Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do I buy the Lidl or the Aldi TV

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

besty wrote:
    How many units approx would each of these stores take in does anyone know? I.E. if I were to queue on Thursday, what is my competition going to be like?

If you want one go early and expect to be in a line very early!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

gerire wrote:
    How does this one compare? Im really new to this LCD stuff. Same money when you include delivery :here

Thats got low contrast ratio (1:800). I think you'd be looking for at least 1:1000 with a higher number the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Darwin

My 26" LCD has only 500:1 contrast and I've no complaints at all! The Prima on pixmania has a higher brightness than the set offered by Aldi/Lidi but slightly lower contrast. I would say there is very little between the two sets. Prima are owned by XOCECO who by no means are a mickey mouse operation (http://www.xoceco.com/eweb/company.asp)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Am proberly gona be picking up the aldi one myself.. no mention of a wall mounting bracket on it though.. bit of a bummer
    Do they have a no quibble refund? would like to get one as a present for someone and one for myself, an if I don't think its up to shape return both of them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭FakePlasticMan

I was seriously considering the Lidl TV...but after reading some of the posts here..I'm not so sure it's really much of a bargain and worth queuing in the cold at 7.30am for. Seems there are quite a few 32" LCD's appearing at this price and more everyday... think I'll just wait a bit longer.

Actually what I really want is a 40"+ LCD...but way outside my spend limit at the moment..so maybe if I wait a bit longer they might drop more and I'll have a bit more to spend...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

Guys I think you're all forgetting something here - Price and Spec means nothing if the build quality is terrible - these are very cheaply made units using cheap parts and labour (more than likely by the same manufacturer) and have a high risk of breakdown I wouldn't touch 'em 3 year warranty or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭digitaldr

I'm no expert but from what I can gather from www.avforums.com picture processing technology eg pixel plus etc is very important. I've got a Hitachi 32ld7200 has something called picture master which seems to do a great job. I think budget models have little in the way of picture processing.

Another good tip is to search the net for optimum picture settings for your particular make model - can make a huge difference.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

i dont know if your trying to be funny....

obiously someone has seen them running, somewhere at some point,
    but they havent posted here,
    and i dont think anyone has linked to a side by side review.

as i also stated earlier, i wouldnt trust someone elses review of a tv as they're such a subjective thing -
    one mans clear is another mans fuzzy and all that...

Nope not trying to be funny dude,soz if i gave that impression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭subway

Dcully wrote:
    Nope not trying to be funny dude,soz if i gave that impression.
    no worries :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Would any of these TVs be up to the task of PC gaming?

Dcully wrote:
    Would any of these TVs be up to the task of PC gaming?

Decent response time in 8ms. Contrast is ok.

Suppose it would depend if your pc could output to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭Scruff

So, for €650 are either or both of these T.V.s a good buy??
    Getting up early will depend on depend on yer answers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭slayerking

Any one else notice that the Lidl 32" lcd tv is now 444 euro on the Lidl.ie website.
    Am I seeing things!!
    Thats an insane price!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭jimogr

Thats the sterling price for Northern Ireland, change to Rep. of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭The tax man

slayerking wrote:
    Any one else notice that the Lidl 32" lcd tv is now 444 euro on the Lidl.ie website.
    Am I seeing things!!
    Thats an insane price!!!!

Thats the price up north in sterling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 623 ✭✭✭hawker27

had a small attack there when i seen the price 444 lol:)

that makes more sense!!! My mistake. Price is 649 euro

Jaysus SK ...ya almost had me packing my tent and heading down to the local Lidl...;-)

Lol!!
    I had my deck chair out and ready for action when i noticed I was on the NI page!! It redirected me there for some reason!!

Phfew, i would have looked like a dumbass going in with 444 euro!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 623 ✭✭✭hawker27

92 views and no comments,no one buying it so?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Sure, there's a similar thread just below about the Aldi TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭PRman

Thinkin about it!!...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Threads merged, let us know how ye get on chaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭Sneaky_Russian

Thinking of going with the one in Lidler ...2 infact.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,200 ✭✭✭deadl0ck

I presume that the LIDL one is HD ready ?
    It has the inputs but doesn't say HD ready anywhere on the online ad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,041 ✭✭✭mad m

Oh I can imagine the fever tomorrow.Seen a person asking the manager could they give the money now(earlier tonight) and collect it tomorrow..Manager said she couldn't do that,they will have to come back in morning like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭Scruff

subway wrote:
    my opinion on these things is dont buy a tv like this until youve seen it running.
    all the specs in the world mean **** if the picture is no good.

if your buying a hdtv make sure you can demo it with the source youll be using, digital or anaolog.

on that basis, the only one i would buy is the aldi, as they have a 16 day money back guartanee.

the idil website says they have a 28day money back guarantee
    You have 28 days, in which you may return each product bought in our stores and have the purchase price refunded to you.
    Your statutory rights are not affected.

Might get one and have a look at it at home and bring it back within the 16\28 days if its crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

if you havent left the house yet lads, you'll probably be out of luck. Lidl in Leixlip had the grand total of 4 for sale, and they gave tickets to the first 4 people in the queue. Lidl Maynooth had 3 for sale...

Ah well, Xtravision it is so :rolleyes: