If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What are you Listening to/Watching/Reading right now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

&#231 wrote: »
    yes, cormac could tackle knackers quite well shay :P
    I got confused there for a while...

Anyway, Endapendent was most likely listning to Atomic Kitten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭Bartron Prime

Oh man. That was the funniest thing ever. I saw Squiggles running across Front Square. It was close to the Inaugural so I thought he was going to do some stuff for it. The Big Fella wanted it to go smoothly. And Squiggles, being the legend that he is, was doing that and posters to keep The Big Fella happy. And general posters. And being a legend of a Censor and a guy in general. So I presumed he was bailing to the Laser Huts. I mean, it was 7 p.m. on a Friday. Perfect time to spend a few hours doing Hist work. :)

Then I got to the Building. That's when the fun really began. The b******s had busted the lock on the Committee Room door. And I had just cracked down on people slamming the door and not locking it properly so as to protect the lock and the door. Of course, the attempted thieves had gone and broken part of the frame. Sigh. And the replacement lock didn't really work either. Double sigh. This angered me because I had become a guy who was deeply interested in locks and keys (Shiny keys! That, and I had to make sure no-one lost the damn things).

And not to start an argument but I did have the power, within the context of The Society's Laws at least. I also could have summoned my Army of Schoolies using the Convenor stick or my special Conveney Whistle. ;) The (subsequently amended) section of The Hist's Laws, Chapter XI - The Librarian, Law 3 states "The Librarian shall have general charge of the Rooms, and in the event of any property being missing or willfully damaged he shall immediately bring the matter under the notice of the General Committee". The new laws actually give the Librarian the power to issue fines. The Auditor and I specifically wanted that added. The old law meant that one email and anyone could either be fined or expelled. Fining means you can't use the Society's facilities until you pay and expulsion means you are not permitted in the Conversation Room under the agreement with College. Not that I was actually going to do that. I just wanted people to stop messing with the lightbulbs. I had too much else going on and I really didn't want to spend my time with Buildings' Office, spending ages with them getting them to fix things. (I spent 20 hours a week on Schools'). But I was far too stressed to say it politely. There was an awful lot going on during the year (Look, teacher lady, it's 8pm on a Sunday, I'm buying ham, can you ring me back?). I should have just asked you to stop. I apologise. At times I acted like a bit of a tool last year due to an awful lot of stuff going on in my life. That's not an excuse, just an explanation. Sorry about that Enda. Bygones?

As for Atomic Kitten, they ruined Eternal Flame. How dare they! Speaking of cheesey music, I'm listenng to Europe - Final Coundown :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

As for Atomic Kitten, they ruined Eternal Flame. How dare they!
    Complete bastardisation! I can only conclude that they hate music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,208 ✭✭✭✭Crash

cheers lads - now i have The Bangles stuck in my head...

No problem. Anything I can do to help. Also, your head is not where you'd want to have The Bangles. It rhymes with it but still... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

The clacking of keys in this HORRIBLY OVERPRICED INTERNET CAFE. Dear god. €1 for 15 mins? Rip off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

&#231 wrote: »
    cheers lads - now i have The Bangles stuck in my head...
    It could be worse. At work the other day, I got the Nolan Sisters' I'm in the Mood for Dancing stuck in all my colleagues' heads.

Doo-doo-doo, ooo-hoo, doo-doo-di-doo, doo-doo-doo-doo-doo-di-doo-doo-doo, doo-di-doo, doo-doo-di-doo-doo-hoo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Now I'm thinking of Barney and Homer singing "You Make Me Feel Like Dancing"

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i thought Girls aloud did eternal flame.....

nadine... NYOM....

What a Wonderful world - louis armstrong

Monty Python's Flying Circus. Ministry of Silly Walks ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BrenC

I'm touching the keyboard to type this,
    I'm watching the screen to see what i've typed
    I'm listening to Franz Ferdinand - Come on Home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Watchin longford V kerry. Depressing. Don't have the energy for a good rant either. damn contentedness.

I notice Enda hasn't denied the Wet Wet Wet accusation...

I'm listening to some minimalist electronic improvisation stuff. It's ok. A little too minimalist for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Puh-lease.

If I was going to listen to any version of Love is All Around (I Feel It In My Fingers) it would most certainly be the REM unplugged version recorded in Boston in 1990. Mike Mills proves he can sing in this version, fair play to him. Perhaps the best bass-player voice since Kim Deal.

I know I love you, I always will. My mind's made up, by the way that I feel. There's no beginning, there'll be no end; 'cause on my love, you can depend...

Ah cheesey love songs. I am a big fan of them and power ballads so I like Bryan Adams' (Everything I Do) I Do It For You... "Don't tell me, it's not worth tryin' for...."

Which reminds me. Time for some Bon Jovi. Hmm. I choose "Blaze of Glory". Oh yeah. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

I hear the bells Mike Doughty.

Watching, or up to 15 minutes ago Veronica Mars.

Listening: Rage Against The Machine - Guerrilla Radio

Watching: Just finished watching Invader Zim - Gir Goes Crazy and Stuff. Dance with us Gir, dance with us into oblivion... Dookie! :D

Dead Ed wrote:
    Watchin longford V kerry. Depressing. Don't have the energy for a good rant either. damn contentedness.
    Heh. I ended up watching that in a pub (which is odd, because I usually don't *do* sports..perhaps I just got caught up? these kerrymen really love their GAA) and it was hilarious! (for me, being in/from kerry and all)

crazy czech kids plazing counterstrike

Weeel to be fair everyone knew how it was gonna turn out as soon as they were drawn against each other.
    crazy czech kids plazing counterstrike
    Yesterday 20:22
    Suppose it stops them fighting with knives.

Dead Ed wrote:
    Suppose it stops them fighting with knives.
    And undermine one of Communism's lasting legacies? You, sir, should be ashamed of yourself...

I am currently touching/eating a 500g bag of Greek sugar-filled candy. Praise be to Zeus! :p

You, sir, should be ashamed of yourself...
    Nope. Never ever ever. I think article 2.8 and, more importantly, 2.13 of my nation's as yet, incomplete, constitution rubbish any ideas to the contrary.

Yes, but I am more than 10 feet away from you. So I can say what I like. And Article 2.9 doesn't apply to me. And if you try to enforce it, I wish to make use of Article 2.15. Your skull won't, but I like fire extinguishers.....

back in the same cafe, i am easily the Oldest here by at least 2-3 years. the guy behind the counter is sitting ohn a phone book to prop himself up.

and some kid asked me to play cs_assault ( counterstrike map)... i need a Break, ( i also need sleep)

Joe

Yes, but I am more than 10 feet away from you. So I can say what I like. And Article 2.9 doesn't apply to me. And if you try to enforce it, I wish to make use of Article 2.15. Your skull won't, but I like fire extinguishers.....
    I make the rules and can ammend them at any time of my choosing. Good luck with the other thing :D

Muse - Origin of Symmetry (the album).

Jaaaysus, Matt Bellamy may be an obnoxious, vain bastard and completely up his own arse, but he's an amazing musician. *is incredibly jealous*

It is a fantastic album. Which reminds me. Come to me ITunes.. There we go: Muse - Map of the Problematique. Quality track.

But yes, he is a bit of a tool. And just unattractive. Now while I have nothing against Heroin Chic (one of my good friends, the crazy guy, looks like he spent several years in an Irvine Welsh novel) Bellamy takes it that bit too far. Oh, and the arrogance. A character trait I despise. That said, can't wait to see them live in The Point in November. :D