Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carlisle gym - Comments?

• 19-04-2007 11:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭

[FONT=Arial, Verdana]Hey all, thinking of joining [/FONT][FONT=Arial, Verdana]Carlisle gym in KCR. Cant find a review or much info online about it. What do ppl think of it? Equipment quailty? Service and cost?
    What to get fit again. Not looking for major weights.

N.
    [/FONT]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭kjt

Heya,
    I've been a member there since it opened a few years back
    and I think it's a great gym. I haven't had one problem in
    there. The staff are nice and equipment is fairly well looked
    after. The only crit I would have is how busy it gets at peak
    time. If your going around 4.30/8pm it can be absolutly jammers.
    Almost all treadmills will be taken and so on. I usually go between
    6/11am and it's a joy :)

If you have any specific questions, fire away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

For 300-and-something-Euro-a-year it is a VERY good gym. In fact my biggest criticism would be that it is 300-and-something-Euro-a-year, and thus (as stated above) gets too busy at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭roberteboot

One of the duty managers down there actually told me that it was the busiest gym in the country the other day.I dont know how true that is but i can certainly believe it.It does get packed im usually down there sometime between 5-7 but i still find that i can get everything done.

As long as your not afraid to vary the order of your routine(which you should do anyway) and have plenty of exercises(so you can just grab whatevers free) its grand.Its a pretty friendly place alot of people would say hello, no problems getting spots, working in with people.

On the equipment front they could definately do with some heavier dumb bells its a bit ridiculous at the minute.Theyve plenty of sets of the ones they have though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭nialo

What are there opening hours? They closed after 8? id be a late nite gym goer if possible.. between 9 and 12.. What are they like for providing programs? Or is take care of yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

It's 10 on weekdays - not sure about weekends - Sunday closes at 6 anyway.

I think Saturdays the same.Possibly even earlier.But not before four anyway.Ive never had a program done but i know the lads are fairly helpful and i know its free so they can definately sort you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭nialo

Cool. cheers for the info everyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭tywy

does the pool get packed, I'm interested in joining it mainly for the pool...

tywy wrote:
    does the pool get packed, I'm interested in joining it mainly for the pool...
    At peak times it would get fairly full. Off peak it's fairly empty :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭tywy

I'd be looking to be down there around 7.30 or 8am, what would it be like then?

I think I might join anyway because Terenure College swimming pool is €6 a go for students and only really has evening swims :(

tywy wrote:
    I'd be looking to be down there around 7.30 or 8am, what would it be like then?

I think I might join anyway because Terenure College swimming pool is €6 a go for students and only really has evening swims :(
    IMO I think that would be an ideal time to go, as most people going to work are getting out of the pool for showers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

It closes Saturdays and Sundays at 6 p.m. I think but Monday - Thursday, it's open til 10 p.m. and Fridays til 9 p.m. - I think! Don't quote me on that though :)

Tiz a good gym, loooads of cardio equipment but it does get crowded between 5 and 7 which is annoying. Other than that it gets two thumbs up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Thinking of joining Carlisle this week.. Can't believe the price in comparison to other ones in the area. Such good value! Will be going at peak time, probably about 7.30 in the evening, so I'm hoping it won't be too bad! Used to be a member of Citywest & that got pretty full at those times too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 deca

its a good gym, but the instructors have no clue, if you know what ur doing, go for it, otherwise i wouldn't rely on any info given by those guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

hi, does anyone know how much it is for a year at the minute? Also what is the free weight section like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Did a workout there today at 2pm with a friend who is a member.

Good gym but free weights only go to 30kg dumbbells.

Instruction is poor - which is pretty standard for all gyms.

Lots of cardio equipment and more than enough of everything for the average trainer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

hey, I'm thinking of joining this week but am a little concerned by what people are saying about how busy it gets. I'd be going about 6:30 / 7ish in the evenings. Is it still packed by then or is it manageable?

I also read in an earlier thread about dodgy talk radio being piped into the steam room and sauna while you're trying to relax, is that still the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭abakan

what the price of joining the Carlisle gym these days

I rejoined 2/3weeks ago and it was €325.
    It could be a bit more for first timers though :)

ill pop down this evening and ask,

thanks for that, ive a feeling its over 500 for 1st timers

abakan wrote: »
    ill pop down this evening and ask,

thanks for that, ive a feeling its over 500 for 1st timers

Jeepers, I hope not! Sure I heard on the radio a few months ago that it's "less than a euro a day" or "only a euro a day"... something along the lines of that. Hopefully I'm right and it's only €350/380 for ya!

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭dmohalloran

I just joined.
    I am a first timer, and I got a deal where if 3 people joined it was 750 all in. SO it worked out at 250 p/p. To join on your own it was 375.
    I have to say it is a great gym, does get very packed in the evening, but I've no complaints I am a morning person anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I just joined.
    I am a first timer, and I got a deal where if 3 people joined it was 750 all in. SO it worked out at 250 p/p. To join on your own it was 375.
    I have to say it is a great gym, does get very packed in the evening, but I've no complaints I am a morning person anyway.

That's a spanker of a deal - fair play...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Hey guys, Is there a website for this gym, can't seem to find one. do you need to ring up and book for a tour, or just head down?

Thats a pretty good offer at the mo, now all I need is two other people who wanna join, would anyone boards member here be interested in joining together?

ill go in on it if your interested. ill let you know on monday for deffo

one more person needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Tav

Hi
    I'm in if you are still!

Tav

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Hey lads, good stuff well I'm still up for it, all I need now is to get paid :s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I'll be your 3rd, whats the exact location of the gym ? Google Maps link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭colmconn

zAbbo wrote: »
    I'll be your 3rd, whats the exact location of the gym ? Google Maps link

it's on kimmage rd west

great!

When do you want to meet (it has to be before 29th)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

A little further than I expected, too far for me.

yip im in. is that 3 people???

I think we have 2 so far, which is still cheaper than joining alone

1. Tav
    2. abakan
    3. ....

anyone lese?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭takumi

hey am a memeber at westpoint in blanchardstown. would they let me use their gym with my westpoint membership? i remember going to Northwood with westpoint member card. i might be moving to that area soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 ana_conlon

Tav wrote: »
    I think we have 2 so far, which is still cheaper than joining alone

1. Tav
    2. abakan
    3. ....

anyone lese?

Yea you can count me in two can one of ye e-mail me and we can arrange a time to meet at the gym

I can meet you today or tomorrow in late evening, after 8pm.
    Does this suit you both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 HootieMcBoobie

I joined this gym about a year ago and I wont be renewing my membership. Someone mentioned a staff member was boasting about it being the busiest gym in the country..thats precisely why its so cheap, I reckon they dont cap the membership numbers at all so its packed. I normally go during peak hours so its the busiest but I've been in other gyms where this doesnt mean you have to queue for everything.

When I joined at first, I wasnt working so I was going during the day and still found it busier than any other gym I've been a member of (Jackie Skelly-Parkwest, Westwood-Leopardstown).

The gym equipment is also packed in, you are trying to do weights, row, stretch right beside someone else with ppl on machines facing you in a claustrophobic way.

The pool is in the centre of the gym with a small wall seperating you from the rest of the gym so everyone on the treadmills on 3 sides are facing into the pool...so not very nice if you are self conscious! The pool is pretty busy at peak times and the jacuzzis are totally full at peak times.

There arent enough stretching mats/areas so if you want to stretch out before you cool down too much it can be a problem.

Also, the studios are often out of use so classes can be cancelled for weeks here and there.

I've been a member here for three years.

If you go during peak hours, you're asking for it. I've been there three evenings in three years and decided it wasn't worth the hassle, as is the same in every other gym I've been in.

So I hit the Carlisle at 7.30am and there's around 10 people inside. At lunchtime it's not much different.

Going to a gym between 5pm and 8pm is asking for trouble, no matter where you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭takumi

can some one confirm whether i can go to this gym with my westpoint membership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

If others are interested in joining, I've been planning to for ages & just never got round to it. Went last week with my friend using a pass and she's always on at me to join.

For €250 its a definite, but would need 2 others to get this. €337 or €375 is unlikely this month though..

I joined this gym about a year ago and I wont be renewing my membership. Someone mentioned a staff member was boasting about it being the busiest gym in the country..thats precisely why its so cheap, I reckon they dont cap the membership numbers at all so its packed. I normally go during peak hours so its the busiest but I've been in other gyms where this doesnt mean you have to queue for everything.

When I joined at first, I wasnt working so I was going during the day and still found it busier than any other gym I've been a member of (Jackie Skelly-Parkwest, Westwood-Leopardstown).

The gym equipment is also packed in, you are trying to do weights, row, stretch right beside someone else with ppl on machines facing you in a claustrophobic way.

The pool is in the centre of the gym with a small wall seperating you from the rest of the gym so everyone on the treadmills on 3 sides are facing into the pool...so not very nice if you are self conscious! The pool is pretty busy at peak times and the jacuzzis are totally full at peak times.

There arent enough stretching mats/areas so if you want to stretch out before you cool down too much it can be a problem.

Also, the studios are often out of use so classes can be cancelled for weeks here and there.

Sorry but i never said he was BOASTING about it being the busiest gym in the country. He just pointed it out. He wasnt proud or pleased about the fact.

You make some good points it can be absolutely jammed in there but i go Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday always at peak times and i have always managed to get an excellent workout done.

I think alot of people struggle because they're intent on sticking to their routine down to the letter, as in they have a particular order that they usually do their various exercises and they just wont vary it so they are left waiting for a particular machine rather than working on something else and then coming back to it. I honestly find that the fact its so busy forces me to change things around with my routines which i think is a definate benefit.

That being said having to work around it is far from ideal and i realize people who are maybe just starting out or dont have much experience with different routines can struggle with figuring out how to best go about it.

At the end of the day we get what we pay for. For the price its an excellent gym, its friendly, alot of the regulars know each other fairly well with newer members getting to know people all of the time. Theres decent facilities, the instructors are friendly, one or two of them are excellent(as in most gyms ive been a member of some are clueless) and people are always willing to help each other.

To be honest im rambling here I mainly replied because i felt you misquoted me.

Not the greatest gym around but it does the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭T J Hooker

Can't seem to find a website for them. Can anyone confirm what time the Carlisle opens each day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭hoppo254

You cant use your Westpoint membership , it opens half six weekday mornings. 9 Sat and half 9 Sun. Peak times it really is too busy , outside of that it is a decent gym for the price

It's open Mon-Thur 6.30am-10pm Friday 7am-9pm Sat/Sun/Bhol 9.30am-6pm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 oriordan.david

Hey I can see there are a few people interested in this, not sure who has/hasn't gone through with it yet so drop me a reply if your interested , cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Kuba_Crumlin

Hey I can see there are a few people interested in this, not sure who has/hasn't gone through with it yet so drop me a reply if your interested , cheers.

I will check the gym tommorow propably and if I like it, I might be interested

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 pixieviv

Anyone looking to join for the 3 for €630 deal ????

Let me know .....

Thanks !!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭Serafijn

takumi wrote: »
    can some one confirm whether i can go to this gym with my westpoint membership.

We asked about this when we joined. They said the memberships aren't valid for all three of their gyms, but the visitors passes you get are. So you can use it a few times on them. They also said if you were moving or something they'd let you switch your membership to one of the other ones.

Give them a call and ask, they're usually pretty helpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 570 ✭✭✭KERPAL

Completely and utterly exagerrated.

Yes its very busy at peak times and also i dont like the way dumbells only go upto 30 kgs.

BUT......

You never have to "queue" tho at peak times, maybe go onto another excercise before waiting for a bench or squat rack to be free.
    If you dont like working out near people, you have a big problem with yourself not the gym.
    And your point about the pool being in the centre, i mean its bizarre, people swimming are going to see you anyway, whats the big deal if people on the treadmills are looking(which i doubt anyway, dont flatter yourself.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

Pixieviv is it 3 people for 630 altogether? I might be interested! I'm at JS Ballsbridge near work but live closer to Carlisle