Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Three Good Reasons not to buy an Alfa Romeo

• Registered Users Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭prospect

but all that he has said about Alfas is true... every motoring magazine and journalist says the same...

Well, I own one, and can tell you everything he says isn't true. In my personal experience, but I am sure that counts for less than what little bits of information you have memorised from various articles you have read.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

but all that he has said about Alfas is true... every motoring magazine and journalist says the same...

that like asking somebody to support his assertions that the sky is blue...
    its blue for everybody to see...

Can you support his assertions? Or are you just blowing hot air?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭\m/_(>_<)_\m/

wow... its getting hot in here... relax boys, no need to throw the toys out of the cot. I'm only speaking from my personal experience of owing two if the buckets( yes i know how could i be so stupid to buy a second one but i wanted so much to like them).
    i know why ye are so passionate about them... i was too and it made me so irate, that here was a car i likes so much and they turn out to be useless...
    so chill out lads, you ll be able to sell them on.

all calm again... good.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,253 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

prospect wrote:
    Well, I own one, and can tell you everything he says isn't true. In my personal experience, but I am sure that counts for less than what little bits of information you have memorised from various articles you have read.

Well, actually one of them was true - the depreciation. Some people got stung - myself included, but other people get to pick up a LOT of car for very little money.

I really don't know why I am bothering adding to this thread... But I sold mine after about 2 years of driving it. I lost a good bit from depreciation, but when I got it, insurance was an issue so I had to go for the 1.6 which commands a higher resale price as it is rarer, and didn't come out till 2000. I really should have gone for an earlier 1.8 and it would have worked out cheaper in the long run.

Anyhow, despite this I did not have one problem in the two years. I had to replace some bulbs relatively often (one might go every 3-4 months or so), but no more regularly than on the VW Golf which preceded it. There were a few little creaks from the interior, but less than I am currently experiencing in my BMW of the same year.

Would I buy one again? Definitely, but would make sure that someone else takes the hit on the depreciation first. The diesel 156s were in my budget, but didn't want to take another hit, though as the Alfa/Fiat diesel engine is supposed to be a class leader, maybe it will hold it's resale value better.

wow... its getting hot in here... relax boys, no need to throw the toys out of the cot. I'm only speaking from my personal experience of owing two if the buckets( yes i know how could i be so stupid to buy a second one but i wanted so much to like them).
    i know why ye are so passionate about them... i was too and it made me so irate, that here was a car i likes so much and they turn out to be useless...
    so chill out lads, you ll be able to sell them on.

all calm again... good.

Where did you get yours serviced? What went wrong?

Anan1 wrote:
    Where did you get yours serviced? What went wrong?

www.grandoncars.com
    the first one was second hand. electrical components in the engine keep shutting down the trip computer, never could get it fixed so sold it back to garage with the problem... no doubt they sold it on as well.
    second one was new. and the grinding from the gear box was horrific... told that all this was normal.... until the gearbox virtually dropped out of the car... even the courtesy car they gave me(for about 6 months) used to misfire and on a wet a day she would cut out.

Grandons are complete cowboys. I had a Delta integrale serviced with them once, and got it back with a puddle of fuel sloshing around under the rear seat. The problem with Alfas in this country is that most of the dealerships are complete & utter wasters. If you can find a good service agent (such as TI Autos or Alasta) and have the car serviced properly, then ownership is a completely different experience.

Anan1 wrote:
    Grandons are complete cowboys. I had a Delta integrale serviced with them once, and got it back with a puddle of fuel sloshing around under the rear seat. The problem with Alfas in this country is that most of the dealerships are complete & utter wasters. If you can find a good service agent (such as TI Autos or Alasta) and have the car serviced properly, then ownership is a completely different experience.

i had no problem with grandons... my problem was with the two cars i had.
    the second alfas was new...spanking new.

but listen as far as i can tell you will defend alfa to the end... no point...because you have your opinion and just wont listen to other peoples experiences

This appears to go both ways.

Your experiences of 2 cars out of MILLIONS manufacturered! :rolleyes:

By your rationale:
    My dad had a Nissan Primera in 1994, brand new, and after less than 2 weeks the engine had to be replaced.... Also a colleague has a current primera, and it is awfully troublesome, constantly in the garage.
    So, ALL NISSANS ARE CRAP, dont ever buy one....

Are they, never had a jap car and have no experience of owning one so i couldn't comment but as you speak from you personal experience's of Nissans i will consider your words if i ever think of buying one.
    thanks again.

oh by the way
    this thread isn't about Nissan's. Maybe you should start one if you feel they are as bad as the Alfas

www.grandoncars.com
    the first one was second hand. electrical components in the engine keep shutting down the trip computer, never could get it fixed so sold it back to garage with the problem... no doubt they sold it on as well.
    second one was new. and the grinding from the gear box was horrific... told that all this was normal.... until the gearbox virtually dropped out of the car... even the courtesy car they gave me(for about 6 months) used to misfire and on a wet a day she would cut out.

Unless I'm missing something, you're completely contradicting yourself here. Which is it?

Any chance of an example to back up this assertion?

Anan1 wrote:
    Unless I'm missing something, you're completely contradicting yourself here. Which is it?

Any chance of an example to back up this assertion?

your missing something.

any way, I'm out of here... too many disgruntled Alfa drivers...looking for someone to blame...
    well its not me, remember i had one of them... i knew how ye feel.
    i was lucky enough to get rid of mine.

your missing something.

Any chance you could tell me what before you run away?:)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Anan1 wrote:

I don't get it what is he contradicting himself on??

Vegeta wrote:
    I don't get it what is he contradicting himself on??

I asked him what dealer he used and what problems he had with the car. He said Grandons, and listed off problems the dealer couldn't or wouldn't fix. I then said that in my experience Grandons were useless, to which he replied that he had had no problem with Grandons.

I am begining to suspect that \m/_(>_<)_\m/ and Sonnenblumen are the same person, and that their respective car ownership history are all makey-uppy.

I wouldn't really waste my energy on them Anan1.
    If he/she/they have really had a bad experience with Alfa, thats unfortunate for them. Thanks for letting us all know, now lets all go about our business.

You're probably right Prospect, I was just curious to see what he'd do when I cornered him.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Anan1 wrote:
    I asked him what dealer he used and what problems he had with the car. He said Grandons, and listed off problems the dealer couldn't or wouldn't fix. I then said that in my experience Grandons were useless, to which he replied that he had had no problem with Grandons.

oh i get ya now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

well \m/_(>_<)_\m/ you should really learn how to change gears properly , i've actually never heard of ANY car alfa or not that's brand new and has had the gearbox fall out of it

oh wait , i have didn't britney spears have a prosche or something that had the gearbox ripped out of it from her not being able to drive properly LOL

alfa's are a great car IMO and most people who "alfa bash" have little or NO experience of an Alfa

to the OP , you've actually admitted you've never owned an alfa or know anyone who does so you can't actually base your opinion on anything whatsoever but suppose that fact doesnt enter that feeble little brain of yours.

your clearly trolling and should be banned

• Registered Users Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

miju wrote:
    well \m/_(>_<)_\m/ you should really learn how to change gears properly , i've actually never heard of ANY car alfa or not that's brand new and has had the gearbox fall out of it

to the OP , you've actually admitted you've never owned an alfa or know anyone who does so you can't actually base your opinion on anything whatsoever but suppose that fact doesnt enter that feeble little brain of yours.

your clearly trolling and should be banned

You do not need to put your hand in the fire to know what a burn is, similarly you do not need to attack the person simple because you cannot debate the issues many of which have been well documented and widely endorsed by independent auto specialists and here also by previous AS owners.

Yesterday, I gave a commitment to Mike to hold off here, but I hope he permits me one more post here. Because it isn't right that you as a Moderator can insult a Poster without the right to reply. if (and that's a BIG if) my brain is little or feeble to yours, I am confident that my brain (and the brain of any Poster who has shared my views) has greater capacity to function and has clearly demonstrated more positive tolerance of opposing opinions without needing to resort to using unnecessary personal insults of opposing contributors simply because you disagree with them.

Because someone has a different viewpoint or offers critical comment doesn't make them a troll. You as a Moderator should know this, but if you insult people this in my view makes you a Troll.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,336 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

eoin_s wrote:
    Well, actually one of them was true - the depreciation. Some people got stung - myself included, but other people get to pick up a LOT of car for very little money.

I really don't know why I am bothering adding to this thread... But I sold mine after about 2 years of driving it. I lost a good bit from depreciation, but when I got it, insurance was an issue so I had to go for the 1.6 which commands a higher resale price as it is rarer, and didn't come out till 2000. I really should have gone for an earlier 1.8 and it would have worked out cheaper in the long run.

Anyhow, despite this I did not have one problem in the two years. I had to replace some bulbs relatively often (one might go every 3-4 months or so), but no more regularly than on the VW Golf which preceded it. There were a few little creaks from the interior, but less than I am currently experiencing in my BMW of the same year.

Would I buy one again? Definitely, but would make sure that someone else takes the hit on the depreciation first. The diesel 156s were in my budget, but didn't want to take another hit, though as the Alfa/Fiat diesel engine is supposed to be a class leader, maybe it will hold it's resale value better.

My experience is identical to eoin_s albeit I got the 1.8. I too suffered heavy depreciation but this is the only fault of the car. The others including reliability are and "\m/_(>_<)_\m/
    but all that he has said about Alfas is true... every motoring magazine and journalist says the same..." are basically hot air. you can read a lot into getting posts about rust on the 1970's cars. Perhaps we'll have a thread soon denegrating Ford mondeos because the model T had a rust problem.

One thing I will say is that once I bought the 156 new, I never went out the door thinking I'm fed up with with this car now after 6 months as I did after spending money on other new cars. I too would happily go out and buy another - but second hand this time....

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

lomb wrote:
    belts snap on them on a regular basis. alfas solution was to half the belt change intervals:rolleyes:

i know a few people who have had belts snap on their Meganes prematurely and I don't see any Megane bashing here....

There are enough threads about the pro's & cons of Alfas here for someone to start another one. If you really want to find out about them, log onto a proper Alfa forum.

You do not need to put your hand in the fire to know what a burn is, similarly you do not need to attack the person simple because you cannot debate the issues many of which have been well documented and widely endorsed by independent auto specialists and here also by previous AS owners.

Yesterday, I gave a commitment to Mike to hold off here, but I hope he permits me one more post here. Because it isn't right that you as a Moderator can insult a Poster without the right to reply. if (and that's a BIG if) my brain is little or feeble to yours, I am confident that my brain (and the brain of any Poster who has shared my views) has greater capacity to function and has clearly demonstrated more positive tolerance of opposing opinions without needing to resort to using unnecessary personal insults of opposing contributors simply because you disagree with them.

Because someone has a different viewpoint or offers critical comment doesn't make them a troll. You as a Moderator should know this, but if you insult people this in my view makes you a Troll.

FYI , moderators outside of their forums are just normal users and are liable to be banned just as quickly (if sometimes not quicker) to be banned from another forum (as they should really know better) , but you can't have a rational deabte with someone who has NO EXPERIENCE WHATSOEVER of an alfa

how and ever my point still stands , your trolling plain and simple , you've enver owned an alfa or know of anyone who does and are basing your opinion on 3rd hand information from magazines / telly

i own an alfa and have had no problems with it , i know others who've had no problems with it and the ones who seem to have problems with them (or at least the problems i've heard of) seem to be down to carelessness / bad drivers that

If your original post had a function, reason or foundation, then it could be considered a legitimate post. However, you decide to make a statment (mostly untrue) of fact, about something you know nothing about!
    This is why some people here consider you to be a troll.
    How about I post a new thread:

Three Good Reasons To Ban Sonnenblumen

1. *Insert unfounded fact about him/her here*
    2. *Insert something I heard about him/her in the pub here*
    3. *Insert something massively over-exaggerated here*

miju wrote:
    FYI , moderators outside of their forums are just normal users and are liable to be banned just as quickly (if sometimes not quicker) to be banned from another forum (as they should really know better) , but you can't have a rational deabte with someone who has NO EXPERIENCE WHATSOEVER of an alfa

how and ever my point still stands , your trolling plain and simple , you've enver owned an alfa or know of anyone who does and are basing your opinion on 3rd hand information from magazines / telly

i own an alfa and have had no problems with it , i know others who've had no problems with it and the ones who seem to have problems with them (or at least the problems i've heard of) seem to be down to carelessness / bad drivers that

well excuse me but i did own an alfa in fact i used to own two...
    and you dismissed my opinion as nonsense. you cant have a have a rational debate with someone who did own an alfa in fact you cant have a rational debate.
    i'm sorry but you are a hypocrite...plane and simple.
    you seem to be losing the plot a little...

well excuse me but i did own an alfa in fact i used to own two...
    and you dismissed my opinion as nonsense. you cant have a have a rational debate with someone who did own an alfa in fact you cant have a rational debate.
    i'm sorry but you are a hypocrite...plane and simple.
    you seem to be losing the plot a little...

That post was in reply to one from Sonnenblumen, not from you... Unless of course you are one and the same?

\m/_(>_<)_\m/ i didnt dismiss it as nonsense at all , i just pointed out a comparison to the problem you had to a problem another person had , my main issue is with the OP not you

• Registered Users Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Deer

Have a 147. Love it to bits. Have to sell it for financial reasons. Depreciation is a bummer and electrics can have issues but on the whole alfa's are a babe of a car. An ex of mine had the 3.2 litre GTA. That was some machine and never gave him any trouble. That car used to vibrate and lets put it like this - was a very pleasant experience to drive in! Will buy an older version of my 147 as soon as I sell my own.

eoin_s wrote:
    That post was in reply to one from Sonnenblumen, not from you... Unless of course you are one and the same?

pleas read his earlier replies to me before you interrupt.