Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International Poker Open - Final Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Im In 798 Now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭C4Queen

I know you wait to bitter end your mupp Keill Belly!

OMG!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

801 now the prize pool gets even bigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Why is the reg closed at 10pm?

RasTa wrote:
    Why is the reg closed at 10pm?

The registration of IPO are closed yes.

This is due to the fact we are doing a huge makeover tonight from dollars to Euro so Boss Media didnt have a chans then to close it a bit earlier then expected.

THERE WILL BE A LATE REG UP. I START A NEW THERAD ABOUT THAT IN ABOUT 5 MIN....

cheers

anna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

A big congrats to Steven and all the crew for getting so many runners!! Can't wait for europes biggest ever live tourney!!!

Thanks!!

You all did well getting in behind, 802 is an amazing result one week before the tourney!!!

lets continue in this one:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055158441

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

karlh wrote:
    congrats Stephen and Co!

Just registered 'karlyphant'

Cheers Karl,

We stole some of your promotional ideas along the way but this Saturday will be when the real fun starts.

Hope all is well with you, look forward to seeing you at the RDS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭ShadowBJ21

Congrats Stephen!

This is a great success and I can imagine you had a hard time in the beginning with the numbers being quite low.

Hope you feel much better now :D

Are the french already in now?

Shadow

ShadowBJ21 wrote:
    Congrats Stephen!

This is a great success and I can imagine you had a hard time in the beginning with the numbers being quite low.

Hope you feel much better now :D

Are the french already in now?

Shadow

Hi Harald,

Thanks very much for all the help along the way with promotion, I hope it pays off for you in the tournament.

Yes we are all relieved and delighted but like I have said it is definitely not just down to me, Anna and Derek have worked just as hard as myself and just about everyone involved in poker in Ireland has given both large and small amounts of support.

Not all the French players are on the system yet. We are expecting/preparing for over 1,000 players now.

Stephen.

Fatboydim wrote:
    Looking forward to it. Now what time does it start and what time should we get there.

Anytime after 10am for arrival is good Len, you can check out the few Exhibition stands and soak up the atmosphere. By 11am I think we will have a good crowd around looking for betting on the event etc.

The tournament will kick off at 12 noon sharp lads so get there early if you want to soak up the atmosphere beforehand.

Team players must be in the building by 11:30am at the very latest. Team captains will need to have paid their buy-ins by this time.

Hi guys,

Just want to point out the obvious here; We will not accept cash on the day or before, registering on Mermaid is the only way to play, a credit card is a handy thing at times but it is not the only deposit method on Mermaid, lol.....No seriously here is what I want to point out;

If you have not yet registered you need to do so as soon as you can.

There will be a late reg tournament in the Mermaid lobby from tomorrow morning at about 10am. If you register for this you are registered for the IPO.

This option will close on Friday 5th Oct (afternoon). You would not believe the amount of emails we received when registration closed an hour early this evening. If you leave it that close to closing time on Fri 5th Oct then I guess you don't really want to be part of this tournament.

We are expecting at least another 200 players to register between now and Friday. Any player that leaves it later than that will not be able to play.

If you are having any technical difficulties please do your very best to work it out yourself before contacting Anna; ac@mermaidpoker.info

As regards work/family commitments; Any player that registers or has registered up to this point can get a full refund at any time before 12 noon on Saturday 6th Oct 2007. My mobile number is 087 24 24 626. If you think this is a possibility then ring/text me and I will take care of the rest.

Best of luck to all taking part. I hope you all enjoy the experience and if you do or do not show a profit in this then I hope it will stand to you as a good experience in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭ShadowBJ21

Anybody staying at the Albany House (84 Harcourt Street)?
    Looking fo someone giving me a ride to the RDS or people interested in sharing a taxi.

Only thing is that I want to be there early (between 10 and 11).

You can email me: shadow@fifthstreet.biz

Shadow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Thanks for the info. [And might take up the lift offers :D TYVM]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

what would be the expected first prize with 1000 runners

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,680 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Hi folks,

Congratulations on getting the tournament up & running and getting so many entrants. I'm really looking forward to Saturday and hopefully Sunday!

One question though: do you reckon you'll have enough dealers to cover every table?

This is a genuine question, not a potential whinge or anything like that.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,868 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Will there be enough tables, or even room if there are say 1070 runners? I presume this is taken into account, but thought I'd ask anyhow as I am not sure if 1000 was the cap or only the target, even though I see Anna said 1202 was the mermaid cap.

As Stephen said contact me if you get stucked with reg or dep.

ac@mermaidpoker.info

We will get you in am sure, if only you dont wait to thursday or friday, by then there is really not much we can do. Besides am flying out to the Green Isle on thursday, :) and will not be able to sit infront of the screen as much.

GET Going, GET In!

anna

Stephen will answer this more proper but 1200 ish are definatley stop.

And do NOT wait with registering, we have some frenchies also that are not calculated inside the numbers you see online. 1200 is the final final cap.

anna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭The_Chopper

Nice one guys for making this happen.

Next question:
    Will the rugby world cup quater final games be shown during the tourny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭Blip

C4Queen wrote:
    I know you wait to bitter end your mupp Keill Belly!

OMG!!!!!!

Bang, there goes the overlay, any truth to the rumour that Mermaid are guaranteeing €150k if 1000 players reg, lol.

Congrats Stev, Anna, Clamper and the unsung heros, its unbelivable how you pulled this together, wp nh....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭byrner1

Hi Steve
    Congrats with the sucess of the tournie , just wondering is it possible to register two people from the one account on mermaid or do you have to set up two accounts ?

5starpool wrote:
    Will there be enough tables, or even room if there are say 1070 runners? I presume this is taken into account, but thought I'd ask anyhow as I am not sure if 1000 was the cap or only the target, even though I see Anna said 1202 was the mermaid cap.
    TrueDub wrote:
    Hi folks,

Congratulations on getting the tournament up & running and getting so many entrants. I'm really looking forward to Saturday and hopefully Sunday!

One question though: do you reckon you'll have enough dealers to cover every table?

This is a genuine question, not a potential whinge or anything like that.

Hi guys, we said from the start that we didn't want to have a cap on the tournament. In emails along the way I have answered players saying that 1,200 was the cap because I didn't believe that we would get anywhere near that number.

We have however made preparations for this amount of players. We have enough tables, chips, side game chips and more chips chips and chips than you can shake a dog doo stick at.

As of this moment in time; We have dealers enough arranged to handle 900 players (i.e. 90 dealers have confirmed attendance). We plan to ask some of the more experienced dealers that have decided to play this event to deal and play (just for the first three levels or thereabouts).

This means that although we are aiming to have the full 110 dealers that it looks like we will require - and just right now I've got another text from an interested dealer - once enough experienced dealers have been knocked out of the tournament they will be straight in and on the clock and the event will be fully fully fully dealer dealt.

I hope that players realise that the main focus of this tournament is throw the biggest party possible. To show everyone what a really skillful poker tournament is all about and to have fun.....Oh yeah and a few people are going to walk away with a few extra zeros in their Mermaid and bank accounts. We have done and are doing everything we can to cover every possible eventuality or circumstance. If anyone is not happy when the dust settles then I am sure we will hear about it here.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,868 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

carfax wrote:
    I hope that players realise that the main focus of this tournament is throw the biggest party possible. To show everyone what a really skillful poker tournament is all about and to have fun.
    Fun schmun, show me the money.

Good to hear that you have 90 dealers too.

5starpool wrote:
    Fun schmun, show me the money.

Good to hear that you have 90 dealers too.

Some of them are new but all are competent.....My opinion is that it might as well be self deal if the dealers are not trained.

Cheers for all the help over the last few months Dom.....you do a thankless job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Whats Craic with parkin ? Im registerred steve told ya last min ha ha . Still a good few goin to register when it reopens also .. They are unreal

Also u should do betting on the number will show up with cash i reckon 80-100

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,680 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

carfax wrote:
    Some of them are new but all are competent.....My opinion is that it might as well be self deal if the dealers are not trained.

Cheers for all the help over the last few months Dom.....you do a thankless job.

I'm with Dom on the fun comment! :)

Good to hear about the large number of dealers, and that even within the hopefully extremely few) self-deal tables it will be trained dealers dealing & playing.

Congrats again on getting this organised, it sounds like a hell of a lot of work, but will be an immense achievement!

Also u should do betting on the number will show up with cash i reckon 80-100

Under 5 or over 5 you can have even money your pick. Exactly 5 and I keep your dough.