the new rifle this time tomorrow. May even pop out to RRPC tomorrow and give it a good christening. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 blackprawn2

hey, i applied for my CZ .22 a month ago, so i decided to check up with he computer fireaarms department. the lady there was very nice, but she couldnt find any record of my application. she said to call my local station because they deal with it these days, not computer firearms. i called the cop shop, and predictably there was nobody there. i know three months is the limit, but a month after i apply, they still havent dealt with anything. im so sick of these <mod edit>Gardai</mod edit> having control over what i can and cannot do. <mod snip>. but thats getting away from what i wanted to say. computer firearms apparently no longer turn licences around, its dealt with by your <mod snip> local gardai. at least thats what i was told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

hey, i applied for my CZ .22 a month ago, so i decided to check up with he computer fireaarms department. the lady there was very nice, but she couldnt find any record of my application. she said to call my local station because they deal with it these days, not computer firearms. i called the cop shop, and predictably there was nobody there. i know three months is the limit, but a month after i apply, they still havent dealt with anything. im so sick of these <mod edit>Gardai</mod edit> having control over what i can and cannot do. <mod snip>. but thats getting away from what i wanted to say. computer firearms apparently no longer turn licences around, its dealt with by your <mod snip> local gardai. at least thats what i was told.

Those "<mod snip> local gardai" are obliged to do a background check on firearms applicants so this will cause some of the delay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

No, it's dealt with by *your* <mod snip> local Gardai and my pleasant, efficient and professional local Gardai. Just to rub it in. ;)

And also don't forget that those <mod snip> local Gardai are not given training about the new firearms legislation. There are cases where people are just being difficult - and that's been acknowledged officially by the Gardai at an FCP conference in the past - but the local lads are generally just left unsupported by head office and our licences come a long way down their priority list.

Flinging names about isn't going to fix the problem, and the local lads are the wrong place to lay the blame in this case. You might as well shout at a cashier earning minimum wage in Anglo to fix the economy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

........... but she couldnt find any record of my application..................... i know three months is the limit, but a month after i apply, they still havent dealt with anything.

You will find that the license will be issued very quickly once the application has been processed by your local station. In relation to the 3 months. Thats what they have to process them. So if they decide to do it on the last day of the 3 month period and can get it done in that day then they're still within their right/timeframe.
    ......... computer firearms apparently no longer turn licences around, its dealt with by your local gardai. at least thats what i was told.

As has been the case since August of 2009. Although it didn't rollout till September.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

thanks for the very resonable points of view and responses. quick question though. in 2009, i foolishly tried to get a licence for a walther g22 for my first rifle, which ticks every single box in the restricted field, and was, as i see now, refused well within reason. the garda at my station phoned me up and told me the bad news. i asked why i was being refused, and the garda said they didnt have to tell me. i said by law they had to, and they hung up on me. i forgot about it, and this year went applying for my CZ 452, which ticks none of the restricted boxes. a month and a half later, ( i know, im impatient :) ) i phone up computer firearms, and there is nothing to do with it on their system. today i called again, still nothing. i gave the very nice lady all of my details, and she could find no trace of me on the firearms system. NO trace. my question is, if you apply and are refused, surely something like that should pop up on their database? my refusal for the g22 shold be on there shouldnt it? have i uncovered shenanigans in my local cops, or is there an explanation? again, i thank you for your time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭HarryPotter41

thanks for the very resonable points of view and responses. quick question though. in 2009, i foolishly tried to get a licence for a walther g22 for my first rifle, which ticks every single box in the restricted field, and was, as i see now, refused well within reason. the garda at my station phoned me up and told me the bad news. i asked why i was being refused, and the garda said they didnt have to tell me. i said by law they had to, and they hung up on me. i forgot about it, and this year went applying for my CZ 452, which ticks none of the restricted boxes. a month and a half later, ( i know, im impatient :) ) i phone up computer firearms, and there is nothing to do with it on their system. today i called again, still nothing. i gave the very nice lady all of my details, and she could find no trace of me on the firearms system. NO trace. my question is, if you apply and are refused, surely something like that should pop up on their database? my refusal for the g22 shold be on there shouldnt it? have i uncovered shenanigans in my local cops, or is there an explanation? again, i thank you for your time.

If the local Gardai have finished any background checks they want to the best of my knowledge it should then be entered on the computer with a denial of cert attached to it.

You should have pushed them on the initial refusal.

Maybe they took one look at the form and decided on that basis?

hmmmm...

Haddockman wrote: »
    You should have pushed them on the initial refusal.

Maybe they took one look at the form and decided on that basis?

yeah, but the superintendent has the authority to do that, nobody else does, right? and gardai are fond of following rules, right?

You have the right to appeal, and to appeal you need to know why you were refused.

Haddockman wrote: »
    You have the right to appeal, and to appeal you need to know why you were refused.

well, the refusal of the g22 was reasonable now i think about it. a semi auto 10 round mag rifle isnt the best first rifle : ) the issue is the fact that the refusal isnt on any databases. ill say what im thinking: i think the local gardai never filed the application for the g22, and probably havent filed for my cz 452. refusing me for the g22 without filing the application is very against the law. the superintendent should have given a reason, but im ok with that. im just worried im getting victimised by a local garda, who are not even filing applications, and refusing without even consulting the super.

And you cannot apply and be refused without any record being left in the system.

And it's not the semiauto nature of the G22 that makes it an unsuitable first rifle, it's the fact that it's ****e that makes it an unsuitable first rifle!

so when the garda called me up and said i was refused, it looks like the application for which i was being refused was never even filed, meaning they took the authority into their own hands and never filed it, which, unless im mistaken, is extremely illegal. anyone have any suggestions on what to do? if at the end of the three month waiting period, which is 6 weeks away, i get refused for a cz 452, and i call the guys in computer firearms, and they have no record of the application, is this reasonable proof that the application was never filed and the garda is breaking the law? if so, what should i do? i have never been in any kind of trouble and im very sure they have no reason to refuse me, but if a previous application was never filed, and i was refused, whats to stop them doing it again? its early days yet, but im worried about this now.

which, unless im mistaken, is extremely illegal
    I think you're mistaken. If you tried to press charges, they'd just point out that they said it was unlikely you'd succeed and you didn't insist on proceeding.

I'd forget about the mess and reapply in writing to the Superintendent.

not a bad idea. the garda took my fca1, and the original copy of the bill of sale for the cz452. will the photocopy of the bill of sale be accepted if im reapplying to the super? because when i go back to the local station, its highly unlikely they will give me my original doc's back, including land permission, which can be gotten again. i supose i can also re-photocopy my nargc card. also, is it within my rights to ask for a receipt of giving my application in, be it to the super or the local gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭MarkD.

Tried ringing Garda HQ today to see did they recieve me application, but no answer two times today. Said id go this route as my local cop shop are hopeless, cant ever catch the FO :mad: and no one else seems to want to help. I asked them to check their computers but they never do. Im sick of not being told notting!

Is it a new application and how long ago did you send it in?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

ezridax wrote: »
    Is it a new application and how long ago did you send it in?

New application ya, four weeks ago today it was handed in. Local station is known for misplacing forms and giving misleading info (as in oh you'll hear from me in a few days, or in a weeks time) so Im just curious did they send it off at all yet.

Well can i make a suggestion (i'm going to anyway).

The Gardai have 3 months to assess, process and pass/refuse a license application with no notification of the progress of the application during the process. Constant ringing will annoy, and even delay the application (you know).

Wait. Have patience. It will be slow at the start then in a matter of days from receiving the "application received" letter you will have the lincese. Ringing them within 3-4 weeks of submitting the license when they have 3 months will not help you. Because others get it quickly does not mean you will.

ezridax wrote: »
    Well can i make a suggestion (i'm going to anyway).

The Gardai have 3 months to assess, process and pass/refuse a license application with no notification of the progress of the application during the process. Constant ringing will annoy, and even delay the application (you know).

Wait. Have patience. It will be slow at the start then in a matter of days from receiving the "application received" letter you will have the lincese. Ringing them within 3-4 weeks of submitting the license when they have 3 months will not help you. Because others get it quickly does not mean you will.

Thanks for the advice I'll take it onboard. Meanwhile I'll sit and bite my nails.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 OnTheGame

My license has been ''sent off'' by the efficent local guys who told me that would be granted no problem. so im wondering where does it go and is it a case that its looked over again or just proccessed and documented..? how long does it usually take when it goes to wherever..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 OnTheGame

nobody knows no..?

OnTheGame wrote: »
    My license has been ''sent off'' by the efficent local guys who told me that would be granted no problem.

Firstly he/she shouldn't have said tha unless he/she was the Superintendant.
    so im wondering where does it go and is it a case that its looked over again or just proccessed and documented..?

When you leave in your application, the firearms officer goes through it. He will then give a summary jdgement on it based on hie knowledge of you. If he doesn't he will ring your local (if he is not it) station and check on you. He then passes it on up to the Super along with his evaluation. The Super then makes adecision, and passes it back down to the FO to enter into Pulse. Once he has done this you get a letter from Dublin to say your application has been received and a decision will be given within 3 months.
    how long does it usually take when it goes to wherever..?

They have 3 months but it can take 1 week, month or year. Usually when you get your "Application received letter the grant letter follows about a week or so later,. Once you get the grant letter, bring it to your PO and pay the €80 fee. 3-5 days later your license arrives in the post.

today marks three months exactly since i applied for my bolt action .22, and i have heard nothing. i know it takes longer sometimes, i just wish to express my extreme displeasure at the gardai for this delay. you remember when you were a kid, and the excitement you felt on christmas eve night? yeah, i've felt like that for three months. it gets old quick.

update. this morning i phoned computer firearms, and was told that the licence has been granted. this means i just need to wait a little longer (hopefully) for the payment form to come through. the suspense is killing me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

what number did you ring blackprawn?

01 666 2445, the number so kindly offered at the beginning of the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

yeah i saw that but in another thread it said yesterday they dont deal with them anymore,i tried it today anyway the woman said we dont deal with that anymore,i chanced my arm said i rang earlier and a woman told me they did do it there,then she said,huuh,whats your pulse number and looked it up straight away and said my license is being "processed"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭rugerman

same number and i done the same thing rang and said please could u look up 4 me and heypresto its on the way