Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Funny Side of Religion

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Newaglish wrote: »
    It's a perfectly cromulent word

A&A - where knowledge is embiggened.

• Moderators Posts: 51,733 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

tumblr_mf033aT3oS1qjoc0zo1_400.jpg

tumblr_mf0152nhJD1qjoc0zo1_500.jpg

tumblr_mctpbutHUm1qcjwm7o1_500.jpg

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭General Relativity

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTSSOB5_GG3RBgxBQBiCnMBi_xHBt_gskwSMHxJ9MFSEE8_Jzon

• Registered Users Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

nCYkw.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    A&A - where knowledge is embiggened.
    Some people do appear to be intoxicated by the exuberance of their own verbosity though.

MrP

• Registered Users Posts: 10,067 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

not really religiously motivated, but still made me smile
    395171_381702705250772_783631129_n.jpg

Also:
    228313_386050534815989_458310987_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 324 ✭✭Wereghost

^ In other news, q dyslexic devil worshipper has sold his soul to Santa. ;)

tumblr_mf5lvq33QZ1rfh9p5o1_500.jpg

and I actually thought the following was a joke, but seemingly it's not!

tumblr_mf5hfy2URn1s0baq8o1_500.jpg
    known as the Lactation of St Bernard (Lactatio Bernardi in Latin) is based on a miracle or vision concerning St Bernard of Clairvaux where the Virgin sprinkled milk on his lips (in some versions he is awake, praying before an image of the Madonna, in others asleep). In art he usually kneels before a Madonna Lactans, and as Jesus takes a break from feeding, the Virgin squeezes her breast and he is hit with a squirt of milk, often shown travelling an impressive distance. The milk was variously said to have given him wisdom, shown that the Virgin was his mother (and that of mankind generally), or cured an eye infection. In this form the Nursing Madonna survived into Baroque art.

Wiki

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

wat

koth wrote: »

and I actually thought the following was a joke, but seemingly it's not!

tumblr_mf5hfy2URn1s0baq8o1_500.jpg

Ah Yes. Bernard of Clairvaux. Now there was a wily political operator. Ironically he was dead set against ornamentation in churches and would have hated Baroque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

The milk was variously said to have given him wisdom, shown that the Virgin was his mother (and that of mankind generally), or cured an eye infection.
    It must have been the eye infection then, the other two are plainly incorrect.
    Bernard the Unwise...
    The Pope commissioned Bernard to launch the Second Crusade;
    Bernard cried, "O ye who listen to me! Hasten to appease the anger of heaven, but no longer implore its goodness by vain complaints. Clothe yourselves in sackcloth, but also cover yourselves with your impenetrable bucklers. The din of arms, the danger, the labors, the fatigues of war, are the penances that God now imposes upon you. Hasten then to expiate your sins by victories over the Infidels, and let the deliverance of the holy places be the reward of your repentance." As in the olden scene, the cry "Deus vult! Deus vult!" rolled over the fields, and was echoed by the voice of the orator: "Cursed be he who does not stain his sword with blood...
    There was some collateral damage;
    As in the First Crusade, the preaching inadvertently led to attacks on Jews; a fanatical French monk named Radulphe was apparently inspiring massacres of Jews in the Rhineland, Cologne, Mainz, Worms, and Speyer, with Radulphe claiming Jews were not contributing financially to the rescue of the Holy Land.
    But it all ended in tears for poor Bernard...
    The last years of Bernard's life were saddened by the failure of the Second Crusade he had preached, the entire responsibility for which was thrown upon him. Bernard considered it his duty to send an apology to the Pope and it is inserted in the second part of his "Book of Considerations." There he explains how the sins of the crusaders were the cause of their misfortune and failures. When his attempt to call a new crusade failed, he tried to disassociate himself from the fiasco of the Second Crusade altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

Jernal wrote: »
    Aye, A&A's best ever thread. Worth a read for all the more recent newbies. (Obliq et al)

Haa! Fierce funny - PC games have nothing on that kind of silliness :D Thanks for the point in that direction lads.

(been without an operating system for a while now until today, so just getting a chance to sit here for a bit without having to sneak onto eldest's computer when his back was turned - yay! Love A&A :cool:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

koth wrote: »
    tumblr_mf033aT3oS1qjoc0zo1_400.jpg
    /QUOTE]

Tell me that really is Lemmy.....Oh PLEASE let it be Lemmy......:pac::p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭General Relativity

^ Of course it's Lemmy. Who else looks bad ass holding a lamb? Nobody that's who.

OT:

tumblr_m6i06tdwp21rv1h70o1_500.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭fitz0

UFhrD.jpg

I'm pretty sure this could come in handy here.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,285 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Good idea, bit of a shit design unfortunately...

http://www.cafepress.com/believeinangles

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭wolfmoon87

148594_513455065340304_2009069963_n.jpg

wolfmoon87 wrote: »
    148594_513455065340304_2009069963_n.jpg

Sooo - the whole impregnated by God thang was just to avoid Miriam...I mean Mary... having rock fecked at her til she was a dead, bloody pulp of bleeding flesh?

I'm down with that.

It's from then on they lose me.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Sooo - the whole impregnated by God thang was just to avoid Miriam...I mean Mary... having rock fecked at her til she was a dead, bloody pulp of bleeding flesh?

I'm down with that.

It's from then on they lose me.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

If only the Big JC returned as quick as some of the Jokes do here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

You mean the short little arabic socialist JC, or the :D:) :eek: :p:) one?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,856 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I am surprised he of the overused smilies can use a computer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Liamario

Nathan_Greene-Teacher.jpg

twas' 11 days before Christmas, around 9:38
    when 20 beautiful children stormed through heaven's gate.
    their smiles were contagious, their laughter filled the air.
    they could hardly believe all the beauty they saw there.
    they were filled with such joy, they didn't know what to say.
    they remembered nothing of what had happened earlier that day.
    "where are we?" asked a little girl, as quiet as a mouse.
    "this is heaven." declared a small boy. "we're spending Christmas at God's house."
    when what to their wondering eyes did appear,
    but Jesus, their savior, the children gathered near.
    He looked at them and smiled, and they smiled just the same.
    then He opened His arms and He called them by name.
    and in that moment was joy, that only heaven can bring
    those children all flew into the arms of their King
    and as they lingered in the warmth of His embrace,
    one small girl turned and looked at Jesus' face.
    and as if He could read all the questions she had
    He gently whispered to her, "I'll take care of mom and dad."
    then He looked down on earth, the world far below
    He saw all of the hurt, the sorrow, and woe
    then He closed His eyes and He outstretched His hand,
    "Let My power and presence re-enter this land!"
    "may this country be delivered from the hands of fools"
    "I'm taking back my nation. I'm taking back my schools!"
    then He and the children stood up without a sound.
    "come now my children, let me show you around."
    excitement filled the space, some skipped and some ran.
    all displaying enthusiasm that only a small child can.
    and i heard Him proclaim as He walked out of sight,
    "in the midst of this darkness, I AM STILL THE LIGHT."

This was just seen on my facebook news feed. I feel ill.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Liamario wrote: »
    This was just seen on my facebook news feed. I feel ill.

Tingles of cringe all up my spine reading that.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

That's one handsome Jesus.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Aenaes

The little girl to the right looks a bit skeptical.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

"Hey kids you know the way I'm omniscient right? Well you are just never gonna guess what's about to happen. You see in a few seconds, eh... Ah no it'll ruin the surprise! Just wait for it..."

Oh Jesus you loveable scamp.

tumblr_mfaybnPPEz1s04u73o1_500.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭sephir0th

1ebRA.jpg