Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show Thread - Mod note Post # 1 Updated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

It's like the LLS dealing with serious topics or politics. Either you're light hearted or serious, you can't mix the two.
    Huh?

The LLS was always a mixture of the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Cringeworthy isn't it!

It was terrible. He shouldn't be allowed anywhere near an interview like that. He just shouts and shouts and doesn't let him finish any of his points.

I was laughing at the clip they used on Today FM news. They had to edit the bejaysus out of it to cut out Rays constant interruptions.

I didn't hear Adams yesterday - did Ray do the same there too?

Regardless of how bad he is at interviewing politicians, do people not realise how important it is to do have them on now? The apathy we have towards politics in this country is depressing.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Regardless of how bad he is at interviewing politicians, do people not realise how important it is to do have them on now? The apathy we have towards politics in this country is depressing.

I'd have the politicians on the radio all day every day, but with people that actually know what they are talking about, and not huffing a puffing like Darcy does.

He is in waaaaay too deep there. Let him huff and puff about other things but bringing the leader of Fianna Fail in and asking questions about Brian Cowens drinking (at this stage) is just pointless and annoying.

Yeah but it's his show, so he has to do the questioning. I think the most telling thing is that out of all the Leaders that were invited on, Enda is the only one that declined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Martin let it slip big time about RTE/FF

he said he was going to be on the six one news again tonight

because "they were doing there bit":mad:

Martin let it slip big time about RTE/FF

he said he was going to be on the six one news again tonight

because "they were doing there bit":mad:

Ha! He didn't say that. He said something along the lines of "They are doing a bit with the leaders this week and tonight is my turn"

You're right about Enda Kenny BaZmO*. That guy is a joke. As much as I don't like Ray Darcy interviewing the leaders, it would have been funny stuff if he got Enda on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Ha! He didn't say that. He said something along the lines of "They are doing a bit with the leaders this week and tonight is my turn"

You're right about Enda Kenny BaZmO*. That guy is a joke. As much as I don't like Ray Darcy interviewing the leaders, it would have been funny stuff if he got Enda on.

Whats even funnier is the fact that Ray has to leave the country on Saturday...see ya Ray!! :p

telekon wrote: »
    Whats even funnier is the fact that Ray has to leave the country on Saturday...see ya Ray!! :p
    Ian Dempsey mentioned it on Twitter last night, so I'd imagine he's getting a lot of stick about it. I'd say he's gonna be very red-faced on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Exactly it would have been funny stuff, not proper serious debate, I wouldnt blame Kenny for not going on his show to be shouted at by teenager. Darcy made a total fool of himself today.

I physically cringed when he said to Martin that he had blood on his hands regarding recent suicides, FFS the lengths he will go to , to get a soundbite. terrible terrible stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,366 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Huh?

The LLS was always a mixture of the two.

And I think that needs to change. It's ridiculous having an interview with a politician in one segment and then a soap star the next.

I'm sure a lot of Darcy's listeners turned off for these interviews.

Shelflife wrote: »
    I wouldnt blame Kenny for not going on his show to be shouted at by teenager.
    Do you honestly think that's the reason why he won't go on?

Shelflife wrote: »
    I physically cringed when he said to Martin that he had blood on his hands regarding recent suicides, FFS the lengths he will go to , to get a soundbite. terrible terrible stuff.
    That was terrible, he even knew himself that it was a stupid thing to say and yet he said it anyway.

And I think that needs to change. It's ridiculous having an interview with a politician in one segment and then a soap star the next.
    And yet it gets the biggest viewership in Ireland.

I'm sure a lot of Darcy's listeners turned off for these interviews.
    Given the demographic of his listeners, I bet they didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

did ray d'arcy say he'd leave the country if enda k became taoiseach?

ha ha. anyone have a clip of that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

telekon wrote: »

It was a figure of speech. A FIGURE OF SPEECH!

I can see that written on his headstone yet! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I like the Ray D'Arcy show but christ, I'm sick of him pushing his own fcuking agenda when it comes to politics.

On an aside, I like that Will chap. Seems to be very clued in and not afraid to speak his mind.

When they're being light hearted, the show is quite good and humorous but I noticed it today and yesterday with the interviews with Adams and Martin that he just sounded very childish in talking over them.

Barely any time was given to listeners questions and seemed to focus more on his own agenda which pissed me off greatly.

Still, I'd love to hear what he'd say to Enda if he was to ever interview him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭lmkman

Did you hear him saying he was frustrated after the interview. That's how people feel after listening to him. Disgraceful comment to Michael saying bout blood on his hands. Michael ended the interview brilliantly by saying he looked forward to Endas interview. Will and himself are going to solve everything by the way they went on after the interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Yer man Hanafin is a self serving hack of the worst kind.Tries to portray himself as a 'right on' laid back guy. The fact is he writes in the FF pamphlet the Sunday Independent and wrote plenty of glowing articles about Bertie Ahern and FF. He's only pissed off now because he believed in the Celtic Bubble and now he's up to his neck in debt because he bought a house in Stoneybatter for mad money.
    He said this morning that he hates consensus, for someone who followed the herd of lemmings over the cliff that's a bit rich.His polemic against Enda Kenny was over the top.Would he prefer Bertie Ahern? Sure he was great craic wasn't he! Cash in biscuit tins and no bank account? FFS!
    As for Ray,I just think he's a bit thick to be honest and bland. That helps in populous media presenting. Look at Ian Dempsey bland bland bland,yet his show is very popular, that's more to do with giftgrub though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭heyheyhey1982

Ray D’arcys attitude towards Gerry Adams was disgraceful. From the moment he walked in to the studio I got the feeling he didn’t like Gerry- as a person and politician. He treated Michael Martin quiet well compared to Gerry. I’m not even a Sinn Fein Supporter and I have typically voted Fianna Fail in the past but I was sickened by this.

I’d say when the JNLR figures came out Ray had to go off to the toilet with them…..for an aul Tom Hank
    He’s better than tubs- who is twice as annoying- but Ray is so bland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 bobbybouche

That_Guy wrote: »
    I like the Ray D'Arcy show but christ, I'm sick of him pushing his own fcuking agenda when it comes to politics.

On an aside, I like that Will chap. Seems to be very clued in and not afraid to speak his mind.

When they're being light hearted, the show is quite good and humorous but I noticed it today and yesterday with the interviews with Adams and Martin that he just sounded very childish in talking over them.

Barely any time was given to listeners questions and seemed to focus more on his own agenda which pissed me off greatly.

Still, I'd love to hear what he'd say to Enda if he was to ever interview him.

I think Will is quiet good also, just self rightous Ray D'arcy should be replaced I think...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭AnnyHallsal

I think Will is quiet good also, just self rightous Ray D'arcy should be replaced I think...

What about Jenny and Mairead? :eek:

I cringe every time they post a pic in Mairead in some outfit or she pretends to be annoyed when Ray reads out a flattering text she probably handed him herself. Jenny's annoying in too many ways to list, mostly though her use of street slang in that accent ... They give us wimmin a bad name :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

I cringe every time they post a pic in Mairead in some outfit or she pretends to be annoyed when Ray reads out a flattering text she probably handed him herself. Jenny's annoying in too many ways to list, mostly though her use of street slang in that accent ... They give us wimmin a bad name :pac:
    My friends and i were only talking about her the other day, after her appearance on the LLS. We all agreed that she is the kind of woman that could be talking about some topic, but while she is, she is thinking, "Ya, you all want to sleep with me!", with a little smirk on her face. She just annoys me for the same reasons as you said above. Someone that has been paid compliments but has let it gone completely to her head. And you know us Irish, we have a tendancy to begrudge them for it.;)

rebel10 wrote: »
    My friends and i were only talking about her the other day, after her appearance on the LLS. We all agreed that she is the kind of woman that could be talking about some topic, but while she is, she is thinking, "Ya, you all want to sleep with me!", with a little smirk on her face. She just annoys me for the same reasons as you said above. Someone that has been paid compliments but has let it gone completely to her head. And you know us Irish, we have a tendancy to begrudge them for it.;)

Yeah, I don't at all begrudge her her popularity with the menfolk, it's the pandering that annoys. Like if they read out texts about how clever etc. one of the others was it would be equally tiresome.

Also, herself and Jenny are quite vapid in general - dresses, make-up and chick flicks seem to be their areas of expertise :)

Yeh, they're pretty annoying too alright. Used to like them a few years ago but find them boring now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Gaffs89

For FFS! If you don't like the show, don't listen to it.There are plenty of other radio stations out there.

It's about time that somebody shouted at the politicians.Martyn was one of Brian Cowens cronies , he didn't do a thing to stop him as he let his banker pals screw the country.
    Did he speak up when Bertie Aherne said anybody who said the economy was heading for a crash should commit suicide.

Good on ya Ray. Great show.

Gaffs89 wrote: »
    For FFS! If you don't like the show, don't listen to it.There are plenty of other radio stations out there.

It's about time that somebody shouted at the politicians.Martyn was one of Brian Cowens cronies , he didn't do a thing to stop him as he let his banker pals screw the country.
    Did he speak up when Bertie Aherne said anybody who said the economy was heading for a crash should commit suicide.

Good on ya Ray. Great show.

Don't choose to listen to it, have to put up with it if I'm somewhere that it's on. Used to like it, don't now. Ray D'arcy in MY PERSONAL OPINION is past his sell by date.

Fair comment, but there are some posters who talk about when they post pics etc.So they must be checking out the web site.

Originally Posted by AnnyHallsal viewpost.gif
    What about Jenny and Mairead? eek.gif

I cringe every time they post a pic in Mairead in some outfit or she pretends to be annoyed when Ray reads out a flattering text she probably handed him herself. Jenny's annoying in too many ways to list, mostly though her use of street slang in that accent ... They give us wimmin a bad name pacman.gif

Fair comment, but there are some posters who talk about when they post pics etc.So they must be checking out the web site.

Originally Posted by AnnyHallsal viewpost.gif
    What about Jenny and Mairead? eek.gif

I cringe every time they post a pic in Mairead in some outfit or she pretends to be annoyed when Ray reads out a flattering text she probably handed him herself. Jenny's annoying in too many ways to list, mostly though her use of street slang in that accent ... They give us wimmin a bad name pacman.gif

Yeah, I listen. I can also say what irritates me about the show. Do I have to like everything about it? Can I post about what I don't? Of course.

Of course you can. So what do you like about it?

I already described that in my first post in this thread, which was actually defending the show.