Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The big Amsterdam thread

123457»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

Heading over for my 5th visit on the 7th March.
    Would love to move over for a year if the oppurtunity ever arose. Its the most liberal, laid back city i've ever been to, yes its expensive but no more than Ireland imo. I've done all the tourist things but to be quite honest i just love the relaxing feeling of sitting in a quiet coffeeshop for a few hours in a hazy bubble :D. Do not drink heavily if you do intend to smoke tho have seen some idiots in an awful state doing this and you only end up making a fool of yourself !!
    As for food etc, i find Febo's a delightful snack after a few joints or there's "Chipsy King" with a slob of mayo (mmmm the biz) otherwise there's plenty of choice. I find the locals fairly ok but they don't have the same sense of humour as us Irish so don't be offended if they don't find some of your actions/jokes funny :p
    All in all a great city to relax and you will become addicted after your first 2/3 trips (not of the drug type)

Accomodation is'nt the cheapest and the rooms are typicaly of the european cramped variety just make sure location is pretty central

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

Ricardo G wrote: »
    Heading over for my 5th visit on the 7th March......

Accomodation is'nt the cheapest and the rooms are typicaly of the european cramped variety just make sure location is pretty central

myself and the gf are heading over next month, could ye recommend a hostel or cheap enough hotel that's very central?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

myself and the gf are heading over next month, could ye recommend a hostel or cheap enough hotel that's very central?

There are loads and loads of hostels most are pretty ok but we have chosen to stay somewhere a bit comfier this time (worth paying a little extra imo) its called the "Rembrandt classic hotel" and is literally a 5 min walk to all amenities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

I've stayed in the "Heart of Amsterdam", it can be a bit pricey but its slap bang in the middle of the city. Right in the Red Light District.

http://www.hostelbookers.com/hostels/netherlands/amsterdam/31042/

Also check out "Budget Hotel Tourist Inn" Its beside the train station and less than 5 minutes from dam square. Its a bit cheaper as well.

http://www.hostelworld.com/hosteldetails.php/Budget-Hotel-Tourist-Inn/Amsterdam/7904

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭bandit197

A-Train Hotel

We stayed at the A-Train hotel, cheap and cheerful. Right beside the station and in the middle of the action. Friendly helpful staff, I would stay there again.

cheers for all the suggestions,

roll on the dam :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭kerno

As above..!!
    Things to do in the DAM..? In our early 20's :D

kerno wrote: »
    As above..!!
    Things to do in the DAM..? In our early 20's :D

We're just back a few days ago (in our early 20's), savage spot.

There's loads to do and very handy to navigate around the city. We got a 3 day pass for 15e(each) which covered buses, trams & the metro.

We went to the 'Amsterdam Dungeon' which is good value for money & interactive

'Madame Tussauds' I thought was a waste of time & money

'Sex Museum', 'Vodka Museum' & were grand but not a lot to see, never went to Anne Franks etc

There's a **** load of coffee shops also, Red Light District, Voldenpark, canal trip. The hotel or that will have loads of information leaflets & all that jazz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Does anyone know if the coffee shops are still selling to tourists or when they plan on halting sales to tourists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I was there 2 weeks ago and they were still selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

I'm heading to the Dam in a few days.

I heard it's awful for pickpockets. Any way to avoid having my cash stolen?

Usual tips on what to do/where to go appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,301 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Red_Wake wrote: »
    I'm heading to the Dam in a few days.

I heard it's awful for pickpockets. Any way to avoid having my cash stolen?

Usual tips on what to do/where to go appreciated.

It's not actually that bad, I lived there for 7 months and never had any hassle.

That said, stay wide to the characters that do live there, don't carry all your cash around in one place, all the usual stuff.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Tuesday_Girl

I've been here for 13 years and never been pick-pocketed but they are out there, luckily there is an undercover police team who are on the streets every weekend and never fail to find a few. Just be vigilant as you would be anywhere else, be very careful with your belongings at all times and especially on trams and buses where they often used the excuse of the crowd to push against people and at the same time dip into their pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭eimear10

Coffee shops still open yeah ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭nipps

can any1 tell me how much a pint of heineken costs over there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 401 ✭✭franc 91

I used to take groups of young people from Paris to Amsterdam for weekends, though it was quite some time ago. I know things have changed quite a lot since then (which is perfectly normal) - there's one place where we used to go for a night out on Saturdays, and it's still going strong, is the Milky Way (De Melkweg)
    http://www.melkweg.nl/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭RebelRed90

going friday to suss out the craic there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭fmlarnapairce

Bump! Would appreciate if anyone had any ideas of stuff to do in amsterdam outside the normal museums etc.
    thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Bump! Would appreciate if anyone had any ideas of stuff to do in amsterdam outside the normal museums etc.
    thanks.

http://www.amsterdamrentaboat.com/index.php?page=_

Head to the supermarket and get yourself some nice food and a bottle of wine and head out for the day on a boat ... only way to see Amsterdam IMO :)

Just make sure one of you is fit to drive, in boat terms your bottom of the food chain, the boats are aluminium so don't worry about hitting off stuff, also they are electric so nice and quiet :)

They'll also give you a map so you can choose a route in the time you'd like to spend and pass by the sites.

[QUOTE=keithclancy

Head to the supermarket and get yourself some nice food and a bottle of wine and head out for the day on a boat ... only way to see Amsterdam IMO :)

Just make sure one of you is fit to drive, in boat terms your bottom of the food chain, the boats are aluminium so don't worry about hitting off stuff, also they are electric so nice and quiet :)

They'll also give you a map so you can choose a route in the time you'd like to spend and pass by the sites.[/QUOTE]

thanks for that, sounds like a class idea, we'll do it!

[QUOTE=keithclancy;

They'll also give you a map so you can choose a route in the time you'd like to spend and pass by the sites.[/QUOTE]

dammit, they stop renting them out a week before we get there! thanks though, looked like good run. i'll look out for another company doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭mylittlepony

Looking for advice to get to our accommodation from schiphol amsterdam Airport train station to centraal station then change train for amstel this location would be close to Heineken experience.
    Could take up to half hour. Is this right. I check the train journey planner and it cost €3.70 one way.
    Is this the best quick cheapest route?

Or is it possible to walk from centraal station to amstel?

advice and tips welcome. Many thanks in advance.

You can change train at Centraal station and go on to Amstel, that will take about 30 minutes in total. But if your hotel is close to Heineken Experience you might be better off getting a tram from Centraal Station.

Heineken Experience is about 30 minutes walk from Amstel.

Centraal Station to Amstel would be an hours walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,301 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Centraal Station to Amstel would be an hours walk.

It's a pretty direct route though and takes you through very nice parts of the city.

True, it is a nice walk. Just mentioning the distance as they'll have just arrived in Amsterdam and might have luggage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

It depends where exactly you're staying but the airport bus goes close enough to the Heineken experience. It's €4.75 one way or €9 return - takes about 30 mins to get to the Rijksmuseum area which is where you'd presumably be getting off since it's nearest the Heineken experience. The buses go every ten minutes I think.

http://www.bus197.nl/

I now noticed the posts above are a few months old but the airport bus is still worth looking into for anyone planning a trip :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭zweton

will be over in the dam for 4 days over easter, staying in jordaan district.
    have book amsterdam dungeons as it looks a bit of craic and also canal cruise with these guys http://www.thosedamboatguys.com/#intro
    any other things you would recommend? i hear the waterhole in leidesplein is decent spot. so much to see so little time:)