Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Bench:
    60kg x8
    80kg x5
    100kg x3
    115kg x1
    130kg 3x5 - PR (sets)

Incline Bench:
    60kg x8
    77.5kg 2x10, 1x9 - Grrrrr

Dumbbell Bench:
    35kg 'bells x12, x9, x10

Face Pulls:
    warm ups
    plate 90 2x15 (to nose area)
    plate 75 2x15 (over head)

Shoulder Death:
    5kg 'bells - 1 set

Nice workout today.

The benching was good and strong. I'd say I'm right on target for 140 x5 now in 2 weeks. My 5 rep max tends to be around 87-88% of my single, 4rm = 89-90%. So 140 x5 and 145 x4 would leave me in the region of 160kg. Which would be pretty damn sweet....

The incline bench got me again this week. Had absolutely noting left fro the last rep of the last set. Raging.

Dumbbell Bench seemed to jump up a bit this week. Did 29 reps last week, got 31 this week.... strange.

Upper back and shoulders got a nice bit of volume in too.

Looks like my bench is finally on the right track. I'll try 135 2x5 next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

Hanley wrote: »
    Bench:
    60kg x8
    80kg x5
    100kg x3
    115kg x1
    130kg 3x5 - PR (sets)

Incline Bench:
    60kg x8
    77.5kg 2x10, 1x9 - Grrrrr

Dumbbell Bench:
    35kg 'bells x12, x9, x10

Face Pulls:
    warm ups
    plate 90 2x15 (to nose area)
    plate 75 2x15 (over head)

Shoulder Death:
    5kg 'bells - 1 set

Nice workout today.

The benching was good and strong. I'd say I'm right on target for 140 x5 now in 2 weeks. My 5 rep max tends to be around 87-88% of my single, 4rm = 89-90%. So 140 x5 and 145 x4 would leave me in the region of 160kg. Which would be pretty damn sweet....

The incline bench got me again this week. Had absolutely noting left fro the last rep of the last set. Raging.

Dumbbell Bench seemed to jump up a bit this week. Did 29 reps last week, got 31 this week.... strange.

Upper back and shoulders got a nice bit of volume in too.

Looks like my bench is finally on the right track. I'll try 135 2x5 next week.

hanley u say u will get about a 160kg bench, but im sure ive seen a vid of u benching 205 around here somewhere

wow the gear makes a good bit of difference ( no offence intended, those raw numbers would still make me go :O )

edit: just realised "gear" sounds wrong , i mean the suits and belts
    It does and it doesn't... First time I wore it without training I got maybe 20kg on my bench, and 30kg on my squat.

The difference now is I've adapted my training to maximise the carryover I get.

For squats, a strong core and upper back become increasingly important. I'd nearly go as far as to say they're the most important thing you can train to bring up your suited squat.

And for the bench, you need incredible lockout power (triceps) and and a mega strong back (lats and upper back) to control the weight on the way down!
    hanley u say u will get about a 160kg bench, but im sure ive seen a vid of u benching 205 around here somewhere

You did!

It all goes back to the above quoted posts.....

Saturday:

Squats:
    *beltless and wide stance*
    70kg x5
    100kg x3
    130kg x3
    150kg x1
    170kg x1
    195kg x3 - PR

Random squats and deadlifts. Trying to kill time til people came in so I could have some spotters around. Was fubar'd by the time people showed up, so had to postpone it and squat AND Bench today.

Today:

Bench:
    70kg x5
    90kg x3
    105kg x2
    120kg x1
    140kg x1
    *shirt on*
    160kg x3
    180kg x3
    200kg 6x2

Squat:
    70kg x5
    100kg x3
    120kg x3
    150kg x3
    180kg x1 - paused
    *suit on, straps down*
    200kg x5
    220kg x3
    *straps up*
    240kg x3
    260kg x3
    280kg 5x3

Squats were all still a bit high. Straps up the suit turns into a weird beast. My elbows and wrists are so wrecked now. More thoughts later.

Bench - 200kg x2 (6th set)

Squat - 280kg x3 (3rd set)

Squat - 280kg x3 (4th set)

Squat - 280kg x3 (5th set)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

very impressive stuff, must have been a long session

did you touch on the bench? - its tough to see from that angle...

podge57 wrote: »
    very impressive stuff, must have been a long session

did you touch on the bench? - its tough to see from that angle...

Cheers dude. It was a rough oul slog. Was in the gym for over 3 hours like.

I was about an inch from touching on the first rep, and couldn't have gone closer without touching on the second! My set up for the first one was really soft, so wasnt too impressed there. My consistency still needs some work like.

Obviously the squats weren't in! tho the 3rd rep on the final set was getting there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Super, super session from you yesterday!!

Tonight is gonna be a heap of fun now!!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Vivian Reckless

That is some serious weight you are moving but at the same time looking at those videos it seems a bit rich you talking about 'high squats and bad benching' being the norm in Rugby as it seems like it's the norm in powerlifting as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

That is some serious weight you are moving but at the same time looking at those videos it seems a bit rich you talking about 'high squats and bad benching' being the norm in Rugby as it seems like it's the norm in powerlifting as well?

Way to shoot your mouth off about something you know nothing about. Care to hazard a guess why the squats were high and the bench didn't touch? Weight's too heavy right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

lolz, you clearly know nothing about equipped lifting!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 SillyMilly1

kevpants wrote: »
    Way to shoot your mouth off about something you know nothing about. Care to hazard a guess why the squats were high and the bench didn't touch? Weight's too heavy right?
    Don't be too kquick to jump to Hanley's defence or he'll call you an 'ass kisser' or a 'fan boy'. As for VR shooting his mouth off. It doesn't seem to stop Hanley from commenting on everything and anything whether he has a clue what he's talking about or not. It seems that criticism can only be dished out by the 'boards elite' if anyone else says anything they get shouted down?

I agree with you though. VR most likely knows little to nothing about powerlifting. Equally I think Hanley probably knows little to nothing about coaching in rugby but felt only too well qualified to offer plenty of comment on the subject elsewhere here on boards.

They should probably both stick to commenting on what they have a clue about and we'd all be better off. Just my 2 cents worth. Not that I don't expect to get shouted down and called an idiot as is the norm here on boards whenever any offers comment that doesn't toe the party line.

Thanks....

I assume you saw the part where I expressly stated that depth was not quite there yet right? Of the 24 competition squats I've done, 2 were failed on depth. So I think when it matters, that is to say on the platform, NOT in training, I can get them in.

What was wrong with the benching anyway? Other than the first rep being about an inch away from touching?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

SillyMilly1, personal abuse is not tolerated anywhere on boards.ie but especially not on the Fitness Logs - it's childish and it's rude and totally uncalled for in someone's personal thread.

Banned for three days.

Oh and btw, not such a good idea to turn PMs off if you're going to act up like that - makes it all the more confusing when you don't know why you can't log in to some forums and not others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Coming into someone's Fitness Log and criticising them like this is, to me, the height of rudeness. Hanley is a big boy who can well take care of himself, but I don't like where you're going with this.

If you want to discuss the merits of powerlifting squat depth and bench technique why not start a proper thread and have a rational discussion about it?*

*this, btw, is a rhetorical question and not to be answered here. Let the thread get back on topic.

Hanley if you'd rather these posts were deleted altogether just say so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Ugh. You stirring sh*t again. What a surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Thanks....

I assume you saw the part where I expressly stated that depth was not quite there yet right? Of the 24 competition squats I've done, 2 were failed on depth. So I think when it matters, that is to say on the platform, NOT in training, I can get them in.

What was wrong with the benching anyway? Other than the first rep being about an inch away from touching?

Out of interest, when did you fail those two squats, was it early in your career? Were they in the same comp? Was there any major changes needed to make sure you got depth right since then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Actually, I've decided that you can take a 3 day break like your friend. I dug out the (fair) warning I gave you here and you've obviously you decided to ignore it and just came on this log to stir it up again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

Out of interest, when did you fail those two squats, was it early in your career? Were they in the same comp? Was there any major changes needed to make sure you got depth right since then?

i think one was in worlds 2006 which i had the pleasure of being on the platform for and if memore serves me correctly he came back out sucked it up and the weight flew up from dept...

as for the critisim from certain people....i dare ye...i double dare ye to get into equipment and give it a go...when you know how it feels to fight the weight down to anywhere close to legal on a bench or a squat then come back and mouth off...

Some serious modding going on in here... I'm amazed I got this far before people started taking potshots at me in my log.

First one was the IDFPA single lift champs 2006. I attempted 182.5kg, got the weight, but failed on depth. I STILL think it was in, but the calls you do get will even out the ones you don't over time so I don't mind!!

Here's a vid of it; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFcc2NhvuKU

Looking at it now, I reckon I actually missed it on a double movement on the way up. So I guess my record stands at 23 out of 24 now!!

Check out how shaky I am under the weight.

Second one was my second squat at the WDFPF world champs in 2007 in Scotland. There were rough calls all day over there, so at least I wasn't the only one. Again, I thought it was in after seeing it on video. I guess the judges don't have that luxury tho!!

Second squat on this vid; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKZfAD_S_T0

And nope, haven't changed anything since!!
    i think one was in worlds 2006 which i had the pleasure of being on the platform for and if memore serves me correctly he came back out sucked it up and the weight flew up from dept...[/youtube]

You're thinking of the squat I fell backwards with... That was a horrific comp. EVen tho I came back out and got it on my next attempt, the rest of the day stank even more badly (until my final DL!)

as for the critisim from certain people....i dare ye...i double dare ye to get into equipment and give it a go...when you know how it feels to fight the weight down to anywhere close to legal on a bench or a squat then come back and mouth off...

Hahaha and not to forget the black outs, bruises all over your body, the feeling of your head about to explode (and the resulting burst blood vessels!!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

that was the one!!! the old memory is going on me!!!

nothing like blacking out coming through and asking the spotter...wtf happend!!!

man i hate equipment...im trying my best to avoid it :)

that was the one!!! the old memory is going on me!!!

nothing like blacking out coming through and asking the spotter...wtf happend!!!

man i hate equipment...im trying my best to avoid it :)

Lolz true story...

I remember my last training cycle in the shirt. I was desperately fighting to get a touch for several weeks, eventually I just said fcuk it, I'm going for it. Kept pulling, kept fighting, tunnel vision came, next thing I know the weights on the way back up feeling absolutely feather light, I sat up, swayed a bit and noticed my ears were ringing. Took a little while to realise the reason the weight was so light was because I blacked out and it was pulled off me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

i cant imagine what it feels like to squat in a suit, loads of pressure builds up in my head just doing it raw

that 2nd vid was very unlucky, would i be right to say its pretty rare for the front judge to give you a red on depth, considering the side judge said it was good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

Today:

Bench:
    70kg x5
    90kg x3
    105kg x2
    120kg x1
    140kg x1
    *shirt on*
    160kg x3
    180kg x3
    200kg 6x2

Squat:
    70kg x5
    100kg x3
    120kg x3
    150kg x3
    180kg x1 - paused
    *suit on, straps down*
    200kg x5
    220kg x3
    *straps up*
    240kg x3
    260kg x3
    280kg 5x3

Squats were all still a bit high. Straps up the suit turns into a weird beast. My elbows and wrists are so wrecked now. More thoughts later.

Bench - 200kg x2 (6th set)

Squat - 280kg x3 (3rd set)

Squat - 280kg x3 (4th set)

Squat - 280kg x3 (5th set)

beastly

podge57 wrote: »
    i cant imagine what it feels like to squat in a suit, loads of pressure builds up in my head just doing it raw

that 2nd vid was very unlucky, would i be right to say its pretty rare for the front judge to give you a red on depth, considering the side judge said it was good?

You've no idea...I can barely breathe in my squat suit. And the straps cut in right across your traps, feels like your head's gonna pop off!!

And yes, getting a red from the front is unusual when the side judges give whites. It shouldn't really happen on a depth call. You might get it for double movement or jumping the call, but not depth (well... it does happen!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Thanks for the reply hanley. You're looking a lot bigger these days than you did in 07 (in your vids at least) and its interesting to see the differences in your set up. Nice improvements all round on the lifts too I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Skull

Some serious modding going on in here... I'm amazed I got this far before people started taking potshots at me in my log.

First one was the IDFPA single lift champs 2006. I attempted 182.5kg, got the weight, but failed on depth. I STILL think it was in, but the calls you do get will even out the ones you don't over time so I don't mind!!

Here's a vid of it; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFcc2NhvuKU

Looking at it now, I reckon I actually missed it on a double movement on the way up. So I guess my record stands at 23 out of 24 now!!

Check out how shaky I am under the weight.

Second one was my second squat at the WDFPF world champs in 2007 in Scotland. There were rough calls all day over there, so at least I wasn't the only one. Again, I thought it was in after seeing it on video. I guess the judges don't have that luxury tho!!

Second squat on this vid; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKZfAD_S_T0

And nope, haven't changed anything since!!
    i think one was in worlds 2006 which i had the pleasure of being on the platform for and if memore serves me correctly he came back out sucked it up and the weight flew up from dept...[/youtube]

You're thinking of the squat I fell backwards with... That was a horrific comp. EVen tho I came back out and got it on my next attempt, the rest of the day stank even more badly (until my final DL!)

Hahaha and not to forget the black outs, bruises all over your body, the feeling of your head about to explode (and the resulting burst blood vessels!!).

Whos that handsome bloke spotting you in scotland?
    The second squat was in by the way,(I have my own angle at home on video) my pal Steve Redmond got robbed that day too.

If you keep going the way you are you will be the best 3 lifter ever to come out of ireland. I remember you in Clara it was my first comp too ,your improvement has been unbelievable. Makes me laugh when other experts are criticizing depth

Raw is where its at though!!!

Skull wrote: »
    Whos that handsome bloke spotting you in scotland?
    The second squat was in by the way,(I have my own angle at home on video) my pal Steve Redmond got robbed that day too.

If you keep going the way you are you will be the best 3 lifter ever to come out of ireland. I remember you in Clara it was my first comp too ,your improvement has been unbelievable. Makes me laugh when other experts are criticizing depth

Raw is where its at though!!!

He's a random bloke from Wexford. Nice guy inspite of that ;)

That's some high praise btw.... I remember Clara too, what a funny day. 160/112.5/190 going 7 for 9 @ 90kg. I wouldn't even go thinking being near the top yet. There's some amazing lifters in the IDFPA I've yet to get near. All going to plan, the all-time junior total across all the weight classes will go up in Belfast.

You're lifting up there as well on Saturday right?? I've watched your progress raw and couldn't help but be impressed too. Your raw bench is probably still ahead of mine even tho I'm a good 10-15kg (?) heavier. Like I'd be lucky to do 155-160kg raw at the moment I'd say, and that's touch and go, knock 5-10kg off for the pause!

I'm gonna do the IPO national champs in May raw, well knee and wrist wraps (it's only like 2 weeks after the IDFPA's so I can't see myself being at full power!!). A few of the lads outta Hercs are lifting so I said I'd go down with em and have a nice relaxing comp while I'm down there (the stress of lifting equipped and trying to time it so you get all your equipment set at the right time sucks).

Thanks for the message!

Pulls from 3-4 inches below knees:
    60kg x5
    100kg x5
    140kg x3
    180kg x2
    220kg x1
    240kg x5 - PR

Speed pulls:
    140kg x2
    160kg 8x2

Front Squats:
    50kg x5
    90kg x5
    110kg x3
    130kg x1
    140kg x4 - GRRRR

GM's:
    60kg x8
    100kg x8
    120kg 3x8 - PR (sets)

Double overhand shrugs:
    60kg x5
    100kg x5
    140kg x7 - PR

Shrug Rack Pull Combo:
    180kg x5
    220kg x12 - PR

Still feeling a bit fatigued today. Happy with the rack pulls, big PR from that position. Gonna take 250kg x1 from the floor next week, and 250kg x3-5 from that position as my last heavy pull.

Speed Pulls were decent. First few sets saw my hips jumping up first. Made the effort to correct in later sets and things improved.

Front Squats suuuuucked. I was just shagged and my elbows were screaming. Repeat it next week.

GM's were very strong. Getting closer to parallel to the floor as the weeks go by. Which is odd!!

Dropped the krocs to give my lower back and elbows a break. Straight into the shrugs, PR by my finger tips on the double over hands.

The SRPC was nice. Gonna just push for weight here on in and drop some volume from the workout to aid recovery.

Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x3
    120kg x1
    135kg x5 - PR, x4, x3

Incline Bench:
    60kg x8
    77.5kg 2x10, 1x11 (I was owed a rep!)

Dumbbell Bench:
    35kg 'bells 3x12 - finally

Face Pulls:
    plate 97.5 x12
    plate 60 x20 (paused)

Shoulder Death:
    5kg 'bell - 1 set

Machine Preacher Curls:
    plate 40 x12
    plate 45 x12
    plate 50 x12
    plate 55 x12

Reverse Machine Preacher Curls:
    plate 25 x12
    plate 30 x12
    plate 35 x12

A bit grrrrr with the bench. It was PR, but I was hoping for a couple of sets of 5. I'm not really too concerned. I reckon I'm still nicely set up for 140x5 next week.

The incline bench was way up on last week, same with the dumbbells. Dunno WTF was going on there. Especially after benching heavy.

The paused face pulls are cool. Can REALLY feel all the itty bitty muscles that keep your shoulders healthy working hard on them.

My elbows have been in bits the last few weeks. I didn't make the connection until Kev pointed it out today, but they got bad right around the time I stopped training my biceps. So I did a bit today, and OMFG the pain and stress on my biceps were unreal. They had to work so hard for what should have been a realtively easy weight!! Hopefully a bit of gun work will bring my elbows back in check.

It's been a rough training week. Thank god I've nothing major until Sunday!