Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do I buy the Lidl or the Aldi TV

• 17-11-2006 9:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭

I see both Lidl and Aldi are offering 32in LCD TVs next week for the same money - €649. Question is, which is the better buy. Also, can either of these sets really compare to say a Samsung or a Sony 32" - do you really get what you pay for !!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Aldi seem to be offering a 3yr warranty with no mention of warranty from lidl.
    Not much difference between the two really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

they both have 3 year warranty and the lidl one has picture in picture not much difference besides that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Kristok wrote:
    they both have 3 year warranty and the lidl one has picture in picture not much difference besides that.

Where did you get info on the lidl TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭cosgrove80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,916 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

typical of course that aldi are charging €649 for the 32" lcd but in germany are charging €599 and in the UK £389 = €580

suppose the vat difference takes up most of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DubDani

There is a 5% difference in VAT between Germany and IRL, which covers most of the 50 euro difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Bomany

In the North this TV is retailing at £444.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Ozeire

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Ozeire wrote:

I've posted on the other thread saying the specs on the Targa and Lidl website dont match up. One says HDMI the other says DVI so it seems its a different model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 623 ✭✭✭hawker27

but the aldi 32 lcd tv has hdmi output?.
    it sems to me that the lidl one only has dvi.

anyone else going to purchase one of these 32 hd lcd tv,s from aldi?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Ozeire

Not being a know all or any thing just looked up DVI and HDMI and found

DVI and HDMI are exactly the same as one another, image-quality-wise.The principal differences are that HDMI carries audio as well as video, and uses a different type of connector, but both use the same encoding scheme, and that's why a DVI source can be connected to an HDMI monitor, or vice versa, with a DVI/HDMI cable, with no intervening converter box.

As you can see in

http://forum.ecoustics.com/bbs/messages/34579/122868.html

Plus

http://www.targa.co.uk/index.jsp?SID=0&NAV=236&DOC=&PAGE=1410&PCAT=3&PROD=264&PTUBE=11&PARAMS=undefined&PARAMS2=undefined&SPCAREA=undefined

seems to be http://www.targa.co.uk who by looking at the web site seem to supply Lidl with hardware .

Regards

Alan

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Ozeire wrote:

Not being a know all or any thing just looked up DVI and HDMI and found
    DVI and HDMI are exactly the same as one another, image-quality-wise.

The fact that one carries sound and the other doesnt means that they arent exactly the same. HDMI is newer and MHO is better than DVI. I would much rather a set with HDMI than DVI. More equipment is need to run a DVI set up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭PRman

hi everyone, there was an interesting piece in the SBP on HD TV's - the bloke Adrian Weckler recommended Xtra-Vision's €800 TV as the best buy amongst the budget 32's. He didn't mention the Aldi or LIdl TV's I'm gonna e-mail him and see how they measure up.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭miles teg

PRman wrote:
    hi everyone, there was an interesting piece in the SBP on HD TV's - the bloke Adrian Weckler recommended Xtra-Vision's €800 TV as the best buy amongst the budget 32's. He didn't mention the Aldi or LIdl TV's I'm gonna e-mail him and see how they measure up.....

Can you tell me which suppliment that was in. I bought the SBP especially for the that article and then couldn't find it (please don't slag :rolleyes: ...)
    cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭PRman

I couldn't find it for ages so don't worry about it! It's in the technolgy section which is buried it IT or some other section. Rip the paper aprt and you'll find it. Here's SBP's brief reply:

Andrew,

Aldi's is a great price, but the specs are a little below even its budget competitors'. (eg 7 watt speakers and a brightness level of 400)

You probably can't go wrong for €650, though.

Cheers

Adrian

Dear Adrian,

I was very interested in your piece yesterday on HD TV's and I was wondering if you could answer me a question - how do the Lidl and Aldi TV's on sale on Thursday measure up compared to the Xtra-Vision TV you recommended..

Any info much appreciated...

Kind regards,

I bought the SBP as well and didnt think much of it

so whats the verdict then lads?.
    is it worth buying the 32 hd lcd at aldi?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭green123

buy a crt - much clearer image, much cheaper
    not such a great deal anyway - laptops direct had a similar deal at wknd
    and after christmas better deals will be available

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭subway

my opinion on these things is dont buy a tv like this until youve seen it running.
    all the specs in the world mean **** if the picture is no good.

if your buying a hdtv make sure you can demo it with the source youll be using, digital or anaolog.

on that basis, the only one i would buy is the aldi, as they have a 16 day money back guartanee.

subway wrote:

on that basis, the only one i would buy is the aldi, as they have a 16 day money back guartanee.

Dont both of them have a no questioned asked one year return policy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

They used to have a no quibbles 1 year return policy. They limit it on some of the high value products now to just a normal 12 month repair waranty. They have had to limit it due to the way the system was abused in Ireland. My brother used to work for Aldi, PC's were being bought stripped out, a brick put in place and they were returned to the store for a refund, bikes were being thrashed and returned 360 days later for a new one etc. The return policy works on an honours system in the rest of Europe, but had the pi$$ taken out of it here.

I bought a 17" lcd from Aldi a few years ago and am still very happy with it, I'm sure the LCD's from both shops will have a picture as good as any budget philips and usually has more extra features.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,480 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

if there is a fault with the product Aldi will refund up to a year, most Aldi PC's have "dead" audio inputs on their fronts which is cause to bring PC back for a full refund within a year, been there!

kearnsr wrote:
    Dont both of them have a no questioned asked one year return policy?
    i didnt know that!
    buy both and bring back the one you dont like :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

The question is aldi or lidl.
    It was a straight question, one of the other. Nothing to do with whether its a good buy or anything...
    It is the cheapest 32" LCD you will find anywhere tbh.
    LIDL originally were gharging 777 for theirs (source:supplements in the papers last week) but because of ALDI being cheaper, they reduced their price.

Question is, which one is better?

like i said, the specs of one may be better than the other,
    but response time/refresh rate/contrast ratio/blah/blah/etc/etc means nothing in real terms.

i could look at a screen and think the image is great and you could look and think its sh!te.
    no one has seen one of these running so no one can say which is better.

as an example,
    go up to power city and look at the specs of 4000eu grand sony,
    then look at the tech specs of a 1000eu "tv-matic"
    theyll be virtaully identical, but the sony will have a better picture quality because the parts are better quality and so on.

all im saying is i wouldnt spend any money on a tv without running it first.
    you may get lucky, or it may be a POS.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

no one has seen one of these running so no one can say which is better

Are you sure about that?

i dont know if your trying to be funny....

obiously someone has seen them running, somewhere at some point,
    but they havent posted here,
    and i dont think anyone has linked to a side by side review.

as i also stated earlier, i wouldnt trust someone elses review of a tv as they're such a subjective thing -
    one mans clear is another mans fuzzy and all that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

How does this one compare? Im really new to this LCD stuff. Same money when you include delivery :here

just wondering have sum people decided if there going to purchase the 32 lcd hd tv at aldi?.

think i might go for it on thursday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

How many units approx would each of these stores take in does anyone know? I.E. if I were to queue on Thursday, what is my competition going to be like?

besty wrote:
    How many units approx would each of these stores take in does anyone know? I.E. if I were to queue on Thursday, what is my competition going to be like?

If you want one go early and expect to be in a line very early!

gerire wrote:
    How does this one compare? Im really new to this LCD stuff. Same money when you include delivery :here

Thats got low contrast ratio (1:800). I think you'd be looking for at least 1:1000 with a higher number the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,695 ✭✭✭Darwin

My 26" LCD has only 500:1 contrast and I've no complaints at all! The Prima on pixmania has a higher brightness than the set offered by Aldi/Lidi but slightly lower contrast. I would say there is very little between the two sets. Prima are owned by XOCECO who by no means are a mickey mouse operation (http://www.xoceco.com/eweb/company.asp)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Am proberly gona be picking up the aldi one myself.. no mention of a wall mounting bracket on it though.. bit of a bummer
    Do they have a no quibble refund? would like to get one as a present for someone and one for myself, an if I don't think its up to shape return both of them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭FakePlasticMan

I was seriously considering the Lidl TV...but after reading some of the posts here..I'm not so sure it's really much of a bargain and worth queuing in the cold at 7.30am for. Seems there are quite a few 32" LCD's appearing at this price and more everyday... think I'll just wait a bit longer.

Actually what I really want is a 40"+ LCD...but way outside my spend limit at the moment..so maybe if I wait a bit longer they might drop more and I'll have a bit more to spend...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

Guys I think you're all forgetting something here - Price and Spec means nothing if the build quality is terrible - these are very cheaply made units using cheap parts and labour (more than likely by the same manufacturer) and have a high risk of breakdown I wouldn't touch 'em 3 year warranty or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,522 ✭✭✭digitaldr

I'm no expert but from what I can gather from www.avforums.com picture processing technology eg pixel plus etc is very important. I've got a Hitachi 32ld7200 has something called picture master which seems to do a great job. I think budget models have little in the way of picture processing.

Another good tip is to search the net for optimum picture settings for your particular make model - can make a huge difference.

i dont know if your trying to be funny....

obiously someone has seen them running, somewhere at some point,
    but they havent posted here,
    and i dont think anyone has linked to a side by side review.

as i also stated earlier, i wouldnt trust someone elses review of a tv as they're such a subjective thing -
    one mans clear is another mans fuzzy and all that...

Nope not trying to be funny dude,soz if i gave that impression.

Dcully wrote:
    Nope not trying to be funny dude,soz if i gave that impression.
    no worries :)

Would any of these TVs be up to the task of PC gaming?

Dcully wrote:
    Would any of these TVs be up to the task of PC gaming?

Decent response time in 8ms. Contrast is ok.

Suppose it would depend if your pc could output to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

So, for €650 are either or both of these T.V.s a good buy??
    Getting up early will depend on depend on yer answers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭slayerking

Any one else notice that the Lidl 32" lcd tv is now 444 euro on the Lidl.ie website.
    Am I seeing things!!
    Thats an insane price!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 624 ✭✭✭jimogr

Thats the sterling price for Northern Ireland, change to Rep. of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭The tax man

slayerking wrote:
    Any one else notice that the Lidl 32" lcd tv is now 444 euro on the Lidl.ie website.
    Am I seeing things!!
    Thats an insane price!!!!

Thats the price up north in sterling.

had a small attack there when i seen the price 444 lol:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭slayerking

that makes more sense!!! My mistake. Price is 649 euro

Jaysus SK ...ya almost had me packing my tent and heading down to the local Lidl...;-)