Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,338 ✭✭✭the drifter

these hand stand pushups you do be doing....got any vids..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

these hand stand pushups you do be doing....got any vids..

Ummm I'll get some on Sunday?

<<wild one...>>

Loads of warm up and mobility...

A) Lateral plyo hops:
    5x20

B1) Single leg reactive box jumps:
    Off small black step to small box +4x 25s 5x1

B2) band pull aparts/OH band pull aparts:
    5x20 each

C) Chins:
    +5kg x8
    +15kg x6
    +25kg x4

D1) Ring dips:
    25kg 5x5

D2) YTWs:
    5kg DBs 5x8

E) Pistols:
    BW 5x5

F1) Skull Crushers:
    Bar +22kg, +27kg, +32kg x12

F2) Curls:
    Weights as above all x12

Long as it looks, took 80 minutes only.

Then spent 45 minutes stretching and rolling. Want to be in top shape for Nivaldo's week long camp starting tomoorrow. Still stretching my glutes and hams as I type.

Good session, had to change the plyo stuff up because of equipment constraints.

Will move up on dips to 30 3x3 next. More reps on the YTWs.

Gunzz go up again. The pistols can move up in reps too. Probs a bit easier today in general cos I wasn't fatigued from a long training week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

Have you tried Shrimp squats? Since you seem to have the pistols down!

http://www.alkavadlo.com/2010/09/the-shrimp-squat/

Weighted pistols are also a great laugh :D

ferike1 wrote: »
    Have you tried Shrimp squats? Since you seem to have the pistols down!

http://www.alkavadlo.com/2010/09/the-shrimp-squat/

Weighted pistols are also a great laugh :D

Hmmm I don't like the way he blocks onto his knee and the changing shin angle, seems like it'd very stressful on the knees. I'll give em a go anyway but can't see em being a regular training lift.

Id like to get to the stage of cracking off 3x15 pistols tbh. Mostly for the single leg stability/endurance aspect.

Thought a little about trying then with a bar on my back today. It's on the to do list, just to see!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭ferike1

I find the weighted pistols best done with kettlebells, the bar felt weird for me.

ferike1 wrote: »
    I find the weighted pistols best done with kettlebells, the bar felt weird for me.

Yeah I kinda expect that, which is why I wanna do it.

F*ck all to report training wise this week. F*cked up my ribs again so in quite a bit of pain with that.

Drilled for an hour Monday, which is where I hurt them, took Tuesday off, got about 45 minutes in last night under the influence of some extremely strong painkillers.

Very p!ssed off with it being the week long seminar with Nivaldo, but... but nothing. I'm pissed off.

Hanley wrote: »
    F*ck all to report training wise this week. F*cked up my ribs again so in quite a bit of pain with that.

Drilled for an hour Monday, which is where I hurt them, took Tuesday off, got about 45 minutes in last night under the influence of some extremely strong painkillers.

Very p!ssed off with it being the week long seminar with Nivaldo, but... but nothing. I'm pissed off.

Drilled for 45 mins on Thursday and 2 hours on Friday.

5.25 hours of drilling for the week. Whoop-dee-f*cking-do.

<<final round...>>

BJJ - 2 hours
    -side control escapes (keep knees up, use bottom leg to shrimp, hands off head)
    -did some light positional sparring
    -did some light rolls
    -rolled for an hour, 5m on 1m off

Felt brilliant today. Now admittedly I was rolling with very light guys and girls to protect my ribs, but things were flowing together really well. Relaxed and worked on tekkers and stopping them putting their hands on me and trying to sit up to butterfly and control from there. Got to x-guard a few times and swept from there, couple of nice arm bar set ups from back, guard and mount... Nice light session where I got to just work on stuff and experiment a bit. Hibs only popped once too, which was nice.

F*cking sore. But nice.

Monday - 5km walk

Tuesday - 10km walk & stretching

Wednesday - 10km walk, 2 hours of BJJ, lots of stretching

Thursday - 6km walk, lots of Vitamin H

Friday - 5km walk, and maybe an hour of rolling and some prowling if Barry doesn't wimp out again...

Kcals below 2,500 Monday - Wednesday, yesterday was a bit of a write off, today is probably going to end up under 2,500kcals, but with a really twisted macro distribution.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Monday - 5km walk

Tuesday - 10km walk & stretching

Wednesday - 10km walk, 2 hours of BJJ, lots of stretching

Thursday - 6km walk, lots of Vitamin H

Friday - 5km walk, and maybe an hour of rolling and some prowling if Barry doesn't wimp out again...

Kcals below 2,500 Monday - Wednesday, yesterday was a bit of a write off, today is probably going to end up under 2,500kcals, but with a really twisted macro distribution.
    Ears burning.

It was a joint wimp out. You enthusiastically asked me and I was about as up for it as you. I will do it this evening and if it's raining we'll take out the battling ropes.

Ears burning.

It was a joint wimp out. You enthusiastically asked me and I was about as up for it as you. I will do it this evening and if it's raining we'll take out the battling ropes.

You're the coach. You should lead by example.

<<don't go slow...>>

BJJ - 1 hour
    -got in like 6x 6min rounds w/ 1min recovery and some de la riva passes too

Actually a grand oul sesh. Everyone's still babying me cos of my ribs, but it's nice to just be rolling a bit more tekkerlently and looking for space to move to without having to go thru resistance which'll hopefully help my game when I'm back fully fit. Been playing with spider gwuard a bit the last few days, but I don't actually have the slightest idea what I'm doing so its not going great!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

You're the coach. You should lead by example.

That is the sort of comment that's just designed to drag me back in to boards.

Not happening.

I'm clicking log out right after I get the last word....

.....hairyballbag!

<<oh oh oh...>>

Warm up: hip mob, glute activation, hamstring mob

A1) reactive single leg box jumps - 24 contacts:
    Up to small box + 5x 25s x3 e/s

A2) band pull aparts - in front & overhead:
    Alternating sets of 20 between box jumps

B1) Ring Dips:
    BW x10
    +15kg x5
    +30kg 3x5

B2) YTWs:
    5kg DBs 3x10 e/p

B3) Pistols:
    BW 3x6

C1) Skull Crushers:
    EZ bar +30kg 2x12

C2) Curls:
    As above

Good sesh. Nice and quick. Thought I felt a bit sluggish and then started jumping higher than ever so maybe not.

Shocked at the dips, were nice and comf. I'll go 5x5 next.

All the rest smeh... Spent the rest of the afternoon painting walls and eating pizza. Nap time now!!

<<a mosquito, my libido...>>

BJJ - 2 hours nogi
    -few saaaaaavage arm bar set ups that I'll deffo be using
    -lots of rolling
    -no rib popping

Conditioning - Battling Ropes
    -30 secs on, 90 off
    -2x full round of each; slams, waves, chops

Walked 10km today too...

Anyway really good session. Moving about so much better since I for injured because I can't allow bad positions as I'm not able to get out of them. I felt it myself last week and Barry commented on it tonight too so obvs being injured is a good thing. Must try to maintain it too. Feels like I'm using a lot less energy even tho I'm moving more too.

Conditoning sucked. Super tough.

<<it's time for...>>

5km walk x2

Tabata push ups - 91

Tabata squats - 146

<<you're the best... >>

BJJ - 2 hours of sucking
    -did a nice little put floppy pass (torrenda?)
    -then my wheels fell off

Ribs were not cooperating at all everything had to be done linearly which sucks in BJJ. Spent the entire rolls defending, couple of the bigger better lads let me work top and swept me at will. Frustrating.

Tabata pull ups - 35 reps, ming'n

...10km of walking done today as usual. Weight was 89.5kg post training.

<<DJ...>>

Warm up - hip mobs, calf roll, calf stretch, hamstring mob, hamstring stretch

A1) Reactive Box Jumps:
    Up to big box plus 7x 25s and 1x 15 5x1 - they're PRs anyway

A2) Band Pull Aparts:
    multiple 12s

B1) Single Leg Box Jump:
    big box 6x3

B2) Pull Ups:
    bodyweight x8
    +5kg x6
    +10kg x4
    bodyweight x8
    +5kg x6
    +10kg x4

C1) Push Ups:
    Mini band around back 3x20

C2) Face Pulls:
    3x20

D) Seated DB Curls:
    20kg DBs 3x10

Good session. Everything felt fairly good. Happy out to see an improvement in my box jumps esp considering how FUBAR'd I feel.

Decided to train today even tho I was feeling rough as I'm away all weekend and won't be back training again til Monday.

<<DJ...>>

Warm up - hip mobs, calf roll, calf stretch, hamstring mob, hamstring stretch

A1) Reactive Box Jumps:
    Up to big box plus 7x 25s and 1x 15 5x1 - they're PRs anyway

A2) Band Pull Aparts:
    multiple 12s

B1) Single Leg Box Jump:
    big box 6x3

B2) Pull Ups:
    bodyweight x8
    +5kg x6
    +10kg x4
    bodyweight x8
    +5kg x6
    +10kg x4

C1) Push Ups:
    Mini band around back 3x20

C2) Face Pulls:
    3x20

D) Seated DB Curls:
    20kg DBs 3x10

Good session. Everything felt fairly good. Happy out to see an improvement in my box jumps esp considering how FUBAR'd I feel.

Decided to train today even tho I was feeling rough as I'm away all weekend and won't be back training again til Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

What kind of a yoke are you jumping onto ? Wondering if I can mock up something in me own gym.

squod wrote: »
    What kind of a yoke are you jumping onto ? Wondering if I can mock up something in me own gym.

A box and a load of bumper plates... not exactly custom made!

Buggery. The two things I don't have at my place. I'll have a look at rosstraining.com.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,398 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Box jumps look good. Must be 50" (unless you're a dwarf). I've been doing sets of 5 lately. Up to big box + 4 plates (not bumper), I recorded landing area and theres room for another in there.

But its something I jsut started doing myself, i've no idea on technique, apart from step off, jump, tuck knees.
    Eg should I come off a 12" or 18" box. Agressively stretch hip flexors or not. Distance between boxes etc. Suggestions

Mellor wrote: »
    Box jumps look good. Must be 50" (unless you're a dwarf). I've been doing sets of 5 lately. Up to big box + 4 plates (not bumper), I recorded landing area and theres room for another in there.

But its something I jsut started doing myself, i've no idea on technique, apart from step off, jump, tuck knees.
    Eg should I come off a 12" or 18" box. Agressively stretch hip flexors or not. Distance between boxes etc. Suggestions

Lulz I'm 5'10 so around 50 inches sounds about right!!

Re: box height to come off - the highest you can while managing to jump higher than if you didn't have a box. That is - without a step off you can jump onto a box plus 3 plates, with a 12 inch step you can do box plus 4, with 18 inch step you only manage box plus 2.

The 18 inch step is too high because you're not absorbing and reversing force fast enough, which is the goal. I'd say I'll start moving up in step off box heights as another fork of progression eventually. Watch your knees btw - the true plyi stuff can be quite tough on them.

Probably wouldn't stretch hip flexors as you need then to pull your knees to your chest to get up on the box. With normal VJs it's not a concern and yo can "**** them down" with aggressive stretching and jump higher as a result because you don't need to tuck your legs. But that's not the case here!

...I hate typingon my phone. Not editing cos I think you get the idea :)

Next time you upgrade.........
    http://www.sonymobile.com/gb/products/phones/xperia-mini-pro/

Full flip down qwerty is awesome.

squod wrote: »
    Next time you upgrade.........
    http://www.sonymobile.com/gb/products/phones/xperia-mini-pro/

Full flip down qwerty is awesome.

I have an iPhone 4s - it's just the stupid autocorrect and my fat fingers that make it difficult!

MONDAY:
    5km walk
    BJJ - 60 minutes, some class arm bar set ups

TUESDAY:
    10km walk

Tabata push ups - 95 (91 last week)

Tabata squats - 166 (146 last week)

Nice improvements there. I think +100 is obviously doable on the push ups and I reckon 190ish is the upper limit right now for me on the air squats. Did 24 in my first round so basing it off that.