Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Plenty more fish.....and all that crap!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

claire-g wrote:
    No way, u text a guy once, they dont reply, you call or text again next thing your "desperate" and they lose all interest (if they had any in the first place)....
    ..yes girls do the same but out of my group of friends men are the culprits of this saying one thing, meaning another sh1t.
    uuugghhh <shudder>

Your attitude stinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭TheJoker

To me the whole river dance thing says that there is more to this girl than meets the eye. Its refreshingly different. To be honest most of my friends would love to go on a date like that. For me it would be a sign that the girl has put a lot of thought into it and not just gone with the whole lets go to the pub routine. However, I wouldn't end the date just after river dance...few drinks are definatly called for.

Fair play sillymoo2007 for breaking the date mould....long may it last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭sillymoo2007

Awww Thanks :) Now that Mr riverdance hasnt been in touch I'm fully available for original dates lol (kidding):p But just to say we did go for drinks after riverdance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,486 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Sounds to me like he's just not interested OP - sorry.

But.. why can't/couldn't you just RING him? Far too many people these days try to run their relationships by text message. As the BT ad used to say, "it's GOOD to talk!" :)

As for the girl who was saying that texting someone more than once must mean you're desperate, I'm guessing you're still fairly young? Trust me, most guys grow out of that sorta crap. I myself hate stupid game-playing. Much prefer to be upfront and know where I/she stands.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Having done this twice recently perhaps I can offer the view from the other side.

He doesn't feel he needs to call you, because you already know the story, and why do you need to be reminded that he isn't interested? The fact that you haven't texted him tells him that either a) YOU aren't interested, b) you know that HE isn't interested or c) both. You're adults, you can read between the lines. You both know nothing is going to happen here, so why stretch it out? Move on.

Now, if you do text him asking what the story is, and he doesn't reply, then yes, he probably is a 'spineless git'. I should note that I've had first hand experience of women doing the exact same, so drop the feminist anti-men stance, it isn't healthy.

Alternatively, maybe he was just creamed by a bus as he joyfully skipped home from your date, enthused about what the future between you might hold, and he's dead or lying in a hospital bed somewhere.

Ah even though I think he's a prat I wouldnt wish that on my worst enemy.

Awww Thanks :) Now that Mr riverdance hasnt been in touch I'm fully available for original dates lol (kidding):p But just to say we did go for drinks after riverdance.

its depends - are you a one trick pony in the venue department? Was Riverdance a long term project? Or would you have the ability to pick another orignal idea for again?

Guess you wont get to find out BigCityBanker!! I'm full of original ideas just Riverdance was one of my worst ones :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Zulu wrote:
    chase after you in a non clingy way

Quote of the month? I think so:D

OP I think you have accepted you need to move on so everything worked out grand in the end. Did you really want to be with someone who is a bit of a tard anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Can we just get over this feckin riverdance thing!

Wait a second though people advised you on another thread not to this!

Anyway, what did you do the first date?

He then asked you to pick a the 2nd date and after much deliberation, fretting, worrying what was the right decision, you decided riverdance.

To me asking a girl to decide a 2nd date isn't right. To me the first few dates should be absolutely about fun, maybe a few or many:D drinks, a bit of music, maybe the amusement park/funfair thing that was suggested on the other thread. I wouldn't even do dinner until maybe the 4th/5th date.

Also Riverdance, may not have been his thing and was maybe to much of a date date thing. A comedy club would be have been a better idea. He may have went for the few drinks afterwards because he felt he had to because he knew you put a lot effort into this.

The first few dates should be fun and light, thats just my point. And I know its the naughties, but asking the girl to decide a 2nd date. Apart from the fact a man should lead, it puts pressure on the girl.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Guess you wont get to find out BigCityBanker!! I'm full of original ideas just Riverdance was one of my worst ones :p

on the contrary - I think Riverdance was a hell of a choice. The best export/advertisement for Ireland (perhaps with the exception of Arthur J) in the last 13 years.

You see if you had told me that this was gonna be your third choice then id be giving you one of these and one of these!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Peewee_lane

IMO - He ran!

Riverdance was too generous for a, what was it, second date??

Everyone is always just coming out of a relationship with a guard up and/or been single and have a strict sense of security from being alone.

IMO -You probably should have played it way cooler... he must have been so confused sitting there through that show wondering what you expected of him, and that you were too serious already. Always remember the reason why that guy/girl is single is because the previous one made a mistake!! You could hae set off wedding alarm bells or something and all he probably wanted was a few beers in the pub.

Forget him! Move on and chill out. Think like bigcitybanker, that was a really great idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

cooperguy wrote:
    Quote of the month? I think so:D
    <hats off> why thank you sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

IMO - He ran!

Riverdance was too generous for a, what was it, second date??

IMO -You probably should have played it way cooler... he must have been so confused sitting there through that show wondering what you expected of him, and that you were too serious already. Always remember the reason why that guy/girl is single is because the previous one made a mistake!! You could hae set off wedding alarm bells or something and all he probably wanted was a few beers in the pub.

Forget him! Move on and chill out. Think like bigcitybanker, that was a really great idea.

Riverdance was too much of a couply thing to go on, more of a going out together thing, and then if you knew he would like it! Men:D Wimin;)

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Peewee_lane

Seanies32 wrote:
    Men:D Wimin;)
    har har!

two lost souls living in a fish bowl, year after year

remember people - do not to restrict yourself to the fishbowl! and yeah, wear sunscreen.

on the contrary - I think Riverdance was a hell of a choice. The best export/advertisement for Ireland (perhaps with the exception of Arthur J) in the last 13 years.

Hell of a choice being a good thing or a bad thing? you offering to take me to trocadero's ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭MAKE MY DAY

Bigcitybanker will you just ever ask Sillymoo2007 out ?????
    Come on folks we are all grown ups here (well most of the time) or is it just me misreading this thread ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

sillymoo2007, although it's good to think "outside the box", you should have picked up from the 1st date what he likes... I turned off the Riverdance video that someone had linked to after 10 seconds. My sympathies goto whoever had to sit through it, as I would've refused to go. If the dude dropped hints on what he likes, and you brought him to the complete opposite, you won't be hearing from him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Hell of a choice being a good thing or a bad thing?
    Personally, i think it was inspired! But I'd say it's more of an already going out together kinda date than a 2nd date!

I know myself I am pretty sh!te at coming up with things to do! I simply dunno enough places or things to do around Dublin other than going out for a meal/drink/movie!

the_syco wrote:
    sillymoo2007, although it's good to think "outside the box", you should have picked up from the 1st date what he likes... I turned off the Riverdance video that someone had linked to after 10 seconds. My sympathies goto whoever had to sit through it, as I would've refused to go. If the dude dropped hints on what he likes, and you brought him to the complete opposite, you won't be hearing from him again.

If I really wanted to make him pay for making me choose the 2nd date I would of got tickets for Annie......... nothing like an evening of watching Billy Barry twats prancing around singing its a hard knock life sure would of been a hard knock night lmao And as for being bored at Riverdance he was actually jigging his leg at one stage so cant of been that bored. Each to their own on what they do and dont find boring!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭milkerman

And as for being bored at Riverdance he was actually jigging his leg at one stage so cant of been that bored.

No, Silly,
    He was checking the floor for trapdoors or hoping the Earth would swallow him up and spare him from the crushing boredom of what was on stage.

If you want to get to know someone do not bring them somewhere you cant talk to each other for two hours (cinema, theatre etc). Either way, if he was into you he would have been back by now. So go fishing again & chalk this one down to experience.

Tight lines!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

and what was the original point of this thread again folks? If you want to discuss the relative merits of riverdance or annie, may i suggest the arts forums?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

dragging the thread slowly back on topic here (apologies folks)

I find it strange that he didn't even reply to your text saying that you got home ok, especially after specifically requesting that you send one. Now I don't know about anyone else, but if I wasn't interested in someone I wouldn't give an opening/invitation to text me to ensure they got home safe. So maybe he lost his phone between you travelling home and sending the message. Unlikely but possible.

Personally speaking I think an early show/cinema trip followed by drinks is a good second date, and it shows intuitive thinking. You're still getting to know each other and so talking is probably a little bit awkward, you're not sure if there are subjects out of bounds or not and people don't tend to open up that quickly. By going to a show or movie beforehand you can get the conversation going on a neutral and safe subject and then move into other areas from there. It will also give you a quick guide to someones interest and compatibility. If you're struggling to converse outside of the show/movie then it's unlikely there's a future there.

For the same reason I would often invite a girl for dinner on a first date, even though the majority of people disagree becuase it can be too "intense" but I think it shows whether there is a spark between you or not and gives an indication of comfort levels. I think part of the reason people find dinner early on so intense is that they are trying to mould themselves into what they think the other person wants to some extent, and that's easier to do when they aren't looking and focused directly on you the entire time of the date. Hence a pub where they will be distracted from time to time by noise and visual stimulas outside of your face. Also in a pub you can sit at right angles allowing an escape from that face to face intensity that dinner generally doesn't allow.

Anyway, getting back on point. Perhaps he lost his phone, perhaps he lost his nerve or perhaps he lost his interest. Either way he had enough information to get back in touch if he was interested and rather than worry about one person who didn't have the decency and strength of charachter to explain that to you, you're far better off directing your energies into meeting someone who is worth thinking and worrying about...

..like bcb for example ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭AlanG

sillymoo2007, save your self a whole lot of heartache and just ring the guy. Talk to him and you will know where you stand, if you leave things silent then you will fill the void with the worst case scenario. There may be a reason or there may not but a 5 min call will sort it out.

Why should you ring - because you are an adult and its not that big a deal to call someone. At least then you wont be wasting your time with questions. Stop thinking about what he should do - be brave and make the call yourself, If he is ignoring you then at least you will make him talk and face up to his decision.

No relationship should ever rely on test messages - it is just a way of avoiding contact and passing the responsibility to someone else.

Iago wrote:
    ..like bcb for example ;)

get yourself back to the poker forum.

you actually made some very good points above re how to spend an evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,084 ✭✭✭BKtje

For the same reason I would often invite a girl for dinner on a first date, even though the majority of people disagree becuase it can be too ...
    What i usually try to do is grab a quick meal somewhere before hand so you can talk and get to know eachother a bit. Since its a "quick" dinner, if things don't start of amazingly well you aren't both sitting there in silence/awkwardness.
    After dinner head off to cinema/comedy club/ whatever so that even if things didn't go so well you can both still (hopefully) have a good time.
    After stage 2 if things went well you can go for a few drinks or to a club or whatever depending on what you both want to do else bid eachother good night.

Hmmm seems to me i plan too much :o

milkerman wrote:
    No, Silly,
    He was checking the floor for trapdoors or hoping the Earth would swallow him up and spare him from the crushing boredom of what was on stage.

If you want to get to know someone do not bring them somewhere you cant talk to each other for two hours (cinema, theatre etc). Either way, if he was into you he would have been back by now. So go fishing again & chalk this one down to experience.

Tight lines!

lmao Thanks for the giggle :p But isnt movies just as bad as the theatre still sitting there in silence at the movies too, at least with theatre there's an interval for a drink n a chat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭Firetrap

If the guy was keen on the OP, he'd ignore whatever reservations he had about Riverdance and contact her again. I know from personal experience and from what's happened to my friends that if a guy doesn't want to see you again, he'll just ignore your texts and calls. I've a friend who saw a guy a few times but heard nothing from him. She sent him a text from another phone and the reply of "Who is this?" came straight back. Nuff said.