Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Competitions (NO ASKING FOR VOTES)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 samson26

Congrats on the Wii's that's deadly :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭mell61

I also won a Wii with the Snack Cadbury contest and have to say well done to whomever did the organisation for Cadbury (I think it might have been ogilvy), I got mine last friday, 1 week after the competition ended, and the couple of HMV €10 vouchers were received in the final week of the comp.
    As I did contribute to an earlier set of mails slagging off organisers of comps (ie. having to track your prize months later), its nice to see one that was well run!
    PS: I'd also love to have won the florida trip, but i figure the winner has been contacted and it wasn't me.

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭magicray

wow so there were a few winners from here, well done guys :D

Would be nice if one of us got the holiday :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

Just got a phonecall from O2, somehow won 4 tickets to the JLS gig in the Marquee this Thursday! Delighted about it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭TheGooseLicker

For all the Fantast football lovers, there is a Free world cup one with an IPAD for the winner on the below link..

http://www.lcn.com/blog/lcn-com-fantasy-football-competition/

I certainly wouldnt include Rob Green!

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Vodkat

Win a Parchment Craft Kit worth £19.99

1. Entry is only open to residents of the UK, ROI & Channel Islands.
    2. All entries must be received by 17th June 2010.

http://www.rucraft.co.uk/competitions.php

Win a ‘3 More Inches’ hair care range from top London stylist Michael Van Clarke

Open to ROI residents
    Closes 17 June 2010

http://www.instyle.co.uk/competitions/win-luxury-hair-care-products

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 JD623

Win A Six Month Supply Of Perfekt Beauty Products

Open to ROI residents

http://www.look.co.uk/competitions/win-a-six-month-supply-of-perfekt-beauty-products

Chance to win a set of all 3 books in the Britannica series

This competition is open to Republic of Ireland

Closing date: Thursday 30th June 2010

http://www.rhgdigital2.co.uk/competitions/bugsbritannica/index.asp

Win '' My Gross Books'' for kids.

Open to ROI
    Closes date: 30 June 2010

http://www.grossbooks.co.uk/index.html#winbooks

Win £1000-Worth Of Dower & Hall Jewellery

Open to ROI

http://www.vogue.co.uk/competition/100526-win-1000-to-spend-with-dower-and-.aspx

WIN AMAZING MIU MIU LARGE VITELLO LEATHER TOTE AND A SUMMER'S SUPPLY OF BISCUITY SPECIAL K MINI BREAKS

Open to ROI
    Closes 21 June 2010

https://marieclaire.ipcmediasecure.com/secure/community/competitions/8588/win-miu-miu-handbag-worth-795.html

Win a £250 shopping spree at Evans!

Open to ROI
    Closes 23 May 2010

http://www.evans.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/TopCategoriesDisplay?storeId=12553&catalogId=20554&cmpid=awin

Win one of four £125 vouchers to spend at SwimHut.com

Competition ends on Monday, 21 June 2010
    Open to ROI residents.

https://womanandhome.ipcmediasecure.com/secure/yournetwork/competitions/8473/win-one-of-four-125-vouchers-to-spend-at-swimhut-com.html

Win 10 gourmet seasoning sets worth £50 each

Competition ends on Saturday, 26 June 2010
    Open to ROI

https://womanandhome.ipcmediasecure.com/secure/yournetwork/competitions/8369/win-10-gourmet-seasoning-sets-worth-50-each.html

Win a Bupa health assessment, worth over £500! Just complete the online entry form.

Open to residents of UK & Eire aged 18+
    Closes 11 July 2010

http://www.pomegreat.com/Competition.asp

Win a week's long holiday for four people in Ibiza, including £500 worth of Ann Summers vouchers!

http://www.annsummers.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/StaticPage_40151_NEWSLETTRE_-1_10001#

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭Wheelsonthebus

I notice a lot of these competitions ask for details such as your date of birth or your phone number- anyone else feel a bit didgy about giving this info out?

I think date of birth is a bit much to ask and dont want to start getting any messages from third parties on my phone- am I being too cautious?

Well ive been entering the Look, and other competitions that are quite similar' and for ages. I have never had any spam or text messages or been subscribed to anything I didnt want. It is optional to enter your mobile number, so if you dont want to.... dont. I just dont tick the top two boxes and i tick the bottom three. The Date of birth is usually to confirm that you are over 18. Also I doubt big magazines like Look or Woman and Home would have dodgey competitions!

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭tweety76

Cheers for all those comps Vodkat!!

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭remeneerb

Yeah, thanks Vodkat - ur always so good to share the info, i can never find any - fair play :)

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭Wheelsonthebus

Vodkat wrote: »
    Well ive been entering the Look, and other competitions that are quite similar' and for ages. I have never had any spam or text messages or been subscribed to anything I didnt want. It is optional to enter your mobile number, so if you dont want to.... dont. I just dont tick the top two boxes and i tick the bottom three. The Date of birth is usually to confirm that you are over 18. Also I doubt big magazines like Look or Woman and Home would have dodgey competitions!

No, not saying they would! Also I wasn't referring to the comps you had posted up! Just wondering if anyone had received any unsolicited texts or subsciptions...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,182 ✭✭✭dionsiseire

http://www.goldenplec.com/2010/06/16/competition-propaganda-kele-album-launch-party/

Competition to win entry for you plus 3 mates to propaganda this saturday, Its a launch party for Kele Okereke (Bloc Party) and his new album, should be giveaway's on the night too, drink promotions etc.

No, not saying they would! Also I wasn't referring to the comps you had posted up! Just wondering if anyone had received any unsolicited texts or subsciptions...

Sorry if that came across snappy, No Thankfully I never have. I nearly once entered one that was a subscription. My BF entered the Big Six competitions that are advertised on TV3 and it cost him a small fortune. I wont enter a competition if i dont trust the site. If you ever feel like it seems dodgey just dont bother. I have subscribed to a lot of sites for newsletters and stuff like that and I had a habit of using the same password and someone hacked into my email account where I had credit card details, My ebay username and password, and they tried to get my 3V card details! I just changed every password now i use the same one for the newsletter sites if i have to create an account. My personal accounts have all a different password and are at maximum strength! Ive learned from my mistakes and Im a lot more conscious about the sites i create an account on.

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭muchacho

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Elliee

Win tickets to when harry met sally
    http://www.movies.ie/features/Win_Tickets__When_Harry_Met_Sally_stage_show

Chance to win the usage of the Nokia Pop up Store on Grafton St here, they provide food and drinks, most orignal idea wins.
    http://www.facebook.com/nokiaireland

Truvo.ie are giving away vouchers for just-eat.ie. you have to write 10 reviews if your a new member and will recieve a 10 euro voucher.

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭muchacho

WIN Walking Jacket and Boots to the value of £240
    http://www.walkni.com/Competition.aspx

• Registered Users Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭zynaps

Win a ‘3 More Inches’ hair care range from top London stylist Michael Van Clarke
    I can not believe they called it that :D:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭zynaps

I think date of birth is a bit much to ask and dont want to start getting any messages from third parties on my phone- am I being too cautious?
    I don't mind giving my phone number - so far I've not received anything except a text saying I won tickets to a screening of a film (exactly on the day I couldn't go, so I emailed back asking them to offer the tickets to someone else).

I do mind giving my date of birth, so I pretty much always use the same easily-remembered fake one (within a year or so of the real one).
    I just changed every password now i use the same one for the newsletter sites if i have to create an account.
    Me too - I have a couple of levels of throwaway "don't really care if someone gets a hold of this" passwords for those sites.

I say "gets a hold of" rather than "hacks" or whatever, since a very large number of sites (especially small newsletters and other homegrown webapps) store your passwords in plain text in a database.

One time I forgot my password for a site and, completely negating the point of having different passwords, I tried every password I could remember. Still didn't work. Looked on the site for a "forgot password" function and found none, so I gave up and emailed the site owner, suggesting that it would be nice if he could implement such a function.
    He replied the next day saying "No problem, your password is xxxx", quoting my plaintext password straight back to me. If that was my email or eBay password, well :eek:

[edit]
    Oh that reminds me, about 10 years ago when I had a subscription to (then) Esat's "Surf No Limits" semi-flatrate dialup service, I had to call their tech support to fix a problem with my email account.
    The pleasant woman on the other end asked me to speak my account password so she could verify that I was the account holder. At the time, my password was something like "ye feckin gob****e". We had a good laugh there :)