Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Age Jack the Ripper?

• 12-12-2006 12:32pm

Sorry if this has already been posted somewhere. Mods feel free to move if this is not the right area.

It seems to be a new prostitute killer .. three so far ..
    LONDON (Reuters) - Police flooded the red light area of Ipswich with officers overnight in a bid to catch a feared serial killer after three prostitutes were found dead and two more reported missing.

Detectives said on Tuesday they had still not received news on Paula Clennell, 24, who has not been seen since Saturday, and 29-year-old Annette Nicholls, who has been missing for at least a week.

The deaths and disappearances have spread panic in the back streets of Ipswich which were reported to have been quiet as most sex workers heeded police warnings to stay at home.

Police said they were still only linking two murders -- those of Gemma Adams, 25, and 19-year-old Tania Nicol whose naked bodies were found in the same stretch of water to the west of the city.

The naked corpse of a third women, 24, was found in Nacton to the east of Ipswich on December 10.

"We are not linking it (the death) at this stage, clearly there are distinct and striking similarities -- all young, all women, all prostitutes who worked the streets of Ipswich," said Detective Chief Superintendent Stewart Gull.

"The body underwent a Home Office post mortem late last night and I anticipate having those results today," he told BBC radio.

Gull said it was too early to say whether one individual or more were behind the murders.

"I am convinced the working prostitutes in Ipswich probably hold the key as to who is responsible and they need to contact Suffolk Police with any suspicions they may have."

On December 2 police found Nicol in a stream and on December 8 police divers recovered the body of Adams in the same stretch of water.

Detectives have said none of the dead women are thought to have been sexually assaulted.

Source: Reuters

• Registered Users Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

This is happening only 28 miles from where I live, needless to say the local newspapers are having a field day. It's the best period of real news they've had in ages :rolleyes:

Edit: Should probably be in News and Media unless the mods are willing to allow that special 'AH flavour' for this :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 290 ✭✭Tak3n

hope he got his money worths first..

• Registered Users Posts: 24,196 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

That's a pretty sick comment Tak3n. If these girls were working the streets their lives were probably pretty awful in the first place. Street-walkers are the lowest end of the prostitution industry and from what I've read usually there to support a drug habit or worse. Don't be so fvckin' heartless.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

I lol'ed :D

Any news on the other two girls that are missing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Sleepy wrote:
    That's a pretty sick comment Tak3n. If these girls were working the streets their lives were probably pretty awful in the first place. Street-walkers are the lowest end of the prostitution industry and from what I've read usually there to support a drug habit or worse. Don't be so fvckin' heartless.

Go on out of that. Prostitutes make a fortune. If they're good at it and aren't complete mingers they can make around 3 grand a week. Their life doesn't have to be a shambles for them to do it, some of them do it for the money - it's that simple. Sure, they could do better things with themselves, get better jobs, etc. The fact that you associate drug use and prostitution is kinda funny. Don't assume so much. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

its cos of grand theft auto

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

sorry meant to say Vice City (not the one where u have the top down view)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Sleepy wrote:
    I've read usually there to support a drug habit

And whose fault is it that they have that drug habit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Tak3n wrote:
    hope he got his money worths first..

While I did laugh at your sick joke, it's wrong. Clearly there's no value of life left in society anymore!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,196 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

sjones wrote:
    Go on out of that. Prostitutes make a fortune. If they're good at it and aren't complete mingers they can make around 3 grand a week. Their life doesn't have to be a shambles for them to do it, some of them do it for the money - it's that simple. Sure, they could do better things with themselves, get better jobs, etc. The fact that you associate drug use and prostitution is kinda funny. Don't assume so much. :)
    It implies in the article that the prostitutes in question were street workers rather than the more upmarket 'escorts' that can clear 3k a week. Like I said in my original post, the girls working the streets do so out of desperation rather than simply deciding there's good money to be made in prostitution.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,985 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Sleepy wrote:
    It implies in the article that the prostitutes in question were street workers rather than the more upmarket 'escorts' that can clear 3k a week. Like I said in my original post, the girls working the streets do so out of desperation rather than simply deciding there's good money to be made in prostitution.

Absolutely have to agree with Sleepy on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Also, wasn't the Yorkshire Ripper the new age Jack the Ripper...

While I do think that Tak3n's response was terrible and insensitive, it is funny in that macabre way and it is what I expected someone to post in true AH-style.

I agree with Sleepy, the women who walk the streets are at the lower end of the market and are usually (not always) supporting a drug habit. They are not generally the ones clearing major tax-free moolah each week, most of what they make usually goes back into drugs.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

regardless of whether they were drug abusers or not, it's never nice to see anyone killed in such a brutal way. just remember, these women were someones daughter/ sister/ mother etc.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Are ye now debating whether it is more ok to laugh at dead prostitutes than it is to laugh at dead non-prostitutes?

Jesus ****ing christ.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Are ye now debating whether it is more ok to laugh at dead prostitutes than it is to laugh at dead non-prostitutes?

Jesus ****ing christ.

well for me there is a certain comedy about death because look at the billions of people who devote there lives to some sort of religion because of some moronic fear of something that every single known thing in the universe goes through

People, animals, insects, plants, stars everything thing dies yet people fear it so much and waste there lives because of that fear.

To the best of mans knowledge you only get one life so make the most of it, actually do black hones die?.... hmm a Question for the astronomy forum right there

But anyway to answer your question yes there is a different huge difference in people dying some deserve to die and thats always good when they die

but some people die funny deaths, what about that guy who`s life mission was to see how close he could put his head to a moving train to get in the Guinness book of records? that was in the Darwin awards

Also i think it would be funnier for someone in school who works and studys allot to die than it would be someone in school who does not work and enjoys themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Getting back on topic.

Given that he (killers of prostitutes usually are) has killed atleast 3 - I would say you are looking at someone very like the Yorkshire Ripper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭letterman

r3nu4l wrote:
    This is happening only 28 miles from where I live, needless to say the local newspapers are having a field day. It's the best period of real news they've had in ages :rolleyes:

Hands up, anynybody think we have a suspect here. Account for your movements or have you started your own version of urban renewal

letterman wrote:
    Hands up, anynybody think we have a suspect here. Account for your movements or have you started your own version of urban renewal

Ah, trial by intarweb and popular opinion, who needs witch-hunting? :D

Well, as I've recently moved to the area from Cambridge and as I've recently bought a car, that would make me mighty suspicious in my view alright...but before we bring out the lynching rope, I don't have that 'local' knowledge that these killers often have.

As for 'urban renewal', looks like even my username is making me look guilty, it's a conspiracy I tells ya!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

letterman wrote:

No offence letterman but a show of hands isn't an ideal way to gauge public opinion when you're on a bulletin board. Why not try using the fancy poll option?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭Pansy Potter

Ok lets do the fancy poll option.
    Whatever the result, hand him over to the West Midlands police - they know how to deal with these unruly Irish reprobates. Shows his location as Cambridge but now says he's moved near Ipswich and has a car. Open and shut case. Bring back the death penalty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭raido9

User45701 wrote:
    well for me there is a certain comedy about death because look at the billions of people who devote there lives to some sort of religion because of some moronic fear of something that every single known thing in the universe goes through

People, animals, insects, plants, stars everything thing dies yet people fear it so much and waste there lives because of that fear.

To the best of mans knowledge you only get one life so make the most of it, actually do black hones die?.... hmm a Question for the astronomy forum right there

But anyway to answer your question yes there is a different huge difference in people dying some deserve to die and thats always good when they die

but some people die funny deaths, what about that guy who`s life mission was to see how close he could put his head to a moving train to get in the Guinness book of records? that was in the Darwin awards

Also i think it would be funnier for someone in school who works and studys allot to die than it would be someone in school who does not work and enjoys themselves.

What a ridiculous post? Am I right in assuming from your post that you think people's lives are wasted on things such as religion and education?

Also how do people "waste there lives because of that fear [of dying]"?

And as for the last line in your post, don't you think its possible to study "allot" and enjoy themselves too. Why do the two have to be exclusive?

Ok lets do the fancy poll option.
    Whatever the result, hand him over to the West Midlands police - they know how to deal with these unruly Irish reprobates. Shows his location as Cambridge but now says he's moved near Ipswich and has a car. Open and shut case. Bring back the death penalty.

Interesting you should say that as there are a couple of users on boards who use that old classic "Innocent until proven Irish" in their sigs :D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

This poor man

http://news.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-13556324,00.html

Waiting to hear if his daughter is dead.. My God, so sad :o

• Registered Users Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Can't believe nobody has picked up on the title...

"New Age" Jack The Ripper? Might find him at Stonehenge so...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Apparently there are two other street walkers from the same area who are unaccounted for. I hope to good jaysus they catch whoever it is soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

By the title of the thread I assumed there was someone on the rampage with dream catchers, incense, dreadlocks and clogs.

The phrase you are looking for is "Modern Day" rather than "New Age"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭letterman

r3nu4l wrote:
    Well, as I've recently moved to the area from Cambridge and as I've recently bought a car,

Not a VW Beetle by any chance!! Not to worry, they all don't have dark hair, parted in the middle so unless you were spotted in the area with your arm in a cast, you are off the hook!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Two more dead hookers (or should I use the PC term 'sex workers') found.
    Details on Sky News now.
    That's five in total confirmed dead.

http://news.sky.com/skynews/article/0,,30000-1243857,00.html

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Can't believe nobody has picked up on the title...

"New Age" Jack The Ripper? Might find him at Stonehenge so...
    You beat me to it. I was going to advise the police to look for a converted 70s ambulance and the unmistakable stench of a white man with dreadlocks.

Latter day tbh.

"You're a naughty one,
    Saucy Jack,
    You're a haughty one, saucy Jack."