Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RIP Pat the Baker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

"Jaysus thats terrible" says I to old Mr. Brennan, "it will be you next".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

c - 13 wrote:
    "Jaysus thats terrible" says I to old Mr. Brennan, "it will be you next".
    lol, my hero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

R.i.p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

Jaysus i told ya i wasnt feeling well, says i to old Mr Brennan , "you ****ed now " he says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Dahh another lost to society......Im going to be eating steak tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

I was just thinking yesterday what an Irish institution Pat The Baker is (after seeing that horrible ad with D'Unbelieveable guy) Didn't know the actual fella was still alive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

All my heroes are dying :sadface:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Pat the Baker's brown bread you might say

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

All together now,

What wakes up the morning, for a perfect kind of day
    Who tells the sun to rise now Pat is on his way
    Its pat the baker, (first with freshness)
    Pat the baker, so fresh its famous
    Bright and early every morning, he brings the best to you........
    Pat the Baker, So Fresh its Famous.

I don't know if that's 100% right but I'm working from memory and it's close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,109 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Q - What did they call Pat the Baker after he retired?

A - Pat.

Have to say I'm a Brennans man. A Shaws sausage wrapped in a super-fresh slice of Brennans with a bit of butter and ketchup....awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Sure didnt Brennans Bread buy out all the other big bread companies years ago?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

zuutroy wrote:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

All together now,

What wakes up the morning, for a perfect kind of day
    Who tells the sun to rise now Pat is on his way
    Its pat the baker, (first with freshness)
    Pat the baker, so fresh its famous
    Bright and early every morning, he brings the best to you........
    Pat the Baker, So Fresh its Famous.

I don't know if that's 100% right but I'm working from memory and it's close.
    LOL:D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Plug wrote:
    LOL:D
    It's really annoying, I could spend ages studying for an exam in college and still not remember a thing, yet I can remember something like that more or less word for word with out trying. :( I also know all the words to the fresh prince of bel air. :)

All together now,

What wakes up the morning ....

Not Pat anyway.

It's really annoying, I could spend ages studying for an exam in college and still not remember a thing, yet I can remember something like that more or less word for word with out trying. :( I also know all the words to the fresh prince of bel air. :)
    Workin from memory here, but I feel the need to show off :D

In west philadelphia, born and raised,
    on the playground is where I spent most of my days
    chillin out maxin, relaxin all cool
    and I was shootin some b-ball outside of the school

when a couple of guys who were up to no good
    startin makin trouble in the neighbourhood
    i got in one little fight and my mom got scared
    she said "youll move in with your aunty and uncle in bel air!"

i whistled for a cab and when it came near
    the licence plate said "fresh" and there were dice in the mirror
    if anythin i could say that this cab was rare
    but i thought now forget it, yo home to bel air!

i pulled up to the house about 7 or 8
    and i yelled to the cabby "yo home, smell ya later"
    i looked at my kingdom, i was finally there,
    to settle my throne as the prince of bel air

I also know the A-Team intro thing, but I won't bother with that! :D

DaveMcG wrote:
    Workin from memory here, but I feel the need to show off :D

In west philadelphia, born and raised,
    on the playground is where I spent most of my days
    chillin out maxin, relaxin all cool
    and I was shootin some b-ball outside of the school

when a couple of guys who were up to no good
    startin makin trouble in the neighbourhood
    i got in one little fight and my mom got scared
    she said "youll move in with your aunty and uncle in bel air!"

i whistled for a cab and when it came near
    the licence plate said "fresh" and there were dice in the mirror
    if anythin i could say that this cab was rare
    but i thought now forget it, yo home to bel air!

i pulled up to the house about 7 or 8
    and i yelled to the cabby "yo home, smell ya later"
    i looked at my kingdom, i was finally there,
    to settle my throne as the prince of bel air

I also know the A-Team intro thing, but I won't bother with that! :D
    I could have sworn it was 'to sit on my throne' but in fairness he says it so fast it's kinda hard to understand what he's saying. As long as it sounds similar, it'll do in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Pat The Baker is the best bread, especially Toast Pan (Goes great with anything greasy :D ) Ah R.I.P., Pat!

You know what this means, right? Exactly what Nostrodamus predicted:

"When Pat The Baker ceases, so too shall the existence of man."

I can see the headlines already:

"Bread Drought Wipes Out Entire Counties!"
    "Lack Of Bread Causes Riots!"
    "Ahern Calls State Of Emergancy As Economy Cripples!"
    "RAGE Virus Spreading Faster, Say Experts"
    "Why We Don't Need Bread, By Kevin Myers"
    "The Dead Walk!!"

I dunno about you guys but I'm going holding up in my flat for a few weeks. I gotta run to Tesco and buy reserves

*Legs it out the door punching anyone in his way*

Actually, bread is set to hit an all time high becauswe wheat prices have gone through the roof due to crazy weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,831 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

mukki wrote:
    poor old Pat the Baker has died

Crumbs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Pat the Baker

mukki wrote:
    poor old Pat the Baker has died

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0827/higginsp.html

Why didnt someone tell me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,484 ✭✭✭Archeron

Why didnt someone tell me?

Ask these good people, its their forté.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=446

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

His family have asked well wishers to stop sending in donations after his death.

They don't knead the dough anymore....

whiskeyman wrote:
    His family have asked well wishers to stop sending in donations after his death.

They don't knead the dough anymore....

Really, I thought they'd be struggling to earn a crust.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Fr Dougal

zuutroy wrote:

Guess he's toast now....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭JackieChan

Crap... I feel partially responsible.
    I'm normally a 'Pat the Baker 'man but today I bought Hovis.....must have been the shock of it....RIP

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

If he's cremated, will the end product be like those burnt crumbs you get in the bottom of a toaster?

Duggy747 wrote:
    I can see the headlines already:

"Bread Drought Wipes Out Entire Counties!"
    "Lack Of Bread Causes Riots!"
    "Ahern Calls State Of Emergancy As Economy Cripples!"
    "RAGE Virus Spreading Faster, Say Experts"
    "Why We Don't Need Bread, By Kevin Myers"
    "The Dead Walk!!"

"PANDEMONIUM SWEEPS THE NATION"

hehe

Heel be sadly missed

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 633 ✭✭✭dublinario

Pat is survived by his wife, Phyllis the Housewife, and children, Fionn the Plasterer (28), PJ the Confidence Trickster (34), Máire the Aromatherapist (26), and Terrance. Terrance is currently unemployed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Who's gonna do the sambos for the wake ? Brennans ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

I'm just going to eat some toast in his memory, anyone care to join me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

Never liked 'im, always thought he was a thick cu.t

2 stroke wrote:
    I'm just going to eat some toast in his memory, anyone care to join me?

I'm going to retire my toaster in Pat's honour. A true gentleman and icon of the notoriously fickle bread community. And I don't buy all that negative propaganda about him personally smearing his cock over every hundredth pan. Scandalous lies from those w*nkers over at Brennans.

dublinario wrote:
    I'm going to retire my toaster in Pat's honour. A true gentleman and icon of the notoriously fickle bread community. And I don't buy all that negative propaganda about him personally smearing his cock over every hundredth pan. Scandalous lies from those w*nkers over at Brennans.
    I always thought that was some sort of free prize. Every 100th pan comes with free cock cheese.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭carbsy

dublinario wrote:

I just burst out laughing at this ... funny stuff. :)

I always thought that was some sort of free prize. Every 100th pan comes with free cock cheese.

No, it's bullsh*t. It was a fiction when those sc*mbags at Brennans first concocted it, and it's a fiction today. The only reason the story ever gained credence is because Pat himself admitted in his autobiography (My Life in Bread) to incubating undercooked pans beneath his naked "darce" (that weird area between your dick and your arse), much as mother goose would tend to her egg.

But far from being a sick prank, Pat only did this to rescue the faulty pan, hating as he did seeing any food wasted. It does however account for the flood of complaints in the 80s about pube-ridden batch loafs and sliced pans beset by downy fuzz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Some of the posts on here are in bad taste (no pun intended).

2 stroke wrote:
    bad taste

AH HA HA HA HA HA HA. I see what you've done here. You've taken the fact that he was a bread magnate, and then you've used the word "taste", which in this context has a double meaning. Oh man, you kill me.
    2 stroke wrote:
    (no pun intended)

Oh.

Yeah, a bit OTT in fairness.

zuutroy wrote:
    Yeah, a bit OTT in fairness.

Ah relax there lads, we're just trying to get a rise out of ye is all

/Gets Coat, Calls Taxi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I buy shops own brand bread

down with the bread corporations!

phasers wrote:
    I buy shops own brand bread

down with the bread corporations!

Oh for God's sake. Not another brainwashed hippy, spouting off about the evils of "Big Bread" and "Big Oil". I'm sick of this sh*t. There is nothing evil about large corporations trying to turn a buck. There is no global sliced pan conspiracy. Big Bread had nothing - I repeat, nothing - to do with 9/11. And there are no plans to run a yeast pipeline through Afghanastan, despite what the anti-bread lobby say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Spyral

Maybe he will be inccoruptus and then be made into a Saint.

then we can pray "o pat the baker, who's body is blessed so that its so fresh its famous.."

*gets smited*

pity tho even though i hated the ads..

dublinario wrote:
    Big Bread had nothing - I repeat, nothing - to do with 9/11.
    Please inform yourself before you decided to post your moronic, ill-informed thoughts here. Those guys who were behind 911 had a few slices if toast that morning for breakfast and one of them even had a sandwich with him on the plane. Coincidence, I think not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

dublinario wrote:
    And there are no plans to run a yeast pipeline through Afghanastan, despite what the anti-bread lobby say.

Ah, he was quite a crusty old age when his Best Before Date expired. Now, enough with all of your dead-pan humour, I propose a toast to Pat for given us the oppertunity to enjoy filthy after-pub sandwiches dough heel be sadly missed.............................BREAD BREAD BREAD BREAD BREAD!!!!

*Sorry, I couldn't resist there! :o *

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Bad Taste indeed he's obviously past his use by date !

So do you think they'll be playing him out with "Mouldy old dough" at the service ?

In his younger years, he once engaged the great Mahatma Gandhi in a bread making competition. Charmed by Ghandi's doctrine of peace, Pat threw the competition, purposely contriving a draw, ending the bout in stalemate (eh? eh, my friend?). When Ghandi learned of the deception, he became aggressive and had to be removed from the bakery by some of Mr. DeBakers hired goons.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I decided to pay tribute in toast form.