Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you drive?

• 15-06-2006 9:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭

I haven't seen any threads here for folks to say what they drive and show the pride be they driving a Lada or a Rolls..........

I'll get the ball rolling:
    1994 Nissan Sunny 1.4LXi, 3dr, 1392cc, auto, black,97k.

Only 2 simple faults since I've had it- throttle control valve in the gearbox and starter motor went. The starter was a pain though coz the correct model was hard to come by. Didn't bother in a pre-check for the NCT coz they'd tell me what the problem was in the NCT itself- as it happened it failed on a side-light bulb being blown so that was a relief!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

Very boring, really, an '04 Ford Focus C-Max 1.6TDCi Zetec. I've driven more, shall we say "exciting", cars in my immediate past when I lived on the continent, but here in Ireland I just don't see the point of spending money on performance you can't use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭andrew_ireland

Why do you say boring? No cars are boring- waiting for the bus is boring!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

I drive an 05 Audi A3 Ambition, 1.6l. Love the car, very comfortable, nippy.

Best thing is the dual zone aircon. Wifey and I were always arguing when we only had one control for the whole car in our old one! She likes the car warm, I like it cold.

Looking to change next year to maybe an A4. I like the 1.9 TDi, great engine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

91 Ford Fiesta soon to be a Lamborghini Murcielago LP640.

Alun, if you want a bit of a challenge, I'll swap my Fiesta for your Focus, a lot more fun to maintain since it's so old, vintage as they say. Wouldn't mind a focus till I have the money saved up for the Lambo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

A 2005 1.9 litre turbo diesel Peugeot 307 car/van for work. Not bad, but sadly not very reliable. On the plus side its the most economical car I've ever had, its very comfortable and very fast, when needed.
    At home sits a 91 D 1.6 petrol honda Integra with full Muegen bodykit. Thats my baby. Sadly, it hasnt driven for a while due to finances, but soon, I will have her back for those weekend trips. yeay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

cormie wrote:
    Alun, if you want a bit of a challenge, I'll swap my Fiesta for your Focus, a lot more fun to maintain since it's so old, vintage as they say. Wouldn't mind a focus till I have the money saved up for the Lambo.
    Nah, I won't bother if it's all the same to you :) The C-Max might be boring but it's actually surprisingly 'pleasant' to drive for a mini-MPV, and I can fit a lot of crap in the back. I'm off to Germany for a week next month and I've hired a BMW 320d for a bit of a blast down the autobahns ... that should get it out of my system for a while :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭Moo-69

i've a 93 EG6 Sir civic and a 06 yaris strata(company car) cant fault either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Road cars wise here goes........

Work car is a02 Mitsi L200 crew cab. Nice yoke, heavy on diesel though.
    Currently a 1991 Nissan 300zx twin turbo with lots done to it. Its provisionally sold though at the minute.... :( .
    At home on the driveway is a 1990 300zx Twin turbo currently minus its turbopipes, but with a whole new cooling system... it will be running soon.
    And here outside work is my baby, a 1979 911 Sc.... its, emmm, taking a rest :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

Seat leon cupra R :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

1996 Honda Civic 1.6i LS SRS, 5dr Hatch, manual, darkish green, 82k.

- Great, great car - going to stay Honda for the forseeable future, maybe forever ;) , would like to buy a nicely spec'd Accord Hatch next [The model just before the current Alfa'ish one]

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

06 Focus ST. Expensive to buy and run but it's a fine drive.

No offence lads but Audi A3 (1.6) and Pug 307 van (TD) are neither "nippy" nor "very fast" in relative terms.

Cupra R can go a bit however.

Alun wrote:
    I've hired a BMW 320d for a bit of a blast down the autobahns ...

Deadly!! I'd love to have a go at that, hope you enjoy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Jood

I drive a 98 Punto and I love it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

Mazda 323f 2.0 V6 24valve ..she is a niiice:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Bmw e36 316i... Untill i get my e36 Coupe 318is next month

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭pa daly

01 VW Passat 130 Bph Highline. Leather interior, Full chrome bumper trim exterior. Fast as f**k

Luvs it!!!

No offence lads but Audi A3 (1.6) and Pug 307 van (TD) are neither "nippy" nor "very fast" in relative terms.

yeah , funny coz its true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Audi A4 1.9 TDI 2003. Great car plenty of torque and so economical. Its a company car and due to change soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

That may be so, but you could never get a cement mixer in the back of it like you can with my 00 Skoda Felicia 1.3 GLX!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭numorouno

Toyota corolla 00reg liftback 1.4VVTI 65k very boring but boring is good when it starts everytime and loads and loads of room for crap that i bring with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Nissan 350Z - fantastic car, however due to an extension in the family will soon have to be sold for something a little more practical

TheBazman wrote:
    Nissan 350Z - fantastic car, however due to an extension in the family will soon have to be sold for something a little more practical

Sweet car man, absolutely gorgeous! ...we can swap , mine has 4 doors:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭mick4_2000

1994 E36 316i Coupe everyday driving
    1990 MX5 1.6 Fun at Weekends:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 PaulOH

That may be so, but you could never get a cement mixer in the back of it like you can with my 00 Skoda Felicia 1.3 GLX

Indeedy, or two cement mixers like in my Octavia which has to be sooo much car for your money.

Nice inoffensive motor the Octavia, got it back in 99 as a company car when they were still v.new & never had a moment's fuss with it. Didn't like it at first - had moved straight from classics to this brand-new VW-imitating fridge of a car, but it's grown on me. A pleasing turn of speed on the motorway and more room in the boot than a studio apartment in town.

one small, hugely annoying design quirk - if you drop something out of your pockets like a set of keys or your phone while in the driver or passenger seats, they are almost impossible to retrieve. There is no space to get your hands in under the seats and moving them back or forward makes little difference. Every six months I go on a determined treasure hunt under the seats and retrieve all sorts of stuff.

Would love to get back into the classics - owned 1969, 70 and 71 Morris&Austin 1100s and 1300s, which are like big minis and drive like bouncy Metros. V.advanced car for its time, buzzes round town no bother and not too bad on the open road tho over 60 is noisy & motorway work a bit tiring. 1100 not really up to the motorway.

Anyone know of a garage where there's one of these sitting waiting to be brought back to life?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

1999 Honda Blackbird Bike
    2000 Peugeot TKR50 Moped
    2006 Mini Moto, just for laughs.
    2006 MINI Cooper Hatchback, 18" Wheels, Body Kit, Leather, Panoramic Glass Roof, SatNav, etc, etc, etc.
    2006 MINI Cooper Convertible, 18" Wheels, Body Kit, Leather, SatNav, etc, etc, etc.
    1988 Grob 115e Plane!

And next year I'll have 2 additions to the fleet, a 1992 BMW 850i (Car, not bike), and a 1993/1994 Classic Mini Cooper Sportspack.

If it has an engine, I'll drive it :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

1997 Seat Ibiza 1.4SE 115K
    1997 VW Passat 1.6 98K

Have to do the headgasket in the Passat now, feckin M1 :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

ppl with more than one car have too much money ( ok im green with envy)

94 Honda Integra ZX 1.6 DC (105bhp:( ), tis grand ,tis silver,and since i got the exhaust fixed its quite, could do with some TLC at this stage ................... maybe I will fix the aerial this evening

would have bought a RX7 early this year but couldnt justify it with the price of motion potion at the mo.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Should have added a 1979 Ford Escort MkII RS2000 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

None taken.

I drive the A3 around town and on motorways every day. It's nippy enough to get about in traffic and gets to 120kph quickly enough on the mway. So I'm happy. If I didn't need a 4/5 door car, I'd never be thinking of changing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭exactiv

'99 VW Golf 1.6 Comfortline

Nice comfy car. Wouldn't buy the 1.6 again though. Seems you can't sell the feckin things....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭GarH

TheBazman wrote:

You mean you can't put a baby seat into a 350Z? :D

Anyways, I drive a '96 Integra Type R.
    Brilliant car, great fun to drive... but very stiff suspension.

Hoping to get an BMW M3 next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

1991 Toyota Sera. Never a bother with it and it's 15 years old. Thinking of an E34 M5 in the near future

That has lamborghini style doors doesn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭Squirrel

1997 Nissan Micra 1 litre, wine red in colour. :o

It's a 3 door and some little scumbags snapped off the rear windscreen wiper a while back. Only trouble it ever gave was the clutch going on it, and when my brother went into the back of a Range Rover, bonnet was repaired and a new set of headlights and it's fine.

That has lamborghini style doors doesn't it?

A comment like that will incur the wrath of Sera owners! I think the preferred term is 'dihedral doors' as they lift both up and in, a mixture of gull wing and lambo. McLaren and Ferrari acknowledge it as the basis for the F1 and the Enzo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

pa daly wrote:
    01 VW Passat 130 Bph Highline. Leather interior, Full chrome bumper trim exterior. Fast as f**k

Luvs it!!!

Somethign similiar, 02 1.9TDi 130Bhp Highline Passat, headed seats, cruise control etc on it. And yes they are fast as fcuk:D

zuutroy wrote:
    A comment like that will incur the wrath of Sera owners!

Sorry!;) Saw a photo of one with the doors open, looks pretty cool- bet it's a real head turner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,818 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

PaulOH wrote:
    Indeedy, or two cement mixers like in my Octavia which has to be sooo much car for your money.

Yeah - I own an Octavia aswell (missus drives it). I didn't want to brag.

Sorry!;) Saw a photo of one with the doors open, looks pretty cool- bet it's a real head turner!

It is, but after 2 years, it sometimes gets a bit headwrecking having little scummers coming up : 'Heeyaw Mistaw, how much did dem dowars cost....dats deeeaaddllyy'
    Oh and the struts to hold them open are well worn, and they cost €300 to replace.

TheBazman wrote:

Could you not keep the car and just a roof-rack to fit it?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭sandyg

I have my new Punto Grande dynamic which i adore and most extras as standard compared to my other halfd new volkswagen passat tdi comfort line and between us we have a year old kentucky camp motor home which is used every weekend.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

own a '98 Subaru Impreza 2.0 Turbo Sportswagon.
    flatmate has taken it to germany to get the last mods done and the clutch replaced, also got power test done, is hitting at 287bhp.
    after increasing the turbo pressure to 1.4 bar the Torque is amazing, it's like a Bull is kicking you in the chest, 0-100 kph in 4.9 seconds.

love this car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Currently - 1989 BMW 325i SE & 2000 BMW 328ci

328ci is for sale though - if sold I'll go for a Boxster, NSX or M3... if not I'll fiddle around with ther 328ci a bit more.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

A good oul reliable 1997 Mondeo 1.6 LX.

She's a grand oul thing, served me well, Guts of 120k miles put on her in the last 5-6 years. A few little issues starting to crop up, front wishbones need to be done and suspenion struts need to be replaced.. apart from that, still getting 500 miles out of a tank of petrol on country driving and its nice and steady on the motorway cruising at 70+.

Would love a new car, but with this one parked up outside the house 4 days a week as I bus it to work (not worth it driving in Dublin city traffic), its kind of a waste of money and I've better things to be spending €20k - €30k on, like kitting out my house. :D

Oh I've test drove about 20 different cars but common sense prevails every time when i sit down and do the math!!! :rolleyes:

I've also got a 1971 Beetle 1300 at home, sitting in storage waiting for me to get the cash together to have her restored back to her former glory!!

Tox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

For work a 96' Toyota camry 2.2 td jap import, great car.
    For play a 72' Ford Mustang, 351 cleveland V8, thats 5.8 ltr.
    http://img212.imageshack.us/img212/5220/img44772eh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

2005 Alfa Romeo 147 1.9Mjet 150Bhp.

Black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

bloody sure she can :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

99 Toyota altezza rs 200
    06 bmw 520d
    00 partner van

god the bmw is crap

note to self log out of gf's account - Elexes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Kermitt

02 Golf Comfortline - It's my baby and hauls me over many many miles (30k a year) Really comfortable car, I just wish the anti roll bar bushings didn't wear!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭tred

03 2.0 TDCI 130 PS Mondeo GHIA X. Fully loaded. Leather interior. 2 years of zero trouble. Love driving it. She takes off like a bullet.