Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Here's what I saw today (Please read the rules before posting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

So to your average joe-soap motorist it'd just be another run-of-the-mill 2/3 door astra/corolla/hyundai coupe? As I said I'm no big audi fan but I don't think so folks

AudiR8_1_560px.jpg

Thats pretty much what I am saying.

Also, I don't really see the appeal of that photo, the front is not nice. Three big gaping holes, and I though Peugeot were pushing it with one on the front of the 407...

From the front wheel arch backwards it is nice though. Not spectacular though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Gatster

Buy the latest 'Evo' Mag with the M6/911 C4S/AM Vantage Prodrive/R8 test.

Guess what wins, and guess which they reckon is most striking?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭DirtyDog

DSC00261.jpg

DSC00260.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

AMG in Lucan today, beast of a thing.

Sorry about the poor picture

PhonePics010.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭RedorDead

el tel wrote:
    Audi A5/S5 launched 6th March 2007
    Audi R8 launched September 2006

Here's welcoming you to June 2007:rolleyes:

Keep in mind this is Ireland.

R8 was first shown in 2006 in Frankfurt, S5 was first shown in Geneva this March.

S5 to be launched in July. R8 to also be launched in July hopefully. Not enough cars here yet. The car in the picture is pre launch car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Funxy

DirtyDog wrote:
    DSC00261.jpg

Really great spot, where was this? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

07-TS-430

The two lads in it weren't a day over 22 :mad:

dsc01612ko7.jpg

dsc01613yv9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Funxy wrote:
    Really great spot, where was this? :D

Looks like Liffey Valley, brave man parking it there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭DirtyDog

Holsten wrote:
    Looks like Liffey Valley, brave man parking it there.

You win the fluffy bunny toy :p

Have to say the car was in perfect condition, and the sound of the engine...... lovely car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Volcano

qz wrote:
    07-TS-430

Why are you mad about that? How can you tell age so easily? How do you know they didn't work their ass off to get it? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Alfie1

Saw this last week:

Audi A8 L 4.2TDI Quattro

my.php?image=image029aa8vt8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,536 ✭✭✭✭L-M

AMG in Lucan today, beast of a thing.

Sorry about the poor picture

PhonePics010.jpg

I don't know what is so special about these. Well, rare about these. I have seen so many of these i don't know why they are deemed rare. But my god i love them. Had a 4.6 petrol Range rover in for repair today. Rare enough yoke but mighty ugly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭tdc

qz wrote:
    07-TS-430

dsc01612ko7.jpg
    Volcano wrote:
    Why are you mad about that? How can you tell age so easily? How do you know they didn't work their ass off to get it?:rolleyes:

actually QZ is right. that 430 belongs to louis ronans son. his dad got it for him for his 21st birthday!

same car
    AJ! wrote:
    Ferrari F430

ferrarif430qx8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,579 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I hope daddyo is paying for the insurance as well :)

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

tdc wrote:
    actually QZ is right. that 430 belongs to louis ronans son. his dad got it for him for his 21st birthday!

same car

Jaysus 22 wasn't a bad guess so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,738 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Victor wrote:
    Nissan Figaro - whats the story behind these? More 1930s than 1990s.
    More.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,579 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Just from memory, Victor. It's based on the Micra model before the previous Micra model if you know what I mean. Iirc, only 20,000 were produced and the going rate here in Ireland has been around the €10k mark for years. Keep it going and depreciation is zero

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

unkel wrote:
    Just from memory, Victor. It's based on the Micra model before the previous Micra model if you know what I mean. Iirc, only 20,000 were produced and the going rate here in Ireland has been around the €10k mark for years. Keep it going and depreciation is zero

Yep, afair they are indeed based on the micra.
    Interesting move for nissan, and seems like it was a sucessful one.

It is a great choice for a first car. They are not overly expensive, they should be solid and reliable, looks quirky/different and as unkel said, they should not depreciate much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Guess what wins, and guess which they reckon is most striking?

..........purely bdue to the fact that it is the newest car, newest shape always makes the most impact !!

I actually saw one in Puerto Banus last Christmas, and it stopped people in their tracks. There were Lambo's and Ferrari's everywhere but folk crowded around the Audi, purely because they hadn't seen one before !

Once they arrive in force, folk wont even notice them !

MercMad wrote:
    .........but folk crowded around the Audi, purely because they hadn't seen one before !

Once they arrive in force, folk wont even notice them !

Agreed,
    I went to the london motor show last year, and the two busiest stands were the ones where the Vauxhall (Opel) Corsa and the Freelander II were launched.

There is no doubt it is a striking car, but will it retain the wow factor a Lambo Countach or a Ferrari Testarossa still command, I don't think so. Its like the 6 series BMW, when it was new you would go out of your way to have a peek at one, but now you hardly even notice them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

prospect wrote:
    Its like the 6 series BMW, when it was new you would go out of your way to have a peek at one, but now you hardly even notice them.

I agree, there are quite a few (R8's) here in Melbourne and its doesn't turn heads at all.

I seen a Maserati MC12 a couple of days ago, didn't even reach for my camera as it was gone before I could appreciate that paint job, some noise off it though, nothing like I have ever heard before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭tc20

There's a black 06 D 612 Scaglietti parked outside the office next to us.

No camera with me, but im waiting for him to leave so i can indulge in some 'aural sex' :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

unkel wrote:

They were based on the K10 Micra/March (boxy model). The engine in the Fiagro has the same 1 litre Micra engine only it has a turbo charger bolted onto it, giving out about 75bhp (as opposed to 50bhp from the non-turbo engine). They all came wih auto boxes as far as I know too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭tdc

tc20 wrote:
    There's a black 06 D 612 Scaglietti parked outside the office next to us.
    where? can u get the plate number?

tdc wrote:

More to the point, get a photo. Surely someone in your office has a camera or a camera phone...

Spotted this on the N7 southbound yesterday, between Rathcoole & Naas.

The Reg was V CRAZY

Picture as taken by back seat passenger before anyone feels like giving out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭tc20

tdc wrote:

I do have a camera phone, but..:o dont have the tech know how to upload onto here... I know people are gonna flame me cos it probably only takes 2 secs...

It was in Southern Cross Bus Pk, off Boghall Rd in Bray. I didnt want to give out the full reg as i thought this was not kosher. It was 06 D 66xxx IIRC.
    Awesome sound tho.

I'll just hang me head in shame til someone tells me how to upload camphone pics onto here..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

A small selection from the port, I have a lot more but I don't know when I'll get them up!

543854726_42f0178d80.jpg

Puerto Banus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

el diablo wrote:
    cool Micra, I think I like it...;)
    I saw this Micra yesterday in Blanch. Looks daft, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭hi5

prospect wrote:
    Spotted this on the N7 southbound yesterday, between Rathcoole & Naas.

The Reg was V CRAZY

Picture as taken by back seat passenger before anyone feels like giving out.

Dont know why there aren't more of those in Ireland,VRT exemp(€50),VAT reclaimable,RHD, €253 road tax,Oh and a 6.0 liter 400 bhp Corvette motor for propulsion!
    I suppose most people only buy whats directly marketed to them.
    Anyone know what the exchange rate is for the AUD/€:)

http://www.holden.com.au/www-holden/action/modeloverview?modelid=15002

costs 41,000 AUD= about €28,000 + another €2000 or so for ro-ro shipping,+22% import duty=6,500

Total about €37,000