Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Patch 1.3

• 23-05-2006 2:06pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Out later on today or at latest tomorrow.

TiG already updated afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 A.S.C.I.I |BOSS

Our ASCII Server has the patch on now. Available for play for immediately.

The IP of the Server is 82.195.155.9:16567

Hope to see you all there.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

They'll just have to wait for the 'official' release of the 1.3 client patch first Boss :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

If any of you are looking for it you can find the v1.22 -> v1.3 incremental patch here:

BF2 v1.22 -> v1.3 Patch i]TiG Mirror[/i

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭jonski

Access Forbidden

You don't have permission to access the requested object. It is either read-protected or not readable by the server.

Thx Winters. The i3d.nl link I had was a little slow...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭TheHairyFairy

Enjoy dropping vehicles and tracking back to where the fight is if you switch squads.

Game seems more optimized as well.

Fairy

Full patch: http://files.darkkeep.com/BF2Patch1.3.zip 441megs.

Fairy

Courtesy of Rev

The fact that the game now remembers the last kit used between rounds is good enough for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

jonski wrote:
    Access Forbidden

You don't have permission to access the requested object. It is either read-protected or not readable by the server.

Opps... had forgotten to chmod it :)
    Should be up working now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Atlas_IRL

cheers for the links

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

any one got a full list of the features in the new patch?

1.3 Change Log

================================================== ==============================
    Battlefield 2™: V1.3
    ReadMe File
    April 25, 2006
    ================================================== ==============================

Patch v1.3

NEW FEATURES

- Air dropped vehicles:
    Squad members can now send a request up the chain of command for a vehicle to be dropped at their location.

- Co-op:
    Co-op Mode allows you to play Single Player levels on the Internet and LAN with both AI controlled bots and human players. Several new options have been created that will allow the server creator to modify how the bots behave in game.

Number of Bots: This setting allows you to determine the total number of bots that will spawn in game.

Bot Ratio: This setting allows you to determine the percentage of total bots that will spawn for each team. For example, setting this value to 25 means that 25% of the total bots will spawn in Team 1, and 75% in Team 2. Team 1 is always the MEC, Chinese, or their allies, while Team 2 is always the USA, EU, and their allies.

Bot Difficulty: This setting determines the skill level of the bots. 10 is easiest, 100 is the most difficult.

- Default Kit Selection:
    The kit that you used last is remembered at the beginning of the round and between maps.

BUG FIXES & GAMEPLAY TWEAKS

- Fixed issues with remote console and linux server

- Prevented ban list from being cleared in the event of a server crash.

- Fixed the bug where helicopters abandoned in the air would continue flying.

- Fixed issue with player not properly ranking up on servers where they continuously play.

- If the player joins a squad while dead, the player will not be able to use the squad leader as a spawn point until they have respawned once.

- Flag Capture bar now reacts accurately to players entering the capture radius.

- Fixed bug where friendly vehicles showed as valid targets

- Friendly Vehicle lock: Lock-on weapons do not lock on to friendly vehicles. The box with an X through it will still appear, but a lock tone will not sound and then if fired, the missile will not track the friendly target.

- Fixed bug that altered mini map functionality

- Adjusted missile count on BF2SF helicopters.

- Fixed bug with Special Forces rank names.

- Fixed repairing HUD for the engineer when in a vehicle

- Adjusted award criteria

- Fixed a client crash after entering 300 characters into the IP address using "connect to IP"

- Fixed a tech hang when creating a single player account from an offline account

- Fixed crash when switching from BF2 to BF2:SF (or vice versa)

- Fixed a crash caused when a player is joining a map and another player logs into the same account

- Fixed a Dragon Valley exploit

- Fixed a bug on Zatar Wetlands where AA missiles would not lock onto oil towers

- Fixed a bug that caused the Eurofighter explosion to appear as a Mig-29 wreckage

-
    Armor Bar removed from occupied machinegun emplacements

- Fixed a bug on Kubra Dam and Zatar Wetlands that caused enemy AA sites to not display in bombing HUD

- Special Forces - Firing crossbow from open vehicle position causes others to see player weapon firing

- Fixed Repair Hud for the engineer when in a vehicle and repairing a team mate vehicles

- Fixed a bug on Strike at Karkand where players were able to get inside a building by Train Accident when FF is turned off

- Fixed the commander toys on Wake Island 2007 so that the US can no longer disable the Chinese artillery

- Fixed a bug in Zatar Wetlands 32 where commander assets were not being properly dropped to the location specified by the User.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 791 ✭✭✭fightin irish

Can anyone tell me the folder name that patches install to. Problem is i moved bf2 to my D drive last week or so and now when i try to install the patch it says ''can't find install folder''. So i was hoping that i could extract it into the said folder on d drive. Thx in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

documents and settings/local/temp/34jhg2345g234hjg234hg234hjg234kjh2 but its still an EXE in there.

kdjac

Thanks Kdjac. Much appreaciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

anyone tried the requesting vehicles yet? how is it?

i can't because of exams and whatnot... i haven't had a proper game in weeks now :'(

SL requests using the T button, the exact same way you can request supplies or arty. And just like before if your commander never listens to your requests for suppies then don't expect too many jeeps dropping from the clouds :)

The reload bar seems to be a LOT faster then the time it takes between 2 supply drops though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Thanks for the patch info ponster but some nice chap called sean already posted them for me up on the 1st-ib forums. Who ever you are Sean thanks.

ALso our 1st-ib ranked does not have the patch we uasually leave it a few days to patch up see how the new patches pan out. And also this makes our servers busier as loads of people seem to not know about the pacth and come to our servers. our server will be patched up by next monday though. So for those that dont want to patch up yet ya can come on. The Ip is 217.146.92.74:16567

he got banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭DingDong

Cheers for the fast link Winters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

I'm back :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

I like the patch so far, doesn't appear they've messed with anything they weren't ment too, so its all good. Love the new squad thing, no more sqaud hopping biatchs! YAY! :D As for the vehicle drop thats a "meh" from me, saw one idiot drop a jeep on the roof at square on karky but an AT missile soone stomped that sh1t out.

Only problem with the patch ive seen (so far) is the multiplayer search screen, when i click on a server once to check its stats it give me the name of another server for some reason and keeps doing this. But besides that its all good. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭DingDong

Anyone else having problems with it crashing to deaktop more than usual and the server update taking alot longer than normal.

The 'ol account login seems a bit hairy? And as root said earlier the multiplayer screen is a bit freaky at the mo. In fairness to EA these are auctally good complaints to have for a change.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

Had a good game earlier on BTC, things seems fairly smooth, pity the TiG fellas fecked off, pussies ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Jackabo

V!alli wrote:
    pity the TiG fellas fecked off, pussies ;)
    Yeah the Pussys :p I wasnt there tho :D

V!alli wrote:
    Had a good game earlier on BTC, things seems fairly smooth, pity the TiG fellas fecked off, pussies ;)

LOL, nice comment V!alli, i didn't even think of going to BTC's server tonight. Anyone be about tomorrow on the BTC server? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

R0ot wrote:
    Only problem with the patch ive seen (so far) is the multiplayer search screen, when i click on a server once to check its stats it give me the name of another server for some reason and keeps doing this.
    DingDong wrote:
    Anyone else having problems with it crashing to deaktop more than usual and the server update taking alot longer than normal.

Have both these issues. :mad:
    Haven't gotten into a game yet, as soon as I do it crashes to desktop. Will try again in morning.
    Patch 1.3.1 anyone???

R0ot wrote:
    LOL, nice comment V!alli, i didn't even think of going to BTC's server tonight. Anyone be about tomorrow on the BTC server? :D

Like anywhere ROot it can vary, we can try by all means, I'd like a good, big game with BTC plowing through everyone else :D

I'm sure jonski can get some sort of movement goin.

V!alli wrote:
    Like anywhere R0ot it can vary, we can try by all means, I'd like a good, big game with BTC plowing through everyone else :D

I'm sure jonski can get some sort of movement goin.

Well ill pop onto the BTC 2moro and drag a few other NRG lads with me, ive missed sniping Ghost and Jonski and maybe an ole knife of viriconia. :D

Viri can be on your team, I need 40 kills for a gold badge :D:D

(I really should stop ribbing her about that)

irlrobins wrote:
    Have both these issues. :mad:
    Haven't gotten into a game yet, as soon as I do it crashes to desktop. Will try again in morning.
    Patch 1.3.1 anyone???

You didn't rename bf2.exe to increase game-speed or something silly like that eh? :)

Ot added anything to your HOSTS file for BF2 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭s10

R0ot wrote:

Only problem with the patch ive seen (so far) is the multiplayer search screen, when i click on a server once to check its stats it give me the name of another server for some reason and keeps doing this. But besides that its all good. :D

I was having the same problem last night, started addding them to my favourites ( the ones that were populated) still can't connect to TIG though, the populated TIG's were in red and the empty TIG's was in green ( in gameppy ) but still couldn't connect to either

& yes It crashed back to windows 3 times last night (never did that before)
    but i finally got a few games in between 8-late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭ambro25

Ponster wrote:
    You didn't rename bf2.exe to increase game-speed or something silly like that eh? :)

Don't make fun of RAM/processor-challenged fellow BF2'ers - that trick does wonders on my D600 (tried BF2:SF on it last weekend, and yep - it runs grand :eek: ).

V!alli wrote:

Well the server was fine and lag free, however some of the players where not. Started Karkand as MEC and grabbed the mec Tank. Brought it up to around square and killed the US tank straight away. Then I reversed back and jumped out and started to repair, at which point a BTC guy prompty jumped in and drive away in it. Sigh.

We then continually got pwned with a side that contained on average 1 squad with everyone else as lone wolfs. There was little team play at all.

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

Well the server was fine and lag free, however some of the players where not. Started Karkand as MEC and grabbed the mec Tank. Brought it up to around square and killed the US tank straight away. Then I reversed back and jumped out and started to repair, at which point a BTC guy prompty jumped in and drive away in it. Sigh.

We then continually got pwned with a side that contained on average 1 squad with everyone else as lone wolfs. There was little team play at all.

Fairy

tank jacking !! he must be south african !! lol

Then I reversed back and jumped out and started to repair, at which point a BTC guy prompty jumped in and drive away in it. Sigh.

Fairy

name that man , and shame him !!!

Just remember [BTC]W something.

Fairy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 ASCII | Quik

We had a great game last night on our server we're gonna try get a good game goin tonight to get a game going we'd appreciate some peeps helpin us to get it going the ip is: 82.195.155.9:16567

Name a time, maybe sort out evenish teams for the fun etc.

Fairy

Christ sake can we keep the Clan match talk off this thread?

> Ponster: No, didn't rename filename, not mods at all. Just installed and tried to play. Only tried to connect to three different servers, so when I get some more time I'll see if it was just a flukey 3 in a row crash.

irlrobins wrote:
    Christ sake can we keep the Clan match talk off this thread?

> Ponster: No, didn't rename filename, not mods at all. Just installed and tried to play. Only tried to connect to three different servers, so when I get some more time I'll see if it was just a flukey 3 in a row crash.

WTF are you on about? Who is talking about clan matches?

Fairy

WTF are you on about? Who is talking about clan matches?
    Name a time, maybe sort out evenish teams for the fun etc.
    we're gonna try get a good game goin tonight to get a game going we'd appreciate some peeps helpin us to get it going the ip is: 82.195.155.9:16567
    Started Karkand as MEC and grabbed the mec Tank. Brought it up to around square and killed the US tank straight away. Then I reversed back and jumped out and started to repair, at which point a BTC guy prompty jumped in and drive away in it. Sigh.
    Viri can be on your team, I need 40 kills for a gold badge
    Well ill pop onto the BTC 2moro and drag a few other NRG lads with me, ive missed sniping Ghost and Jonski and maybe an ole knife of viriconia.
    LOL, nice comment V!alli, i didn't even think of going to BTC's server tonight. Anyone be about tomorrow on the BTC server?

All the above is off topic posting.

Yeah and none of it has got to do with clan matches and even if it did who cares if its on topic or not, lighten up eh!

Fairy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭fightin snr

^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    what Fairy said :rolleyes:

original post was announcing release of patch,next few were servers updated.........next was ingame talk.........blah,blah.

take a chill pill m8 :D

So as we where saying, is it the ASCII server tonight for utter mayhem then?

Fairy

Just remember [BTC]W something.

Fairy

there is no member with [BTC]W , but we do have a V , two of them actually and one Y , Come on Fairy , out this joy rider so that we may ridicule him .

ye was on the ascii server as well theirs good team work on it, i think it only fills up if their members come on...

what ts tigs?

jonski wrote:
    there is no member with [BTC]W , but we do have a V , two of them actually and one Y , Come on Fairy , out this joy rider so that we may ridicule him .

I have said all I am going to on the matter, it hurt to see my repaired tank driving away, I dont want to talk about it.

Tig's TS is games3.iol.ie:8787

Fairy

ye nothing more annoying than that, especially if its an enemy and they run you over......... :(