Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The big Amsterdam thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 653 ✭✭✭CSC

Think I'll go with the Tulip; someone else mentioned that name to me also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

i stayed at the hans brinker hostel a few years ago.. great laugh. not expensive and they have a bar in the hostel too. :cool:

Yep they have happy hour 3 quid for two pints of Heineken and the night club has a stripper pole. If all your planning on using the hostel for is sleepin then the hans brinker hostel is probably your best bet its really cheap and all the staff are dead on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭penguinpoppers

I didnt link this apartment in my last post because I hadnt booked it yet.
    Now between the 14-17th of Dec ill be there.....hell yes.
    Its for 6/7 people,u can smoke in it,its VERY central(but not red light).
    Just check it out.

Look at the others on the site if u've got 3/4 people or 7/8 people.
    Hope it helps.

www.amsterdamcentralbedandbreakfast.nl/apartment-warmoes1.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭dapto1

I was there two weeks ago, and spent about 400 euro in 4 nights/5 days. Drinks can be horrendously (ie like Dublin) expensive, up to 5.50 a pint. Places like the Rijksmuseum and Anne Frank house cost about 17 or 18 euro. I wasn't smoking, but spacecakes generall cost about 3 or 4 euro. A tram ticket that works for about 10 journeys costs 8 euro. Hope this helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭rizzla

For €35 you can get a 2 course meal and a comedy improv show at the Boom Chicago. Thought it was really funny and the food wasn't bad. They have some vids up on their site yu could check out if your into their humour.

A Canal trip is €10-€15 and really good I think.

Also, I really like the Nemo science centre, but I'm a bit nerdy/curious about how everything works. It's in a really cool looking building too.

Overall I'd say bring around €400 spending money with ya. Food and drink is just as pricey there as it is here. Also, if you like your green try stay out of most of the touristy coffeeshops they really do over charge and it's not top quality stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Take a dump in the main square, blame it on 'the mushrooms', kiss a policeman

free

And for everything else, like bail etc, theres MasterCard :D

Was in The Dam many moons ago and actually booked a trip for herself and meself in May. Last time I was there was for a football match so the touristy things all involved beer and football :P Do they still have the open air urinals along the street
    (... at least I thought they were open air urinials)

Hoping to do a lot more sightseeing etc and Canal trip could be nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

A nice hooker will cost around €50.00 but haggling can work..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭kc66

I was there in December. Went on Saturday evening, came back Monday evening, spent around €450 (not including accommodation). Basically spent on food and drink. Thought it was very expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Get off the main areas for Food as its well over priced.

The Steak Houses called Rancho's are great and priced very well. There is alot of good places to eat and drink around Leidseplein. If you find Cafe Alto, keep it on your left and head down that road away from Leidseplein. Great Italian place to eat at on the next left turn. I think its on Speigelgracht st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

Hi, I've been to Amsterdam 4 times. I love the city. As mentioned, get away from the main tourist traps with resturants and pubs. There are some excellent local pubs with the best beer you can drink. Head down to the Leidesplien and find a bar called The Waterhole. Excellent for live rock bands. Brilliant craic with a types of people, not just dutch.
    For a real local experience go to the pub opposite Rembrandt corner, past where the market is. The pub is tilted at a 30 degree angle and is below waterlevel!! Drink different beers like, Palm, Westmalte, Juipler, Duval, Hoegarrden, Canon, etc. Nicest dutch, german beers you'll ever drink.

Shopping is the same as here, price wise. Leather is alot cheaper. If you're in the hunt for a leather item. Check out the floating Chinese resturant past Central Station. Nice experience. http://www.seapalace.nl//index.php?vermouth=home&lang=en

Italian food. http://www.restaurant-incanto.nl/ I took my fiancee here when I proposed to her earlier in the day. Get a window view. Beautiful.

Other resturants can be found at http://www.iens.nl/

For sex shows, go to Casa Rossa and the Banana Bar.

And of course if you're diamond shopping. :Dhttp://www.costerdiamonds.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭MrMiyagi

Hello

If you are in Amsterdam make sure to go to the library.

Its on the left across from the train station

You can get free internet there and its a cool building.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Horno

Spent 5 days in the dam during the summer...heres a little recomendation for ya if your into smokin the good stuff....the best cafe is one called the bushman..proper rasta cafe its lethal..3 grams for 15euro you cant go wrong!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 northsidedave

im organising a stag for about 12 lads in july in amsterdam,i`ve never been there and would like to know wat stuff there is to do(apart from the blatently obvious)...i heard there is a shooting range there has anybody heard of it ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,217 ✭✭✭✭biko

Heineken museum is probably one of those obvious one but well worth a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Johnnyjump

Apart from the obvious, there a great place about 20 mins outside Amsterdam where all the original windmills are still in working order. A bit of culture and an opportunity to blow the cobwebs away after the night before, if u know what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭ronano

Never been and am going soon

i'll only be there for 2 days so won't see everything but any recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭cono121

Ok, so no proper holidays this year, however a weekend in Amsterdam to make up for it. I need names of clubs, bars... etc

We are all 19 - 20.

Any names would be sweeeet!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭IronWolf

Just been living there for 4 month's, here's some of the better places I've been to:

Coffeeshops (The better one's):
    • Melkweg
    • Dampkring
    • Kandinsky's
    • Bushman
    • The Greenhouse

Clubs:
    • Melkweg (check website before going, wide variety of music)
    • Escape
    • Paradiso (check website before going, wide variety of music)

"Irish" Bars:
    • Slainte
    • Molly Mollone's - The owner Bernie is one of the nicest people you could ever meet
    • Durty Nellys

Regular bars (* means you can smoke pot there)
    • Lost In Amsterdam *
    • Barney's Uptown *
    • Sake & Co.
    • Suzy Wongs (very upmarket, shirts advisable)

Random:
    • Wok To Walk - Dotted around the central area, they're a local institution and well worth going to after a night out!

Remember that there are plenty of terrible tourist traps over there which make a fortune through charging extortionate prices to unknowing tourists (the gresshopper springs to mind), so be sure to have a look around before you setlle on a particular watering hole :)

Have you booked a hostel yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

IronWolf wrote: »
    Just been living there for 4 month's, here's some of the better places I've been to:

• Melkweg
    • Dampkring
    • Kandinsky's
    • Bushman
    • The Greenhouse

Clubs:
    • Escape

"Irish" Bars:
    • Slainte
    • Molly Mollone's - The owner Bernie is one of the nicest people you could ever meet
    • Durty Nellys

• Lost In Amsterdam *
    • Barney's Uptown *
    • Sake & Co.

Random:
    • Wok To Walk - Dotted around the central area, they're a local institution and well worth going to after a night out!

Remember that there are plenty of terrible tourist traps over there which make a fortune through charging extortionate prices to unknowing tourists (the gresshopper springs to mind), so be sure to have a look around before you setlle on a particular watering hole :)

try st Christophers Inn. A hostel and also a pub. Near to the town square where Madame Tusauds is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭cono121

IronWolf wrote: »

• Melkweg
    • Dampkring
    • Kandinsky's
    • Bushman
    • The Greenhouse

Clubs:
    • Escape

"Irish" Bars:
    • Slainte
    • Durty Nellys

• Lost In Amsterdam *
    • Barney's Uptown *
    • Sake & Co.

Random:

Cheers dude, thanks we'll be sure to check these out!
    Hostel, nah not yet. Our plan is; we arrive morning time, so spend a few hours setting up accommodation.
    Should we have planned that before?!

cono121 wrote: »
    Cheers dude, thanks we'll be sure to check these out!
    Hostel, nah not yet. Our plan is; we arrive morning time, so spend a few hours setting up accommodation.
    Should we have planned that before?!
    definitely plan ahead. get yourself a book on Amsterdam (twenty euros but worth the invstement) which will give you list of all hostels and hotels and the various locations.. The tourist information centre beside the train station which will sort accomadation for you if you run into a pickle is extremely busy so i would book in advance. there is another hostel near Museum plein which is also another handy location as it quite near the main park there and few good pubs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭IronWolf

Err, replace melkweg with Barneys in the coffeeshop section, typo sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭stevoslice

any other names of hostels?
    goin with my girlfriend, for the halloween weekend, should be fun...

Flying Pig Downtown Hostel. for backpackers. . 22 to 30 euros. ring amsterdam 420 68 22

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭tony231974

Go to the "Dapper Market" Voted The Best Daily Street Market in the Netherlands 2007 & 2008.It's near the Zoo.

Very cheap.

Yes the main park is good for a walk. Just dont get lost. Its very very big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Was there last weekend. I saw 4 guys on segway's....looked like great craic. They had the name of a hire company on them, i reckon a bit of googling would get you the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭oblivious

Amsterdam is a great city for beer, here is a very good guide to the cafe and bars and if you visit just one try Café Gollem and the bottle shop beside it fantastic

just watch out for those damn cyclists. the ringing wont leave your ears for weeks to come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Fairdues

Anne Frank is definitely worth a visit. There a place about 20 minutes outside Amsterdam with working windmills etc etc - worth a visit.